Aldnoah.Zero

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Aldnoah.Zero
Synonyms: AZ
Japanese: アルドノア・ゼロ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2014 to Sep 21, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures, TROYCA
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Themes: MechaMecha, MilitaryMilitary
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.411 (scored by 254054254,054 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #19412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #351
Members: 462,596
Favorites: 3,267

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 21, 2014
AnimeAddicts (All reviews)
Graphics/animation

The overall art design is beautiful, very atmospheric. The only „criticism” this show usually gets is the use of CGI, but after re-watching those scenes Ill call it good. Apart from a few scenes where the Terran mechs looked really clunky most of the time they were using various tricks to make the robots blend into the background which included the clever use of camera angles, lighting, colors, smoke, snow etc... The show is easy to follow and visually appealing.

Music

As many have stated already – it’s great. Hiroyuki Sawano showed us again what a talented composer he is. But since this is a review about read more
Feb 17, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
They say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, but at what point do we cross the line between paying homage to other works and being a complete ripoff? Many titles have been labeled as copycats or cheap knockoffs before, usually riding the coattails of tentpole entries to gain recognition. Every storytelling medium has this occurrence, and with anime, it's no different. But every once in awhile we get a title that doesn't just copy a well-known property but takes it a step further by copying the definitive title in its respective genre. A public display of pillaging so unforgivable, that in the court of read more
Mar 21, 2015
Arsene_Lucifer (All reviews)
Spoiler Warning: This review will spoil specific plot points in certain episodes in order to provide examples of why Aldnoah.Zero writing fails for a number of reasons. While I attempted to keep spoilers to a minimum, it’s best recommended to avoid reading this for those who have an interest in checking out Aldnoah.Zero and don’t want anything to be spoiled. In a nutshell, Aldnoah.Zero has the aesthetic for a great series, but no substance to support it not offering anything in between all the eye candy. If you plan to continue reading past this point you have been warned.

“Fiat justitia ruat caelum” is read more
Sep 21, 2014
jdbe (All reviews)
Aldnoah.Zero not only flashed the name Urobuchi before it aired, but it was supposedly seen as the love child between Legend of the galactic heroes and gundam wing. I'm glad they used a condom because Aldnoah.Zero would tarnish their names through association.

Aldnoah.Zero follows the strained relationship between humans (commonly referred to as Terrans) and Martians (from mars). After an assassination attempt on the princess of mars, war breaks out with the Martians, whom wielding their sacred Aldnoah technology fight against the earthlings. The show depicts the war from both sides.

Aldnoah.Zero follows the mecha genre in more of a 'super robot' format than the 'real robot' read more
Sep 21, 2014
Manumento (All reviews)
"Let Justice be done, though the trainwreck rolls."

Aldnoah.Zero is an original sci-fi mecha anime about an intergalactic war between Terrans and Martians. It was highly anticipated because of the superstar names under the ones who made the show, A-1 Pictures, Gen Urobuchi as the original story creator and script writer and Hiroyuki Sawano making the soundtrack. However, the creators and hype don't guarantee a good anime, and we witnessed that in full bloom here.

Plot:

After a Martian princess Asseylum Vers Allusia comes to Earth in attempt to form a friendly bond between Terrans (Earth habitants) and Martians (Mars habitants), she is assasinated during a parade. Outraged read more
Sep 25, 2014
citizen169 (All reviews)
In Short: A slightly above average (I've seen some really bad ones) mecha anime, focusing mainly on art, music, and battle sequences. Character development is sadly not very existent, and the story is mostly predictable with a few twists (except the end...)

Story: 7. Rather predicable with a few twists. Coherent for the most part. Was best in first few episodes and the last 2. In between I kinda felt like watch someone play a RPG. You know, defeat a bad guy, oh look, there's a new one. The ending was unexpected... but feels really random. I really wonder what season 2 will be like.

Art and read more
Sep 26, 2014
Satire (All reviews)
When I first heard that Man of Steel was referenced in an interview pertaining to Aldnoah.Zero, with Gen Urobuchi also playing a small part in the project, I had a general idea of what to expect from the series. I wasn't wrong. The high production values, high amounts of collateral damage, questionably bland characters, and a controversial ending are a close match to the recent DC Comic film about Superman. Mix in some grim thematics that Urobuchi is notorious for and we now have our new mecha tragedy series.

While the overall premise of Aldnoah.Zero is heavily based off of the tension and prejudice between read more
Sep 20, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
War is a controversial word. People fight in wars for a variety reasons. Oppression, liberation, or imperialism are just a few reasons. But fighting a war for survival sometimes also become a reason without choice. In Aldnoah Zero, that war takes place in 2015. After fifteen years of peace, we have one side from Mars (the Vers Empire) trying to annihilate Earth off their existence in its galaxy. To say the least, Aldnoah Zero hits where it hurts. It establishes the foundation of sci-fi action series with war but also other factors packaged into this Summer extravaganza.

For starters, Aldnoah Zero already had several key read more
Sep 20, 2014
Jayko (All reviews)
Great story, great art, great sound...questionably well played character development? Possibly. Regardless, Aldnoah.Zero will probably be seen as an instant favorite to most anime lovers. It makes sure to get you attached, but not too attached to characters, and I put much emphasis on the 'too.' Nevertheless here's my review continue to read to see if this show is for you.

Story: 10/10

I give this anime the benefit of the doubt strictly due to the fact that it was deeply implied that a season two would be coming, most likely this is the case. In fact as far as story is in general read more
Sep 20, 2014
nightwalk (All reviews)
Hype, hype, hype. If one show received a huge ton of it this season, it was A-1 Pictures' Aldnoah.Zero. But is it as great as all the big names and the hype make it out to be? Well... not really, but it certainly was a good watch. Thanks for reading my review on Aldnoah.Zero!

The show takes place in an alternate reality, in which the Apollo 17 mission discovered a hyper gate to Mars on the surface of the Moon in 1972. After these events, the astronauts discovered the legendary "Power of Aldnoah", which made technology beyond our imagination possible. With this power in their hands, read more
Sep 20, 2014
DaBomb1 (All reviews)
Out of an era where average Joe protagonists are given extremely powerful mechs to slaughter trained evil soldiers comes Aldnoah.Zero. What this show does to the mecha genre is ingenious. Instead of "super badass op mech" being the star of the show, have the trained soldiers systematically take down their overpowered opponents using strategy and planning. On top of this, Gen Urobuchi's setup of the story and his writing of the major events in the series are entertaining as usual. This show is a fantastic subversion of common tropes in mecha shows from years ago.

Story- 8/10

The setup and world building of A/Z is well done. read more
May 20, 2015
Blood_Diver_A (All reviews)
[THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS]

Aldnoah.Zero (aka, "The Legend of the OP Mecha: Part 1”)

For the people of Earth, the year was 2014; it has been fifteen years since Mar declared war on Earth (i.e. United Earth Federation vs. Vers Empire) and it was a relatively peaceful time. Once the war was over, the people of Earth realized that it lacked the weaponry for a potential second war. It was during the fifteen years of peace that Earth began to advance in machinery and technology. This advancement led to the development of giant Mechas.

Now, in present day, our hero, Inaho (aka, “Emotionless Boy/Gary Stu”) read more
Jan 18, 2015
Rayouri (All reviews)
Before I start this review I wanted to let you know that I want to focus more of my time on the character portion of this show mainly because that is this shows biggest drawback. I will briefly go over the story, art, sound, and my overall enjoyment and score. But again I will be focusing more on the characters in this review.

Story: Aldnoah.Zero is an obvious homage to the gundam series and it succeeds in creating very cool and interesting action scenes. This shows story is simple yet there are a lot of factors surrounding it that make is unique in it's own read more
Sep 20, 2014
Izayai (All reviews)
Story - 9
Aldnoah.Zero is A-1 studios first attempt at a mecha anime. Though the plot is somewhat common, a group of individuals decide to fight against a stronger opposing force, in this case it’s a civil war between Earth and a more technologically advanced Mars. The pace of the story is well done with back stories and exposition placed throughout the series in small amounts. The individual elements in the story are interesting and well worth watching. Each episode is unique and executed nicely with new twists every episode.
Earth, having being devastated by Heavens Fall 15 years ago, sets up the plot for ongoing events. read more
Oct 2, 2014
Baddie007 (All reviews)
I hereby make another review co'z some pinche mod had a lot to say about my previous review, so, time to get down to business again.

Story: First of all, the plot where it involves aliens invading earth was indeed pretty overrated, also, the theme of the anime was based on the classic Martian invasion. However, the scenario where, Princess Vers was able to escape from an assassination was pretty darn good to say the least and her wish to stop the invasion also adds to some good in it, even so, imo it wasn't enough that this anime's story would have a high score, so read more
Oct 18, 2014
dalhoy (All reviews)
In all fairness I thought that Aldnoah.Zero was a 7/10 anime throughout the whole series. I was pumped to watch the next episode, I thoroughly enjoyed the fight scenes and the artwork was almost at a level of perfection, but my overall was dropped because of the way the story was executed and played out throughout this anime.

At first I thought that the plot would fill up a fair bit of the anime instead of being based purely on the fight scenes and the war itself, yet I was slightly lead to disappointment in that component.

The part of the story which really threw this read more
Oct 20, 2019
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*MINOR SPOILERS FOR ALDNOAH.ZERO*

"Alright! It's time to watch some Turn A Gunda- WHAT THE FUCK?!-" CBF back in 2016.

So, can we all agree that Aldnoah.Zero (the entire series, not just this first season) is probably the worst show Gen Urobuchi had an active role in? If nothing else, it's certainly the most polarizing work his name has been attached to, even if he didn't do much beyond the script for the first few episodes and a few other ideas in the preparation phase. Now that the man hasn't made anything big in the industry since this piece of crap, why don't we look back and read more
Oct 1, 2014
Social_Elitist (All reviews)
Aldnoah the rip off by this Urobutcher'd Review:

MINDSET:
The causals soon encounter the best mix of some of the most amazing staff members, we have the same script director of Boku no Pico (ok, lets ignore that one) We have the 3 legendaries of Anime script writing: Ei Aoki, the Urobutcher and Jin for the music, (who is better than Yujikadra) have now joined forces to become the Asian Writers League! The amazing trio of gangsters are in the midst on making the best Anime for your friends, your familly, your pets, your grand parents, your teacher, your ex-girlfriend and even the prostitute You picked up read more
Jun 8, 2015
Andrew729 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Aldnoah Zero, the anime that broke my faith in Gen Urobuchi. Well, maybe just broke in a way that it can be glued back together, not shattered into dust. But yes, it did do some serious damage to my faith in the man and his writing ability (or rather, his plus the dude who wrote everyone's favorite anime recommendation, Boku no Pico.)

I can't remember the last time I saw such boring, uncompelling characters. See, usually there's a reason, usually revealed through backstory, flashback, or infodump, about why a lead character would just mutter, "Oh, a missile's coming" the way you or I would say we read more
Oct 4, 2014
Quan_ (All reviews)
[Adapted From Original Blog Post]

Expectation, for anything really, is a really dangerous thing to have when going to any anime. I may have made this point before, but that's because it's true, starting an anime with the mindset that it will either be amazing or crap can influence your opinion on it when it ends. The problem with this of course is that you may lose sight of how good the show actually is; this is a common problem with the landmark anime like Cowboy Bebop or Neon Genesis Evangelion, it's because they are so hyped up that some people may watch them and think read more