Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sword Art Online II


Alternative Titles

English: Sword Art Online II
Synonyms: Phantom Bullet, SAO II, Sword Art Online 2, SAO 2
Japanese: ソードアート・オンライン II

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2014 to Dec 20, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.061 (scored by 681,209 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #35732
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #18
Members: 1,064,789
Favorites: 9,117

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 25, 2014
Kindle (All reviews)
After leaving out my spiced scavenged toad meat and deus ex machina milk for Santa, I knew that it was inevitably time. Time to unwrap the present that I never wanted to unwrap, the wool socks that awaited under the Christmas tree. Sword Art Online II. So boys and girls, I'm wearing my Grinch costume, and I'm ready to delve into the mess that is SAO season 2.

When I think of the controversial title, "Sword Art Online", the word that often times pops up into my head is "potential". It's like when you write a gift on your gift list for Santa that you read more
Feb 20, 2015
Blazestar (All reviews)
This review does not contain spoiler. It IS a spoiler, since I can't talk about anything without giving examples. And please don't walk away with a "not helpful" after reading only two lines, a little bit of respect and appreciation would be nice. :)

Welcome to my review of Sword Art Online's Sequel, SAO 2.

To be completely honest, Sword Art Online was a very very entertaining show. To a certain extent even better than the first season. I tend to give generous scores to animes, but I'm afraid that even I am powerless this time around. Alright, time to put on my magic thinking cap read more
Jun 3, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Like most of the community, I was watching Sword Art Online whilst it was airing about four or five years ago, and I remember how everyone collectively became more and more disappointed with the show as it was airing. Not only was the show's pacing completely out of control with constant time skips amongst many other glaring issues during the first half, the show practically imploded in on itself during the horrendous second arc, which only left nothing but a bad taste in my mouth. At the time, I hated the show, and still do to a certain extent now, but my main thought was read more
Dec 21, 2014
Aklama (All reviews)
As promised I'm rewriting SAO II review.

First of all, I question the point of making this season itself. This is just a shameful try to sell their lame story and make easy money, disgraceful at end because I felt offended by this show. I disliked it before, but now it just went shameless.

Why do they even call this anime Sword Art Online? Even 2nd part of first season was questionable why even existed. And now this? It's no way related to SAO main plot. What is this anime, some kind of "slice of life"? It's not even that. It's just some bunch of people read more
Dec 9, 2015
Lindle (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

There's no way to review Sword Art Online that won't piss someone off, so I might as well come out and say it and piss of both the fandom AND the hatedom:

This wasn't as bad as the first one.

Both of the two main arcs of Sword Art Online II (disregarding the mini-arc inbetween the two) actually manage to fix a major problem with their predecessors, creating an overall better experience in the process. Unfortunately, they make new and different mistakes instead.

The series begins with Gun Gale Online. Surprisingly, this was neither as aggressively boring nor as aggressively bad as either previous arc, read more
Feb 8, 2015
chrisA15 (All reviews)
Hello, my review will be based on the 2nd half of the anime.

Story - I liked the 1st half of the season in GGO but when that finished it just went downhill. I didn't like the 2nd half of the season, basically everyone with exception of Asuna was put on the sidelines just like that, out of nowhere another group of kids come alone, and to be honest it just felt like you were forced to accept them, forced to accept that some girl came out of nowhere and is suddenly stronger than Kirito or Asuna. The biggest problem is because thier introduction felt read more
Dec 20, 2014
Frostydrops (All reviews)
There isn't much to be said about SAO 2 that hasn't already been said by most reviews here. However, the reason i found the motivation to write this review is because i found some enjoyment in the final arc that deserves some recognition.

First of all, Kirito is still a god that can do absolutely everything for no reason at all. This includes ignoring game mechanics and whipping out a sword in a shooter to cut bullets.

I don't even know what to say about this, its like if you are good at playing Devil May Cry, you can whip out a knife and start killing read more
Jan 21, 2015
themegamancave (All reviews)
Sword Art Online is a series that always seems to stir up some controversy among the anime community. After rewatching the first season last month I honestly contemplated not delving into the second whatsoever. I was THAT disappointed. Sometimes you get wrapped up in the hype of an anime but you tend to look past the aggregious amount of plot holes and bland characters. SAO II was good at times, and at others I almost forced myself to watch it. Ducking for cover from fanboys, I'll make my attempt at a review while it's still fresh in my mind.

Just when read more
Dec 20, 2014
JKinky88 (All reviews)
"The Virtual World is just a different form of reality."

Welp, we didn't see it coming but here it fucking is. Sword Art Online II, somehow this show got a second season, I mean I understand the first season was popular but this, it just came out of nowhere. It's like, well, imagine you're throwing a frisby for your dog to catch, now that frisby is Sword Art Online. Usually the dog would take a bunch of seconds but instead, out of nowhere the frisby hits your face, thats Sword Art Online II for ya. So, did tis get better or worser? Well this is, OK. read more
Apr 19, 2015
Brav0 (All reviews)
The second season of S.A.O. was really strange, the reason why is:
1st part Gun Gale Online - 9/10
2nd part Excalibur Quest - 7/10
3rd part Mother's Rosario - 6/10

In Gun Gale Online they give you a complete new game with a really interesting plot - pursuiting Death Gun, a person that shoots another person in-game (with a "special" pistol) and that person dies in real life. Inside this game Kirito meets a girl player named Sinon, who introduces him to the game, Sinon is an awesome character in GGO with a great design and her abilities who tie read more
Dec 21, 2014
isaiye (All reviews)
I have watched all the episodes including the last episode this week and this my review

Story (4/10)
The story is very easy to guess and very boring ( I did not read the light novel at all ). For GGO story is still pretty good even though I almost sleepy watching it . when entering excalibur story arc is getting very boring .

Art (7/10)
Good art but I do not excited almost no difference with the first SAO

Sound (6/10)
I like just that opening (Courage by Haruka Tomatsu is beautiful) only while BGM is very ill-fitting.

Character (5/10)
Character just is not a lot of change even nicer first SAO read more
Jun 30, 2015
Papikari (All reviews)
I have to say, I really disagree with the masses about SAO II.
Story: 7/10
The story, for the most part, had meaning--albeit points of random filler which I did not appreciate, especially since it left even less time for the actual story, which many agree is rushed at times.
CON: What I disliked about it, to be honest, is that many parts of the plot were pretty stale... leftovers from season 1. For example, (maybe a spoiler?) the brute strength of Kirito is hardly toned down at all in the third arc.
PRO: However, I did love the new story with Sinon. I really did. No read more
Dec 20, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

The technology we experience in this day and age is marvelous. Incredible medical advances, personal computers the size of our hands, and sensory perception devices have already become the norm. The more we improve upon this technology, the further the line between reality and virtual is skewed. It's a fascinating development that holds a plethora of implications unknown to people even twenty years ago. These implications can either bring terrible trauma or untold happiness. In Sword Art Online 2, both sides are investigated, leaving us with an overall improvement from the first season.

STORY

Sword Art Online 2 starts where read more
Dec 22, 2014
jorloru (All reviews)
Well, now that SAO II has finished, it's time for a review. I'm not a fanboy of SAO but I must say that it's a very good anime (both seasons). This second season openned with the story of BoB, which was an amazing story that linked very well both virtual and real worlds. The season has finished with Mother's Rosario's story, which has also been very good (I even cried with the end).

Once said all this, why not a 10? Why a 9? Well, Between both stories there was Excalibur's arc. For me, this arc was horrible. It had a great lack of sense and read more
May 13, 2018
magaiverix (All reviews)
They release game called SAO Fatal Bullet and I did not want to play it so at first I decided to watch SAO II so that after that it would be interesting to play, and yesterday i graduated (complete 24/24) and I was not satisfied with anime. Those who watched 4 years ago, these people (anime viewers) I fully understand, why many of them caused a low rating (like 3/10-6/10) ok... let's start with the main one.

OP 1 intro 10/10- Song and animation just epic
OP 2 intro 6/10- nothing special

Story in overall 7/10- (1-15 episodes) I liked Gun Gale online, I wanted to see it read more
Dec 26, 2014
Social_Elitist (All reviews)
SWORD ON MY BUTT ART ONLINE REVIEW:

MINDSET:
It maybe slightly better than the first, but it does get super annoying on how millions of people make discussions about it now “everyone” is just talking at how horrible it was is just getting on my nerves, at the end of the day, all what You really want is just Kirito simply kicking the hell out of everyone, not some cheesy and over-reacting Michael Bay slash Urobutcher I'm now going to cry like sh*ty cheese drama... It could've been fine if it was JoJo Crusader clone... ANYWAYS....

SYNOPSIS:
Kirito is now sent to play another game again! Yay! read more
Dec 23, 2014
AbsarNaeem (All reviews)
Sword Art Online II
Episodes: 24
Special Episode: 1 (14.5)
First of all, if you've seen SAO then you will probably for sure watch this and yes, it's worth it. Well, I won't be going on about why you should watch it since it's pretty much evident. Let's get to the review
It's divided into 2 arcs; Gun Gale Online and Alfheim Online
The first arc is from episodes 1 to 14 and a summary of the arc in the special 14.5
The second arc is from 15 onward and is further divided into 2 episodes; Calibur and Mother Rosario.

Story 9/10:
It's pretty much the same. A problem arises in GGO and read more
Jan 6, 2015
KingOfTheAce (All reviews)
Sword Art Online II Review,

I cannot deny that I am fond of the Sword Art Online (SAO) franchise, and that I am a particular fan of their ideas of the existence of VRMMO (Virtual Reality Massive Multiplayer Online) games. But I will do my utmost best not to let bias lead me.
The first season of SAO was a pleasure to watch and in my opinion it had its charms. It can be noted however, there were more plot holes then actual plot. But then again, they had to cover two years and an arc in a limited amount of episodes. The writers probably did read more
Jan 8, 2015
AppoX (All reviews)
This is, SAO II. Its ups and down, but there is always only one truth.

"Although as an avid Eroge reader it left me dissapointed.'"

To discern this one truth I went to many great lengths, I rewrote this review, MAL deleted my previous one. (not seeing its greatness) Yet I did not falter, for I know Kami are with me. SAO is one of a kind of a franchise. Only this anime can inspire such hate and such love at the same time. I certainly belong to the 3rd camp, read on to find out the truth beyond the truth.

Although as an read more
May 22, 2015
jc9622 (All reviews)
I was hyped for this season mainly because of Sinon and the introduction of guns. I get why people hated this season. It's because of guns. Me personally, I love guns. Thats why I loved watching this season. Like before, I'm going to give independent ratings since there are different arcs. Here's my review


GGO 1st arc 9/10
Story: 1 year after the ALO incident, Seijiro, a guy from the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications "VR Division" asked Kazuto to dive in the GGO game and investigate an incident. Professional players who are shot by "Death Gun" in the game is also dying in real life. read more