Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Amagi Brilliant Park


Alternative Titles

English: Amagi Brilliant Park
Synonyms: Amaburi
Japanese: 甘城ブリリアントパーク

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2014 to Dec 26, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Fridays at 02:16 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.601 (scored by 206,606 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13932
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #209
Members: 378,283
Favorites: 1,793

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 17, 2015
Veronin (All reviews)
The past couple years haven't been so great for KyoAni. It's hard to deny that they've lost the influence and momentum they had back in the mid-to-late 2000's, and their work as of late has largely ranged from mediocrity to the flat-out bad (yes, I'm looking at Kyoukai no Kanata). Most of these issues can be attributed to their weakness in writing drama, which, thankfully, is nearly non-existent in their most recent series, Amaburi.

Amaburi (officially "Amagi Brilliant Park", which doesn't roll off the tongue nearly as well) sticks instead to KyoAni's strengths. While it's lacking in drama and shirtless bishounens, as a light-hearted slice-of-life read more
Dec 31, 2014
jambol (All reviews)
Amagi Brilliant Park has been making waves in the anime community this season, and it's easy to see why. An intriguingly goofy premise coupled with the fact that it's a Kyoto Animation production sets up rather high expectations. And I have to say, Amagi Brilliant Park exceeded my expectations in nearly every way.

To say that Amaburi is absurd would be an understatement. Kanie Seiya, a high school student, is tasked with reviving a failing amusement park and has three months to reach its yearly quota of 500,000 guests or the park will shut down. Also, this park is inhabited by magical beings from a different read more
Dec 29, 2014
SkyNoHoshi (All reviews)
LOOK AT THE SKY IT'S MAGIC HOUR.
Actually, it's half an hour in one episode, but you'll get the joke soon.

Amagi Brilliant Park is just spectacular. Some of the audience loved it, and I think it's a chance that Kyoto Animation (KyoAni) has actually redeemed themselves over the troubles they had over the past year. Watching the first episode got me hooked since it has an interesting setting to look forward. You surely have seen amusement parks in a lot of anime, but that's just depicting the characters' enjoyment. But, I'm sure you have yet to see behind the scenes of the park's operation.

The story starts read more
Dec 31, 2014
DJNOSTYLE (All reviews)
Once every season, Kyoto Animation shows up and grabs the immediate attention of the entire otaku populous after announcing whatever they've been up to the past few months. Being one of the biggest and most successful animation companies in Japan, people tend to automatically just chalk down whatever they license and eagerly await it, expecting something great. But does KyoAni succeed with their latest addition, Amagi Brilliant Park? Can they truly amount to more than just their wonderfully crafted artwork?

Amagi Brilliant Park (Or Amaburi for short) follows Kanie Seiya, a narcissistic and self-centered (Wait. Kanie...Kanye...I see what you did there, KyoAni) high school student and read more
Dec 25, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
What exactly is Amagi Brilliant Park? On the basic surface, it isn’t exactly brilliant with its host of generic characters. However, taking a closer glance at the show might make you think differently once you’re on board with its ideas. Don’t get me wrong though. Amagi Brilliant Park isn’t exactly a show for everyone but it does launches itself into a realm of its own that has a unique ability to keep the audience at their seats.

Adapted by the light novel of the same name, this anime series covers the first book with a bit of expansion. There are also several interesting noteworthy attributes to read more
Feb 26, 2015
zaraku (All reviews)
Summary: Amagi Brilliant Park is a enjoyable anime if you would like to see the MC and his friend build up towards their goals. It has an alright style of conveying the characters emotions, although it has unfinished romance between some of the characters which i don't like happening in anime I watch.

Story: The plot for Amagi Brilliant Park is certainly original. I haven't seen any other anime with this plot and it makes for a good change. Although they do explain why they have to run the park, I would have liked more detail in that aspect. The originality makes up for it though. read more
Feb 4, 2015
JKinky88 (All reviews)
A carnival setting in anime, is new for me, so going into this show I didn't know what to expect, it looked colorful and bright and there was a huge cast so I had a feeling it was gonna be right up my ally. As I started my rollercoaster expecting something pretty good and maybe amazing, by the end of the rollercoaster, I just had a smile on my face, It wasn't the best ride of my life it was just good. I could sum up Amagi Brilliant Park in just that sentence itself. But this is a review! That would be too dumbwitted.

Story: 7/10
The read more
Jul 23, 2015
Shioxus (All reviews)
When I heard of this anime I thought the concept sounded ridiculous. A highschool boy becomes the manager of a magical theme park in an attempt to save its workers from doom. To be honest, it is ridiculous. There's no way around that. Luckily, this anime is so fun and entertaining that it's easy to forget how stupid it should be.

The characters help this aspect a lot. All of the main characters get ample development, and a lot of the side characters as well. This helps pull the anime through some of its sillier scenes, and lends weight to what should be cheesy dramatic moments read more
Dec 27, 2014
chesudesu (All reviews)
To be honest, I only considered watching Amagi Brilliant Park because it's Kyoto Animation. But what kept me watching is my love for theme parks.

I really thought Amaburi would be an exposition, showing its viewers true-to-life behind the scenes and nitty-gritty aspects of a particular object (in this case, a theme park) - something like Shirobako with anime making - plus an added fantasy in the side. I suppose it is that kind of anime in its own way. Only, most of the elements you encounter are improbable. It's a fantasy anime, no doubt about it.

Amaburi's art is its most dazzling feat. It's nothing less read more
Dec 27, 2014
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Ah, amusement parks. Disney world, Six Flags, Oceanworld, Japan's DisneySea, we all have wonderful, wonderful memories in them with our families and friends. But have you ever wondered what happens behind the scenes? (Probably not) But thankfully, Amagi Brilliant Park gives us this answer in a very nicely done comedic sense.

Story (7.33/10): Held against a wall against his will, Kanie Seiya is threatened with his life by a girl at his school by the name of Isuzu Sento, who is holding him by gunpoint. After being asked (more like forced) to go on a date with her to an read more
Feb 18, 2015
cascadeai (All reviews)
tl dr; no spoilerino animingo - it sounds lame as fuck but its actually not bad hey.

This cartoon jumps straight into the action and doesnt mess about. The story was well set up and introduced with easy to recognise and interesting characters. the first 4/5 episodes are related to the over-arching story of needing guests with a few "character helping" episodes in between before finishing the main story. i normally hate this format as it means my fat 300lb ass has to sit through more aneemay and spend less time shaking hands with my man downstairs but it was very enjoyable, each episode had its read more
Jan 9, 2015
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
“Simply put, we need to go lewder. Miniskirts! Swimsuits! Low-Angle Shots! You need to put in as many of those as you can without breaking the law.”
-Amagi Brilliant Park, Episode 13

Another season, another project by KyoAni unfolded to the masses. Though it seems as though KyoAni’s latest attempt at trying to appeal to the anime demographic that loves cute and sexy girls is now back in full fashion, I’d think of Amagi Brilliant Park as their apology to all the people who were whining about the “gayness” that KyoAni was ostracizing with their recent hit, “Free!”. Hey, they can make whatever they please, and we read more
Apr 13, 2015
Seto_Masamune (All reviews)
Amagi Brilliant Park is a Fantasy, Romantic Comedy anime, where Seiya Kanie is asked to help the park from closing by attracting 250,000 visitors because the staff of the park are from a magical realm called Maple Land and the park is really a facility thats harvests a magical energy form visitors while they are having fun, so they can maintain their existence in the human realm. So as you can see just a normal anime plot, ok really it a really good concept and is very interesting, and i promise the story is really good as they face different situations each episode while trying read more
May 14, 2015
aldero (All reviews)
TL;DR - Fun for all ages

Watching Amagi Brilliant Park is refreshing. You are not watching some kids trying to save the world, or some evil zombie feast, or even (un)popular-guy-loved-by-every-girl-he-talks-to. Aamgi Brilliant Park is brilliant, entertaining and never fails to amaze.

(MOSTLY) GOOD - Story

The series quickly established the premise: the run-down Amagi Brilliant Park, owned by a princess from a land of magic, is in dire situation. Unless it reaches the yearly quota of half a million visitors in the next three months, it faces foreclosure. The only saviour is in the form of Kanie Seiya, a narcissistic high school student read more
Jun 30, 2015
nofeelings (All reviews)
I'm really glad I watched Amagi Brilliant Park, one reason being it stems away from the generic storyline of anime its kind. ABP is best described as having a "slice of business" vibe with a magic orientated twist, making the comedy aspect a lot smoother and unique throughout the show. What's not unique or amusing about a bunch of drunk, lewd-minded mascots running around a magical decrepit amusement park?

I honestly thought every aspect of this anime was really well balanced. Not too many jokes, the jokes they did have were actually funny since the character development was decent and the romance didn't flood the read more
Mar 8, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
How could a perfect, prior child actor, mythical princess, rage-stricken mouse and a perverted pink pomeranian (alliteration much?) recover a slumbering theme park from to its old days of glory? I'll admit, I literally had no idea how the hell that was going to happen before I tuned into Amagi Brilliant Park. This is one of those shows that grabbed my goldfish attention span with a sticky glove and refused to let me get to my ever-growing backlog. I was in the mood for a lighthearted series with lots of laughs and colorful pizzazz, nothing more. What Amagi delivered ended up read more
Jan 13, 2015
MugenDreamu (All reviews)
Need something to make you rolling on the floor? Well then, You found it.

This series are full of comedy, each episode are episodic, just a random problem solving, and every little things is very funny.

You'll find a few chara design not well fitted with their personalites, I mean who supposed to be cute and all, but the creators makes they to act differently. Even so I think that's the good idea and I supposed to say that's makes it the most funniest point in this anime.

The art style are good and fit in with the magical theme.

Eventhought the main story base are so-so, but overall read more
Apr 19, 2015
MeePeR (All reviews)
Amagi Brilliant Park is a high energy, fun comedy anime with a large amount of characters that all have their own unique personalities. There has been a lot of hype built around this anime, many people saying that this is a must watch, one of the best anime of the fall 2014 season, possibly one of the best of 2014.

I for one, did not receive any of said hype, and didn't watch while the show was still airing. I eventually started watching Amagi Brilliant Park a few months later, and boy did I miss out on something amazing!

Summary: It begins by introducing our self absorbed read more
Apr 3, 2015
Gifoo (All reviews)
I started watching Amagi Brilliant Park, with a mindset "I am gonna drop this after a few episodes." A killer start and a hilarious graduation of sit-com, throughout the series, got me hooked and now I am craving for more.

The first two episodes builds up the goal of the story. After that, it switches to a slice of life and comedy style of story telling, where this goal is still present, but in a background in a unintrusive form. I think it helps to enjoy the characters and the fantasy elements even more.

The anime adapts the light novels in a non-chronological order and changes a read more
Jan 16, 2015
kyousukeOkarin (All reviews)
Ahh Amagi Brilliant Park, hyped because it is animated by the legendary Kyoto Animation...and rightfully so. I will try to not spoil anything, though I am not very experienced with writing reviews so we shall see how this goes, please understand Senpai.

Amagi Brilliant Park boasts beautiful animation and a beautiful soundtrack (I love the opening theme). Kyoto Animation does what they do best with stunning art and a memorable soundtrack, combined with a frenzy of laughs. Every episode is humorous and worth the watch, never does an episode seem to overstay its welcome (If only all comedies could be like this).

Our main character.Kanie, read more