Tekkon Kinkreet
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Tekkonkinkreet
Synonyms: Tekkon Kinkreet (2006), Black & White, Tekkon Kinkurito, Tekkon Kin Creat
Japanese: 鉄コン筋クリート

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 23, 2006
Producers: Aniplex, Tokyo MX, Beyond C.
Studios: Studio 4°C
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, PsychologicalPsychological, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 1 hr. 51 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.001 (scored by 3251732,517 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1462
Members: 75,953
Favorites: 1,133

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 20, 2007
bateszi (All reviews)
Coming from the dream combination of the emphatically cool Studio 4C and much admired manga-ka Taiyou 'Ping Pong' Matsumoto, Tekkonkinkreet is a movie I've long waited to see. Based on those two names alone, you should expect several things - let's start with moody and stylish visuals; almost-surreal art that gleefully shuns fan-pandering anime conventions and embraces the meaning of creative freedom, and then there is Matsumoto's dazzling talent for empathetic story telling; his subtle use of natural dialogue and eccentric body language that's clearly intent on plumbing the darkest depths of the human soul.

Tekkonkinkreet is also known as Black and White, and so named read more
Mar 13, 2008
Phill-z (All reviews)
Believe the hype. If you see "ZOMG TEKKON KINKREET IS LIKE THE COOLEST THING EVAR!" Believe them. I had heard the hype about this anime for a long time, and I know to never take what people say about stuff like this seriously. However, I decided to go ahead and watch it, it couldn't be boring right? And I had seen a recommendation from Mind Game (another terrific anime) and so...I watched it. At first I was a little sceptical, the director is Michael Arias. This is the first thing he has directed. He produced the Animatrix, which read more
Oct 26, 2018
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

This isn't going to be an easy one to review. I have very mixed feelings towards Tekkon Kinkreet. It's one of those anime that to me wasn't great and certainly wasn't bad. However, that isn't to say it was average. It's more accurate to say it was simultaneously spectacular, and a total piece of shit...so it ended up in the middle.

Oh and Spoiler alert! I can't really talk about why I'm conflicted with this film unless I go into some spoiler territory.


Plot and characters:

We are introduced to a wild and beautifully animated city. According to the director, this city was created by taking elements read more
Apr 29, 2015
dyslina (All reviews)
Tekkon Kinkreet took me by surprise. At first I noticed the superb art and choice of colour, but then the story evolved and it completely took me of guard.

Story: It's sad and dark but not too heavy due to its more comical scenes. The only thing I could've wished for was more backstory as well as explaining more in depth of Kuro's feelings, why he did the things he did etc.

Art: Simply amazing. My eyes had several orgasms watching this. I also like how they chose to colour this, it is very colourful and happy for such a sad story, but it really works! I read more
Jan 27, 2009
chrysalis (All reviews)
The movie starts off strong, with an interesting but not quite unique story of two street orphans, forced to protect the town that simultaneously sustains them, and abuses them. They are the protectors and protected by the system that has been created between the gangs, the police, and the Yakuza who roam Treasure town. And like their names designate, Black is harsher, rougher, more prone to violence, while White is up beat, cute, and creative. They complement each other and balance the others eccentricities. With fabulous animation, strong voice acting (at least in the Japanese), and a solid score, this movie read more
Oct 3, 2012
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Tekkonkinkreet is a film from Studio four degrees Celsius. A studio that I have watched nothing whatsoever from but have heard of a lot of their work. I'm not sure if this is a good introduction to them or not so feel free to enlighten me about how typical of their work it is.

The story is pretty simple. Two orphaned boys, Black and White, claim control over a small town and that's when the Yakuza try to muscle their way in. It probably sounds like more happens than actually happens. The film's biggest problem is that it's tedious. Really, really tedious. There are long read more
Feb 26, 2011
Arcane587 (All reviews)
I should first say that I did not like this anime. For whatever reason, this anime reminded me a lot of Paranoia Agent, which I hate with a passion. Maybe the low rating is a result of recalled trauma from that time period.

I should also state this is my first review on this site. Why do I wish to review this specific anime after all my time on here? It's one of the bigger disappointments. I had expected a top-tier anime, yet I got one of the most boring anime movies I have ever seen.

Story: 2/10
The story did not captivate me in the least. read more
Oct 23, 2015
Sharvak (All reviews)
Okay, first review and first of all, to the person saying the art is bad because its out of proprotion, it an ART STYLE. You wouldn't tell edvard munch that "The Scream" is bad because it's out of proportion, or Picasso because it's "weird"

The story was good, but wouldn't have been half as good without the characters of Kuro and Shiro driving it. The tormented aspects of their relationship is the entire reason for the film. 6/10

For me, the art made this film unique and refreshing, from the detailed architecture to the stylized fight scenes. I loved the color scheme for its vibrant choices and read more
Jun 2, 2008
starshinesMonet (All reviews)
The plot of this anime begins very solid. I was convinced it would quickly become a favourite, despite White getting on my nerves from time to time. Had I gotten to know the characters better, I probably could have continued to feel for them. However, the plot quickly goes from being clever and direct, to warped about an hour or so in. For those who enjoy violent anime, I'm sure there are better ones, but for me this was pretty high-strung. I will saw this for the characters though, but the second half you REALLY feel their anger (thus showing the strength read more
Nov 1, 2013
RicardosFlick (All reviews)
Tekkon kinkreet should be categorized as one of those "mind fuck" movies or anime because it pretty much is that to some extent. The movie heavily depends on abstractions in art and character telling; however the story itself is not as confusing as it may seem to be.

The story is simple, Black and white are orphans that live in "treasure town", a fantasy city inspired by asian architecture, which is undergoing residential and identity changes as outsiders try to morph the city into sometime it's not. The problem I have with the plot overall is that it just does not explain enough and also read more
Dec 23, 2012
Vurtox (All reviews)
Tekkon Kinkreet is an anime movie that takes influences from famous western movies such as "The Godfather", "City of God", "The Boondock Saints" and "Rain Man" and spices things up with some Takeshi Kitano-ish story telling. The result makes for an intricate and multilayered journey that seems to be easily overlooked as 'simple', merely because it seduces you into feeling content with having scratched only its surface.

This will not be another review of which you can find plenty and probably far better than I could do. Instead this will be my interpretation of the events – in a way a post-view analysis – to make read more
Apr 4, 2015
BlobbertMcN (All reviews)
Tekkon Kinkreet. I have mixed feelings about this anime. After watching it a second time, I finally feel ready to give my opinion on it. What bothers me most about this anime is that I feel as if I should like it. The style and themes are very much things that I appreciate in anime, but Tekkon Kinkreet just doesn't fully bring me over the line of enjoyment or engagement. But as I write it out, maybe I'll find out why; so let's break it down.

~STORY~
For a movie that is quite long by anime standards, there isn't much story to be had. There are two read more
Sep 19, 2019
mrbeckham09 (All reviews)
Tekkon Kinkreet
English: Reinforced Concrete

Black and White are the boys who rule this town. They are known as the Cats, and they let NO ONE else rule their territory. Other gangs may laugh when they show up, but this witty and stylish pair are crafty enough to wipe that smile off any gang's face and break a few teeth in the process.

The world here is incredibly creative without being too twisted, yet edgy enough not to be disturbing and yet somehow interesting. If I were to wrap it up in one word, I'd call it ENTERTAINMENT.

But it's more than just two kids dodging the normal read more
Nov 4, 2009
cobrascope (All reviews)
I rented this out of curiousity not really expecting much from it but I actually thought it was great. The film is strange, idiosyncratic and probably not everyone's cup of tea but the psychedelic visuals are so spectacular (and the soundtrack isn't bad either) that it's worth watching just as a feast for the senses. It's like nothing I've seen before and it's definitely worth checking out if you're looking for something "different" be it animated or live action.
Dec 19, 2015
zetsubou-kami (All reviews)
One question I ask myself quite often is:
"Why didn't you watch Tekkon Kinkret?" And I don't ask it to myself. I ask it to you reading this.

First of all Tekkon Kinkreet is made by Studio 4°C . The same guys that did Animatrix, Mind Game and Genius Party. If you watched any of these movies you won't need this review, because you already know that you should take a look at this movie. If you're fast, you may have opened the tab already.
In case that you don't know any of these movies... write them down. And watch them. They are one of the best read more
May 30, 2016
predo50 (All reviews)
I'll put it like this. If you like stories to be clear this isn't for you. I enjoyed the art and music of this movie but the thing I lacked is details some sense of story with a backstory and what I got is good animation of "wtf is happening" and "I don't even" moments ... It's one of those movies that is more art than a movie in my opinion. Make sure you are in the mood for not thinking 2 much or get high I guess... It has some clear metaphors that hit you a few days after watching the movie at least read more
Sep 20, 2015
hinekure (All reviews)
"What is it about fire? So calm and peaceful but… inside, all power and destruction. It’s hiding something. Just like people do. Sometimes you have to get close to find what’s inside. Sometimes you have to get burned to see the truth."

The concept of balance versus unbalance/yin and yang as an internal struggle is not a new or groundbreaking premise, but it is not necessary for an anime (or other form of entertainment media for that matter) to show you something you'd never have considered before for it to be a work of art, or even a masterpiece. Tekkon Kinkreet portrays the concept of yin read more
Sep 16, 2013
princesslum (All reviews)
I cannot tell you how many times I have seen this movie. It is both sad and happy. It shows both the beauty and ugliness of the world. It is the deepest movie I have ever seen in my life.

It is hard to express how much I love this movie. It is truly amazing. I wish more people have seen it. Hopefully, more people will watch it.

It is weird. Very weird. The style of the art, the way of thinking. But I do not see weirdness as a bad thing. Weird is beautiful. Tekkonkin Kreet changed the way I see things. It takes the read more
Jan 15, 2017
Sidewinder51 (All reviews)
Rate of 6 (fair)
seen via English dubbed

Likes:
Plot- Very elaborate. The writer was honest. If words were mentioned they had reason and purpose. Some writers fill up time with words not this writer. You will not feel like you watched a mystery with your W questions. And since this was a kid p.o.v. the art had a certain flare that matched the plot.

sound- was on key and right actors and the right parts.

Dislikes:
art- Sadly, the are was not realistic. Had the art would have had more detail to make it look like an actual person and not just a drawing more things would have happened. More read more
Aug 5, 2016
WolfCladInBlack (All reviews)
• Anime Title – Tekkonkinkreet | Alternative Title – Black & White | Source – Manga
• Type – Anime Movie | Genre (s) – Action, Adventure, Comedy, Psychological | Language – Japanese | Runtime – 1 hour 50 minutes 34 seconds | Date of Airing – December 23rd, 2006
• Demographic – Seinen

• Synopsis –
Black and White are two orphans who roam the streets of Treasure Town, beating down any thug or yakuza who gets in their way. When mysterious foreign entrepreneurs appear with the intention of tearing down Treasure Town and replacing it with an amusement park, Black and White face their greatest adversities yet. It is up to read more