Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fuyu no Semi


Alternative Titles

English: Embracing Love: A Cicada in Winter
Synonyms: Winter Cicada
Japanese: 冬の蝉

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 3
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 23, 2007 to Apr 27, 2007
Producers: On-Lead
Studios: Venet
Source: Manga
Duration: 30 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.661 (scored by 8,040 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: N/A2
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3446
Members: 15,857
Favorites: 148

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 2, 2008
Lyrae (All reviews)
Fuyu no Semi is presented as yaoi. It is not so simple.
Fuyu no Semi is somehow like Romeo and Juliet in Japan, just before and at the beginning of Meiji period. It is a love story that succeeded to make me cry, no matter the time, no matter the people, no matter the sex.

Forget yaoi. Fuyu no Semi talks about male feelings, honor, convictions, modernity... and love.

Moreover, Fuyu no Semi is very interesting for his historical aspects. But history courses never succeeded in making me cry...
Aug 2, 2007
Altomare (All reviews)
All right, it was a few days ago that I stumbled upon this title and I figured “Oh cool, another Yaoi. More smut for me!” And I decided to put it on my “Plan to watch” list for a later day. I didn’t think much of it but yesterday I got bored so I decided to start watching it and oh my god, this is not what I had expected. This isn’t your run-of-the-mill smut story with no plot. This is a very short but absolutely epic story. The romance was very believable and the characters weren’t clichéd with all the normal clichés of your read more
Jun 14, 2008
Enge (All reviews)
Fuyu no Semi is a wonderful, bittersweet love story. What I liked the most about the show was, without a doubt, the characters! Cliche'd characters like Shuuichi and Eiri from Gravitation have their appeals as well, but Fuyu no Semi was the first yaoi show that I have ever watched where I thought to myself, "Wow, these people are 'real'.". I could really empathize with Akizuki and Kusaka through both the highs and lows of their relationship and their experiences together led me to reflect about aspects of life and love that I otherwise wouldn't have given much thought to in my read more
Feb 8, 2015
x_at_home (All reviews)
Fuyu no Semi is about two people of opposite factions falling in love for each other. A love that is never meant to be because of the circumstances they find themselves in. Sounds familiar? Well. It basically sounds like a classic tragic love story and in its essence, it is. What’s fascinating for the western viewer is its setting around the Boshin war which led to the Meiji period and their implications to the story. The historic facts were embedded pretty well in the story, both being referenced by the characters and having huge impact on their lives. The at the beginning seemingly shallow characters read more
Oct 21, 2009
indigokhoos (All reviews)
Fuyu no Semi is a wonderful love story.It is definetly a yaoi anime, and very touching one. After searching for good yaoi and shounen-ai animes, I finally end up in appreciating Fuyu no Semi, besides gakuen heaven.

STORY:
What is good about this anime is that it can be placed into various categories such as drama, action, historical, romance etc.
Its story plot is dammed good for 3 OVA containing all these categories. The story is a very touching one. The emotional aspects both the main characters, Akizuki and Kusaka, can really be felt through out the anime, (The emotions experienced by both Akizuki and Kusaka read more
Jul 4, 2010
WonTawn (All reviews)
One of the most amazing things I've watched in a long time. It was a surprisingly realistic story about the struggles of two men. It wasn't all smut, which was a nice change. It made me cry like a baby, let me tell you. Gosh, it was so great, I can't even describe it.
Nov 13, 2011
mandi92 (All reviews)
I'll start by saying that I bawled my eyes out in the end of this anime. If you don't want to watch something that'll draw that sort of reaction out of you, don't watch this. Wait, scratch that, if you don't want to watch something that'll draw that sort of reaction out of you, watch this anyway and go to your happy place in the end. If you skip this, you will never know what you missed out on.

The story was beautiful and incredibly believable. It was everything a yaoi lover such as myself could've asked for, and it wasn't purely smut like some OVAs read more
Oct 28, 2009
mistressofyaoi (All reviews)
the story is brilliant and will bring a tear to even the coldest of hearts. when one watches this masterpiece they are pulled into a world of beauty and hate.