Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ookiku Furikabutte


Alternative Titles

English: Big Windup!
Synonyms: Oofuri, Ohkiku Furikabutte, Swing Big!
Japanese: おおきく振りかぶって

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 13, 2007 to Sep 28, 2007
Premiered: Spring 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Genres: Comedy, Seinen, Sports
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.041 (scored by 27,072 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1407
Members: 65,234
Favorites: 1,523

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 6, 2008
saimaisama (All reviews)
It's been almost a week since I finished Oofuri and it still lingering in my brain. Honestly, I just decided to try because a lot of my favorite seiyuus were in the cast (Fukuyama Jun, Nakamura Yuuichi, Shimono Hiro amongst others). I really wasn't expecting anything awesome but boy was I surprised.

Story:
I'm not one to enjoy sports anime much but the beginning of Oofuri was pretty slice-of-life-ish and by the time we got to the actual baseball I loved the characters too much to stop watching. The story is about Mihashi Ren, a first-year whose self-esteem was completely destroyed by the members of read more
Jan 5, 2008
Suika (All reviews)
A True Ace in the Dugout

I will admit that this show pretty much came out of nowhere for me. I was just surfing Nico Nico Douga and just happened to find an episode uploaded, 3 to be exact, and watched it out of pure curiosity. I happened to wind up watching the most famous scene in Ookiku Furikabutte, which is something you should see for yourself. Needless to say, I unintentionally laughed hard. I also mistook Mihashi for a girl because of his demeanor and voice. I actually started to pick up this show because I thought it would be a train wreck, and everyone read more
Sep 28, 2007
lowell (All reviews)
I've only seen 10 episodes so far as I'm writing this (edit: originally), but I couldn't hold back. I love this show.

Basically, it's a baseball anime that focuses on the battery between Abe (the jaded catcher) and Mihashi (the pitcher with absolutely NO self-confidence) and their new and inexperienced team. It seems like we're going to see the team grow over the course of the show... as well as, hopefully, Mihashi's confidence and social skills.

The art has it's ups and downs. The ups: Mihashi's exaggerated expressions and boneless postures really amuse me -- he's more of an anime muppet than an actual read more
Jun 4, 2013
pleochroic (All reviews)
this sports anime is not based on a shounen manga, but on seinen, and it shows by having far more nuance than your average shounen. so far this is my favourite feel-good anime of the year (2013 in which i am watching this). and i learned some baseball from it -- now i wish every real game i watch had a sound track with the players' and coaches' thoughts for me, *wry grin*.

it's hard for me to judge whether a person who is not interested in baseball would enjoy this show as much because i do like baseball, and in specific, i like read more
May 24, 2009
Credulous (All reviews)
I wasn't originally planning on writing a review for Ookiku Furikabutte or Big Windup as its called in english. Why? Because Ookiku Furikabutte was and is a good anime which I enjoyed and there were already a few decent reviews for it, when this is the case I rarely feel another review is needed unless I disagree with the other reviewers. As the anime progressed though it struck me, the one thing I hoped was going to change never changed and it annoyed me to no end, infact it seriously pissed me off.

The main character is a sissy, a pansy, a wuss, a pushover, a read more
Oct 4, 2008
M_A (All reviews)
STORY: 7

Ookiku Furikabutte is a shonen show about highschool baseball. Naturally, the storyline isn't shockingly creative or original, but it does not need to be in this case. We get some nice development, and an obligatory tournament, like in most sports shows. Even though the story isn't anything special, it progresses nicely and keeps a good pace. One aspect i liked was the actual baseball games, unlike other shows, the games in Ookiku Furikabutte are very realistic and don't have incredible techniques and unrealistic occurences.

ART: 8
The art here is a bit different than most shows, mainly in the character design department, especially with the main read more
Nov 19, 2014
Aizen-Dono (All reviews)
[Sorry for my bad English, i'm not english... I used Google Translate for this review, really sorry...]
Assuming that I'm Italian and therefore did not know the Baseball, I must say that it is a good Anime, because it made me understand, clearly and simply, the world of this sport, through the story of a boy who after many vicissitudes, due to its difficult past, finally manage to integrate with the team.

Story 8/10: It 's very clear and well done, makes you live, in person, the effort and the joy of each new deal Inning, each time with a plus experience gained during training, not forgetting read more
Oct 19, 2009
Darkgreen12 (All reviews)
Maybe I'm not the only one but as soon as I heard of 'Sports' Anime; I told myself to avoid the genre. It was mostly do to my idea that only way you can enjoy a sport anime..is well if you know the sport. I WAS SO WRONG, when sport anime do in fact focus on a sport there is more to it then that. There is the story of person non-stop hope in getting better, to get his dream, to win, friendships are formed, rivals are born..AND I been missing out on alot. I'm planning in the future to watch ALOT read more
May 24, 2010
Dredgy (All reviews)
"Believing"

The Story...

It has a slow paced and concrete story about connection, coordination, and trust between fellow players. It starts of with a fate of some high school students that gathers from a newly established baseball team which dreamed about the same one goal. It begins an introduction of having bonds on every character, continuing to the plot that brings hardship and good times. It is quite simple to follow the flow of the story even though it is baseball related. It directly points out to the cast around the sports itself. Strongly, the story moves along with having a simple life, development, and challenge that read more
Sep 25, 2016
minutemaid511 (All reviews)
This anime was an underdog for me. I think baseball is incredibly boring and I had zero expectations of an anime all about baseball, so Ookiku Furikabutte had that in it's favour. It made my "To Watch" list though, so I thought I would give it a shot. And when I did, it delivered in ways I didn't think it could—above and beyond. I'm not sure what went through my mind to put an anime about *baseball* on my list, but I'm incredibly glad I did.

Story: 9/10
The story has everything you could possibly want from this kind of anime, and it constantly keeps you wanting read more
Mar 10, 2016
Emeris_Lochart (All reviews)
I enjoyed this anime a lot. At first, I was kind of skeptical about it because it was a sports anime, and also because I didn't know a lot about baseball.
I decided to try it, I had the time, and was astounded. Because of this anime, my interest in baseball increased greatly. It really changed my view of the sport.
The plot of this series was slightly slow for my tastes, but it really kept me interested. The characters of this series are pretty interesting, and sometimes the portrayal of certain character traits is quite dramatic, though allowing me to laugh read more
Mar 10, 2011
KnightessKana (All reviews)
Compelling, but predictable.

Ookiku Furikabutte is an interesting anime that caught my eye. If you like the game of baseball or are interested in the sports-themed anime, then this anime might be very enjoyable. However, the reason why I believe that the anime has flaws is due to its plot predictability, the underdevelopment of the supporting characters, and the over-centralization over the baseball theme.

Despite finishing this anime in a mere two days, I found myself thinking behind all the enjoyment: what made this anime appealing to me? After much consideration, I found out that the reason why I enjoyed this anime stemmed simply from my interest read more
Aug 11, 2009
docalion (All reviews)
Preliminary
Helow everyone!! Wahahaha!! It's been ages since my last post here. Anyways, I'm so excited today that I even made a short review even after just watching 3 episodes...

My last watched sports anime was Over Drive. And I wasssss sooooo soooooo disappointed how the story went that I dont even bother to finish it. That's why I refrain from watching any sport type since then. But, I was intentionally going to buy Ookiku furikabutte, since Mamoru Miyano - san was here (bummer! Only got a supporting role). After having a copy of this, I was, of course, hesitant to watch it, thought it might also read more
Jun 29, 2010
Magdalen (All reviews)
I don't normally watch anything other than shoujo. But I found myself with free time after finishing Ouran and wondering 'Okay, what next?' It's amazing, being a die-hard Shoujo fan, I found myself liking what is aimed at a Seinen demographic, anime. But like it I did.
Having found this on FUNimation, I decided to have a shot at watching. And I'm so glad I did.

Every aspect of this anime is amazing. The relationships running through it between the characters, the humour, the story itself, and the characters are all right on the ball. They couldn't get it anymore perfect.

The story is one of Ren Mihoshi, read more
Apr 7, 2017
Sidewinder51 (All reviews)
Rate an 8
English Dubbed

Story
-if you suffered with guilt growing up in life this story had a way of reeling you in and connecting you to the main character.
-what you would expect it would be, about the game they are shown playing.
-Had a good intro
-Conclusion, that is up for debate. On one hand they had the show complete with episode 24 but went with the 'final episode, 25' was the aftermath or could be seen as a review or sum up anyways.

On the other hand, sure episode 24 was the closer but there were some questions that weren't answered in plot until episode 25 like read more
Jan 20, 2010
Koolag1 (All reviews)
Ok I am not a sports fan and baseball so long winded, however I do like this show a lot so what is its that makes it so good to watch?

Well for a start its more about enjoying something and the skills and having fun with major league baseball no longer has due to or other sports these days are all about money rather than a love of the game.

Anyway lets get back on track the main core characters are great an the story is well put together if the end was a bit of a let down but there is scope to continue the read more
Oct 19, 2011
7jaws7 (All reviews)
Ookiku Furikabutte is something that - by the time I finished watching - made me more appreciative of sports-themed anime. Admittedly, watching this felt like a chore in the beginning; each episode seemed to just drag on and felt longer than normal. Looking back on all of that, I came to a realization that I was actually learning more about the game of baseball.

There have been other baseball anime beforehand, of course, but the style we have here takes a different approach. By that, I mean the mechanics of the game get every bit of attention as the story and characters. read more
May 14, 2014
caramel_soul (All reviews)
Preliminary
Here's the deal short and sweet: It's a great story, but you've gotta love baseball--or at least find the beauty in it, because this anime does an incredible job of highlighting all the intricacies of the game.

It's a classic, and I really do mean that. The characters are the driving force. The relationship between insecure- Mioshi and steadfast-Abe rivals the best of partnerships, and is a genuine joy to watch evolve. The supporting cast of boys helps to drive home the team atmosphere, and you fall in love with each of them.

It is a slice-of-life, so the pacing can be rather slow. A large read more
Jul 25, 2014
morphinup (All reviews)
This is a solid anime. Take it for what it is, a slice of life sports anime about first year high school students, and you will like it. I would categorize the feeling of it as "cute" in a young teen boys and their enthusiasm for a sport.

The story is simple, it follows the main protagonist, a first year baseball club member, and his team. I like it because they act like first year students. The athleticism, isn't over-the-top completely, unbelievable (though of course it is not realistic, but what sports anime has realistic athleticism?). You will find out a little back story for read more
Jan 31, 2016
animimosa (All reviews)
now this is great. its about sport - baseball - and its great. Its so great that it dosent matter any more about what it really is.

of course the very good manga is an easy start. a great story. its very good in itself. provides the material, the passion and the fun, but in this anime happened something thats very rare. the animation creates something even richer.

story and characters are following close the manga. but the carefully improved artstyle, in details of the characters, but especially the surroundings and the backgrounds, supported with great sounds and voice acting, brings in what the manga has read more