Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dragon Ball

Watch Dragon Ball Super on Daisuki

Alternative Titles

English: Dragon Ball
Synonyms: Dragonball, DB
Japanese: ドラゴンボール

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 153
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 26, 1986 to Apr 12, 1989
Premiered: Winter 1986
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 19:00 (JST)
Producers: Fuji TV
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.151 (scored by 252,308 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #99
Members: 387,646
Favorites: 7,596

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 10, 2008
L-sama (All reviews)
Ah, Dragonball. The beginning of one of the longest and arguably most popular anime franchise on both sides of the pacific. Unfortunately, this anime seems to be shunned by a few based on its affiliation with its sequels. That's a shame, really.

One huge reason why this anime holds its own is that the entire franchise is in its infancy. There are no Super Saiya-jin stages to worry about, and the fights aren’t stretched out to their barely tolerable limits. The various quests that the young Z-Senshi embark on are just that: quests. There are no interstellar enemies to fight (early on), and the majority of read more
Jul 13, 2015
LordRaditz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dragon Ball... 11\10 if I could!:

This show is a masterpiece, kicking off with an amazing story, great characters and some of the best anime humour! The art is quite obviously outdated, but not awful! And to top it all off, the music is awesome!

At the time of this review, I have only seen the Goku and The Tournament sagas but they have been great and have beaten what I have seen of Dragonball Z and Dragonball (Z) Kai.

Overall, Dragon Ball is a funny, action-packed anime and definitely worth watching!
May 25, 2014
HappyHarryHardOn (All reviews)

This won’t be an in depth review because everyone knows about Dragon Ball and its influence and there are already numerous reviews written about it. This will just give you an idea of whether you should watch it or not, for those who haven’t yet.

Dragon Ball undeservedly doesn’t receive the same attention as its more popular sequel. The Dragon Ball series does receive a lot of flack for being really repetitive and for its unnecessarily long fight sequences but it’s really unfair to compare the franchise to what the shonen genre has become today. Because of this people tend to overlook Dragon Ball.

Story
Dragon Ball read more
Mar 29, 2013
analkonge (All reviews)
Oddly enough not alot of people know of the anime that started it all. Yet most of them have probably watched the sequel. Why is this? I catch myself in this thought all the time, because the prequel is strikingly good when compared it to it's Z counterpart.

This anime succeeds despite it's shortcomings in my book. This is simply because it know's it's a goofy fighting anime and thus dosen't try to be anything else. The focus is therefore put on fighting, cracking jokes and gags, and last but certainly not least: The journey that Goku goes on in itself.

The story in here is very read more
Jun 27, 2007
Sandgolem (All reviews)
The Dragonball Series, is the first in a line of series. It is about the adventures of a young boy Goku, and his travels as he quests to find the 7 magic dragonballs, which can grant anywish! This series is both a comedy and a fighting anime. I enjoyed it quiet a bit and it even enjoys a home in my personal anime collection.


Story

At times the story can be pretty simple, or obvious, or completely random. But overall the general story and the progression through it are very good. Although it doesnt measure up to other animes as well, its own orginal story and characters read more
Aug 2, 2011
xhimekittyx (All reviews)
Where oh where do I begin? Firstly, you can rate this review as 'not helpful'. It's my opinion anyway, so if you like it, that's fine too. I just...DON'T.

First, with the story. 4/10. I gave this anime a try. I truly did. At around episode 50 or so I just...stopped. I mean, the first arc, the Pilaf saga, where Bulma, Goku and friends go to get the dragon balls to make a wish - that was the ONLY arc i liked. after that, the plot repeated itself again and again. Goku would fight against enemy, lose, train, win. Next arc would follow the same thing. read more
Nov 15, 2015
sizest300 (All reviews)
One of Toei Animations (Galaxy Express 999) best franchises anime ever made, Dragon Ball. Spanning at 153 episodes this is the shounen epic of all shounen anime. Thanks to the work by Akira Toriyama, Dragon Ball was one of the first anime that came to the west and started a revolution.

The first arc in the epic starts with a little boy with a tail called Goku living alone in the forest when a teenage girl named Bulma runs into him looking for dragon balls (mysterious balls when all 7 are gathered together they grant one wish). In the beginning, the banter between the two is read more
Dec 2, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Today I pay my respects to one of the all time classics of shonen anime. Some of you might be thinking, "seriously? This filthy casual weak sauce!?" As someone who has always loved reading classical literature, biology, history, and art, the gradual evolution and shaping forces on a medium is of great interest to me. It is impossible to discuss shonen anime without bringing up Dragon Ball. The tremendous influence that Dragonball had on both the fighting Shonen genre and anime in general must be acknowleged, even by those that dislike the series. What the hell made this series so freaking popular and influential? That read more
Mar 6, 2010
MazuraKameo129 (All reviews)
This series simply doesn't get the credit that it should, instead DBZ seems to get majority of the praise. I enjoyed both series and have watched them a ridiculous amount of times, but Dragonball has something that DBZ didn't, I don't know what that something is, but it's what makes Dragon ball the better series.

-Comedy (Not much of this carried over to DBZ)
-The series based around the tournaments
-Jackie Chun

Three things that made DB great; don't get me wrong, I would still rate DBZ perfect as well, I just don't think it's as clever as Dragonball.
Apr 22, 2015
Ragewalk (All reviews)
(May contain Spoilers) I give this Anime an 8, here is why. First reason, GOKU. If this anime was crap, had audio that made me want to listen to Nickelback, and visuals that made me want to poke my eyes out with rusty spoons, and a plot so bad, that it made School Days seem like a Quentin Tarantino film, This would still get at least a 5. It is like a Katy Perry song. You can feature Based God in it and it would still number 1 because of Katy Perry. Goku is the superman of Anime. He can do whatever he wants and read more
Apr 10, 2012
LegionIscariot (All reviews)
Oh DragonBall, I consider this the greatest anime of all time. Better than DragonBall Z or DB GT (in my opinion).
The story of a boy (with a monkey tale) Goku and a girl Bulma who travel the world looking for the 7 dragon balls that when brought together grants a wish. They eventually make friends who join their team…
I prefer DB over DBZ because DB Kid Goku was a clueless kid which was adorable. DBZ Adult Goku is a clueless adult not really interesting.
DB had more actual fighting hand-to-hand while I found that DBZ had too much standing around charging energy and firing energy.
DB was read more
May 21, 2016
Pahatar (All reviews)
Preliminary
*Review will be edited... eventually.*

Oh, my sweet angelic butter on toast, I really can't figure out any justified, coherent reason, of why oh why did I give this piece of a mess so many chances and opportunities, to win me over! Trust me, that I did! and now... all I can do, is to weep, and pout for ever laying my eyes onto this... what the hell ever this was!

I guess it's needles to say at this point, that I never saw Dragon Ball as a child - I was very happy in the Pokemon/Moomins/Sailor Moon-camp, thank you very mutch! I didn't learn of DB, read more
Nov 17, 2015
For_Reign (All reviews)
If you haven't heard about Dragon Ball then you are not a true anime fan. I rate this keeping in mind that the art and sound is what it is because it was created in the 80's. Dragon Ball was NOT a part of my childhood although I truly wish it was. Most people I know were exposed to the series because of it's sequel, Dragon Ball Z (so was I). Several years back I decided to download the entire series already having watched Dragon Ball Z on TV in my teen years. I wanted to know Goku's back story, how he and his friends read more
Sep 24, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Now, I can pretty much guarantee that everyone reading this already knows this information since Dragonball is one of the best known anime/manga franchises out there. Dragonball was first created by Toriyama Akira in 1984. In 1986 Toei animation picked up the license to adapt it into an anime. They have been swimming in the money bin filled with the profits from the license ever since. Let's take a look at the series and see how well it holds up. Keep in mind, I'm not going to worry bout spoilers in this one since both it and its sequels are so well known that even read more
Mar 6, 2017
Wauwski (All reviews)
Dragon Ball is the beginning of Goku's adventure that has spanned decades and is still enjoyable despite first airing in 1986. Dragon Ball is the predecessor of the DBZ series, easily the most popular Anime ever, and what introduced a lot of people to Anime in the West.

The plot of Dragon Ball surrounds the mystery of the Dragon Balls (which was a mystery at the time) and Goku's adventures where he meets friends that are still in the series today.

While the character animations and the main set still look nice (watched remastered version) the backgrounds are very plain and look washed out. This can read more
May 14, 2016
EcchiC18Legend (All reviews)
Dragon Ball The Original Series has many great aspects than it's Sequel Series but it also has a tiny bit of flaws:

Pros:
1. The characters are useful, fun, and interesting.
2. The story may be long but it's a really good story though.
3. The aspects of The Monkey King is really brilliant.
4. The music, environments, and art style are really good.
5. Advanced Martial Arts.

Cons:
1. Pilaf is nothing but a comic relief and is a poor excuse of a villain.
2. Oolong is not that great of a character.

So there you have it. Lastly my most favorite character is Launch because she is Adorable, Hot, Sexy, and so read more
May 11, 2016
Derenor (All reviews)
Everytime I watch some of the original Dragonball episodes I wonder why people mostly cared for Dragonball Z. While Dragonball Z consists of people staring and screaming at each other without doing anything until one of them kills the other guy who then get's resurrected only to continue to stare and scream at his killer, Dragonball tells an interesting story with many interesting characters good (and more importantly short) fighting scenes and a lot of good humor. Unlike Dragonball Z, Dragonball does not need fights were planets get destroyed in the process to keep the viewers attention. It manages to keep the viewer going read more
Jan 26, 2012
Nasudi_808 (All reviews)
This has got to be one of the best anime out there! I was first introduced by this how when I was but 5 or 6 years old, the american version! I hated it! But now that I watched the Japanese version with English sub. I was taken into a more colorful, more expressive world!

Art 9/10: What can I say? It has it's own unique quality and although I something think Goku looks more like a frog taking, his cute personalities, as well as the other characters, just keep me watching it!

Sound 10/10: Epic, classic!

Character9/10: I read more
Aug 1, 2008
mugeninfinity (All reviews)
Dragonball is great story of a boy in search of strength, companions, and adventures. Goku, an orphan boy with a tale, is raised by a hermit by the name of Gohan. Gohan is Goku's first master who teaches him of the marshall arts. However, more importantly, sets an example of morals, such as honesty and integrity. Goku personifies these virtous throughout the series, showing some of the great aspects of the Martial Arts.

As You first begin watching dragon ball you see great animation and scenery. read more
Feb 18, 2015
DeadlySilvers (All reviews)
I missed the opportunity to watch Dragon Ball as a child which both fills me with sadness and happiness. I envy those people who had Dragon Ball impact their early life but I'm also pleased to have had the chance to view the entire series consecutively and without nostalgia to influence my final opinion.

We are starting to live in a politically correct world where entertainment is beginning to stagnate. You want to make some light hearted jokes? Not allowed, someone might be offended. Dragon Ball doesn't care and welcomes jokes and stereotypes without giving a damn. Dragon Ball is the most humour filled Anime that read more