Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Glasslip


Alternative Titles

English: Glasslip
Japanese: グラスリップ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2014 to Sep 25, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Thursdays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: P.A. Works
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.541 (scored by 49,676 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #77492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #667
Members: 105,284
Favorites: 172

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

Teenage romance is a hot topic in the anime world. Some shows are able to capture this phenomenon quite well (White Album 2, Clannad, etc.) while others miss the mark. But even those shows that don't hit that bulls-eye at least land somewhere on the board. Glasslip is a show that not only misses the board but also hits some stranger passing by, causing a huge debacle that mirrors the contents of this anime. This is quite arguably one of the worst ones I have ever seen.

STORY

Glasslip begins in much the same way that Nagi no Asukara does. read more
Sep 27, 2014
Satire (All reviews)
What happened to my comfy slice of life series about glass blowing? I asked myself this question every single time I finished an episode and the ED started rolling. After somehow managing to finish this awful series about teenage angst, forced drama, and supernatural horseshit, I feel disappointed. Not only in this series, but also in myself. Somewhere deep inside me must reside a little masochist devil that enjoys watching me suffer through terrible anime.

Saying that Glasslip had a story is laughable. It's as if the writing behind the series just patched together random ideas and put it on the screen. Even upon completion read more
Sep 25, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
When I think of Glasslip, the show reminds me of a candle melting. At first, the fire shines strong and bright. Then, as time goes on, it slowly burns itself out and eventually into ashes. Honestly, Glasslip isn’t too different. It’s a show that started off with a decent premise but slowly burn itself out. Glasslip doesn’t induce creative drama, laudable realism, or a genuine slice of life. Rather, it’s an empty series that is misguided by its story and characters that almost makes us feel sorry for what it created. Well, almost.

Produced by P.A Works with director Junji Nishimura involved, it’s no surprise that read more
Sep 25, 2014
SevenKnights (All reviews)
**CAUTION SPOILER ALERT**

I haven't written a review in years and for good reason. I didn't have to review them. The shows I watched I enjoyed. No need to tell others the ups and downs because I believed everything was an Up.


Now this show... It started off good. Likable characters (*cough*Yanagi*cough*), interesting scenario of a girl who sees "fragments of the future and a drifter who can also take part in this phenomenon with her)


As the story progressed it went from "This is cool" to "What in god's name is going on?".

The story doesn't take a sudden turn and became some Drama filled mess, it literally read more
Mar 16, 2015
palladia (All reviews)
Like a light summer breeze, Glasslip, which looked to be a tranquil slice-of-life, floated onto the summer anime scene.
Like summer itself, Glasslip was something that many viewers, including me, looked forward to. I think a lot of us were weaned on the gorgeous visuals, intricate plot, and superb character development found in Nagi no Asukara, which was created by the same studio that made Glasslip. A very sparse summary and teaser video only served to increase the enthusiasm for Glasslip. What I expected was another wonderfully drawn anime with a touch of supernatural and profound character progression.
There was just one thing that was, as I read more
Sep 25, 2014
Olwen (All reviews)
Preliminary
You know there's something wrong with an anime about romance when the most interesting character is an ordinary freaking CHICKEN.

Spoiler alert.

Glasslip is an anime that takes place during a summer about a group of friends in high school. A transfer student, Kakeru, moves to the town in the first episode and starts to make friends with the main character, Touko. Unfortunately, that's pretty much all there is to say about this anime. Nothing interesting happens. At all.

To see where everything goes wrong with this garbage, let's first consider the characters, and then the story:

Touko is the main character of this anime, and she's a usually read more
Sep 25, 2014
MangakaNotlora (All reviews)
Starting episode one of Glasslip, the impression is given that the journey you are about to partake will be artistic, dramatic, and truly memorable. This is to say, on the surface, Glasslip is all of these things. However, once you tie your laces and start down the slippery slope, the series proves to have none of the above characteristics. Instead, the anime leaves you severely starved of the deep, intriguing elements it tries sparingly to mimic. In short, the thirteen-episode production was a disappointment.

During the first episode you are introduced to a gaggle of main characters, specifically, Touko and her party of five friends. When read more
Sep 28, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

"The next Nagi no Asukara?” I can’t tell you how many times I heard this anime advertised as the next smash-hit romantic drama series by PA Works following the monumental success of their previous entry into the genre. As a result, there was a LOT of hype behind this anime among fans of rom-drams. While I can’t exactly call myself a fan of the genre, I couldn’t resist giving the show a try considering that NnA was the best rom-dram I had ever seen. What I got not only didn’t meet these (unreasonable) expectations, but it left me in awe of just how read more
Aug 24, 2014
Axel_Blaze (All reviews)
Preliminary
The hugely negative reviews that this show is getting is mainly because this show is aimed at a specific audience. it is neither flashy nor has twists and turns like many other anime. It is a slice of life, a very thin slice and not everyone can connect to it. In real life things do not progress fast. In real life you dont have stereotyped characters like tsunderes and danderes. In that way the characters in glasslip are very real. I do not understand why the wort of an anime or character is measured by how interesting backstory it has or the struggle of each read more
Sep 26, 2014
Kapodaco (All reviews)
Some critics argue that the most integral part of a story is the climax. It displays the turning point of a certain situation that had been building up from previous events (or episodes) in an attempt to evoke a certain emotion or reaction from the audience. Whether or not this is the most integral part of a story, most would agree that the climax, in most cases, overall helps the story in overall worth. One should also keep in mind that what causes the climax to become as integral as it could be is essential in understanding how a good story works. A story is read more
Jan 10, 2016
mememonarch (All reviews)
a thrilling anime if you're interested in acquiring cancer. throughout the anime, i could not find one character that i liked other than the chicken. every other character was a complete dipshit, especially tohko, or whatever the fuck her name is. the anime has such a shitty plot, you're so confused whats happening, but not even because it's complex, it's so opposite of complex that it becomes hard to comprehend what is happening.

all in all, i rate this anime 10/10 (0.0001/10)
side affects of watching this anime include: herpes, genital cancer, lung cancer, hepatitis a & c, gonorrhea, and even severe depression.

don't let the art fool read more
Dec 13, 2014
Jarrbearr (All reviews)
"The next Nagi no Asukara" quickly turned into the disappointment of the summer for most, but actually entertained me. Are you raising your brow yet wondering, "why give an anime a 7 that's heavily hated on?"

With Nagi no Asukara ending a few months before Glasslip was released, we had high expectations for it thinking it would live up to the hype that Nagi produced. By no means am I saying this anime is perfect, it isn't, it has a bunch of flaws, but still doesn't deserve that amount of hate it's getting in my opinion.

It opens with the group of friends having fun at read more
Mar 21, 2015
MaeSis (All reviews)
I decided to give this anime a try,thinking that it would be good.But as I start watching it, I found my expectations slowly deteriorating,to the point of boredom.Still,I continued watching it,Clinging to the hope that it would become better.But,it didn't and in the end I deemed it to be one of the most boring animes I have ever seen.

Story(3/10)
The story originally showed promise,As the first few episodes are executed well.After the first few episodes.However,The story seems very forced and some subjects regarding the story gets drawn on for many episodes.But they do not really give a proper explanation on why it is happening,Making me more read more
Jul 28, 2014
Pman1994 (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I saw the trailers for this show, I like most of the anime watching community were expecting this to be either one of two things, 1. To be the next Nagi no Asakura, one of the most well known romantic dramas to have come out recently, or what I was expecting, a slice of life story of a girl who wishes to be a glass artisan like in the synopsis. Let me just say it dropped the ball for either one of these mindsets. For a romantic drama, everything feels forced and it uses love triangles and polygons that have been done time and read more
Oct 7, 2014
Verria-Nichole (All reviews)
"Glasslip," a Slice-of-Life with the potential for greatness, crashed and burned.


I'll admit I was looking forward to "Glasslip" this season. The art seemed clean and fresh, and an anime with a nice concept. Not only was I cruelly deceived by the anime's initial summary, but was completely caught off guard once some supernatural elements were added into the storyline.

Let's talk a little voice actors, shall we? Touko got to be voiced by the lovely Seria Fukagawa (Aloalo [Happiness Charge Precure!]). She has actually only had two roles so far in the anime industry. It is a pity this had to be one of her jobs--nevertheless, read more
Nov 13, 2014
A_Knight74 (All reviews)
I REALLY wanted to like this anime. I picked it up randomly because it looked well drawn and animated. Needless to say, it was well drawn and animated. There were a couple of times that if you were looking you could see some strange CGI usage but it wasn't anything that detracted from the enjoyment.

Here's the problem with the anime. I'm going to real talk you here. No one realizes that it's a set up as you're watching this. I was sure it was gonna be good even up to episode 11, but it dawns on you, episode 12 and 13 make it all read more
Sep 25, 2014
mercury1980 (All reviews)
I can see the future. Nah, just joking.

STORY (3):

The story takes place in Hinodehama where Touko's family runs a glass-working business. Touko Fukami hangs out with her friends at a cafe called Kazemichi. The story at first sound interesting just when Touko sees the future by looking at the glass. However, this wasn't brought up again in the remaining episodes. The rest of the episodes are Touko hanging out with her friends.

It basically seems that everyone is doing their daily lives with no consequential events that happen. Everything in this anime is insubstantial.

ART (6):

As always from PA Works, the animation is serene and beautiful read more
Jun 22, 2015
KittyNom (All reviews)
I would say the name 'Glasslip' definitely is the perfect name. What? No I don't mean that because the main character dreams of becoming a glass artisan! I mean that this anime is like glass: pretty but with nothing in it. This is the perfect description for an anime with gorgeous art and no story.

To this day I don't think this anime came to any conclusion at all. It was going SOMEWHERE at SOME POINT, but just like glass the plot broke and became worthless.
" But Kitty, there must have been SOMETHING in that anime, it's 13 episodes after all! "
Aha! But you see these read more
Aug 3, 2014
-ren (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I read the description of Glasslip on AniChart while picking shows to watch for the summer season, I was hoping for a more casual anime (meaning believable, realistic circumstances - a change of pace from what I usually watch) which focused on a young girl's dreams to become a glass artisan. However, that's not the case. We have seen very little time of glasswork at all. Furthermore, in the five of thirteen episodes of Glasslip that have aired thus far, the show has failed to capitalize on what it has to work with - albeit not much for how much time read more
Dec 28, 2014
RecklessPeggy (All reviews)
Glasslip is an anime done by studio PA Works which has worked on the otaku sob fest Angel Beats, and the gorgeous and magical show Nagi no Asukara
The director Nishimura, Junji directed Dog Days and True Tears. So is this anime a godsend from P.A Works, or is it a terrible attempt at a slice of life that should be melted down by giant alien gundam crocodiles? Let's find out
starting off with the Story?????


THE STORY
Our story follows our main girl Fukami, Touko who is the daughter of a glass artisan family and wants to become a glass artisan herself. Not the highest read more