Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii


Alternative Titles

English: The World is Still Beautiful
Synonyms: Still world is Beautiful
Japanese: それでも世界は美しい

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2014 to Jun 29, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.781 (scored by 82,559 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9612
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #579
Members: 177,792
Favorites: 1,567

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 28, 2014
papsoshea (All reviews)
There is something about this show that sets itself apart from other shoujo anime that have been coming out as of late. While Soredemo has its share of shoujo tropes, to me it tonally resides in a sort of genre-free zone. This series isn’t a “typical” shoujo fantasy or romance—the genre here is simply “really good”. Shortly after the first episode, I found that ‘something’, it has ‘charm’. This is what has been missing in a lot of recent shoujo which enrichens the magical and alluring atmosphere of the series. Adapted from Dai Shiina's manga, "Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii" (The World is Still Beautiful), the read more
Jun 29, 2014
AnimeZ0id (All reviews)
I really feel like this anime just has a way of getting you sucked into the story. Yes it's shoujo, yes it's romance, but it's an enchanting story being told. And it's not that typical "oh well he's a king & I'm a princess" *automatically falls in love* Not even close! He threw her in jail when Livi first met Nike xD It's a story that takes place in a distant era, but it's definitely not what you expect!

Story: 8/10- What is to really admire about this story is that it's not that shoujo that's all about the romance and overly sweet moments. There's actions, read more
Oct 25, 2014
CecaniahCorabele (All reviews)
Romance is the oldest story in the world. The story of Romance that involving two kingdoms/empire is one of the most classic stories that ever made. Several authors write the story by giving the sweetest moment between the couple that exist in the story. And now, Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii continue the legacy of that classic era. Well, if you look deeply inside the plot, Soredemo Sekai Wa Utsukushi have the same typical romance comedy plot, but it's capable to represents the main feeling of the story itself. Soredemo succeed brings all the emotion on the screen, it has great plot although not the greatest read more
Jun 28, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Does rock-paper-scissors determine the fate of everything? Not really but for Nike Lemercier, the fourth and youngest princess of Rain Dukedom, she’s about to find out just how much her life will change with just a game. Despite her reluctance, she is to marry the Sun King Livius, not for an everlasting relationship but for her country’s sake. Facing the problem of annexation, she travels to the Sun Kingdom for a marriage, one she thought was never meant to be. And boy, was she wrong.

First thought regarding the series primarily deals with its adaptation. The anime covers roughly 18 chapters of the fantasy shoujo manga, read more
Apr 15, 2015
MAND4 (All reviews)
With the glaring number of praising reviews, and a decent enough of the overall, I had thought to find at least something that would temporarily be a time-killer of sorts. Unfortunately, what I found was a show riddled with problems, unbearable story and poor characters. Throughout the entire show, the only thing that stuck out was production value - something that matters the least in the show of this genre.

What Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii has is not a story - it's rather an abomination, shrouded in overlapping layers of discomfort, insanity and terrible writing. Story is crippled by its inability to stay consistent, subtle read more
Dec 23, 2014
WindAngel959 (All reviews)
Soredemo sekai wa utsukushii ( The world is still beautiful ). As described on the tittle,this anime really portrays the beautiful side of the world. At first glance,it just looks like your typical prince and princess get together life happily ever after shoujo anime,But don't let your first impression fools you. This show is more than that,it is an outstanding anime indeed

Story : 8
=======
This anime starts off with a strong foundation of story.At first,it won't give you a special impression but as you watch each episodes,you'll find yourself captivated by this anime's story charisma.The story will keep going on and without you notice,you are already read more
Jun 29, 2014
Nasty001 (All reviews)
What does this anime remind me of? Ans, "The King and I" yes a classic 1956 movie (with its 1999 re-make) that you're great grandma has probably watched when she was younger and re-watch several times in some of those classic channels.......that is, if they have access to 'Turner Classics" or "MGM Classic, " hey, let's face it, it was almost identical to the classic where the king is a cold and uptight ruler and the girl is an independent outspoken individual, even thought there is that reverse thing, where in the classic it a east meets west kind of thing, here it was read more
Dec 31, 2014
RarestProGamer (All reviews)
!!!Warning- This manga can make you go all "awwweeooooiii,blush,tears,laugh,feels" and In case like mine combination of all. Before, I start reviewing I need to say 2 things

1. This is just my opinion,feel free to give your suggestions.
2. I will try my best to ignore the story as much as possible, so it won't ruin the fun for you.


~ I never felt this good watching a shoujo anime since lovely complex.Its literally a lot similar to lovely complex too because of the height difference between the main couple and humor, what surprised me the most the animation is done by "Studio Pierrot", YEA YOU HEARD read more
Jul 4, 2014
flaming-moltres (All reviews)
This is one of the best shoujos I've watched so far. It stands out with it's unusual setting, great and not cliché at all characters and the great music.

Story:
It was pretty original. I like the world the author created, although I couldn't understand everything about it. The story was a bit too fast paced for my taste in the first half, but it got more well balanced towards the end. It felt a bit over dramatic to me at some parts, maybe because twelve episodes are not enough to really get into the story and feel moved by the drama. I did feeled pretty moved read more
May 26, 2015
kittybits (All reviews)
I was hesitant to watch this anime, given the synopsis explained led me to believe it would be a lighthearted comedy, a genre to which I am not particularly partial. I put off watching it for quite some time, until I had caught up with all the currently airing anime I'd been interested in, and in my idleness, I decided to watch it.

I marathon-ed this anime in two days.

The story was not the most colorful or elaborate, but it was rich in culture and backstory. I must say, if you are a sucker for backstory, it shall be sated here, rather read more
Mar 19, 2015
Yelq (All reviews)
There goes another anime that I've really enjoyed. I felt like its been ages since I had another one that really can suck up my time with. I've literally finished the whole series without stopping. I don't usually write reviews , but I just had to write this one.

What's more , it is a Shoujo Anime where you expect a handsome prince pops out fells in love at first sight to a not famous princess . Well no. A Shoujo, but not the typical ones.

Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii (The World is Still Beautiful) really caught my attention after watching the 1st episode. Not just read more
May 15, 2015
ikkiwikki (All reviews)
This is my first review, so please bear with me!
I don't want to spoil anything so I am just gonna summarize the "feeling" of watching this anime.
I did not want to see this anime at first because of the plot, but I decided to see it anyway today because I had nothing better to do.

I am so really happy that I decided to watch this anime, for the feelings that this anime have brought me. The leading characters of this anime are outstanding, I could not help to love that sassy young king, and I love an outgoing female like Nike.

Dont let the fact read more
Jun 30, 2014
Fellika (All reviews)
This is technically the first time I encountered an anime that had a beautiful scene every single moment. All you think at the end is "I want more" and "I need to read the manga now!!!" This is by far my number one anime of the year. Everything about the anime is astonishing and beautiful. When I mean beautiful I mean beautiful.

Story: Everything about the story had a cause and an effect. They had moments where love, had, sadness come into play. You can tell that each and every scene in the story would touch your heart in a second. It was fun and hilarious. read more
Mar 24, 2015
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
The World Is Still Beautiful is a shoujo fantasy romantic comedy-drama set within a fictional land where a princess of the Rain Dukedom named Nike is arranged to be married to the Sun Kingdom's young ruler Livius in order for the Rain Dukedom to maintain its sovereignty. The series is mainly focused on the growing bond between Nike and Livius, exploring Livius' traumatic past and exploring the political hostilities that erupt among both factions in response to the marriage.

The biggest strengths to this series come in the nice amount of exploration it offers up to with Nike and Livius' lives. In spite of its 12 read more
Feb 8, 2015
alexismv (All reviews)
With this anime, there were both things that I enjoyed, but there were also things that I didn't like. I rated the story as 'Fair' for a couple of reasons, mostly on the basis of my bias towards shoujo anime. I usually don't like shoujo anime and manga in its original, flowery, roses and sparkles and hot anime guys form. Although, there are, of course, exceptions. Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii, aka Still World is Beautiful, aka The World is Still Beautiful, is, I admit, an exception. (Toshokan Sensou is also definitely an exception...okay, so is Lovely Complex. Lovely Complex is hilarious).

The story, although amusing read more
Jun 30, 2014
SweetSerenadexX (All reviews)
Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii. A great romance anime. This was an anime I was really looking forward to, but I waited until it finished airing. I'm just not patient enough to wait for a whole week every time after watching just one episode. Never mind, I'll start my review:

Story 10/10
The story is about Nike, the fourth princess of the rain kingdom. As she lost a rock-paper-scissors match to her sisters, she has to go to the sun kingdom and marry the king. When she arrives, she finds out the king is a kid. But that apart, the king has a very closed personnality and orders read more
Oct 19, 2017
DaveHert (All reviews)
After watching countless garbage disguised as romantic anime, it was rather refreshing to finally watch something really good. It is still a puzzle why this anime has such low ratings because if anything Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii deserves a higher rating than it is getting.

Having had Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii on my system for up to a year, i finally decided to give it a watch, i initially went into it with the assumption it would be another cliché filled garbage of an anime, but after watching the first episode i felt compelled to watch the next episode because something about it looked promising, after read more
Sep 3, 2015
kerxham (All reviews)
I found this series rather uninspired. Lacking in intrigue , it tries too hard in all the wrong ways while leaving its potential strengths to languish in the derived mediocrities of the shojo genre. The plot mechanic of the age disparity between the protagonists, especially in light of their genders, was the sole unique feature that drew me to this anime (as I'm fond of unconventional romances) and partially redeems it after the fact. Perhaps I was expecting too much of this series but like an initially idealistic parent later turned sour on the realities of life; I am left simply disappointed at the waste read more
Oct 15, 2015
TFO1013 (All reviews)
Story: I can sum it up in two words: Stockholm Syndrome. That's what's going on in this anime and there isn't a more obvious example available. It isn't a true romance. The king essentially holds the girl hostage and then she gradually falls for him. She begins to see what she wants to see in him (the fact that he's emotionally damaged and needs to be loved) and soon forgets the fact that she's there against her wishes.

Characters: I'll start with Livius. He's the child of a king but since his mother was a commoner both he and his mother were treated like outcasts. As read more
Dec 26, 2014
maegan_kk (All reviews)
Preliminary
I’ll start off this review by making it clear that I haven’t read the manga and knew nothing about this story when I decided to start watching the anime, therefore my opinion is purely based on the latter.

This being said, I was less than impressed with it, in fact I’m surprised that the vast majority of the reviews are positive and praise this enough to rate it with a 10… but anyway, everyone’s entitled to their opinion and here’s mine: Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii was mediocre at best. Let me break down the reasons:

Story 4/10

Knowing nothing about this anime or its characters, I must say read more