Mononoke
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Mononoke
Japanese: モノノ怪

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 13, 2007 to Sep 28, 2007
Premiered: Summer 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Fuji TV
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Original
Genres: MysteryMystery, HistoricalHistorical, HorrorHorror, DemonsDemons, PsychologicalPsychological, SupernaturalSupernatural, FantasyFantasy, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.421 (scored by 5153051,530 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1392
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #684
Members: 181,416
Favorites: 4,882

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 2, 2008
z-pak (All reviews)
Wow, what a series. Mononoke is the spinoff/sequel of the Bakeneko arc (eps. 9-11) in Ayakashi ~ Japanese Classic Horror. This is not to be confused with the final arc in Mononoke, which ironically, is also called Bakeneko. Although the original Bakeneko tale was brilliant, Mononoke is just as enticing, beautiful and well written as its predecessor. This series lets its art tell the tales. It is not afraid to experiment and has its own distinct style. This is a truly wonderful series especially visually and thematically.

Story: This anime is broken into five different stories lasting about 2 to 3 episodes each. Every one of read more
Nov 2, 2007
ElectricSlime (All reviews)
My initial impression of Mononoke was literally, "...". After giving it a chance I am glad that I wasn't quick to judge and saw it through. Mononoke is a collection of short stories revolving around mysterious spirits/creatures known as, from the title, Mononoke. The writing and directing of the series are excellently done and really immerse you in the story itself. Each arc is a new story with new characters that are well fleshed out in the beginning of each segment. The Medicine Seller, Kusuriuri, is the only recurring character and is mysterious as always with each new arc.

The artistic styling of Mononoke is truly read more
Dec 10, 2013
TheCriticsClub (All reviews)
When someone talks about the genre of horror, immediately a few things come to mind: blood, violent motion, bone and flesh torn asunder, gore essentially approaching abundant forms of shock value. These are what characterize the images that litter the horror genre today. However, one cannot discount the impact of simpler techniques. Muffled voices, the bloodcurdling scream, the manic dip toward insanity; these are all subtler methods which give rise to the imagination and thus leave a more impressionable impact. Mononoke adopts such techniques in each of its standalone stories, and it may not be surprising that these implementations are often left unappreciated. Yet, by read more
Sep 22, 2019
Optigisa (All reviews)
Mononoke is generally thought of as one of the most artistic shows in the medium, if not the most artistic one out there, and it is hailed as a more artistic version of the famous Anime Mushishi, filled with bright yellow and orange colors in contrast to Mushishi’s dim grey and white foggy ones, and animation that comes off as surreal for most of the time. The problem here is that this Anime, although artistically achieved what it wanted to achieve in the long run, became one of the most nauseating experiences I have ever had with an Anime, if not the most nauseating experience read more
Jun 23, 2008
Beatnik (All reviews)
This is like Die Hard, but with angry spirits, a medicine seller, in Edo-period Japan.

Ok, so it’s not like Die Hard at all then. Well, actually...

They both involve antagonists, usually out to terrorize or for revenge, who force the hero to hole themselves up in an interior location with troublesome civilians, while using their wits and skills to battle to an explosive and emotional resolution. See?

Here's where Mononoke carves itself an identity to make itself stand out from John McClane’s frolics with Euro-trash in cramped quarters: (we're all ignoring the 4th instalment, right?)

Mononoke is a visual splatter of psychedelic imagery that's like the read more
Jul 8, 2016
Fleure (All reviews)
The wooden curtain opens with a sinister smile revealing the first scene:

A wave of vibrant, whirling umbrellas cascade down the street; the rain continues to pour in assorted shapes, accompanied by the patter of hollow conversations latching on to the sounds of its perpetual fall. On top of the path rests a towering hotel embellished by color, wood, and ruse. Slowly, an enigmatic wanderer appears at the gate of the inn, with a wooden box strapped on his back requesting to stay there. He is identified as the medicine seller. Shortly after, a young pregnant woman, dressed in desperation, finds herself at the same inn; read more
May 15, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Deadly monsters, haunting spirits, and supernatural entities that are beyond human to even describe with words are but a few examples of what makes horror an appealing genre to many. There are great examples of works of horror that can be considered real masterpieces in its kind. However, it is undoubtedly one of the most accessible genres to not succeed in garnering pure terror within its framework. Especially with anime, where there are only a handful of noteworthy horror shows and the rest only come up with predictable scares and horror tropes being used way too much. Mononoke fits, unfortunately, to the latter; but only read more
Oct 23, 2007
dollie_mixtures (All reviews)
Mononoke is a collection of horror fairy tales, a thrilling blend of mystery, murder and the supernatural. The main and the only recurring character is the Medicine Seller, a laconic man of whom we learn almost nothing, and who, throughout the series, only using his knowledge and a handful of tools, battles the various Mononoke.

The team at Toei Animation accomplished something quite unique - they brought a painting to life. The stationary, ever-present texture of marbled paper, reinforces the illusion of a canvas across which the characters move, in all their watercolour glory, somewhat reminiscent of Ukiyo-e prints. The art is highly stylised with read more
Jan 24, 2016
CecaniahCorabele (All reviews)
Emotions, it's a powerful thing that lurks in human. It can manipulate your feelings, actions, and thoughts. Love, Hate, and other emotions can easily enter your inner-self, creating something we called Demons. Mononoke portrayed how atrocious human emotion can be, and how great an episodic anime can tell a story.

The series started in feudal Japan (probably in Edo Period), Mononoke its evil spirits that born from human emotions. There's one person that able to slay the Mononoke known as Kusuriuri or Medicine Seller, he has a mystic sword that can slay the spirits, but in order to slay it, he have to discover the read more
Sep 6, 2018
emaXstrange (All reviews)
You can't say you've seen 'em all until you've seen MONONOKE.

Visually - STUNNING.

I am mad pissed I had only seen it this year. But already I have re-watched it thrice.

Playing 'detective' while watching it was fun.
Challenging myself, if I am able to guess the Katachi, Makoto and Kotowari before they were revealed - EXHILARATING.

Feast your eyes on the art. The legend. The beauty.
Then be proud that you are now among those who will recommend this to anime first-timers and that they will thank you for it.
Also, be proud that you are among those who get excited when someone mentions Mononoke (without Princess).
Oct 16, 2009
ladyxzeus (All reviews)
Mononoke appears as the continuation of the adventures of a certain character of the last arc of the series Ayakashi. To complement our viewing pleasure, some more arks were added, using an original art style and ingenious storytelling with the sole and honest objective of telling us about stories that could be our own.

The art is, by far, the most impressive part of this series. An explosion of colour that reminds us of the artistical epitome of ancient Japan, intelligent use of mixed media and a careful design for each theme make of Mononoke a treat for our eyes. Each detail is worth of admiration, read more
Jun 10, 2008
Ivantrollet (All reviews)
I'll try too keep this review rather short and concise, but I'll probably just start rambling and won't be able to stop myself if I get out of hand. Since I'm such a rambler, please forgive me if it sometimes seems somewhat unorganized even though I'll do some organizing when it's done. If you're not bothered to read the whole things I wrote 3 pros and 3 cons at the bottom.

Personally I watched this before Ayakashi - Japanese Classic Horror which this is a spin-off from and you can go ahead and watch this without having seen it.

First of let me start of with that read more
Jan 20, 2009
PrinceArthas (All reviews)
First of all: this anime is a masterpiece, and I do REALLY mean it.

Let's start from the beginning, the story. Being composed of five arcs, the anime doesn't really connect any of them, the main character appart, which is quite unique. The style changes from arc to arc, some of them are more disturbing, others are more laughable. The last one, however, has kind of an "end". And this is what made me give not a 10, but a 9 to the story.
If everything was so perfect and unconnected, why put an "end" to it? Let we tell ourselvesl the story continues forever! >_<

Now the read more
Mar 3, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
Have you ever got to the point in watching modern anime where you're lacking that refreshing series? Do you sometimes feel the medium has become watered down and need something to reevaluate your interest in anime? To those of you who feel this way, your Lord and Savior has arrived. Enter Mononoke stage right. A bizarre 2007 release by animation giant Toei Studios (One Piece, Dragonball, Air Gear), Mononoke is unconventional, haunting, suspenseful and dramatic. Coupled with the most striking and unique art style I've come across in ages, Mononoke seeks to create a theatrical masterpiece through its uncanny vignettes. The verdict? Well, you’ll just read more
Feb 7, 2012
Aria34 (All reviews)
Lately I have found that I like shows that have an overall goal for the plot and character development in stead of the episodic, story-arc-of-the-week, formula, but Mononoke is an example of the episodic formula done right while also going all-out, resulting in a very unique show.

The strength of this show is the stories so I'll start with that. As much as I like an over-arching storyline all five of the stories in this show were memorable and strong stories on their own part. Each story is given enough to flesh out character motives and back story while also giving us quite a great deal read more
Oct 15, 2015
Sapphire (All reviews)
I wonder what would happen if I watched this high?

Story: 8/10

Formed around four separate stories with two acts, Mononoke sets up an epic, twisted tale in each of them. Each them very different in their own way, but very much the same, holding a similar type of theme: secrets. We all have them. Some secrets are small. Some are massive and can hold us hostage in our minds, whether the case this anime makes us bring out those dark secrets and makes a nightmare a reality. Illusions. It's all in the head. This is true horror and it absolutely terrified me. I loved read more
Jul 21, 2015
SBAR (All reviews)
回 Super Brief Anime Review:
An apparent fusion between Zen writing and Kabuki theater make for unique art style and brilliant writing prose. Only the first two story arcs seem to carry this ideal however, far outshining the proceeding story arcs. Never the less the first two arcs stand as a must see.


Less Brief:
An exceptional anime it is perfect if you've already seen all the “good” animes out there and are looking for another good one. Just make sure to stick with it for the first 10 minutes.

If the anime were to stand as just the beginning episodes constituting the first two story arcs read more
Apr 29, 2015
berserkersoul (All reviews)
after finishing this momentous series it immediately went on my top favorite animes!!

*DISCLAIMER: TRIGGER WARNINGS: GORE, INCEST, ABORTION* also if you are epileptic, there are a lot of flashing and bright colors watch at your own risk!!!!!!!!

Mononoke is a dynamic, dramatic and suspenseful anime about a mysterious wanderer who is only known as "the medicine seller" who travels from place to place in search of the Mononoke (harmful spirits who are not at rest which can cause death, disease or injury). he has a special sword to kill the Mononoke which needs Form, Truth and Reason (in some subs its regret).

STORY 10: the basic read more
Nov 15, 2015
Jan12 (All reviews)
I try to write as concise as possible, but if you're still too lazy to read (like me), here is a shorter version: if anime means anything to you more than just pure entertainment or an activity to kill time – do check out Mononoke. You WON’T regret it.

I got pulled in the "anime/manga zone" in junior high and I've loved it 'til now. I know some people who share this interest and lots who don’t. But this is the type of anime that I’m not afraid to show it to anyone, say my 32-year-old brother who has absolutely zero interest in Japanese animation. read more
Jan 21, 2019
SunnyRacc (All reviews)
Alright onto the review, I'll try to be objective as i can, somewhat.

Story:
The overall plot is this medicine seller going around and being a badass defeating mononoke. That's the simple answer to "what's the story?" The deeper analysis are each story arc itself. The medicine seller goes around places encountering mononoke.

Art:
Something mononoke does very well. The color use and art style itself is different from many modern and old animes as well, it's unique and something i really enjoyed myself.

Sound:
The medicine sellers VA is great, that mono tone voice just sets the mood of the anime, ofc expressing emotions when needed. I read more