Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Blade & Soul


Alternative Titles

English: Blade & Soul
Synonyms: Blade and Soul
Japanese: ブレイドアンドソウル

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2014 to Jun 27, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: TBS
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.181 (scored by 41,129 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #71212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1014
Members: 94,822
Favorites: 123

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 22, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
When it comes to video game adaptations, there’s an incentive when it comes to please fans. Blade & Soul is a good example based off a game and one that failed to live up to any expectations. Based off a Korean MMORPG game produced by NC Soft, there’s a truckload of problems I find that didn’t do well when adapting such a genre. But really, Blade & Soul isn’t anything special especially when the main characters are generic to the core. It’s soulless per se.

For starters, we get a fantasy setting with beautiful landscapes and the feeling that you’re actually in a fictional world. That’s read more
Jun 26, 2014
DatDamnPR (All reviews)
**SPOILER WARNING**

At first, this series seemed to be extremely intriguing. I liked the premise of the story, and the art/animation style is gorgeous. But unfortunately, for a majority of the series, that's the only thing that I could say positive.

Alka is an assassin for the Clan of the Sword. She's on a journey to find Jin Varrel, who killed her master Hon. Jin is a demon-like woman who controls the Energy of Chaos and kills without feeling, which is similar to how Alka has learned to kill in her work as an assassin. On her journey, Alka meets three gorgeous, strange women, each a great read more
Jul 15, 2014
drethough (All reviews)
Blade and Soul seemed promising, but then it lied to you...

STORY: If you don't already know, Blade and Soul is based off an MMORPG. The story is based around a girl named Alka, who belongs to the infamous Sword clan. A clan known for being extremely dangerous and are usually hired assassins. At first it seems like something promising, then the next episode disappoints you, and then the next and then the next.
5/10

ART: The art in this anime isn't something that should be talked about. As they only focused on the female characters and left all the male characters looking like an awful, read more
Jan 24, 2015
Gotanon (All reviews)
Perhaps a thing of note is that Blade and Soul does not look nor feel like a video game (as one might have expected), just your standard fantasy fare with the magics, totally not loli/shota/furries and stuffs. Blade and Soul is essentially another Queen's Blade... You know, as in, lots of sword wielding thots and... stuffs. Though, it's nowhere near as sexually rampant as Queen's Blade. Instead, in it's place, Blade and Soul can manage to be more retarded. Whatever semblance of an actual story there may have been has surely been bastardized; but to what extent has it been butchered I wouldn't know. And read more
Jul 21, 2014
Larinel (All reviews)
The anime has supernatural dark theme and mainly focuses on woman with a little fanservice here and there. The protagonist is a woman named Aruka who is seeking revenge against Jin Valel the one that killed her master, while being haunted by bounty hunters at the same time.
Plot (3/10): it was kind of disappointing that blade and soul didn't really have a solid plot, the episodes aren't connected to each other whatsoever, each one has its own events, characters and places, I found it to be very boring actually... I wouldn't recommend this anime if you're a fan of big/complicated plots.
characters (4/10) : since females read more
Jun 29, 2014
punkrulz96 (All reviews)
Blade and Soul, when i first knew about it i knew that it would be your typical mediocre anime.

Story - 3/10
The anime has a very weak plot and 80% of the it is just the pointless journey of Alka which has little to no connection to her so called revenge or whatsoever. The story only seems to come back at episode 10 and by then i think everyone has forgotten what the main plot is.

Art - 5/10
The art isn't bad but the design is not to my liking as it makes the characters seems more mature.

Sound - 6/10
I am judging this category read more
Jun 27, 2014
RazorRamona200 (All reviews)
Bueno, muchachos another action josei pack anime has ended, so I'm not gonna fuck around, so with out any adieu, here are my ratings for each of this anime's category:

Good 7.

Story- I like the story where it revolves around an assassin who is trying to find her soul, now let's not forget that this anime's title "Blade and Soul" can be interpreted as an evil person who is trying to find redemption were it was more of a metaphor than a title, the plot may be good but not very good because the dramatic part didn't come along until the middle of part of the read more
Jun 23, 2015
WildNeptune (All reviews)
Blade and Soul is the latest game that is based on an actual MMORPG and not about people trapped in one. It mostly follows Alka, a mysterious swordswoman who is being hunted by the same people who murdered her master.


As stated the story is essentially about how Alka is trying to find the person who killed her master while at the same time trying to stay alive. To make matters worse, Alka herself has a bounty on her and can be identified easily by a tattoo on her body, meaning everyone is out to get her. On her journey she meets both friends and foe read more
Sep 25, 2015
Superiororca (All reviews)
Normally I don't bother with reviews, but the reviews I saw for Blade & Soul p**sed me off. They hardly do this anime justice, apparently Blade & Soul is based off a game, I've never played it and I don't intend to. This review isn't about the game but the anime and the anime was GOOD!

Story (7/10): The general plot of the story is good, it's not to cliche. An assassin goes out for revenge against the person who killed her master. Stuff happens. Etc. Now I don't mean to spoil it or anything, but that's not the only plot for the anime. It begins read more
Jul 11, 2015
Eradawn (All reviews)
To be honest, Blade and soul have good moments and alot of Bad moments. The bad ones surely overhelming in this anime but the character design and the style is very nice drawn and also animated, with exeptcion of Episode 10 this was the worst of all.

Alka is beeing hunted by Jin Varrel ( Ingame name is Jeon Seon Yung) Yuran and Ga Gangte.
this is not always the case of the entire anime in some Episodes we all thing it is the end because main antagonist died before the end. And then its turned into an unexcepted disaster.

Overall it is hard to follow read more
Jul 2, 2015
SirRabbit (All reviews)
Watch this if you enjoy a good artwork of anime, however don't expect too much from this anime in terms of story and character development.

The story seems like they cut it way too short and the fights are so quick and ends way too fast which both are a bit of a disappointing side.

However, if anyone doesn't mind a poor story and loves good female assets bouncing around, they would enjoy this anime though.

I give this a fair score due to the good artwork, else i would even give it slightly lower than a fair score.

Enjoy if you are watching =)
Aug 29, 2014
Lord_Rutsah (All reviews)
Each anime has its own notable points. Bleach has music, Naruto has a good story, One Piece has the moronic fanbase and Blade&Soul has one of the most memorable character developements ever. If you can't stand uselessly long analysis just read the first 2 paragraphs.

Before I start going into a very extensive review of the aforementioned lets throw down the basics. Blade&Soul originates from a chinese medieval fantasy MMORPG. The basic plot is that the Param empire has taken control of everything and groups rebel against their oppressors. That said the anime never clarifies if Param are actually bad guys. Or rather, it read more
Jul 2, 2014
Yubu (All reviews)
Story 5.0/10

Blade & Soul was a good anime at all, didnt followed the original story of the game, but still a interesting story in general, but sometimes it was kind of confusing for what exacly the main character was looking for, and in the end i have to confess that was cliche , and i really had high hopes for the it because i like the game so far, writting was bad but the background history was still good, the battles was kind of nonsense but still fun at least for me, the end like i said was ok but it could be a lot read more
Jun 10, 2016
Emohatotenshi (All reviews)
Contains spoilers, but still you should read as I'm telling you why you shouldn't watch this anime.

I'm writing this review just to warn people who come to watch this anime because of their interest in the game, like myself.

Beware, this anime is super bad, in every way, when it shows some good points, it's only let down by something else, nothing good comes from watching this anime, you'll lose interest after the second episode, and half way though you'll be forcing yourself to continue just for the sake of completion. Let me explain why this anime is so horrific:

1. The story... The story has some read more
Sep 1, 2017
camay1997 (All reviews)
So I was looking for something along the lines of "hot chicks with swords" and stumbled upon Blade & Soul. I wasn’t disappointed. The action was clever and exciting. The characters were well thought out and interesting. The visuals were a treat to look at. It delivered what it offered and I’m glad I watched it. But I do have one complaint I wish to address to pad this review. The character of Hazuki is poor designed and overused to virtually no effect. I feel the show could’ve done without her. Some may dislike this show because of all the T & A and that’s read more
Jan 4, 2015
GL (All reviews)
Story & Characters:
Blade & Soul tells the story of Alka, an emotionless assassin, who seeks to avenge her murdered Master. Killing and death is very much in the focus in Blade & Soul but it succeeds in showing what a double-edged sword killing truly is. Blade & Soul shows a nice character progress, being relatively short 1-cour series does show through as sometimes the development is slightly too sudden. In the end Blade & Soul is a story of Alka growing up and becoming more aware of the world that surrounds her, it truly is filled with likeable characters and I surprisingly didn't find read more
Jul 10, 2014
gmahaterdude (All reviews)
Story 7,5/10

Blade & Soul has a good story to be inspirational in an MMORPG, the development is quite normal fulfill the goals it promised in the beginning but in the middle the story starts to get confusing . Revenge was kinda the main theme of this whole show saying we should take revenge upon people who done bad or some crap

The battle in episode 2 11 and 12 were awesome the thing that kept the show interesting

Like if ur into an anime with a good story this isnt for you but for battle come check it out got some good ones and boobtastic read more
Jun 12, 2015
mrjosemanuel2 (All reviews)
Story: 3
After watching 1º episode I expected a well designed story, maybe not the best, but it seem to be good. It has a lot of diferent powers and characters really interesting and you are waiting to know more about them and.... you will be waiting for it all the anime long. There´s no explanation that reveal the true of the story Thinks happend when they must and thats all. I still wondering why its named Blade and Soul. they only talk about soul in some moments that try to be intense and oving but they end up being crap. So they fucked up read more
Dec 3, 2015
pedoropedoro (All reviews)
Though I do see why people don't think such fondly of Blade and Soul, I do think it's unappreciated.

Since this is an adaptation of a game, the makers probably chose to focus on the characters than the war.
While I do see the show lacked on the world building department, on characters development department was top notch, specially on the MC.

Aruka started as an empty character, moving only by the desire to kill her master's killer. And that wasn't for revenge, at least, due to her lack of emotions, it seemed that way to me.
But during the course of the story, her evolve at a read more
Dec 31, 2016
spiwar (All reviews)
*only really minor spoilers here
Watching the first 8 episodes of Blade and Soul feels like you're just watching another fantasy medival anime, albeit a very bad one. The story feels rather rushed and is vaguely explained, the characters are flat, and lack any meaningful depth or connection to them.
What got me through this anime for those episodes was the somewhat decent animation, and a little hope that the anime would improve itself. It eventually did, with the second half delivering more emotion, character development, and brings and interesting twist to the story. It eventually reverted back to being your typical hero vs Big bad read more