Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ao Haru Ride


Alternative Titles

English: Blue Spring Ride
Synonyms: Aoharaido
Japanese: アオハライド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2014 to Sep 23, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.851 (scored by 167,507 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7752
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #167
Members: 302,020
Favorites: 4,297

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 7, 2014
animesthabomb (All reviews)
“Sometimes people put up walls, not to keep others out, but to see who cares enough to break them down.”

It’s nice to see a series like ‘Ao Haru Ride’ surface every now and again. Something that takes a well-known storyline type and adds some unique elements to differ the experience a bit. Nothing revolutionary or mind-blowing (doesn’t need to be), but unique - to a pleasant degree - nonetheless. To put it as simply as possible: a refreshing visit to a familiar kind of storyline.

[STORY]
-----------
There’s nothing overly complicated about the core plot; a story of two past lovers (in mutual spirit) reuniting later in read more
Sep 23, 2014
Manumento (All reviews)
Welcome to the Vanilla cafe. Would you like to pre-order a vanilla pudding with vanilla toppings from our vanilla menu?

Ao Haru Ride is a shoujo romance slice of life manga adaptation of the same name. It follows a story of a curious high-schooler girl wishing to find out what happened to her crush from three years ago and why did he change. It has "generic" and Kimi ni Todoke written all over it just from looking at the cover, and going deeper, it further proves this statement.

Plot:

Futaba Yoshioka is your average 1st year in high school, who wishes to change herself and find new friends. read more
Sep 22, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Ao Haru Ride (Blue Spring Ride) in the best sense can describe itself as a shoujo. The concept of a childhood girl developing a crush towards a boy is something that has been done over and over before. It also has a sense of innocence as the young Futaba Yoshioka sees boys as ‘violent’. The only exception is a boy named Kou Tanaka who she sees as gentle. The problem is that a simple misunderstanding leads to a separation between the two as Tanaka transfer from school. Simply put, the experiences that Futaba shared with Tanaka is a treasure. But that treasure right now is read more
Dec 19, 2014
floecity (All reviews)
"If you lose something, just build it again." - direct quote from the main character Futaba.

First off let me just say that the fact that I've read the manga already mildly hinders my ability to separate manga from anime...
MILDY.



STORY:
The story is pretty well done. Of course it has ALL of the shoujo clique's that many shoujo fans will run into.
There's something about the story though that makes it a little more unique than your typical shoujo anime.
I did not really sense any corny-ness with the more serious moments in the anime as I would typical feel in a shoujo.
What I'm trying to say it that, read more
Feb 23, 2015
Urbanophiler (All reviews)
**I have only seen the anime of Ao Haru Ride and this review is only based on that.

So as a person who rarely watches Shoujo anime this was a first for me, so keep that in mind.

Ao Haru Ride/Blue Spring Ride/アオハライド ; 12 episode a 20minutes, aired from July to September 2014; Comedy, Drama, SoL, Romance, Shoujo, School; licensed by Sentai Filmworks

Ao Haru Ride starts with a premise that seems typical for this type of anime - a slice of life show that wants to show the development of a romance and of the characters. The story is set in high school and focuses read more
Sep 23, 2014
Urnaos (All reviews)
I have not read the source material for the show and the following review is for the anime adaption only, the manga, LN or other source material is not included in my review of this anime.

Ao Haru Ride is a character driven romance between the two main characters Kou and Futaba. The show kicks off when Futaba recognizes Kou at her high school and goes on from there.

Story

I pretty much already went over the basic premise but, it's also important to know that Kou and Futaba knew each other in middle school. The premise itself is kind of generic which isn't entirely bad. I liked read more
Oct 25, 2014
layzzbones (All reviews)
Ao Haru Ride, unlike other shoujo anime with a profusion of side stories, has a very straightforward storyline (although not much of an original one considering that most of its elements are parallel to others with the same setting and genre). What makes it unique, however, is that the conflict is softly given focus throughout the series, causing viewers to feel unanticipated emotions in the culmination of the story wherein the characters reveal their hidden sides (weaknesses and strengths included) and emotional baggage.

I highly recommend this anime to individuals who are looking for a warm and charming anime that will enkindle thrill, sorrow and read more
Nov 29, 2015
Anna555 (All reviews)
Preliminary
It absolutely befuddles me how this anime managed to get a rating of almost 8. I had heard it was clichéd, but that it managed to have a fresh approach on those clichés. I heard it was both funny and emotional. Nope. Not at all. This anime is the same old clichés used over and over again. I find it almost insulting that multiple users recommended this for fans of "Tonari-no Kaibutsu-kun", a beautifully done anime which has essentially nothing in common with this anime, and has characters a million times better than those in "Ao Haru Ride".

This is one of those anime where the read more
Nov 28, 2015
Kecchan (All reviews)
It's rare that I write a good review, but Ao Hara Ride deserves it.
Ao Haru Ride is a breath of fresh air in the cliche-ridden Shoujo genre, where i seems like half of shoujo anime are carbon copies of one another.
Ao Haru Ride offers something new, interesting, and touching, with relatable but unique characters, great development, an interesting plot and beautiful, unique art and music that tugs at your heart.

The main heroine is the usual happy, cheerful type, but she has extra layers that make her complex, interesting, and unique Futaba changed her appearance and attitude in order to fit in with her group read more
Oct 23, 2014
Irien (All reviews)
Preliminary
Beware: minor spoilers

I hate to go against the grain of other reviews here, but holy ever-loving HELL, this series irks me. I've come too far not to see it through to the bitter (and obvious) end, but so far it's essentially a compliation of every dysfunctional anime relationship meme known to man piled into one stomach-churning series.

Emotionally undemonstrative / outright dismissive guy? Check.

Desperately doki-doki girl whose insistent, stalker-y love will no doubt cure him of whatever traumatic past event turned him into an asshole? Check.

Silently walking three steps behind the man portrayed as quality relationship building? read more
Jul 14, 2015
purpleninja0006 (All reviews)
After a long time debating whether or not I should watch this short anime I decided to give it a shot

Story 8/10
It starts off sweet, 2 people who loved each other in middle school finally reunited, but the problem is that they have both changed and don’t love each other the way they are now. There’s plenty of things to keep you interested in this anime especially if you like romance, comedy and school based anime’s. The plot may seem to drag on a little at times but isn’t too bad once you get into it. One thing that I hated about the plot was read more
Jun 10, 2015
SailorJenny95 (All reviews)
Plot: 7/10
Summary: Ao Haru Ride takes place in your typical Japanese high school like many other animes of its genre. Overall it centers over main character Futaba who is in her second year of high school. It begins with immediate flashbacks to middle school where she meets the sweet Kou Tanaka. The two begin to get close making it obvious that a romantic relationship could start. But because of her classmates' rude comments regarding how appealing Futaba is to guys, she begins to feel insecure. They say that because she is so appealing to the boys in school, girls don't want to be her read more
Feb 23, 2015
comesthestorm (All reviews)
I wanted to watch Ao Haru Ride just because it's shoujo, and I really like shoujo. I put my hopes up high with this anime. I heard GREAT things about the manga and so I expected the anime to be as fascinating. What I found was good but not as good as I wished.

Story: 7.
It was... typical. Very, very typical. Girl and Boy are in love since years ago. Girl still is. Boy says he's not. Another Girl falls in love with Boy. Girl and Another Girl are best friends. That's cool, I'm not saying it's not, but it's not surprising anyone. Does Boy actually read more
Dec 24, 2014
maha_amead (All reviews)
** i haven't read or seen anything related to ao haru ride except for this anime adaption so my review will be based on the anime ***

--- Summary ---
Reuniting with your first love can be a very confusing process , in this series we see our love birds meeting each-other for the first time in three years ,

futaba " our heroine " was a very shy feminine middle-schooler , that fell in love with another shy sweet middle-schooler named tanaka , on their first date we see a mini depressed futaba that is anxiously waiting for her date , but unfortunately mr.tanka read more
Sep 9, 2015
themegamancave (All reviews)
“But I think it’s natural that not everything you try will go well, right? So, I’m gonna start again from scratch.”
-Yoshioka Futaba

Look at me, I’m stepping out on a limb again. Ao Haru Ride is not a show I would typically watch, but I have slowly adapted my tastes to include the romantic genre of anime. I will add though, Ao Haru Ride would not have been a good show even if romance was my favorite genre. There are sparks of good writing and character development, but they get utterly squashed by the fact that nothing… happens in the entire anime. read more
Oct 13, 2014
czxcjx (All reviews)
My review is only 2 words:

Shoujo Oregairu

But MAL isn't letting me make such a short review so the rest is padding and a general view of the usage of cinematography in Anime.

What primarily makes animation different from film is the complete creative control over the medium. This means that what previously had to be sought out in small spaces of reality, the perfect shot, the perfect actions, the perfect outplay of emotions, can now be rectified to the minute-test detail. Tarkovsky, the famous Russian film director, had to reconstruct his family home from scratch in the middle of a beautiful plot of Russian field and read more
Oct 1, 2014
deviruchi0996 (All reviews)
A white shirt. That's what Ao Haru Ride reminds me of.

As more and more shoujo, school-life animes with all the romance and complications that come with it are released; people are starting to see the typical pattern of the girl meets boy or vice versa. Ao Haru Ride follows this pattern which is present in most popular shoujo/school/romance animes; however this does not mean it isn’t worth your time.

I gave the story a 7 (Good), for the sole reason of the anime exploring the changes that occurs in one’s life when they push themselves out of their comfort zones. The anime encourages young individuals to read more
Oct 24, 2014
AbyssAnime (All reviews)
This is my first review on MAL so excuse me if it's sorta bad d:

I'll be quite honest, I'm usually only really big on anime with magic, action, with comedy and possibly some romance all thrown in. This anime appears to just basically be your usual school/romance anime, but it's so much more than that. I can say for sure that Ao Haru Ride has become my favorite romance anime (not including comedy/romance) there was comedy thrown in but i look at this as a romance, not a comedy.

The story is very basic and isn't totally outstanding but it's the characters themselves that got read more
Feb 19, 2015
mattyodavinci (All reviews)
When I first began reading manga and watching anime, I was sure of one thing : I would never like shoujo. These girly, boring stories of stupid teenagers falling in love would never interest me in the least. But, like many times, I was totally wrong.
Let's go with this review of my first encounter with shoujo, Ao Haru Ride !

Story 7/10
After watching this anime and reading other reviews, I could say one thing : the story is everything but exceptional. But I have to say, I loved it. The ups and downs of relationships, the great comedy, etc... After reading other shoujos, I read more
Nov 22, 2015
Jazzy_wolfie (All reviews)
Aoharu Ride is one of those animes I found inspirational. Kou surprised me as a character and he showed how people change over time. I was incredibly into the anime that once I finished it I decided to read the manga which was equally impressive! Honestly this anime is one of my favourites and I'll be sure to show Julian soon muhahaha. However, I found the protagonist interesting as Kou brought out another side in her which was oddly cute. Their development throughout the series was adorable and showed the meaning of true love :3 BUT I wish that they would make a second season...