Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun


Alternative Titles

English: Monthly Girls' Nozaki-kun
Synonyms: Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun
Japanese: 月刊少女野崎くん

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 7, 2014 to Sep 22, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Mondays at 01:05 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: 4-koma manga
Genres: Comedy, Romance, School
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.171 (scored by 210,172 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3382
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #108
Members: 378,674
Favorites: 7,008

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 12, 2016
D-ohnuts (All reviews)
"Humor has to surprise us; otherwise, it isn't funny."

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun is about a girl named Chiyo who tries to confess to her crush. He misunderstands her confession and decides to take her as his assistant, because, as it turns out, he is a romance manga author, and he seeks inspiration from the people he knows to create his characters. Hilarity is supposedly ensues, but doesn't really.

Despite premises like that having been done before, I thought that was an interesting idea. However, comedy anime is unfortunately not very good at remaining consistenly funny, and would rather remain repetitive rather than come up with something new read more
Sep 20, 2014
Jarrbearr (All reviews)
If you're looking for an anime with romance and relationships, this isn't what you're looking for. If you're looking for an anime with endless hilarity and gags that runs off love and romance, this is what you're looking for. This anime thrives off misjudgments and the characters.

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun is an anime thats been the laughing central of this summer. With the theme of manga-artists becoming more popular lately such as, Manga-ka to assistant-san or mangirl ,it's becoming much more attractive and interesting to watch. This is a gem that's becoming popular due to its laughable characters and misinterpretations that occur all the time.

The read more
Oct 12, 2014
Veronin (All reviews)
It's a rare thing to find a romance anime that appeals to both a male and female audience. It is even rarer to find one that does so without sexualising its characters.

Gekkan Shoujo gives us hope for the stagnant, often juvenile climate of the romance genre. It doesn't rely on obnoxious misunderstandings to keep the two main characters from joining together (although misunderstandings do still exist with a sense of self-aware humour), nor does it need onsen scenes, pantyshots and implied homolust to keep the audience's attention towards its characters. All it's interested in doing is giving the audience a good laugh while nudging a read more
Jan 6, 2016
KonaKoffee (All reviews)
*WARNING: MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS, BUT NOT HEAVY SPOILERS*

The idea behind the story is not an entirely bad concept. Of course it has become a generic plot idea to base an anime on creating a manga. I mean c'mon, it seems like every year there is either an anime or a manga where the theme is based on creating a manga. However, the way this show presents the manga creator and the interactions between him and his assistants can be quite warm on the heart.
So, why does the story get a lower score from me? Because of HOW it tells this story and how it read more
Aug 11, 2014
Orange (All reviews)
Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun is about a high school girl, Sakura Chiyo, who has a crush on her schoolmate, Nozaki Umetarou, a shoujo manga artist. She tried to confess to him but was mistaken as a fan of his manga and ended up as one of his assistants. Then, revolving around these two, the story goes on.

Sounds a lot like a typical shoujo romance, right? Let me correct that, GSNK is all about comedy, categorized as a shounen no less. Bits of cute moments here and there but mainly comedy and it's done right.

While the plot is simple enough to be summed up in mere sentences, read more
Nov 29, 2014
Zeroskye (All reviews)
Before writing the actual review, I'd just like to throw something out there. I am a HUGE fan of romance. About 90% of the entries in my anime & manga list have some form of romance. I'm the kind of guy who'd drop a point or two if there isn't a conclusive ending. However, Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun is an exception. In fact, after some time, I really didn't care if the show was going to be conclusive or not. This should show you just how great of a show it is for me to toss aside my ideals. If you're looking for a romance, read more
Dec 5, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
NOTICE ME SENPAI.

This show is probably the epitome that defines the meme. Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun (Monthly Girls' Nozaki-kun) is about this cute girl named Chiyo Sakura who tries to get the attention of the manly Umetaro Nozaki. You might probably guess it but she has a crush on the guy. From her initial introduction, it’s clear that she wants his attention. But in a show like this, one should also acknowledge the denseness of Nozaki. In fact, his misunderstanding of Sakura as a ‘hardcore fan’ only begins the first steps of this hilarious gag anime.

Directed by Mitsue Yamazaki, it’s refreshing to see this piece of read more
Mar 18, 2015
MaeSis (All reviews)
Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun is an anime, that I come to love.I first watch this anime with my sister,who suggested this anime to me,when I read the summary for this anime,the first thing that came to my mind is the fact that it will just be another shoujo anime wherein the guy would fall in love with girl and they will face love rivals and misunderstandings.but I was proven wrong and this anime exceeded my expectations.

Story(7/10)
The story is okay albeit a bit cliche,it is about a highschool girl named Chiyo,who one day musters up the courage to confess to her crush Nozaki,only to say she is read more
Sep 22, 2014
Jopageri (All reviews)
I love it! It is deep, humorous and memorable rolled into one but given this observations, the anime was able show it in a light and demure view point.

I was thrilled by the characters and their personalities, and the situations they are in. It somehow gives me the idea on how humans can be faulty or broken or inadequate but given the situation, the lifetime, or the people you are with, you can always be the perfect fit. This is what the anime is for me.

I could say that I enjoyed every bit of it, although it is heartbreaking that Chiyo was trying read more
Sep 24, 2014
lemayo (All reviews)
Words cannot describe how much I enjoyed this series. Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun, or Monthly Girls Nozaki-kun, was a brilliant experience, filled with infectious comedy and a large but loveable cast of characters. Although Nozaki-kun should very well be categorised as a "Romantic Comedy", if one were to judge it from the listed genres, it easily surpasses the limitations of the category and achieves a much higher level of entertainment. To be honest, I did not expect much going into this series, assuming that this would simply be a newer-2014-revamp of Bakuman. However, this show ended up blowing my mind, in every way possible.

So if you read more
Oct 25, 2014
Moog (All reviews)
Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun is an anime that I believe anyone will enjoy, but I would recommend it especially to viewers who are looking for a romance anime without necessarily wanting to go on a powerful emotional rollercoaster; in fact, in many ways this show is a parody of your typical shōjo romance anime, and it's handled wonderfully. Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun is high school comedy done right.

The anime follows Sakura and her endless struggle with confessing her feelings to her schoolmate Nozaki, who also happens to be a shōjo manga artist who goes under the pseudonym Sakiko Yumeno. Nozaki mistakes her for a fan, but invites read more
Apr 9, 2015
milnivek (All reviews)
Let me start by saying that I really, really enjoyed Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun. When I first heard of this anime, my reaction was 'What the heck kind of name is that?!' In case you're wondering, the name comes from Nozaki-kun, one of the main characters who is a manga artist in a monthly girl's manga magazine.

The main strength of GSNK is in its ensemble cast. Apart from the main character (Sakura), the rest of the supporting cast are VERY unique and interesting individuals that make you want to know more about them. The characters play off one another in somewhat predictable ways once you know read more
Oct 9, 2014
amphitritie (All reviews)
What? Another show where they write manga? And it’s romance, too? Haven’t we seen these tropes already?

I warn thee, do not be so dismissive of Monthly Girls Nozaki-kun just from reading its summary. This show may surprise you. And to anyone who says these words with excitement rather than skepticism, sit back and grab your computer, because you will definitely enjoy this.

Okay, here we go.

Plot
Umetarou Nozaki is a high school student highlighting as a popular shoujo manga artist, recruiting his friends to help him. This show doesn’t have too much of a basic plot. Instead it relies on the interactions between its characters to provide read more
Oct 16, 2014
MickieHime26 (All reviews)
Story: (9/10)

Nozaki-kun doesn't really have a story, unlike One Piece where it has a goal of becoming the Pirate King and obtaining One Piece. What it has is what I would call an outline.

Nozaki, our male hero, misunderstood our heroine, Sakura, feelings and what happens next is what makes this anime golden! The interactions between the characters are what makes this anime alive and using the traditional Japanese comedy style, the manzai. It involves two people, one the straight man and the other being the funny man and it involves mutual misunderstandings, double-talk, puns and other verbal gags. So if you were thinking this is read more
Oct 11, 2014
BasT94 (All reviews)
There's always two kinds of anime that are really hard to find whenever you look for them: a) a consistent one, and b) a comedy that caters to everyone's taste. Taking the huge amount of series that come out every year, one might find oneself baffled to know that there's just so many of them that actually manage to have some sort of balance. It makes you wonder whether there's no point in expecting something good to come out at all, but, just like everything, there's always an exception. And this season, Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun is the one that took the anime world by its read more
Oct 23, 2014
RayRay-kun (All reviews)
After watching all 12 episodes, I would have to say that Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun is by far one of the best romantic comedies I have watched, and probably the best anime of the summer 2014 season. Here's why.

Story- The story was great, and I found it very enjoyable to watch. The plot follows a girl named Chiyo Sakura, who confesses to her crush, Nozaki, but gets misunderstood which leads to her becoming his assistant. Despite her attempts to get closer to him this way, she ends up getting misunderstood each time which makes for great comedic, hilarious moments. Eventually, she meets the rest of Nozaki's read more
Sep 21, 2014
Defunctional (All reviews)
I currently feel really empty after seeing my favorite show coming to an end (Season 2 WHEN?!), but I can't let anyone just pass by this show without giving it a go. And excuse me for my poor English in case I make mistakes! Hope it doesn't disturb you too much.

At first sight Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun might look like one of those typical Shoujo anime which follows a typical storyline, but hey guess what? This is actually an incredibly hilarious anime that will blow your mind with all these unexpected scenes. I kindly recommend you to step back if you're expecting a Shoujo anime and read more
Nov 1, 2014
MrSonicFan34 (All reviews)
Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-Kun (Monthly Girls' Nozaki-Kun) is a fantastic comedy anime. Throughout all twelve episodes the show was great fun to watch and was in general, one of the most fun anime's of the 2014 summer season.

Story and Characters
The story for the show is quite simple but is really fun. With the exeption of Bakuman I have never really been fond of the other animes out there that follows characters making manga,but this is one of the few ones out there I believe to be done well. Which to me is suprising considering that the original magaka's other works have not very well recieved read more
Aug 1, 2015
RaveenFleya (All reviews)
Adapted from manga with same title, I have heard many good reviews for this. A refreshing romcom with manga at its base, I must say it exceeds my expectation. Not only the characters are unique and hilarious, it also has great quality of art and sound. Well, I just can’t stand series with bad quality of art after all. xD

Okay, let’s begin my review!

Music - 10/10

Frankly say, i love both the opening and ending song. For the opening song, dunno why, but I get the comedy-secret-agent-club feeling at first hear it. The melody just brought me to this kind of atmosphere. Then, I fall in read more
Sep 21, 2014
KellieDee (All reviews)
Story
Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun does a great job adapting its manga counterpart to the small screen. The manga is written in 4-koma style, which can cause the storyline to become choppy and confusing at times. The anime really brings all of the smaller scenarios together to create one fluid story.

[ Nozaki-kun adapts content from chapter 1 to chapter 31 of the manga; the two stories are identical up to chapter 13 (where you will find small tidbits and/or explanations not present in the anime). From this point forward, you will find new stories (e.g. chapter 21 featuring Ken-san's background) as well as content seen in the read more