Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Oh! Edo Rocket


Alternative Titles

English: Oh! Edo Rocket
Synonyms: Ohedo Rocket, Ooedo Rocket
Japanese: 大江戸ロケット

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2007 to Sep 26, 2007
Premiered: Spring 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Other
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.301 (scored by 3,310 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #25052
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4127
Members: 9,892
Favorites: 29

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 9, 2009
Credulous (All reviews)
During festivals in Japan it is customary to shout "Tamaya!" or "Kagiya!" when the fireworks are lighting up the sky. I knew about this, but I had always wondered why they would shout something like that. Now I know.

Oh! Edo Rocket is about a firework maker named Tamaya Seikichi and his friends in Edo during the mid-1800's. A time that was hard on anyone with a profession that leaned more towards entertainment and suchlike, well to be quite fair it was probably hard on most common people living in Japan during this age.

I normally don't write reviews about animes I have given a high rating, read more
Nov 11, 2008
alx222000 (All reviews)
Oh! Edo Rocket is a mix of crazy comedy and serious drama, and like the fireworks that feature so prevelently, it explodes wonderfully.

*Insert synopsis here*

The show doesn't take itself very seriously at all. The show is heavy with humour, and is quite fond of self-reference, as well as some pop culture (Such as the very apt 'Men in Black'). It also has no problems breaking the fourth wall (ie. admitting it's fictional), and you'll regularly see modern conveniences, such as the TVs used to show some flashbacks.
The humour is well executed, and despite the numerous comedy series I've seen, I never really felt this series' read more
Dec 29, 2010
JackCox (All reviews)
One of the best Anime I've seen in a while.

I watched this show with the English Dub. If you watch it in English you will find it generally stays true to the story however, some Japanese references will be lost and put into a reference people in North America can understand. One example is in one episode you will hear them talk about Shows from North America like Dexter and the mentioning of HBO.

The Show takes place in the Edo Period of Japan, it's a time when many forms of entertainment have been outlawed, One of the people affected by this Sekichi Tamaya, a read more
Mar 17, 2013
lakshika (All reviews)
sometimes an anime is all about three things and that is-1-entertaintment
2-entertaintment
read more
Sep 10, 2012
NeonKazma (All reviews)
It's really hard to pull out a fun comedy series since nowadays, shows and sitcoms are full of boring and overuse joke material that were used over the years (shows and sitcoms like Suite Life Of Zack and Cody, Anger Management and The Looney Tunes Show.....*shivers*). So when I bought the 2007 series Oh!-Edo Rocket on Specs, I wasn't expecting much from it, so why even see it? Because of 3 things:

1. It was made by Madhouse and it's their first comedy anime series that they made.
2. It's directed by the guy who worked on Fullmetal Alchemist
3. It's based on a play for the read more
Jul 29, 2008
anonymousjoe (All reviews)
I have to come out and say this anime IS NOT FOR EVERYONE. But if you are into this type of genre it is one THE best shows. It is based of an amazing and popular play in Tokyo so the funding seems to be top dollar considering universal japan was involved. I really enjoy the bits of random humor and of topic and out of place lines or object thrown in to get a laugh. Even though humor is prevalent the plot is amazing and the music is just plain awesome. The characters actually have levels unlike so many anime out there where everyone read more
Aug 14, 2017
wintersnowcloud (All reviews)
Own, Online Viewing, or Evade
This show is a pretty solid worth Owning.

Overall Rating 8/10
The show is about Tamaya Seikichi, a famous fireworks maker from Japanese history. A rather fictitious account with aliens, ninjas, and a plan to reach the moon with fireworks.

If I remember right, that was the plan… The animation style is a bit odd but don’t let that hold you back. The show has some solid comedy and quite the cast of unusual characters. The old guy in the wheelchair really has a funny surprise. This show seems to have always been available very cheap. Do yourself read more
May 14, 2017
ImRingo (All reviews)
***This is a spoiler free review***

Over the past few months, I have had my free time occupied by things other than anime such as school, music, and The Old Republic. I at first thought that there just wasn’t any interesting anime left out there to be found. This opinion finally changed when two weeks ago my Netflix decided to recommend Oh! Edo Rocket for me to watch instantly. At first I was very nervous due to the fact that I tend to stay away from English dubbed anime (the exception being Dragon Ball Z and Ouran Host Club) but I was whiling to give the read more