Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Barakamon


Alternative Titles

English: Barakamon
Synonyms: Barakamon
Japanese: ばらかもん

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2014 to Sep 28, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Kinema Citrus
Source: Web manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.481 (scored by 161,360 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1132
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #173
Members: 298,406
Favorites: 6,784

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 31, 2014
Veronin (All reviews)
Barakamon shows that you don't need aliens, magical powers and love triangles in order to create an exciting anime. Barakamon is not a tale of good triumphing over evil or a couple finding true love within one another, but rather an example of why our uneventful daily lives is story enough, even if said life involves being assaulted by small children.

There isn't a great deal that occurs in Barakamon's regrettably short 12-episode run. There is no overarching, deep story to keep you on the edge of your seat, and by the end of the final episode, not a whole lot has changed from the read more
Oct 16, 2014
just_a_thought (All reviews)
Watching Barakamon was like going to a birthday party or a picnic outdoors, chock full of excited children running all over the place, doing what they do best. As an adult (supposedly), you feel slightly out of place but the child in you just wants to jump up and down with them in frantic jubilation without a care in the world. There is a cake too: a black forest with strawberry toppings and as you immerse yourself in the jovial mood, you admit that the feeling of sharing a slice with everyone is sweeter than the cake itself.

And what a slice it was!

For a slice-of-life read more
Sep 28, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Barakamon is a work of art. However, it’s more than just calligraphy as words alone cannot describe the exact nature and discovery of Barakamon. For instance, the show takes place on an island involving a young man named Seishuu Handa. Coming from a more urban based background, his life changes forever as he finds his new life on the natural island of Goto. Of course, this doesn’t happen after he delivers a sucker punch to an elder curator. When someone throws a fit like that, it’s easy to guess that consequences are destined to follow. But can we really call a journey to Goto Island read more
Sep 28, 2014
jawnmewn (All reviews)
One of the hallmarks of a quality slice of life show is its ability to make you forget about the real world and immerse you in their world, if only for a few minutes. You laugh alongside the characters as they do silly things, get anxious as they struggle through trials and tribulations, and then feel relieved when those problems are resolved. Barakamon does an excellent job of accentuating this aspect of the slice of life genre. Through a cast of quirky and unique characters along with simple yet powerful storytelling, Barakamon portrays the life of a man who strives to discover his true identity read more
Dec 31, 2014
connielas (All reviews)
Without fail, this anime had me in stitches after hours and hours of watching all the episodes for 2 days. (sorry, I didn't finish it in one because of chores.)
Truth is, I saw a screenshot of this anime in my profile and I was interested in seeing it. It was a picture of mangas being piled up in a bag. Two of those mangas were my favorites; namely, Soul Eater and Fullmetal Alchemist. I got interested so I looked it up without viewing its synopsis and started seeing it. I was first in distraught when I found out that the first episode tackles read more
Sep 27, 2014
Allen-KT (All reviews)
When the last season of animes started, i was looking forward for just three animes: Tokyo Ghoul, Akame ga Kill and SAO2. Nothing more than that. I wasn't a big fan of slice of life anime, even though i had watched some after, i used to think that this genre was boring.

Barakamon prove that i was wrong. The show don't let the rhythm down in all of the 12 episodes. All the characters are good, there's no one that i've disliked, and that's pretty difficult in all anime.

The comedy on Barakamon it's natural, not something forced with stupid jokes, the characters are just funny. Handa read more
Jun 22, 2015
LeFlower-kun (All reviews)
Without a doubt, Barakamon is one of the most relaxing anime out there in existence. If I had to describe Barakamon in short, it would be that it has been, a true panacea.

Barakamon's story isn't anything groundbreaking or intricate, in fact, it is the authentic simplicity of the show, that truly permits one to adore this show to its utmost. With a soothing atmosphere and a refreshing cast of characters, Barakamon is one of those shows that rewards anyone from an arduous day of work.

The story revolves around Handa Seishuu, a young and enthusiastic calligrapher with pride and talent. Despite this, after having read more
Aug 24, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
Growing up, spur of the moment family gatherings were some of my most cherished memories. The thick, summer air is palpable. Echoes of children giggling and playing in the distance reach the ear, soothing your mind and your shoulders slink down as all sense of stress and worry fade into nothingness. There’s no distraction, no urgency, just an honest and accepting accompaniment by some of your favorite people in the world. Endearments are swapped by friends and family alike, and the atmosphere transforms more and more into one of constant comfortability. We all have those people in our lives whose presence brings up the entire read more
Sep 28, 2014
Manumento (All reviews)
Our surroundings shape us.

Barakamon is a comedy slice of life manga adaptation of the same name. It follows a story of your average shut-in protagonist thrown into an entirely different countryside setting, and how said setting changes him. One of the better actual slice of life shows airing these days, it's not all flowers and daisies but it definitely went the right way.

Plot:

Seishuu Handa, a famous calligrapher gets sent to a remote island after misbehaving in a calligraphy contest. There, he starts learning to adapt to a different lifestyle, while he develops his own new writing style.

The plot is rather simple and nothing we haven't read more
Jul 21, 2017
CatchyUsername (All reviews)
Barakamon is a slice of life about enjoying little things of life that escapes from the mediocrity and classic conformism of its kind. The story revolves around Handa, a young artist who looks for originality and inspiration on an island, far from home and surrounded by eccentric people. If I had to describe the show in one word, it would be “Credible”, but since I have plenty of room, allow me to explain.

Since the very beginning of the series, we’re able to realize the producer’s commitment in doing something that doesn’t necessarily fit into pre-established molds, which are generally a guarantee of success. The biggest read more
Dec 25, 2014
Sorainnosia (All reviews)
Some 'people' may describe Slice of Life is nothing but a boring genre, the phrase for someone who dislike SOL is "Why do we have to watch anime that tells the life we live day to day?", but the truth is not like that. One of the main objectives of a Slice of Life genre is delivering a straight message of life itself. And Barakamon is a great example to prove that.

Barakamon begins with a small plot. A small plot that circles Barakamon is not giving the anime a weakness, but it give the story a power to weighted the story itself. One of the read more
Aug 28, 2017
Shattiiee (All reviews)
"More than what meets the eye"
After reading the synopsis, I was quite hesitant to start Barakamon. I thought for sure i wouldn't find something like a calligraphy focused anime interesting. Boy i was wrong, i definitely could not have been more wrong.

|Objective Review|

|Story/Plot|
Calligraphy, something that seems a bit boring at first. However, Barakamon makes you realize the meaning and depth behind it. It shows off the passion and emotions behind such works. The anime progresses at a great pace, maintaining the interest of the viewers.
The focus is evenly distributed to all aspects of the anime. We get a deep look at calligraphy, the characters, read more
Oct 5, 2014
Kimatea (All reviews)
Well, my review got deleted for not following the guidelines so I uploaded it. ~

Barakamon, a funny, relaxing, slice of life anime that's overshadowed by other popular anime that are airing alongside it, such as SAO II, Aldnoah Zero, Akame Ga Kill, Tokyo Ghoul and Zankyou no Terror. If you want to get a relief from all these popular action-packed, horror anime then you should definitely check Barakamon out. With that said, it's an anime that everyone can enjoy.

The story is basically about Handa Seishu, a calligrapher who thinks that he's the best at whatever he does, and therefore is very hard to socialize with. read more
Sep 27, 2014
Izayai (All reviews)
This anime is definitely a refreshing and unique slice of life anime, watching it gives me nostalgia of whenever I have failed at something and had build evaluate and try again, which I’m sure everyone can relate. Watching the show and characters interact is a great joy; seeing each person going through new experiences and emotions. Barakamon is definitely a wonderful addition to the slice of life genre, that people can relate to and enjoy.

=Story 9/10=
This story features a calligrapher, Handa Seishu, that is suddenly forced to live on a small island to better focus on his calligraphy. As someone who has lived in read more
Sep 27, 2014
Talmhaidh_Mathan (All reviews)
Often, the slice-of-life genre is viewed as what is more or less the Seinfeld genre of anime - that they are "shows about nothing." This is by no means a bad thing - shows like Non Non Biyori to a stellar job of proving that a show about the most inane daily activities can be greatly entertaining and sometimes even emotional. But that is also no excuse to produce SoL shows that have no true plot or character development. And that's where Barakamon comes in.

Barakamon is, at its core, the story of a calligrapher named Seishuu Handa, and his interactions with the people around him. read more
Dec 18, 2014
animesthabomb (All reviews)
“The other thing is surrounding yourself with people that care for you. These are simple things, but they're powerful, and they've completely transformed who I am and how I perceive myself.” - Mariel Hemingway

‘Barakamon’ is a rare kind of story. Something that is just so simple, yet so powerful. There are no big expositions of drama and no complicated plotlines, none of that is needed in the slightest. The story is simple, easy to grasp, and beautiful to watch as it plays out. In its purest form, it’s simply the story of an arrogant (but still kind-hearted) young man that simply can’t seem to let read more
Dec 10, 2014
Lolli-Loli (All reviews)
This anime is one of the best I've seen in recent history. The story, though simple, is heartwarming in the truest form. The episodes are mostly day-to-day adventures, but each one is clever, uplifting, and very often hilarious.

The regular animation is nice in and of itself, but I gave it a 9 for two reasons. Firstly, as calligraphy is a central part of the plot, it obviously has to show up on screen from time to time. The creators did an excellent job of designing beautiful calligraphy that is just is amazing animated as in real life. Secondly, the ED is just plain and read more
Mar 1, 2015
lou-from-belgium (All reviews)
Well first review, I'll go for it... What could I say: this anime may not have action or romance but it has something very few animes could claim to have: authenticity. The characters are coherent, natural and really lovable. The overall art is great and some scenes are truly astonishing. In term of personal enjoyment, it has been a while since I smiled so much during an anime: the humor of the situations is light and there're a lot of heartwarming scenes. Too short might've been the only flaw but the ending was at a perfect place to stop. It was damn near perfect, im read more
Nov 18, 2014
pluslethatminun (All reviews)
Barakamon… Ah, the feeling of watching something so laid-back is really refreshing. First thing that came into my mind when I heard Barakamon was, to tell you the truth, Digimon. I’m sorry, I really am! Good thing I was wrong. Phew. * wipes sweat *
At first I was like, “Pshhhh… Another gorgeous looking guy. I bet this show will target adolescent girls.” But, MIGHTY ZEUS SMITE ME FOR BEING AN INSOLENT FOOL! I am wrong in million ways.
I’ll keep my review short and simple.



Story: 8
Handa Seishu is a 23-year-old calligrapher (most good-looking you’ll ever see). He’s forced to live on a small island read more
Jun 14, 2015
AnimeKodomo (All reviews)
Barakamon doesn't contain magic, elaborate plot twists, or intense, action-filled scenes. In fact, it is very ordinary in its depiction of life in general. However, this is exactly what makes this anime so likeable and relatable. It could very well happen in real life.

Story: 7
Conflict: a calligrapher tried to punch his problems away and ends up on an island to reflect. Is his calligraphy really unoriginal? How can he make it original? And how can he apologize to the man he punched? The whole idea of calligraphy being the main subject of an anime is appealing in its uniqueness and makes the plot somewhat mysterious read more