Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Free!: Eternal Summer


Alternative Titles

English: Free! - Eternal Summer
Synonyms: Free! - Iwatobi Swim Club 2, Free! 2nd Season
Japanese: Free!-Eternal Summer-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2014 to Sep 25, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.831 (scored by 122,705 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8432
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #408
Members: 226,696
Favorites: 2,544

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 29, 2014
Veronin (All reviews)
I guess there's a bit more to Free than 'shirtless bishounens jump in water'.

For a series that began with a crescendo of confusion, Free has come a long way in carving its identity as a genuinely decent, though largely forgettable sports anime. While I don't think it will convert anyone who detested the first season (and there were indubitably more than a few of them), those who enjoyed or were indifferent towards Free's first offering will find a large improvement in quality. And yes, heterosexual dudes can now watch it without feeling uncomfortable.

That's not to say that Free has forgotten its primary audience (teenage read more
Sep 24, 2014
silverwalls (All reviews)
The swimming boys are back! Free! kept its promise from season one ("See you next summer...") and returned for another season of swimming, slice of life and manservice. After the first season of five guys swimming competitively and their daily (mis)adventures turned out to be a huge success, it was no surprise that it would get a continuation. And now that the second season finished, how does it compete with its prequel?

Following the story of season one, Free!: Eternal Summer starts off with a new high school term. Makoto and Haruka are now third years, while Rei and Nagisa are now second years at Iwatobi. read more
Sep 25, 2014
Manumento (All reviews)
There is a limit to how much weight can a single shark lift.

Free!: Eternal Summer is a sports comedy slice of life show and a direct sequel to the first season, Free!. It is a reverse moe trope anime, with moe tropes found in girls given to the guys instead. Usually dubbed as a fanservice show for girls with swimming as a backdrop, does it have anything more in it? The answer is yes, it does, but not so much.

Plot:

Another summer comes and the swimmers of Iwatobi and Samezuka High School swimming clubs are once again in a rivalry. It is the last school year read more
Sep 24, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Although sequels can be a hit or miss, Free: Eternal Summer extends on the organic setup of the first season. From shirtless guys to competitive swimming, this show brings the reincarnation of the swimming genre, a sports series that revolutionizes itself with what it has already accomplished from season 1. A good impression for a sequel usually require the essence of the original. While Eternal Summer doesn’t blow the original out the water, neither does it sink beyond salvation.

From what’s shown, Free builds on the foundation of its characters and virtues with connections. Characters connect with one another for a common interest and passion. In read more
Sep 27, 2014
bilbofaggins (All reviews)
The first and start of the second season to this anime was AMAZING. It was 6th on my top fave anime list. But as it progressed through the second season it just became really, really, really cheesy. I expected Rin and Sousuke to start kissing or something, which totally ruined the story for me. I enjoyed the rush it gave when they were partaking in tournaments etc, but once that side was over it just became a gay romance anime (not to be taken in offence, this was actually how the characters began to act towards each other)
The read more
Oct 23, 2014
animimosa (All reviews)
this got really bad.

the torturted animista can only suspect who actually were the culprits pressed the studio in this way to deliver a sequel, but do in no way anything like the first run. whoever it seems it was someone pritty fat and humourless but with a lot of influence to actually insist in the second season, for contract reasons only of course (!), but could force the makers to iron the whole thing flat. as flat they just could get it. really flat i mean.

they removed all elements which created not a spectacular but still entertaining anime in season one, as the sense read more
Oct 5, 2014
tachibanahotarou (All reviews)
Free! Eternal Summer is the season 2 installation of Free! Iwatobi Swim Club. It continues on where the season 1 had ended. At the start of the series, Captain of the Samezuka Swim Team, Seijuurou Mikoshiba, retired and assigned Matsuoka Rin as the new captain. As the anime continued on, it displayed the powerful bond of Haruka Nanase towards his team and his friends. The main focal point of the season 2 is the Iwatobi Swim Club's dream of competing in the national tournament.

The anime also introduced a new character namely, Yamazaki Sousuke. Even though character was a supporting one, he played a big read more
Nov 14, 2014
peeyaj (All reviews)
A little history lesson first:

KyoAni is a very popular Japanese animation studio. KyoAni produced some of the most well-known "moe"shows in the industry, and animes like Haruhi, K! On and Clannad were household names in Japan. In retrospect, the popularity of these shows were mainly because of the popularity of the source material, but boy (!), KyoAni made them 10x more popular. On the other hand, KyoAni were not the only one producing those aforementioned shows, rather, they are part of a production committee (together with Kadokawa Shoten etc.), so got only a fraction of financial successes that those anime made (my assumption).

In 2010, read more
Oct 12, 2014
aikojazz (All reviews)
I never expected myself to cry after watching, especially not a show like Free. But I did. Why?

Story 8/10
At first I wonder, after competing for the swimming competition for the first season, will they compete again this season? The answer is undoubtedly YES. However, not only preparing for swimming competition, the main characters especially Haruka, Makoto and Rin since they are in the third grade, have to start thinking what they want to do after they graduate.

This is where I don't expect Free: Eternal Summer to be good. Although it is mostly about Haru finding his dreams, it is very relatable especially to read more
Dec 23, 2017
ekal (All reviews)
Free! Eternal Summer took me for a ride starting from episode 3 till episode 13. Albeit very confusing at first (and last), I eventually learned the hottest guy's name and was satisfied with that. I'm fairly confident that most people watching Free! Eternal Summer will be able to learn at least one of the character's names before the abrupt ending.

The ending was, Lacking. It was rather unbelievable that the last episode hyped up the nationals swimming competition with a 20 minute intro (without an opening) about their pasts and reminiscing about their stories together, but the team ended up getting *th place. (no spoilers in read more
Dec 9, 2014
MestariYN (All reviews)
My expectations weren't so high... but after I got through the 2nd season I just can say: I did enjoy the show very much!

Of course there actually is a slight homoerotic undertone but this does not mean guys should stay away from it or it's only a show for girls and Yaoi Fans. I think for guys it's quite amusing to see those guys swimming, chatting, ... whatever..., with each other.

However, during the show, there is not so much attention on the swimming; rather, how they interact with each other, how they come and work together as a team and how they keep pushing read more
Nov 28, 2014
pazuhira (All reviews)
STORY: 9

I liked it even more than the first one. Swimming and sweating and more RIN, oh thanks God about that character.

ART: 8

Still very good but nothing special.

SOUND: 9

I LOVED EVERYTHING AND I REGRET NOTHING. The opening is one of my personal favorites and the ending is really catchy.

CHARACTER: 10
I liked the characters more than the first season they had a big character development for me.

ENJOYMENT: 10
ahhh i really didn't want it to end!!

OVERALL: 9

thanks for reading!
Jan 20, 2015
lilymul (All reviews)
Watching this out of curiosity due to the hype and also for some time killing during holiday, Free!Eternal Summer is although might not be the best anime out there, it without a doubt is a very enjoyable series that worth your time.

Following its previous season, I must say that Free!ES stepped up their game in its story and characters.

Story: 7/10

While I finished Free! in average impression, Free!ES although still maintained its common theme about friendship, passion, ambition etc certainly had improved its plot with more relatable events and less complicated, messy childhood flashbacks unlike Free! Although with the theme is pretty much light and read more
Jan 7, 2015
BlackOpps_ (All reviews)
When I watched Free season one I honestly thought it was average at best, not even finishing it untill season two was about to begin. I watched up until episode 8 and dropped it. However coming back to it was the best decison I've made when its come to watching some shows. The last 3 episodes saved the show, making me give it an overall of mark 7 out of 10 for season one! NOW Season two

Story: Much better than season one, there was no awkward rivalry between old friends, as it was resolved at the end of season one and they all read more
May 24, 2016
Chiaki__Nanami (All reviews)
I realize this series is more of a fan service anime for girls. I would recommend any girls to watch this anime, but if you're a guy you probably won't get as much enjoyment out of this anime. I gave this anime a 5 because the anime didn't show much competitive swimming. The show focused a lot on fan service. For me, the first season was much better and this season was more of just a copy of the first, they just got better at swimming. Although the characters did evolve throughout this season.

The good points of this series for me was the soundtrack read more
Jan 18, 2015
Nyren (All reviews)
Anime covers just about every genre there is and there is always something for everyone, no matter what your preference might be. That's the beauty of anime. It is all inclusive, yet still unique, still unlike anything else in this world. That doesn't mean that every anime that has ever been made is something to be cherished, but every once in a blue moon, a special cherry blossom appears. The brightest star amongst the dark night sky. Free!: Eternal Summer is that bright star.

I went into this series expecting a simple, fun anime. But what I discovered, was something far deeper than I could have read more
Oct 29, 2014
Carlzdachu (All reviews)
Initially I had no intention of writing about “Free!” again, mainly because I thought it couldn’t offer me anything new… but I was wrong.

The characteristic trait of “Free!”, and what I loved the most about the first season, was the always present factor of the friendship and camaraderie the swim team shared, it wasn’t the most special or unique one (might say), but it got to me in every sense of the way, thanks to the classic connection felt with teenage characters, that being the struggles of growing up, all accompanied by this, for some people risky, sense of male bonding that made the whole read more
Sep 25, 2014
jambol (All reviews)
I'm going to say it: Free! ES was one of the best shows of the summer. Read into it however you will, but the second season of Free! improves beyond the original in nearly every way.

I remember when Free! first burst onto the scene last year. Personally, I was surprised at how a show about swimming (with some potentially homosexual undertones) developed such a large following so quickly. I was even more surprised when I found that I myself had become part of that following. The first season of Free! was incredibly satisfactory and I found myself looking forward to season 2 almost immediately. And read more
Aug 12, 2016
Suzu-kun22 (All reviews)
Art (7): This is the only truly good thing about this show. The animation is gorgeous. I've always love Kyoto Animation's aesthetic and they way they animate faces and emotions and the subtleties in the character's expressions. But, I have to say that the characters aren't even really deep enough to animate truly subtle emotions on their faces, one of the things that makes the Haruhi Suzumiya character animations amazing as well as the Lucky Star animation, or what I've watched of the Nichijou adaptation. Granted all the characters in those stories are far more interesting and compelling just as people who have lives outside read more
Nov 12, 2014
kittyhawk09 (All reviews)
Free! Eternal Summer was not as dramatic as the theme song made it out to be. It had a lot more comedy and somewhat corny scenes than I thought. However, sandwiched between those is an internal battle that is slowly building in Nanase Haru, is swimming because he loves the water really enough? For a fan of Free!, the previous season, it's satisfying to watch the swim team train harder, watch Rei improve, and reaffirm why they swim. As a motivational message, it's almost convincing to make someone want to swim. Still, if you feel the slice of life is being laid on thick, hold read more