Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tennis no Ouji-sama


Alternative Titles

English: The Prince of Tennis
Japanese: テニスの王子様

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 178
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 10, 2001 to Mar 23, 2005
Premiered: Fall 2001
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Trans Arts
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.991 (scored by 51,590 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5912
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #884
Members: 117,476
Favorites: 2,926

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 8, 2013
ericswift213 (All reviews)
The prince of tennis, I have probably rewatched all 176 episodes + the specials + the ovas + the movies maybe about 2-3x each ,

Echizen ryoma a first year highschool student first ever to become a regular on the tennis team faces many strong adversaries in the early episodes he says he hates tennis because he only wants to play it to finally beat someone , that someone is , someone close to him will not say for the people that have not seen this anime yet. Echizen ryoma has to play many strong opponents even people on his tennis team at school such read more
Sep 15, 2016
Geddon616 (All reviews)
Whenever i think great sports anime this is deffinetly the one that comes up. Prince of tennis might be long but the amount of rewatching i have had with it proves it atleast to me that its worth enjoying to its fullest

So why do i enjoy this relativ old anime. Well first Story centering around echizen Ryoma a tennis prodigy who just sticks out like something of that uniqness shown in old classics. As the story progress so does the character with the good flow of a great story. It makes tennis of course look more special that what it is in a sence but read more
Aug 30, 2010
Alby (All reviews)
I personally had played tennis before, and I can notice throughout both the manga and anime that each aspect had something to do with the real life tennis, with a pint of exaggeration. As we recognize, Prince of Tennis is about a first year student in a tennis club, who was the son of a famous player. Now inside the tennis club were multiple players, each having certain moves while playing against each other during tennis. In matter of fact, each special move that they make rely to real moves that are done during the real life tennis, but with just a lot more exaggeration read more
Jan 30, 2009
Gioeva (All reviews)
Prince of Tennis, a sports anime and one of the few sports animes I've watched and happened to enjoy watching. I won't waste time here with the synopsis, I'm sure you can look it up yourself if you really wanted to.

Story: I think the story progressed nicely as you watch the rise and fall, the hardship and the many lessons our main star endures to reach his goals. Many sports animes tend to focus on the main character working from being a total clutz with zero talent into the world's greatest *insert sports here* player. This anime moves slighly away from that read more
May 23, 2008
otaku228 (All reviews)
Prince of Tennis is probably not the first show on your 'to watch' list, right? Well if I were you, I might want to change that. You don't need any bit of love for tennis to enjoy this anime. The strange tactics and tecniques used in this show could never be in the same category as the sport they are used for unless you know someone who can hit a tennis ball hard enough to knock their opponent into the stands.

It is a tremendously thrilling experience watching Echizen Ryoma advance in his path to defeat his father, who is considered a legend in the world read more
Sep 14, 2012
shadowfireflame (All reviews)
Preliminary
A bunch of junior high school kids play some tennis with supernatural powers. The main character is Ryoma Echizen, an aloof, unflappable, and rather sneakily cocky freshman tennis player with amazing skill and stamina. He was trained by his father, Nanjiroh, who was an amazing pro and now spends his days living in a temple and reading porn (I can relate to the latter, at least). Echizen joins a team of eccentric players, and everybody has his own special finishing move, which grows more ludicrously overpowered as the anime progresses.

I was rather disappointed with this anime. It’s…kind of ridiculous, but somehow missing the element of, read more
Jun 1, 2013
Tokisaurus (All reviews)
Honestly, I don't know how to start this off. Well for starters, the storyline is so-so, its pretty much like every sport anime where the main character/team/etc are striving to be the best.

I honestly think where this anime shines is in the characters, each and everyone of the characters has special moves, special playstyle, etc. that makes the anime so good. You just want to find out what each character has, in a sense its basically like any video game where every character has a different set of moves. Honestly, I just found all the matches to be enjoyable to watch. Once you finish the read more
Apr 3, 2014
AnimatedBunnies (All reviews)
OK, this anime is a fun watch to be sure, but if you've come for realistic sports play run far far far far far far far far away. the character are funny, interesting and they have small 1-2 episodes where the characters have fun in between tournaments where they do stuff they are bad at like bowling or pool. overall it's a decent show.
May 22, 2010
ryuichi_crosszer (All reviews)
Coz we can put Tenipuri in 'not very-old anime' category, I won't say anything more about the stories that I'm sure you anime-freak guys already knew ^^

But i have to said, this is the only one japan-anime that kept make my wallet's empty hahahah. I'm talking buy the merchandise, man :p Oh yes it is!
Witihin this year (2010), it will be 9 years for me to become Tenipuri's big fans >.< Never got tired of it!

After the OVAs and more merchandise came out, my happiness came along with the new adv of Tenipuri in manga called SHIN-TENIPURI. New story and new adventure with... read more
Aug 9, 2008
ADAWG (All reviews)
___________________________________________ Review the 1st

Chihuahua Review(short&amp;sweet): A fun, addictive shounen(bunch of guys and action) filled with more unique characters than probably any anime out.

------------------------------&gt;In Depth Review:&lt;------------------------
STORY: You definitely dont have to be a tennis fan or player to enjoi this anime. This could be like any other action anime but, with tennis as the medium. Story is about a young tennis star who joins the infamous tennis club known as Seigaku. Through his time there he and his teammates play through tournaments to become Japan's best team. This may seem boring but with the most hilarious fillers i've seen and experiencing unexpected players(probably over 50 read more
Oct 9, 2008
Kemeru (All reviews)
It`s super cool for persons who really like tennis that much.Anyways, watch it! sometimes, there are even CHIBI episodes and ALL of them are so CUTE especially Ryoma Echizen. Go RYOMA! (and that doesn`t mean i love him. just like him and don`t bug about me about especially if you are one of my classmates really...). XD
Aug 2, 2013
yukified (All reviews)
I tend to view sports anime as something skeptical, I mean there is only so much they can do or offer. So what make this anime different from another sport anime?

It started the trend of turning the anime into a musical, to be very honest, I started watching prince of tennis live action movie. To say the truth, I don't really fancy the movie, ryouma turns out to be a rather cocky and arrogant boy.

I was so wrong when I started this anime, ryouma doesn't turns out to be really cocky in here, perhaps it is the animation, it gives me the feeling read more
Jun 29, 2017
iamyuna (All reviews)
okay i usually dont review but i just have to point out that this anime is one of the best anime you'll ever see.


it's that kind of anime that you can never forget despite watching a lot of other good animes. here are a few reasons why this anime stands out


story 9/10:
the story basically revolves around this boy named echizen ryoma and he is the son of a legendary player making him a child prodigy as well. he joins the tennis club in seigaku where he battles players and shows people what he's got and that despite being a first year he can still be read more
Jul 31, 2016
Kadrian (All reviews)
Preliminary
Probably one of the lowest score I have ever rated. I have heard the mention of Prince of Tennis from everyone. They all say how great it was so I decided to watch it myself. But it is not even one bit enjoyable. The drawing was so low-classed that I can't even stand it. The cover art was what made me watch it in the first place but the actual drawing was a complete disappointment.

Don't watch it if you can't stand art from the 90's. Sure, I admit that the main character was cool, but he was just too OP in this case. read more
Oct 15, 2013
derikmnaw (All reviews)
I was amazed when I began watching this anime. From the first episode to the last, each episode was very enjoyable. What makes this anime interesting is the fact that some unknown player comes and beats all of the best junior players in Japan. It is fun to watch Ryoma Echizen, the growing prodigy of tennis and the son of a tennis legend. The techniques that the players use (Ryoma's twist serve or Tezuka's Zero Degree Drop Shot) takes the anime up a notch. Also, when the matches become intense, everyone will be on their toes to see what moves Ryoma Echizen will bring out.

For read more
Mar 31, 2012
HeyItsCami (All reviews)
STORY: A pretty original story, if I say so myself. Most sports anime that I've seen focus on a newbie that ends up being great at the sport they play - with little to no training beforehand, or at least no real training. This was a bit different in that the main character started training to play the game when he was a toddler. I can't say much more about the main guy's background without spoiling things. In short, Prince of Tennis about a kid named Echizen Ryoma who enrolls in Seishun Gakuen and joins the tennis club regulars to improve his tennis skills - read more
Jun 6, 2009
DBayoty (All reviews)
Fuji's mask of smiles, Inui's disgusting most likely inedible drinks, Kaidoh's "fwsshh", Oishi's weird haircut, Kikumaru's cool playing style, Tezuka's "don't keep your guard down" matched with a stoic face, Momoshiro's dunk smashes, Kawamura's "BURNING!" and of course Ryoma's "Mada mada dane" not to mention awesome tennis prodigy, are all reasons why you should definitely not miss out on this anime.

Before, I could have sworn I never watch Prince of Tennis, since I wasn't interested in tennis and found it a boring sport. But all of my ulterior assumptions were made correct once I coincidentally saw someone watching the anime in my friend's laptop. I read more
Aug 10, 2010
Rag_Doll (All reviews)
Basically, I love Prince of Tennis. I'm on my 2nd time watching it, and I usually never re-watch things. That for one says it's amazing. But once again I find myself HATING female characters. The coach's grand daughter, is the most annoying character I've seen for some time. If she wasn't on the show, I would have given PoT a 10. Echizen and Kikumaru are probably my favorite characters. They don't really seem like Junior High students but now a days in Anime/manga Junior high kids seem more like H.S. so who knows. I love how Tezuka always gets seen for a Coach or Teacher read more
Oct 16, 2010
Inukekarynatsusu (All reviews)
For someone who loves tennis, this was a new perspective on anime for me. You dont see many sport, let alone tennis animes these days. This thankfully drawn-out anime was very eye-opening in many ways. It had a realistic setting, the only ficitonal thing being the outrageous skills these high schoolers have, which you have to think about; would they actually be able to do these moves in real life? It certainly sets your mind rolling. There are constant battles, tournaments, and chances to improve. A new move is displayed every other episode it seems. Not only this, but this series has a major read more
Jun 29, 2012
taigataiga (All reviews)
I-- I--- screw everything, I'm gonna write this review my own way.

Prince of Tennis is a series that you could love it forever or you'll gonna call as a trash your entire life. Well, it depends on how your taste is. Whether you like sports anime or not, whether you're willing to accept any flaws in this anime and just enjoy it, whether you just can't accept the unrealistic parts of this anime... there will be lots of answer depending those. As for my case, I am... I just don't know what happened to me but I could accept everything regarding this anime. I could read more