Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kuroshitsuji: Book of Murder


Alternative Titles

English: Black Butler: Book of Murder
Japanese: 黒執事 Book of Murder

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 2
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 28, 2015 to Feb 25, 2015
Producers: DeNA
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 58 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.301 (scored by 60,938 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2452
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #806
Members: 128,479
Favorites: 986

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 30, 2015
CecaniahCorabele (All reviews)
There is a truth that not needed to discover for our own good

Bringing the old tradition of the classical detective story theme, Book of Murder covers right after Book of Circus arc. The story starts in Phantomhive manor, the queen order Ciel Phantomhive to held a banquet in his manor. The banquet was poisoned by a homicide that quickly turned the banquet into a death zone. Ciel must unravel the truth within the homicide.

This OVA actually did their job well. Although there is no "mystery" in the genres, Book of Murder offers the genres. The mystery have both predictable & unpredictable things, but despite of read more
Apr 7, 2015
eskimoseb (All reviews)
In a match made in heaven, the Japanese interpretation of English aristocracy finally meets one of the most English of inventions, the mighty Sherlock Holmes! This is Black Butler’s most serious and mature arc yet. Fear not though, because it’s also one of its best. Book of Murder’s two hour long episodes are a very worthy addition the Black Butler universe.

Book of Murder places a stronger focus than is Black Butler’s norm on the details of the storyline, so I am happy to say that story-wise this is one of the strongest entries to the series yet. Chronologically, Murder sits right after the Book of read more
Mar 18, 2015
djfred8 (All reviews)
As I am a adept of mystery anime and gore stuff I was looking forward a lot to this OVA, especially after this delicious book of Circus. If I gotta say something now, it would be UTTER DISAPPOINTMENT storywise.

I like to predict plots and event in anime before they happen and see of things will go how I planned it or they will be innovative. This OVA went perfectly as I planned, nothing too mysterious nor threatening, I predicted the whole thing since I saw the picture on MAL and it happened what did happen. Too many clichés but it was still Kuroshitsuji-style. There was read more
Jul 16, 2015
ren6 (All reviews)
What do you think of being invited to a party and then find yourself trying to solve a murder case?
A-1 Pictures bring to us now "Book of Murder", this two-part OVA, after the so commented "Book of Circus", both, the true sequels for the first Kuroshitsuji anime.
Book of Murder have a very simple plot: solve a mysterious assassination case in a mansion, in which all the suspects are trapped inside it on a rainy day. Everyone can be the murderer, you can't trust anyone.
Strongly inspired in the Sherlock Holmes stories, Book of Murder have everything the fans of policial mystery can ask: suspense, read more
Aug 1, 2015
NameWithheld (All reviews)
I think I can say with full conviction that I hate Black Butler now. The first season was repetitive and monotonous, but was at least funny enough to keep me going. The second season was a mess, but was surprisingly much better because it shook things up. The third season was more like season one, but at least was really short, more creative, and had pretty art.

Book of Murder was the last straw. Black Butler can officially go fuck itself. Not since Demon King Daimao has an anime pissed me off so much.

I think my biggest problem with Black Butler is the Black Butler read more
Aug 30, 2015
Pilar_S (All reviews)
[English and Spanish review]

[English]

Why you may want to watch this OVA?

If you love Sebastian, and you probably do, you will feel the need to watch him every time as possible.
But, in my opinion, this is not a really interesting story. A "riddle" quite predictible, with the same structure of an ordinary mistery novel, trying to pay tribute to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle... a little bit boring (and I'm a fan of Sherlock Holmes)
And the worst part is that Sebastian does not appear that much, so, it's not really worth it, even though he is as charming as always.
Sorry! but I would not mind not to read more
Nov 28, 2015
AtticusIzayoi (All reviews)
'' I devote my entire being to you. Until the day ... that lies become truth ! ''

After two seasons of mostly non-canon, original material, the Kuroshitsuji series returned to Yana Toboso's manga canon with the famous Book of Circus. After its success, the story of a demon and his young master continued with a next chapter : Book of Murder !
Book of Murder adapts its plot from the Phantomhive Manor Murders arc from the manga. It is a nicely done arc, with an intriguing story, which evolves like a detective story, so that the viewer can participate to its solution. As every read more
Apr 27, 2016
zeppekihana (All reviews)
I watched this directly after Book of Circus, and it didn't disappoint.

Based on the Murder arc in the manga, these OVAs seem to follow the story very strictly.

As with the Book of Circus, the animation is wonderful and the art is beautiful as always. If you were disappointed by the first and second seasons of Kuroshitsuji, I think you'll be pleased with these new seasons. It is still a good blend of humor and friendship as well as darkness and suffering, and shouldn't be taken lightly.

That being said, if you like murder mysteries (which Kuroshitsuji is full of) then you will definitely enjoy read more
May 25, 2015
HeartRIF (All reviews)
My thoughts:

As a person who is a huge fan of kuroshitsuji franchise I can say I fangirled the living hell out of me while watching this series Kuroshitsuji: Book of Murder. If you are watched all of the Kuroshitsuji from the start to the end you will be pleased with this story. I love how they connected Kuroshitsuji: Book of Circus and Kuroshitsuji: Book of Murder together and did not forget what happend in the last series. I love the mysteriousness and the Detective-Like Censorious which kind of reminded me of the stereo typical Detective novels we all read somewhere in our lives.

what bothers me read more
Jul 1, 2018
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
Well, this was different. But, like... in a good way. For a hot minute, I thought this would be another piece of Black Butler that made zero sense, but it turned out to be a fun little mystery.

It didn't really forward the overall plot of Black Butler that much, but it was still quite entertaining to watch. It reminded me a lot of a dinner party where the guests will play a whodunit game as the entertainment.

It's hard to review two episodes, but basically, if you love Black Butler, you'll love Book of Murder. Tanaka is surprisingly badass, plus Ciel's quite the little read more
Dec 12, 2017
saeid_2k (All reviews)
I finished Kuroshitsuji aka Black Butler in April, and it was a great show,but I never really got around to book of murder because of high school and forgot about it for a while. Then yesterday my 10Am college class was cancelled so I decide to watch it.

Book of murder follows Ciel Phantomhive after the events of book of circus. He is asked to host a party attended by several of the finest members of polite society—as well as struggling author, Arthur. But as the party reaches its high, a terrible murder takes place. As a violent storm rages on outside, the death read more
Oct 21, 2017
Springball64 (All reviews)
I absolutely love the mystery theme, especially ones that fit the mystery train genre type (there's a killer we are all trapped with and we need to find them before we all die) and Book of Murder delivered this, along with all of my fun favourite characters (except Grell ;-;).

Story: This story is very well done. Bringing back characters that fans haven't seen for a while, and it's pacing was done fairly well. Mystery genres are almost always slow, as was this, but they have to be to keep it interesting and make the audience continually guess what's going to happen next. This was definitely read more
Jul 31, 2017
Katrov (All reviews)
I'll start by saying I read this story in the manga before watching this, yet I was not disappointed in the adaptation. (also some spoilers will be mentioned)

TL;DR: Worth a watch if you like Black Butler at all.

I also like to start ratings at 5/10 and go up or down from there.

Story: 8/10

All in all, this mystery was fun, engaging and I didn't not feel like it dragged on despite my initial thinking two one-hour episodes might be a bit long, particularly when the story seemed to be wrapping up halfway through the second episode. However, it still kept me interested but I could see read more
May 24, 2017
bluecoke_ (All reviews)
Well, that was a pleasant surprise! This was much better than I thought it'd be, and I enjoyed it far more than I enjoyed the first season, and the Book of Circus.

Story: 7

I expected the plot twist with Sebastian but there were still a few things that caught me off guard, which made the plot even more enjoyable. The story kicked in rather strong, and grabbed my attention from the start, which was something I must say the other seasons that I'd watched didn't really succeed in doing. Pacing was a bit slow in some parts but settled well into a faster pace halfway. Loved read more