Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shounen Hollywood: Holly Stage for 49


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Shonen Hollywood
Japanese: 少年ハリウッド-HOLLY STAGE FOR 49-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2014 to Sep 27, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Zexcs
Source: Novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.141 (scored by 3,208 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #75952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3723
Members: 12,764
Favorites: 26

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 21, 2014
Toots (All reviews)
(BASED IMO)

Hey, Uta no Prince-sama fans, this may be the right anime for you. Like idols singing and dancing? Idols with beautiful faces? We'll you have come to the right anime. Shounen Hollywood: Holly Stage for 49 is right for you! You'll be experiencing songs, and dances in some of the episodes!


STORY:
It's about boys trying to be idols so they'll be known worldwide. So far, each episode is telling their lives before they joined the idol group "SHONEN HOLLYWOOD" and random stuffs happen each episode.

ART:
The art is a bit realistic. But there are mistakes or other drawings that I don't like because it doesn't read more
Sep 26, 2014
Ripo (All reviews)
Well this summer season of anime had some really good shows and some really big disappointments. 'Shounen Hollywood: Holly Stage for 49' though was the biggest surprise for me. A nice slice of life with a lot of J-Pop 6/10

I'm genuinely impressed with the show, it doesn't mind telling you straight out some of the negative aspects of show business (especially how Japan produces their Idols) they have some profound lines here and there...I'm not a big fan of J-Pop so the music isn't really why I enjoyed watching this (and I'm sure with less of it I would have given it a higher score), read more
Mar 15, 2015
sushi-kushi (All reviews)
With an all male cast, you'd expect the producers to take the usual fan-service route as we watch the bight, glistening lives of these up and coming idols. But Shounen Hollywood gave me a pleasant surprise.

First, this show won't please everyone. That's just that. For the same reason not everyone loves a bubbly romance or a quirky comedy, it's all preference and personal taste. Also this is just going to be an informal review focusing on the pros of the series.

If you've been watching loads of fast pace, action packed shows and need a little breather, then maybe you might want to give this read more
Feb 23, 2015
Onaki (All reviews)
I usually don't write about anything I watch... but for the people who are comparing this to Uta no prince-sama (One of my favorite Animes) obviously didn't watch this show- it has terrible character development... their voices are monotoned and their personalities are cookie-cutter Mary sues... The story starts off semi ok, but with all the secondhand embarrassment this show puts me through I really don't know what I watched... The guys are constantly negative and when they actually show any form of motivation it doesn't last long- or they're extremely unrealistically happy which makes me uncomfortable. It's overall boring and unless you've run out read more
Sep 30, 2014
Verria-Nichole (All reviews)
"Shounen Hollywood" is a heartwarming tale of teen idols.

When first coming across this anime, I instantly chose to watch it for its attractive men, and idol theme. Falsely thinking it would be a story resembling Uta-Pri’s, I spent this summer slaving over each episode, hopelessly waiting to see the boys actually perform as idols.

Kakihara (Natsu [Fairy Tail]) captures Amaki’s fiery spirit with his thin, but strong voice. He brings the boy to life, not doing a bad job at singing either. Likewise, Ohsaka’s (Staz [Blood Lad]) airy voice is perfect for the calm and insecure Kakeru. Ono (Kuroko [Kuroko no Basket]) also did a nice read more
Mar 1, 2015
Asai64 (All reviews)
I never get interested in writing a review before but this anime is really underrated and underscored even though it did it's job well. Please beware that english is not my native language and the review is more and less cover both seasons.

At first I thought Shounen Hollywood will be just like other generic idol animes like Utapri or Idolmaster. But this anime actually took a different route, and it was a great decision. Instead of talking positive craps like 'idol is about your heart', Shohari taught the audience that 'there is no thing such as an eternal idol'. This shows conveyed the reality read more
Jun 28, 2016
amollide8 (All reviews)
Did you expect something cliché like boys singing and dancing and lalala? Then, that’s a wrong impression you have there mate. Shounen Hollywood Holly Stage for 49 is way beyond that.

One word is all it takes to make any anime worthy to be watched: interesting. It’s simple. If you think it’s interesting, then watch. If not, then don’t. It all boils down in asking yourself: Is it interesting enough to make me watch it?

So? What makes this anime interesting?

Well, what is an idol? Is being an idol the right path to take? What does it takes to be an idol? --- read more
Apr 23, 2016
mankansh0ku (All reviews)
I generally don't write reviews on anything I've seen, but I really think I should write on this anime.

From what I've seen on many websites, people bash this anime because it is not like Uta no Prince-Sama. Personally, I'm glad it's not UtaPri. I do enjoy UtaPri, but there are some things that I like here more the UtaPri.

People also need to realise that UtaPri and Shounen Hollywood may be about idols BUT one does not focus on love and beauty of the idol life, but the realism of it.
---
Story [7/10]
The story does start off a little slow, but it is very enjoyable. It is read more
Aug 9, 2015
seweholmes (All reviews)
This is only a small review.
As you may know, Idols' anime are not the most popular when it comes to story, plot and character development. (Utapri is alive just because of the fangirls and the "good-looking seiyuus") So if you think there won't be a good Anime about idols besides Love Live, you're wrong.

Shounen Hollywood: Holly Stage for 49 is a nice and almost simple anime that show us the way an idol is and have to be born, how to act and also, how the idols feel themselves.

Nice music, a good character development and well desings is a cool combination; it read more
Nov 17, 2017
Geddon616 (All reviews)
Reason for me writing this review is to help people make a decision if its worth their time watching the most cringey boyband in the anime world.

The story well i cant say its bad but i cant say its fun. Lets revive the former idols and become better sound like interesting thing but most of it is spendt learning uninteresting character stories and a random president who says strange things and does stranger things. I felt like it moved at a snail pace and and thats saying something. Its one thing about having a relaxing and chill atmosphere that everyone can enjoy like some read more