Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ping Pong the Animation


Alternative Titles

English: Ping Pong the Animation
Synonyms: PPTA
Japanese: ピンポン THE ANIMATION

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 11, 2014 to Jun 20, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:50 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.641 (scored by 82,859 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #622
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #557
Members: 168,888
Favorites: 7,904

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 19, 2014
Volunteer (All reviews)
Ping Pong The Animation is an exceptional show. This is less of a sports anime and more of a powerful emotions series. It's a beautifully crafted coming of age story and one that certainly doesn't come along often. In a word, it's unconventional. Nothing about Ping Pong feels ordinary so love it or hate it, it's hard to not recognize its artistic merit.

The story is a simple one and it chronicles the lives of two boys and their experiences with table tennis. We're introduced to Makoto Tsukimoto, aptly nicknamed "Smile", and his boastful best friend Yutaka Hoshino, or "Peco". These two are polar opposites read more
Jul 7, 2014
Satire (All reviews)
It's a rarity nowadays to find many series or studios willing to take risks. Much of the anime industry has taken to fan-service oriented pandering and it's left me craving for something new. Something that can blow me away with it's creativity and unorthodox presentation. Utilizing its unconventional style, fantastic character development, symbolism, and occasional moments of witty dry humor, Ping Pong The Animation is that something.

When I first started this series I had low expectations. How could a series about ping pong be any good? It seemed like the flop of the season. Fortunately, I have never been so wrong. Despite its appearances of read more
Jun 25, 2014
LeFlower-kun (All reviews)
"Chant these words three times in your mind!"
"Hero kenzan!" "Hero kenzan!" "Hero kenzan!"
"Do that, and I'll come to you!"

From time to time, a show will be despised by some for the unorthodox and uncommon mediums of presentation and execution. I hold the notion that Ping Pong The Animation truly uses its unorthodox way with great triumph and success.

Ping Pong The Animation is set in a local Japanese town and portrays the lives of two young boys in the local table-tennis club. Having an innate talent for the sport, Makoto Tsukimoto, nicknamed Smile, and his close friend Yukata Hoshino, nicknamed Peco, are depicted read more
Jun 2, 2015
Rqt (All reviews)
I recently reviewed something and gave it praise for the narrative it was able to achieve in 13 episodes. I can’t help but share that sentiment in regards to what Ping Pong is able to accomplish with its 11 episodes. A transformation story from angsty adolescence to enlightened and matured adults, Ping Pong goes well and truly beyond the generic confines of the sports genre illustrating a beautiful narrative of complex emotional growth and maturation, truly cementing its place as a modern classic.

It wouldn’t be a stretch to call Masaaki Yuasa a genius. Those who have been exposed to his past works will understand read more
Jul 23, 2014
Play2X (All reviews)
Oh yeah, Ping Pong: The Animation.
I know I'll get reports and dislikes for this one,
but please bear with me, since this is my oppinion.

Story: 4/10
The story of Ping Pong is probably one of the poorest executed versions of 'Cliche-Sports-Story Mk I'. There isn't even much I could spoil. What do you expect of the most cliched sportsstory?
Take a while and imagine. I'll give you a hint its the same principle used in next to every shounen, as well as probably every sports anime.
I don't have much of a problem with such a storyline in itself, but if the story is like that, you'd need some read more
Jul 9, 2014
QuietDiscourse (All reviews)
"He's got to have a hole in his defense! He's reading me—he's predicting my moves. Show me your weak point! I just can't afford to end here!" Think these lines are from the latest battle shounen? Wrong: they're from none other than Ping Pong: The Animation! If the theme of table tennis doesn't pique your interest, looking at the show's creators certainly should. Masaaki Yuasa, known for making great creative anime, teams up with Taiyou Matsumoto, a mangaka with similar experimental tendencies: the harmless fun-filled game of table tennis suddenly got a whole lot more interesting.

The very first minutes of the show seek to impress: read more
Jul 29, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
I remember a few years back, when I was discussing anime with someone in a year above mine at my school, that the discussion had turned to what we believed was the worst anime of all time. We discussed the usual that everybody brings up. Mars of Destruction, Boku no Pico as well as the then recently released second season of Tokyo Ghoul. As we kept discussing this topic, the other person, let's call him, "Light Novel Trash Lover" (as he kept telling me Infinite Stratos and SAO were the best anime ever made and he even came to school cosplaying Kirito a couple of read more
Jun 19, 2014
AtlasInvictus (All reviews)
An anime about sports? An anime about ping pong? I would have never thought to ever give a show like this a try, while I do like the occasional play of table tennis in my freetime and during sports at school the idea of watching others playing it in the animated form was somewhat dull but interesting. Having heard from other sources that it is actually quite good and among the best series of this season I decided to check Ping Pong: The Animation out.

Today it has ended and now I'm sitting here at midnight writing this review because continuing Ping Pong after a long read more
Jun 19, 2014
Karhu (All reviews)
Ping Pong won the all exciting adventure this spring season of anime was and became anime of the season. Spring 2014 winner, woohoo.

Ping Pong is an anime about life which centers around Ping Pong. The first challenge we viewers face is ironically the faces itself. Everyone looks the same, it is a pain to remember all the characters when they don't have different colored hairs nor any bishonen tropes on their character design. Our main characters are pretty easy. The other one is called smile, he never smiles, but he has glasses (not to be confused with megane). He is the most troubled character read more
Nov 1, 2014
eyerok (All reviews)
To dismiss, or to even think of Ping Pong: The Animation as another sports anime would be a gross error of judgement. Ping Pong: The Animation is not about sports. It is not about Ping Pong. Not really. It is a profoundly human story; a look at the lives, passions, and motivations of characters that sound and act so real that you can’t help think of them as real flesh and blood, people with feelings, emotions and souls of their own.

No. Ping Pong is not about sports, or THE sport, or the ‘athletes’. It is not about winning or losing. It is against the very read more
Jun 19, 2014
Momoirooooo (All reviews)
Ping Pong The Animation, originally created by Matsumoto Taiyou, is more than what one would call unique, even more so if you just look at sports Anime.

The story of Ping Pong The Animation is unexpectedly complex while simple at the same time. It's not a light-hearted watch but nor is it deep enough to drown. The story follows multiple characters, highlighting Peco and Smile, while developing them all in amazing ways. There is always something to look forward to, whether there's a cliffhanger or not. Ping Pong The Animation feels like such a smooth watch; there are no bumps along the way. Doubts were had read more
Jun 19, 2014
CD2411 (All reviews)
The anime industry is plagued with generic harems and bad writing. But occasionally a series will appear that stands out. A diamond in the rough. Ping Pong is one of these series.

The story of Ping Pong is, on the surface, about ping pong. However, dig a little deeper and you will find a fantastic series about growing up. The series focuses on themes such as insecurity, anxiety and most notably, courage. These themes are explored to the fullest with seemingly insignificant scenes such as those featuring The Hero becoming increasingly relevant as the series progresses. This is not to say ping pong isn't relevant read more
Jun 19, 2014
zerojustice315 (All reviews)
Note: This is my first really serious review, so any feedback is appreciated!

Where do I even begin. I've asked myself that question about that show time and time again. I guess the best place to start, as always, is the beginning. Be warned, there are slight spoilers although I try not to. It's hard gushing about a show I love so much now without talking about ALL of it.

I saw this show on the Spring anime list. I thought, "I like ping pong, that's pretty funny, I wonder what the show will be about." I had not read the manga, I did not know any read more
Jun 28, 2014
sjwho2 (All reviews)
Ping Pong the Animation.

It's one of those series that is either going to get over-the-top praise or disdain from it's watchers, for me it was simple disappointment.

Story: 5
-Well like most sports anime the story is not too heavy. However Ping Pong's biggest problem is that the story and how it plays out has been done before, several times in fact. You can see the ending from the start and every "twist" isn't all that surprising once you get to the end. I was not entertained when it came to the story and it's presentation.
NOTE: I do not take away points for it being a read more
Jan 19, 2016
Hornpub (All reviews)
- NOT A SPOILER FREE REVIEW -

This review was made to make people fully understand this show, which often makes people confused, not because it is hard to understand, but because the show tries to push in 11 episodes as much motives as it takes and the full meaning is not as visible as it is needed to understand it while watching it for the first time.
If you didn't like Ping Pong the Animation or didn't really understand what was going on in there i encourage you to read this review.


Ping Pong the Animation is an exceptional show, unorthodox in every aspect, at first glance read more
Feb 17, 2016
Midg3tLuv (All reviews)
THIS IS THE GREATEST...................................DISAPPOINTMENT!!!!!!

This show is ass and not the good kind.

I am going to compare it to Van Gogh's 1888 "The Night Café" throughout this review. When anyone looks at "The Night Café", they see a subpar painting. They are standing there confused as to why everyone is proclaiming this to be a fine piece. You need to know that the light green bar is representative of the green fairy. You need to know that the clock is just past twelve so it isn't tactful to be drinking during either time. You have to know that the warm walls with the white tables will read more
Nov 16, 2018
KyoumaZ (All reviews)
Ping Pong the Animation (PPtA) must be one of the most crushingly beautiful works I’ve ever encountered, no matter the medium. According to the vague memory of my first watch of it, it felt like watching sports car going at full speed from start to finish. As fuel for the ride served the show's outstanding qualities across several fields, most importantly its natural character-relations and resonant thematic depth. Almost like love at first sight, it engraved itself into one of my favourite works of all time, accomplishing that in one mere session of binge-watching. Unfortunately enough, due to the speed of my initial watch and read more
Aug 12, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Ping Pong, a sport that is played on a table. Who knew it could be so compelling when transformed into anime form? At first glance, this show seems like an unattractive piece of work with its oddly drawn looking characters. But that’s only the surface as the complexity of Ping Pong the Animation is more about the animation style. It’s about craftsmanship of a game that revolutionized with in an avant-garde way that is captivating, thought provoking, and mutation from unique to convincing work of art.

The show makes its entrance fairly straight forward with the competitive sport of ping pong. I am not an active read more
Jan 28, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

Heroes are the stuff of legend. They can prevent natural disasters to protect the Earth, fight giant monsters to defend a city, and even rescue people from unsightly doom. Heroes are who we call for when the going gets tough. They do what nobody else can, and that is, simply put, save. And it doesn't have to come from stopping an earthquake or beating up evil; what they do better than almost anyone else is instill hope. That, no matter what may come next, there is still a chance. And sometimes -- very rarely -- the heroes are read more
Oct 18, 2015
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)
By the sixth time the characters talked about how talented and brilliant Tsukimoto is, I had to make sure I wasn’t watching a battle shounen series. At least the observers in Medabots looked anxious and worried. Ikki fought against tough enemies and had to find chinks in their armor. Here, Tsukimoto hits the ball a few times, push up his glasses and walks away. Not smiling did not add depth to the character.

There’s a brilliant story here somewhere. The story follows a cast that each has a different approach to the sport. This is an archetype that gives you so much do it never gets read more