Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Air Master


Alternative Titles

English: Air Master
Synonyms: Airmaster
Japanese: エアマスター

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 27
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2003 to Oct 1, 2003
Premiered: Spring 2003
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.091 (scored by 11,423 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #33822
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2515
Members: 28,530
Favorites: 135

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 16, 2009
chinaboat (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Air Master" is a satire and since a lot of folks don't "get" satire they gave it a "1". And those folks, by their reasoning, would be correct:
- the story is non-existent
- the art is all over the place
- the animation sucks
- the character design, well, the lead (except in flashback) is a hulking sort of Amazon; there's a "psycho supporter" lesbian who wears a bra with a cup size so large only Dr. Seuss could come up with a letter designation for it; a dwarfish creature that appears to have escaped from "Spirited Away" or, more likely, was exiled; and there's also "those read more
Apr 22, 2008
RedWolf (All reviews)
The story of Air Master is a typical flimsy series of excuses to fit in as many fights as possible. This is not necessarily a bad thing since the real reason to sit through all 27 episodes of Air Master is for the enjoyment of the fight scenes.

The characters never get much depth, but they click in a way that makes the silly comedy work. Maki (main character) does get some flashbacks: I like her unusual fighting background. Mina might offend some people, but her proportions are so ridiculous that it's hard to take her for anything but the parody she is. read more
Aug 13, 2008
YoungVagabond (All reviews)
I love anime centered around fighting. Grappler Baki might be my favorite series ever, Garouden is my favorite manga, I thought Yu Yu Hakusho was great, and consider Bleach good solely on the strength of its action scenes.

Air Master, however, is the single worst anime series I've ever seen. It is putrid, like moldy rice tossed into spoiled milk, that reeks for weeks on end. At first, I thought that three of the other four reviews for this series giving it a "1" were just exaggerating how bad it was.

They weren't.

The story introduces us to Maki, read more
Dec 19, 2014
noretus (All reviews)
I didn't know anything about Air Master, nor did I know that it had any sort of reputation. It was just one anime among the many but I got interested in it just because one artist I've been stalking has made nice ( yaoi ) fanart out of it.
So I sought Air Master out and watched it, without having any idea on what I was going to see.

I was surprised to find that the main characters were females and not only that, the yuri/lesbian implications were quite evident ( to the point where they weren't even implications anymore ). I didn't mind at read more
Apr 16, 2008
Browneye189 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is quite possibly the single worst anime I have ever had the displeasure of watching, in all honesty I am surprised I managed to watch up to episode 3, its just abysmal.
Story: 1
Now, I only watched three episodes of this anime so its true that I didn't get a good grip of the story, but unless the main character becomes a 80 ft, semi-robot killing machine I honestly cant see it getting any better in the slightest.
Art: 1
The art for this anime is horrible, simply horrible, I have seen better two year old children's wall drawings that are better than this (no offence to read more
Jul 19, 2008
kumarei (All reviews)
Preliminary
I saw an episode of this anime on a demo DVD that one of my friends had, three or four years ago. I mention this because it is still made fun of in my group of friends. The animation is bad, the character design is bad, the plot is nonexistant, and the fight scenes involve a girl crying lightning. The show includes one of the most annoying characters I've ever heard, as well as the biggest breasted character to be drawn outside of hentai.

I think this show may have been conceived as a parody, but I'm honestly not sure. If it read more
Jan 4, 2010
Uthred (All reviews)
Fucking sweet anime about an ex-gymnast turned street fighter and her daily life/daily fights. While it starts of in something closely resembling "the real world" it does get more bizarre as the series continues. Though never to a disconcerting or intrusive level. The fights in this are great looking, very flashy but still retaining a semblance of "reality" which makes them all the more spectacular.

It also has a somewhat odd presentation in terms of story; as with most fighting anime manga the delivery of plot tends to be, by the very nature of the thing, episodic, usually delivered in a fight-train-fight format. However with Airmaster read more
Nov 30, 2014
Spring_angel301 (All reviews)
We shall now enter the anime Air Master...A good series but a little disappointing.

This anime starts off with a former gymnastics expert named Maki Aikawa who decided to become a street fighter. Being a street fighter makes her feel alive, which gives her amazing power and grace. She fights A LOT of enemies, and after continuing to demonstrate her incredible power, she earns the new nickname, "Air Master".

First off, Air Master was good because there were hilarious moments that were topped with a myriad of epic street battles and a hint of romance, surprisingly. The anime's plot was good at telling the story but read more
Dec 1, 2008
rhs2 (All reviews)
If you like fighters Air Master willtake your breath away with the amazing moves that Maki pulls off. The fights are pretty fluent and no frame by frame fight scenes.

Character Developement is pretty weak because it only focuses on the fight side of things which for this series was alright. Although I will say Sakiyama Kaori had excellent character development. Others were just Maki's friends or rivals nothing more nothing less.

Best character development anime ONE PIECE!!!!


For lovers of Ikkitousen and Tenjou Tenge this is something new. For Dragon Ball Z fans and YuYu Hakushou fans leave it alone. It attempts read more
Dec 21, 2012
anlmoon (All reviews)
Air Master is an enjoyable show. There isn't any complex storyline or thinking involve in this anime, but it does have fighting scenes and funny moments in every episode.

I think most of the characters are likable, there is only two or three that most would find annnoying, Mina and Renge.
Kaori Sakiyama is like Vegta from Drangonball Z because she strives to be better than the main character Maki Aikawa. She has the most development in this story and the most fun to watch. There are many other interesting characters and their interactions with each other is funny to watch, Maki and Julietta is one I read more
Mar 30, 2013
treps (All reviews)
I watched this series on crunchyroll over a period of two or so weeks. Typically I'll start a series and get disinterested and stop watching about six episodes in. Air Master was able to hold my interest some how.

When I first started watching I assumed this anime was a lot older than it turn out to be based on the art style. It definitely isn't a style I have seen very often and came with a lot of interesting character designs and a fighting style that I enjoyed.

I found the variety of characters to be surprising. There wasn't too much repetitiveness and each fighting style read more
Sep 6, 2018
LunaPrecure (All reviews)
So, Air Master is a really bad show, but it's mildly entertaining in a campy way. I think I need to somewhat summarize how weird this series truly is.

• Seven foot, 14-year-old girl challenges an incredible amount of aberrant-looking (and acting people) to street brawls, along with her lesbian lover that has breasts that look like two bean bag chairs. Seriously, Mina has boobs as big as that gelatinous monster from Occultic;Nine. Oh, and she's voiced by Yukana (C.C.)? And there’s a shrieking midget… girl? The gender is more on the ambiguous side, but our main heroine is no different. Seeing as she could read more
May 4, 2017
DodoDog (All reviews)
Air Master doesn't really have a plot. You just follow somedays in the life of the main character. If you are looking for a plot of any kind, this isn't the anime for you.
The anime has a very old feeling. It reminded me of ranma 1/2 and some older animes.
The music is the best part for me.
The characters are entertaining enough. If you aren't easily ofended I don't think they will get on your nerves. The fights are cool, but they aren't as well constructed as in others animes. Don't take me worng, there're definetly some cringe moments. The anime isn't afraid of breaking bones read more
Apr 29, 2017
pedzavesto21 (All reviews)
this anime had buckets of potential but as the episodes went on, my enjoyment decreased and the characters became more and more annoying.

Every second "MAKI CHAN MAKI CHAAAN"

It was just generally disappointing that the fights were good but somewhat repetitive and the main character was just flipping crazy strong from the start.
i think it would of been good if she at least started off average and got better by actually training or experience due to the fights but nope.

Tbh everyone else except a few characters were so annoying the amount of shouting was not necessary.



AND WHY THE HELL WERE ALL THE MEN PERVERTS