Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kill la Kill Specials


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Kill la Kill Tokubetsu-hen, Sayonara wo Mou Ichido, Kill la Kill Digest: Naked Memories, KILL la KILL Digest –Naked Memories by Aikuro Mikisugi–
Japanese: キルラキル 特別編

Information

Type: Special
Episodes: 2
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 3, 2014
Producers: Aniplex, Kadokawa Shoten
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Trigger
Source: Original
Duration: 18 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 74,471 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #814
Members: 126,724
Favorites: 214

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 4, 2014
Soul_Punisher (All reviews)
Its Bloody Awesome to see this anime again!!
I had such a fun time watching the anime series since It
has a very Dynamic Blast of entertainment value which is what I
appreciate a lot with kill la kill, Its fearless and crazy at the same time!.
As for the KLK special,

This is a special added episode taking place right after the series had left off along with all
the existing characters as they send us the KLK viewers their last love letters from Studio Trigger’s definition of an All out humorous Fan-service action-packed anime,
unforgiving and Relentless mindless fun.

This was similar to the series except a read more
Sep 8, 2014
Nyron (All reviews)
This is the final episode of Kill la Kill. It's not really a "special" or a side-story, but a rather necessary part of the series to tie up the whole story.

I'm going to miss this show, it was a lot of fun. Genuine, good fun with a truly memorable cast and a over-the-top, jankily-animated style, and we probably won't see anything on-par with it for a long time. The final episode's audiovisual appeal is on-par with the best of series, with fluid action, cheap-but-hilarious animation shortcuts in between, and a bit of time with every good track from the stellar OST.

Even after the final battle read more
Sep 19, 2014
Satire (All reviews)
Despite enjoying Kill la Kill, I didn't enjoy this special as much as I thought I would have. I'm not quite sure why I originally thought the special was going to be great and something worthwhile to anticipate, but somehow my eagerness and high expectations left me feeling a bit disappointed.

The story behind the special is a pretty average one. There's not much going for it, given that it's essentially an episode equivalent of filler that tries to throw a lot at you in a short period of time. Actually, that's exactly what this special is. While graduating Honnouji Academy was ultimately the main read more
Sep 6, 2014
dodge2461 (All reviews)
The Kill la Kill OVA has been something I have been waiting for since finishing the series in June. As someone who has been on different forums for the series, I built up a substantial amount of hype for this. Did it deliver? To be honest, I initially didn't like this OVA, feeling it was unnecessary. After spending a few days thinking about it, I have finally come to this conclusion: It was a good episode, but could've been better if they waited to release it a year or two later.

DISCLAIMER: I'm going to expect anyone reading this review has already seen Kill la Kill, read more
Jan 31, 2017
Valenthyne (All reviews)
I understand why this episode was scrapped.

For someone that was a huge fan of the original series, I'm actually quite shocked with how little I enjoyed what was supposed to be a conclusive ending to one the most exciting animes.

Starting with the positives, it was awesome to see all of our beloved cast members for one last meeting. Ryuko, Satsuki, Mako, the Elite Four, and even Aikuro Mikisugi make their return complete with comforting and familiar dialogue. There was also a bit of action to be had, most of which somewhat engaging. The animation and music shined as they did before, with nothing particularly special read more
Sep 5, 2014
xxXKittyXxx (All reviews)
I've missed this anime so much. Every episode of Kill la kill is nothing but a joyride in which I had such a pleasure watching. This graduation episode made me cry not because it was sad but instead because it was beautiful too see the lovely characters once again in action.

Story (10):
The way the OVA is set up infers that this graduation incident most likely took place somewhere before Ryoko, Mako, and Satsuki's date. It wasn't confusing as everyone makes it out to be, paying attention to what's going one will help you understand the placing of when this incident most likely took place. It read more
Nov 1, 2015
MonroeAnime (All reviews)
Really this is more of a lost episode than a special, this review is going to be a little short since there really isn't that much to go into. The Story is mostly about rapping up some loose ends, with development for a character that didn't really get any during the main series. Unfortunately, it feels a bit rushed considering it happens in the length of an average episode. Also it leaves a bit more unanswered questions than it resolves, but I can respect that they at least tried.

The art and sound remain the same, so nothing to really go over there. the read more
Aug 13, 2015
0215MADman (All reviews)
When I saw the end credits of the finale, I thought THAT would be what the OVA would be about. I just eat up heroes/heroines trying to live a normal life and then random bullsh*t happens and they need to suit up. It's why I liked Bleach's first season so much and why I'm looking forward to the 4th season, filler or not.
So what did I get? A Honnouji Academy graduation and an explanation to Satsuki's new hairdo (which I did not give 2 f*cks about). MAJOR disappointment on my end.
Sep 3, 2015
Dalek_of_Skaro (All reviews)
A Review of the Kill La Kill Special episode:

I'll keep it quick seeing as how it's just one episode. If you liked Kill La Kill, you'll like this episode. Picking up right where the show ended off, it's a brilliant way of tying up loose ends and bringing a sense of completion to an ending that felt otherwise underwhelming. It's still not the ending I think the show should have gotten, but I find the ending to the series much more manageable now that this episode has been watched. Rife with the animation, music, characters, comedy. and action the series is known for, watch this read more
Nov 15, 2017
Injenss (All reviews)
If this had been the actual ending to Kill La Kill, it wouldn't have nearly the status it does in the anime world today. This was an episode that didn't need to happen at all. Basically, this is the anime's "graduation episode" where everyone moves on after the defeat of Ragyou Kiryuin. But, ultimately it falls flat.

The main problem with this special is that it's just nonsensical. The logic is flawed in almost every way and the special plays as one big Deus Ex Machina after another. The remnants of the life fibers re-emerge and attack the students, read more