Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Clannad


Alternative Titles

English: Clannad
Synonyms: CLANNAD
Japanese: CLANNAD -クラナド-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 23
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2007 to Mar 28, 2008
Premiered: Fall 2007
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:55 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.271 (scored by 365,535 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2452
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #23
Members: 622,275
Favorites: 21,308

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 28, 2010
randomvoice (All reviews)
Here's the central problem with Clannad: it wants to tug your heartstrings, so it doesn't think about anything else. Unfortunately for this show, this means that it ends up being utterly contrived, unrealistic, and outright stupid.

This show expects us to believe that teenage girls act like five-year-olds. It expects us to care about these infantile, one-dimensional characters. It expects us to have genuine emotional reactions to the 'blossoming relationships' between our bland protagonist and these excuses for characters.

Is this too harsh? Let's look at the individual components that MAL expects us to rate anime by.

STORY: To be fair, the anime didn't have much to work read more
Feb 20, 2013
xbobx (All reviews)
"Poignant. Compelling. Heartbreaking. Clannad is one of the most cherished anime of all times."

The first time I watched Clannad was back in 2008, and I just finished re-watching it for the 3rd time this past few days. Now I realize that will take years before I watch something that does the same impact on me like this anime did. I was moved by it the first time I watched, and the third as well, but surprisingly in a different way. Throughout all anime history this is one of the most notorious series in the romance/drama genre, not only for the emotional load it carries but read more
Jun 15, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
I have to thank "Clannad", for increasing my Japanese vocabulary and introducing me to a new word. While watching "Clannad" at my local anime soc, I could feel a certain something radiating from it. I'd encountered similar feelings before from other anime, but never quite so strongly. By the end of it, I picked up a new word to go with that feeling.

That word is "moe". I'd never come across the word before "Clannad", and but I sure as hell knew it's meaning afterwards. It describes a feeling that originates from the sweetness of the female characters. But it's not a charming kind of sweetness read more
Oct 15, 2014
ASmolderingAge (All reviews)
Clannad was an anime that didn't know what it wanted to be. It tried being a drama, romance, slice-of-life, and comedy all at the same time and just ended up becoming dumbed down.

Story: 3/10
As a romance, it was piss-poor with a mostly one dimensional cast of female characters with the exception of two that actually had personalities. For me, it failed as a drama. The first big arc is focused around a character that was extremely annoying. It made me not care at all about what happened and I had zero emotional connection to anything since that part. Clannad is primarily supposed to be a read more
Oct 4, 2009
TheLlama (All reviews)
Clannad. Made as a visual novel by Key, made into an anime by Kyoto Animation. This combination has been seen twice before, in the series Air and Kanon. Both are well-known among anime fans, and mostly positively received. And anyone who has watched either or both of the two previously mentioned will definitely have their expetations of what Clannad will offer. These expectiations will probably, in a way, be fulfilled; yet Clannad is certain to sweep you along and astound it with its gripping tale.

The story itself is set to a small Japanese town, and a select few inhabitants of that town. The first read more
Dec 4, 2008
KaminaKai (All reviews)
"Key's 1st non-adult visual novel proved to be a success."

Unlike its two predecessors (Air and Kanon) that started out as H-Visual Novels, Clannad was released for all-ages and does not contain any fan service (although the selling point is still harem). Being Key's second longest work, Clannad is not a simple story that can be summarized in a mere 23 episodes TV series. As a result, Kyoto Animation released an additional 24 episodes in the sequel Clannad ~After Story~. As the third anime adaptations of Key visual novels, Clannad certainly is a must watch for all Air and Kanon fans.

The Clannad visual novel was split read more
Oct 26, 2008
iamjoe (All reviews)
CLANNAD is the most fabulous harem anime I have ever seen, mostly because it doesn't play out entirely like a harem anime.

The story is totally unique. An outcast, troubled boy tries to help a sickly, shy girl in forming a drama club. Why does he help her? Why does she want to do it? All sorts of great questions are asked, and the beauty of it is that some are not answered. Things just happen in life, don't they? Sometimes there's never an explanation. The story follows day-t-day school activity and home life. If you're into slice of life with romantic appeal, then you'd read more
Nov 22, 2007
Crisu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Clannad, Kyoto Animation's latest anime release, exhibits the meticulous and revered production quality of all the studio's previous releases. Based on a visual novel by Key, Clannad takes the viewer into a seemingly simple story of life at school, but the series soon develops mysteries and tales of wonder.

Each girl in Clannad (main and supporting cast) has her own personality quirk, one of which is bound to attract a fan. That kind of variety works to attract many viewers. But Clannad is not necessarily a "harem" by its general definition. While Tomoya's daily life is indeed surrounded by beautiful girls, he read more
Dec 14, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
Clannad is the 3rd in the line of Harem, Romance anime based of Key’s Visual Novel (dating sim) and with the bar set pretty high, this anime is able to reach the expectations of its fans.

Video Alternative

The series begins as a usual high school anime, with no defined plot or storyline but just introduces the male protagonist and the girls that the series revolves around. From the first couple of episodes it is easy to pin point the obvious similarities it has with its predecessor (Kanon) but the major difference is the level of comedy. The comedy of Clannad is on a completely different level, read more
Feb 21, 2010
Therani (All reviews)
I was randomly looking around for a new anime too watch, but at the time I were watching alot of action animes and never considered to watch any romance/drama animes. I joined a chat on an anime site and asked for a recommendation. Someone mentioned Clannad and alot of people supported the suggestion. In any case: I started too watch Clannad.

Art

The first thing I noticed about Clannad was the art, it is probably one of the best elements in Clannad. I would often pause the anime for a minute just to watch the surroundings. I concluded that the sunsets were the most beautiful. Why? Because read more
Oct 22, 2008
patient_senses (All reviews)
Clannad revolves around a high schooler, Tomoya, who after befriending a young girl named Nagisa, makes new friends. Tomoya quickly discovers that there's more to these young girls than meets the eye and tries to help them with their problems while dealing with his own.

Story: What more is there to say about the story other than it's great? The word clannad means family. There are five girls, each with their own story to tell that somehow involves family. Although there are many comparsions to Kanon, they remain different because Kanon's overall story was about miracles, while Clannad is about the bond of family.

Art: As expected read more
May 18, 2009
Credulous (All reviews)
Please, why is it noone sees that this anime is a disgrace to anime? Look at it, look at it! Of course, I realize that saying that is wrong since, in truth, there are worse animes than Clannad, infact there are quite a few that are worse, but they are accordingly and consequently rated much lower than Clannad.

Ok, let's disregard everything and just take a look at the characters? I mean what are they? They have no personality whatsoever, they borderline characters that are in really, really bad harem animes and there are some really bad ones out there. Basically the only good harem read more
Jun 12, 2011
AngerAndHate (All reviews)
I rarely go for so-called "slice of life" stories, but I heard a lot about this anime. I heard it was amazing. Maybe I'm just a weirdo, but by the end of it, my thoughts were quite the opposite.
I'll describe the given categories in order of importance, from least to greatest.


Lets start with the -sound-
I enjoyed the opening theme, "Megumeru", and ended up adding it to my playlist. The music overall is good. That's all I have to say about that.
-8/10-


Now for the -art-...
Unfortunately, I found it very annoying. When Tomoyo first met Nagisa on the street and she opened up those horrifically read more
Jan 27, 2008
playconn (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: Main male character, surrounded by girls. Tries to help them as each one is introduced, dullness ensues. Series starts off great but then just gets worse and worse (see Sound and Character). Story isn't too impressive, just your typical slice of life/harem anime with some supernatural elements thrown in.

Art: Probably the only good thing about this show is the artwork and its attention to detail, great shading/coloring, and minor use of CG.

Sound: The OP/ED have great songs but there is just one problem with the sound in this show and that is Fuko. After about three episodes worth of hearing her say nothing but read more
Dec 30, 2014
Honest_Senpai (All reviews)
Tomoya Okazaki is a Highschool student who lives with his farther. Their relationship has progressed to the point where they're both strangers to one another. One morning on his way to school he meets a girl Nagisa Furukawa. The two befriend one another and over time the two help each other along the way in various tasks as their relationship continues to grow.

It’s finally time to review this show after months of debating.

Story:
The story follows our main protagonist Tomoya Okazaki, a delinquent who is frequently late to school, has bad grades and consistently gets into fights with others. It just so happened to read more
Apr 26, 2009
danceljoy (All reviews)
From what I've heard from many of my friends and reviews, generally Clannad is a heartwarming tearjerker with the very adorable characters. But based on viewing it, I say that people who do not prefer "moe" like me will have a different opinion.

What is "moe?"It is a terminology that takes on many forms in anime; I have no right to define it but for me the closest meaning to it is "cuteness"

Story (7/10)

Clannad's story is a slice of school life where the main characters encounter different people and situations alike. Each has their own conflict as a student, as a family member or as read more
May 24, 2010
Leyla_ (All reviews)
I think my review will be very unusual from the all of Clannad reviews. Actually I don't remember it good but... You know I haven't enjoyed the story at all. It was so silly, uninteresting, and so stereotyped that once I even have fallen asleep. Honestly, I was just so bored with the storyline and so annoyed with some of the main characters that I just wanted to drop it sometimes.


Ok, then lets start with the story:
The cute looking boy meets just awfully ugly girl with the strange things in her head. Then she starts saying some senseless things. In the school he sees read more
Jan 4, 2017
ninjaguy2511 (All reviews)
I can already tell people are expecting a very trollish review but to me, this is my most unenjoyed and possibly most hated anime of all time. Lets just get into the review though shall we? Also this is for clannad not after story. after story was okay but I am treating it as its own thing.
Story 2\10
I mean it was your normal slice of life anime but even for that the story was pretty bad. It never had a main girl besides attending school and for a slice of life, it made absolutely no sense since some paranormal stuff were happening like ghost girl read more
Sep 11, 2014
phs_togusa (All reviews)
Visual novel adaptations are something that I'm not particularly fond of, especially slice-of-life romance visual novel adaptations. Why? Well... more often than not, a harem ends up inadvertently forming due to the fact that the adaptation in question is trying to cover so many stories at once to the point where it sends off some rather bizarre messages and implications. You want a good example of what I'm talking about? Let's take a look at Clannad: one of the most popular visual novel adaptations of recent years and one that has left me with some SERIOUSLY mixed feelings.

Before I go any further, I just want read more
Feb 25, 2015
cboyes7 (All reviews)
While I usually find writing something about anything hard I think I can make an exception for this show.

Before Clannad, I had only watched action anime (most with a little romance involved) but this was my first venture outside of the genre and I'm glad I did it although it was never intended. After exhausting pretty much every reputable action series I decided to give another genre a shot. Every site I went to mentioned this series so I decided to give it a try.

From the first two episodes I could tell it was different from anything, as many have described it as "poetry" and read more