Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Terra Formars


Alternative Titles

English: Terraformars
Japanese: TERRA FORMARS [テラフォーマーズ]

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 27, 2014 to Dec 20, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: LIDENFILMS
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.121 (scored by 75,685 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #32662
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #682
Members: 150,037
Favorites: 513

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 28, 2014
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Every now and then there's an anime that's released that walks the delicate line of being called absolute garbage and absolute FUCKING garbage. These shows tend to focus heavily on shock factor deaths as a one trick pony, which in turn removes any integrity it may have. Some notable cases include Elfen Lied, Gantz, Mirai Nikki, Deadman Wonderland and now the next anime to carry the torch Terra Formars, has stepped up for the challenge.

Story: 2/10

Story? What story? Government conspiracies, the mission of Bug II and anything else the show brought up remains unresolved. Plot points that go nowhere and simply end abruptly. It's read more
Jan 16, 2015
Malfegor (All reviews)
Notes
-I haven’t read the manga.
-I watched the uncensored release of the anime.

Terraformars, an anime about a bunch of genetically modified humans with animal powers that get sent to Mars to exterminate a race of hyper evolved humanoid cockroaches called Johj. Sounds radical, right? Unfortunately it isn’t and here i’ll explain why.

Story:
Really, there’s not a whole lot to talk about in terms of story. The entire plot is just an excuse to get the characters to Mars as quickly as possible and make them fight a whole lot and i suppose it does achieve that just fine.
The main problem with the storytelling in Terraformars is read more
Dec 19, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
You know something no one wants to see at a lunch or dinner table? Cockroaches. Those little critters stalks around with their creepy legs and spreads disgusting odor near your delicious food. Worst yet, they want your food. But do you know what’s even more disgusting or perhaps terrifying? It’s when you become the food. No lie. Terra Formars reverses the situation when humans are the prey as cockroaches (also known as Terra Formars) hunt down humans to eliminate them from existence. There’s something to think about…

For a series based off of the same name, adaptation pacing becomes a chore to handle. I don’t give read more
Dec 19, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

One of the most frightening organisms on the planet is so miniscule that it's a wonder that it exists in the first place, let alone causes massive harm. This organism is, of course, the virus. A tiny, technically lifeless thing whose only function is to replicate to keep its existence going. In biology, it's a rather fascinating phenomenon that has been in place for millions, if not billions, of years. While human technology has improved by leaps and bounds in an immensely shorter time span, there are still questions and unknowns we have yet to answer. Among them read more
Dec 30, 2014
kmandrake (All reviews)
Warning: this review is written for the average anime fan and not other critics since that wouldnt help anyone and would just be me ranting

So I began watching terra formars mid airing, i had always wanted to check it out (since seeing it on anichart) and i did so. to be honest i had high expectations, out of all the anime this season this looked the most unique. after finishing the first episode my expectations took a huge hit (this was one of those slow beginnings of introducing characters and backgrounds). i almost dropped it but i didnt and im glad i didnt because on read more
Dec 19, 2014
CobraMaster86 (All reviews)
I would not even have known about Terra Formars if I had not seen a short YouTube clip months back. And right now, I am so glad I clicked on that video.

Story:

Futuristic setting on Mars where people with animal powers (mostly insects) fight humanoid cockroaches. Interesting premise to say the least. At first, I had low expectations for the show. Reviews for the first few episodes had been very low for the extreme censorship when it was originally airing. However, I had watched the series after all those black screens were taken down and must say that the show surprised me. I found read more
Dec 20, 2014
Moon- (All reviews)
Every year theres allways those anime wich generally are deemed has "bad" or "mediocre" because of their inconsistent nature and their unpopularity, they strive to get a certain fanbase however this "try hard" factor usually winds up becoming their very downfall.. However if theres a show that despite being unpopular and mediocre manages to be a hell of a ride, that would be Terra Formars.. At first glance, naturally, terra formars looks like your survival horror show that it takes itself so serious its laughable.. and thats exactly what it is.. the best part of Terra Formars is the fun you get from it.. read more
Dec 20, 2014
sleeperhits (All reviews)
Seeing so many negative reviews for Terra Formars, I decided to offer a positive view instead. Note that I would probably give an 8 for this anime, but because of it's pure enjoyment factor, I'm jacking it up to a 9.

What I like about Terra Formars is that the universe is much more...developed, than the typical fare that action anime gives us. It's not a bunch of teenagers running around saving the world, but a people who have been chosen from a diversity of backgrounds tasked with collecting samples to cure a virus that has surfaced on Earth. Questionable scientific methods aside (i'm going to read more
Aug 13, 2017
Plasmatize (All reviews)
A few weeks ago a friend of mine dared me to embark on a dangerous mission - one which could subject me to emotional turmoil even if I emerged alive. Turns out a bunch of no-name idiots were waltzing off to Mars to gather samples and research a cure for some lethal virus, while trying not to be ripped apart by giant mutant body builders with cockroach heads.

My mission? To sit around watching these idiots pretend to actually be doing something for 13 episodes while my senses are senselessly abused! I accepted, on the condition that this unnamed friend watch “Btooom!” in exchange. After completing read more
Aug 19, 2015
REKT (All reviews)
SHORT SPOILER FREE REVIEW!

CENSOR CENSOR CENSOR!!!!!! Terra Formars aired in 2014 and most of the brutal inhumane scenes were censored.. but Bro do you even know what day it is? It's 2015 and all the scenes are now uncensored *Mind blown*

I can honestly say the uncensored version is a totally different Anime. Example? Sure. They don't play Basketball anymore on Mars. :)

Why did I rate Terra Formars so high?

- Fast paced and captivating plot twists! (None stop action)
- LOADS OF FIGHTING! (I say 70%)
- LOADS of gore and decapitation! (A MUST have in a *Horror* apocalyptic genre, I hate it when an Anime has a read more
Dec 23, 2014
BloodRequiem (All reviews)
Terra Formars was one of the series that received a lot of conflicting opinions during the fall 2014 season. Some loved it for the Linkin Park grimdark edginess while a majority of people hated on it purely due to the censorship. But let's face it, censorship is not a valid reason to give this series a one out of ten. If anything, there are much bigger problems than a giant black circle in the middle of the screen when it comes to this show.

Terra Formars is one of those series where it could have possibly been decent. You start watching this show and the amazing read more
Dec 19, 2014
jdbe (All reviews)
Would you like to hear a joke?
Terraformars.
That's the whole joke.

Terra formars follows the expedition of strong humans to mars, who have the task of killing and capturing evolved fighting cockroaches that were used to make Mars more inhabitable for humans. The objective is to find a cure for a disease that came from Mars, which could lead to the deaths of many people on earth.

Terra formars is very much a sci fi, horror anime. The shows main message is trying to look at the perspective of "If humans were the pests" instead of cockroaches. It does this by looking at the themes of evolution and read more
May 21, 2015
Lolitroy (All reviews)
I can honestly say this review is completely unbiased, as I watched the show with no idea whatsoever of its reception. I marathoned it all in one night and decided to read some reviews atferward to see if anyone shared my thoughts about it.

Let's just say they did, but the negative aspects were amplified hundredfold.

First of all, the story. I'm going to be honest and say the idea seemed a bit weird, if not stupid, but I decided to give it the benefit of doubt. Giant humanoid cockroaches commanded by another pretty much immortal giant cockroach? A martian virus? A possibly alien read more
Oct 9, 2015
KeyboardKafe (All reviews)
No good can come from putting “Mars” in your title.

“Terra Formars” is an adaption of the seinen manga by Sasugu Yu and Kenichi Tachibana by the same name. Serialized in the same magazine as Tokyo Ghoul, (Young Jump, or Shonen Jump for big boys) “Terra Formars” is a sci-fi/action horror.

Oh, you were expecting more of an explanation? But, there really isn’t anything else to say. I might have been able to crack a joke, but the anime is a joke enough already for me to not have to. I’m just going to stop wasting your time here;

tl;dr: this show sucks



---PLOT:---
(Yes, I did read more
Mar 9, 2015
Soupa-San (All reviews)
Well, when I began to see Terra formars, I thought it would be better for criticism and comments that I heard about the anime, but he did not answer my espectations.The anime is not bad, it until it is cool to watch and have good scenes action but that's it, the characters are flat (with exception of Adolf) and some things make the anime a little ridiculous, like the fact of being cheap strange and resemble humans, which makes no sense, and human take a drug and become half animals, is also another thing I found strange.
The history of anime is very good, and he read more
Jan 17, 2015
Crochax (All reviews)
Terra Formas is actually really good. It's good in the sense that you get exactly what you pay for. Genetically modified people with animal-based powers fight huge mutant cockroaches on Mars. Hell yeah? Over the top concepts that just don't give a damn are the best. The story is a basic one: Go up there and find a cure for some Mars disease. Badass guys and gals kicking some space insect butt. Terra Formars does not pretend to be "deep" and "philosophical" (which is the norm nowadys I guess). This would have been the greatest thing I ever saw if I was 15 years younger, read more
Jul 10, 2015
Micsupreeme (All reviews)
~ Don't underestimate... ~

Terra Formars had the potential to revive the Sci-Fi/Horror genre, but indefinitely fell short of this...

This is a perilous and action-packed journey into uncharted land, Inhabited by a particularly formidable alien race. An apocalyptic epidemic-like fate looms over the shoulders of humanity, and metaphorical titans are sure to fall. It is an unpredictable, and fast-paced sci-fi/horror series of epic proportions. And whilst touching on the subjects of both sentience, and betrayal, I cannot deny that it's certainly a story with substance.

A slightly-cliche, though appropriate, isolated-feeling, and otherworldly Martian landscape sets the stage for this 13 episode series. Invading both the sci-fi and read more
Jan 2, 2015
mkzxwing (All reviews)
When i first saw this anime , my first thought was "this is so plain and generic.. I'm sure its going to suck". But i couldn't bring myself to hate this anime. I can't say it was good, but it was not horrible. While the story is quite generic and unoriginal, the anime itself is not boring. I'd even say there where a part or two that i actually enjoyed. I still can't say it is good by any means, but its rather easy to watch. If you want to kill some time, I'd say this anime may help you with that task. Otherwise.. read more
Dec 29, 2014
Markezzo (All reviews)
I will give Terra Formars credit for its setting. It is just unique enough to make you interested in its premise. The story is just there as a backdrop, an enabler for the gory action if you will. It mentions some political intrigue in passing, setting itself up for potential twists, but never bothers going deeper into it. It gives the plot some flavor, but requires a second season to deliver on it.

The sound did its job for me, the music and voice-acting in particular sticking out as good. The art however does need to be addressed. The design of the cockroaches is too campy read more
Jul 30, 2015
WeiWeiWei (All reviews)
The story was quite compressed since it only got 13ep. It's a bit like Jojo, some people will tolerate the unique feeling around the series, and cherish it/ love it. And ofc there are people who will hate it, either it is because of the slow pace, the fragmented flashbacks or the characters... I personally enjoyed it, and i hope people would give it a try. (If you want to watch a gory/ action anime and doesn't get sick of insects).