Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

FLCL


Alternative Titles

English: FLCL
Synonyms: Fooly Cooly, Furi Kuri
Japanese: フリクリ

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 6
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 26, 2000 to Mar 16, 2001
Licensors: Funimation, Synch-Point
Source: Original
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.061 (scored by 211,022 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4682
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #113
Members: 362,115
Favorites: 14,433

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 19, 2008
AzureEclipse (All reviews)
FLCL is as close to a piece of literature as you're ever going to get with an anime series. Fast paced as it may be, the story beautifully presents a theme of growing into maturity, and accompanies it with stunning visuals I've yet to see surpassed. Many comments have been made on how plot is very difficult to follow due to both its speed, and also because of all the symbols, motifs, and dialogue that doesn't reveal its meaning until the very end. Never in any anime have I seen foil characters like Amarao and Ninamori played as such a beautiful literary read more
Jul 23, 2010
sasloom (All reviews)
Oh, the highly acclaimed Fooly Cooly. It's been labeled as a "masterpiece", something "special" "unique" "pleasantly different" yada yada yada. For an anime to have gotten this much praise then it should have been extremely enjoyable and in particular funny as it is supposedly meant to be a comedy(primarily).

Sadly, FLCL did not offer any but was a one way trip to hell the moment a certain character made a flashy appearance in the first episode.

STORY: There is absolutely no story behind this anime. It is just six episodes of disjointed scripts that attempt to fuse together as much genres as possible then injected with read more
May 16, 2015
Micsupreeme (All reviews)
~ Nothing happens here, only the ordinary ~

You've heard of abstract anime, right?
You've heard of shows that completely surpass convention, right?
FLCL or "Fooly Cooly" or "Furi Kuri" is a vast expanse of hyperactivity, fast-paced, nonsensical story-telling, abstract presentation, slapstick comedy, innuendo, slice of life, science fiction and more...
(you can take a breath now)
It is the definition of "abstract" in that i don't even consider it to be an anime; and here's why...

FLCL is an "all or nothing", love it or hate it show; because there are 2 fundamental viewpoints and analytical approaches that can be used to evaluate it. To remain relatively impartial, i am read more
Nov 23, 2014
MadScientist001 (All reviews)
The amount of pretension required to praise this anime is overwhelming. It seems that the writers were convinced that rapidly alternating between art styles, animating grandiose nonsense, and neglecting a coherent story are viable substitutions for writing something that's actually entertaining. They were wrong. I was bored senseless both times I watched this, even though I read many analyses of the series after my first watch.


Story - There isn't one. When I try to describe it to people they think that I'm just making things up. The story is so nonexistent that it's pretty impossible to spoil.
2/10

Character - The MC from Evangelion is paired read more
Dec 29, 2008
LilGunmanX (All reviews)
Well, here's my review for FLCL (or Furi Kuri, or Fooly Cooly, or whatever the heck you want to call it.) It's really quite a truthful review, for if you're an obsessed fan of the series, I suggest you turn around now and keep your "not helpful's" to yourself.


STORY--- Simply put, there was none. I suppose it was meant to be a coming of age story, but alas, I fail to see this for myself. There was little to no plot, with each episode consisting of nothing but chaotic character interaction rampant with dialogue that could be "misinterpreted" sexually. If I recall correctly, and keep read more
Mar 19, 2011
trzr23 (All reviews)
Innovation is a term that is thrown around a lot these days and is used almost interchangeably with the word creativity. But, innovation and creativity are actually two very different things. Creativity is just novelty, while innovation is novelty that has value attached to it. While we do see glimpses of authentic creativity occasionally, true innovation is almost impossible to come across.

In the beginning of the millennium, Gainax tried to do what they do best – innovate. To recreate the magic of the legendary Neon Genesis Evangelion, they utilized the same key members of the staff, appointing Kazuya Tsurumaki as the director and Yoji read more
Dec 26, 2007
Brian333 (All reviews)
After just watching this series again and coincidentally clicking on a link to the FLCL's manga page, I noticed that for such a frequently recommended anime, there really aren't that many reviews.

So, having just watched this short and enjoyable series again recently, I thought I might write a bit about it.

First, before anyone decides to mug me, I'd just like to say that my ratings are generally a bit on the harsh side. I'd like to think of it as more realistic :P I also rounded down regardless of what was behind the decimal.

Story: 7.7

read more
Nov 2, 2014
JediMindTricks (All reviews)
FLCL, Furi Kuri, or Fooly Cooly is an anime that is about as difficult to review as it is to fooly understand (ha!). People seem to either love this series or hate it. There seldom is a middle of the road opinion. That being said, most people can agree on one thing: this anime has energy. It's fast paced. It's crazy. Whether or not these are all good qualities is up to the viewer.

Growing up is hard, but almost everyone is ready to make that leap at some point. In Naota's case, it is especially hard. He is surrounded by people older than but less read more
Feb 8, 2008
khalos (All reviews)
Furi Kuri, or FLCL, was suggested to me by a friend. I figured I would watch it because it was short and I could get it done quickly. This however, was a bad idea.

I won't attempt to tell you anything about the story, as it is basically non-existent. I normal like some good random entertainment, but this show is just plain stupid.

There is no plot development, character development or even a real sense that anything happened. Every episode I was waiting for an event or explanation that would make the whole series make sense. It never came.

The characters are annoying and unlovable. There is nothing read more
Mar 22, 2010
allegrotime (All reviews)
Ah, Fooly Cooly. I was very excited to start watching this series, as I noticed it was from Gainax of Evangelion fame. There were some elements of this show that I thought were very well done, but for me the overall story and characterizations made me feel extremely disappointed after finishing the last episode.

First I'll start off with what I really enjoyed about this series. The art design I truly thought was superb, I enjoyed it. What is also very unique and creative is how throughout the series different styles of animation emerge, such as bullet-time, manga panels, a South Park-esque style, and many more. read more
Feb 23, 2015
AnnoKano (All reviews)
Pretentious is a word which is thrown around a lot these days, even though it is a word that almost no-one seems to understand. In order for a creative work to be an example of 'pretentiousness' it needs to present commonplace ideas in an overly elaborate way, and while firmly under the illusion that what it says is deeply profound. It must have a delusion of grandeur, in other words.

There are many out there who say this about FLCL, but there are just as many who will also say, sometimes within the same breath, that it doesn't have any "storyline" or "plot" or that it read more
Jun 19, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
This is a fast - paced anime. So fast - paced, that I'm not sure if I understood it clearly and completely. It still did interest me though. Not one dull moment.

Since I didn't understand the storyline all too well, I am not sure if I will be able to give a valid comment on this aspect. For purposes of writing a review that will get other people interested in it, I will give it my best shot.

The storyline is definitely different - it is nothing like any anime I have watched before. I probably said that line a million times, but let me tell read more
May 1, 2014
blubby (All reviews)
Expect to be bombarded with imagery you'll be scratching your head at, ridiculous plot line, and a style that's pushed to the very limits of animation and visual storytelling.

In the city of Mabase, nothing amazing ever happens. Nothing to interest adolescent Naota Nandaba anyway. Growing weary of the same old routine: school, bizarre family, and his older brother's girlfriend constantly hitting on him while his brother is away in America playing baseball. Nothing at least until Haruko Haruhara runs him over with a Vespa...

Everything about the visual experience is unique; the series really pushes the boundaries of what animation in all styles can read more
May 28, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
I hear OVA's takes ages before all the episodes are released. Well, kinda make sense in the case of this show, because it must have taken them a long long time and a hell of a lot of blood, sweat and tears to make something *this* bad. "FLCL"? "Furi Curi"? "Fooly Cooly"? Regardless of what this anime is supposed to be called, "Fully Crap" is what this anime *deserve* be called, and call it that I shall. While watching "Fully Crap", I felt so apathetic, so detached from everything that was going on on screen that there were moments where I wondered if I'd accidently read more
May 4, 2011
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Anime has brought us some crazy worlds. Ones in which people transform into animals and the fate of humanity rests on the shoulders of teenage mech-pilots. Even by these standards, however, FLCL is in a league of its own. At its core, FLCL is a simple coming of age story. It just so happens that this coming of age story takes place in a world so unhinged that it rivals the craziest works of Douglas Adams.

Naota is a grade school student obsessed with being mature. He is often irritated by the less than mature antics of the adults around him; and looks up to his read more
Aug 9, 2009
Crofty (All reviews)
I've heard great things about this anime, seen reviews calling it a masterpiece, heard demands for sequels and more episodes. I'd seen the first episode a while back, and found it stupid. It had some vague promise of a plot, I'll give it that, with explanation of Noata's brother having left for America and his girlfriend becoming strangely attached to Noata, and the events that Haruko's arrival caused. Noata and Mamimi were portrayed quite well to begin with, with how Mamimi acted when talking about Noata's brother giving promise of development of the charachters and the relationship between them. So a promising start to the read more
Apr 21, 2015
imjustjk (All reviews)
Some may compare it to a meaningless black painting, others compare it to a symbolic innuendo of erotica; regardless of whatever opinions you may hold before watching this, you may toss them all in the wastebasket right now. FLCL is the peak of mental curiosity, the crux of anime history at the turn of the century, the meaningless jumble of human desires scrunched into six short quarter-hour episodes. The pace is so fast that the audience is shot as a paper ball from a bazooka down from a helicopter, blown out to the moon by kamikaze winds, and then pummeled in the face by a read more
Oct 19, 2007
Darvus_Laan (All reviews)
This is somewhat of a head-trip. The story doesn't really make a whole lot of sense at first, but if you can pay attention (meaning no drugs or alcohol...trust me, you won't need them), you can start to understand it. Although there are few parallels in any real way, I have to compare it somewhat to "The Matrix" in that you can't really get a full grasp of the whole story and all the levels of metaphor in just one viewing. At least "The Matrix" sits you down and attempts to really explain things (at least plot-wise)...whereas this series does not.

The only reason I rate read more
Nov 17, 2014
TheEmptySky (All reviews)
Going in you have to be open-minded as this anime is not like other anime. The story is about a kid named Naota. He is going about his life with the girlfriend of his his brother who is in another country. Whilst they are hanging out they encounter a young girl by the name of Haruko. She is definitely the most interesting of the cast as she causes all of the problems for the main character. She is a mysterious person who fights robots with a guitar. With only 6 episodes there isn't much character development. The story doesn't get read more
Oct 24, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
There are two conceptions viewers have about FLCL, whether it is one of the greatest anime ever created, or one of the most sub par and overrated show ever made. I believe it to be a mix of both, having an interesting approach on the execution of it, as well through different animation style and soundtrack used. Nevertheless, there is little plot to be made out of the story, as well as being very chaotic in all departments - which isn't a bad thing on its own, it is compelling and is a positive change to the usual approach.

The synopsis of FLCL is quite misleading, read more