Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kantai Collection: KanColle


Alternative Titles

English: KanColle: Kantai Collection
Synonyms: Kankore
Japanese: 艦隊これくしょん -艦これ-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2015 to Mar 26, 2015
Premiered: Winter 2015
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:05 (JST)
Producers: flying DOG
Licensors: Funimation, Crunchyroll
Studios: Diomedea
Source: Card game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.991 (scored by 65,158 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #37742
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #618
Members: 160,076
Favorites: 1,381

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 26, 2015
MarlyTT (All reviews)
Ever wondered why Touhou doesn't have an anime? This is why.

There are two perspectives you can watch this show from: Either you played the game, or you haven't. This show is clearly designed to appeal to the former, and does a great job at failing in everything because of that. The thing about making an animated series of something like Kancolle is that, aside from having the fans seeing their favorite characters being animated, it also gives a chance for them to see the characters develop beyond their limited personality trait in the game.

What happens in this 12-episode odyssey is the complete opposite read more
Mar 26, 2015
We_EGAO_now (All reviews)
You know what's great? Cute girls. You know what's even better? Playing a game filled with them. Even better? The fact that they all have good artists and VAs. The best part? The diversity of girls makes it so anyone can find a favorite. You'd think it wouldn't be difficult to make a Kancolle anime considering there are anime with similar kinds of situations such as Strike Witches and Girls und Panzer, but instead of having a healthy balance of slice of life and battles, Kancolle just jumps around everywhere, making for a jarring experience.

The story is heavily divided, with multiple parts with their own read more
Jun 4, 2015
Seto_Masamune (All reviews)
Kantai Collection: KanColle is an Action, Comedy, Slice of life, Military, Sci-fi anime based of the web browser game created by Kadokawa Games. The anime was created by Diomedéa Studio and was aired on January 8, 2015 to March 26, 2015 and lasting for 12 episodes.

Plot
The plot follows Special Type Destroyer Fubuki, a young girl who is a Kanmusu, girls who possess a spirit of a naval vessel within themselves and use these spirits to fight the Abyssal fleet who are threatening humanity from the sea. These girls live at naval bases, where they are taught to fight the Abyssal. Fubuki is a new read more
Jul 7, 2015
zylee (All reviews)
Finally, we get to see our shipfus animated.

Kantai Collection, or kancolle, is a browser game on DMM where you play as an admiral in charge of a number of ship girls based on WWII ships. You send the ships on sorties and expeditions in your campaign against the abyssals who has taken over Earth's ocean, all while praying to RNGesus that your construction or sortie reward yields the ship you want. Its a nice timesink and appeals a lot to its target audience, with a strong fanbase that rivals that of Touhou. With such a large and dedicated fanbase, its extremely tempting to create an read more
Mar 26, 2015
Wontons (All reviews)
I feel compelled to write a review about this show since it was one of those shows that was fairly hyped during this season and has a unusually high average score for a show this mediocre. As a fan of the game and the general media craze of Kancolle, this show as a whole falls short of being good from any perspective.

Firstly, I'd like to note that unlike a lot of people who like to rate similar to how IGN likes to rate things (i.e. anything below a 7-8 is "meh"), and because of it, I generally dislike number ratings, especially ones as bloated as read more
Mar 25, 2015
mercury1980 (All reviews)
Where am I? Oh yeah I have a review to do for Winter 2015.

STORY (4):

KanColle is based on a game adaptation by Kadokawa Games. KanColle is about a group of girls who have the spirit of battleships are on a mission to protect humanity form the abyssal fleet. I mean why can't you call it any other name rather than the generic abyssal fleet?

In fact, just like Glasslip. I can understand why people didn't like the anime.

The story has so many events going on that I barely keep track on anything. I know the concept about the WWII ships are interesting but read more
May 12, 2015
DJNOSTYLE (All reviews)
The "Mecha musume" genre of anime (Which turns WWII weaponry and vehicles into cute girls because why not) has been becoming increasingly popular within the last half-decade or so. With that being said, the idea of turning naval combat ships into adorable fap-mater...I mean waifu-material...seemed like an idea that could not possible go wrong. And so one fateful day, Kadokawa Games created a free-to-play browser game featuring over 9000 (Give or take around 8900) different ship-girls that would go on to live in the dreams of otaku everywhere. Following this explosion of moeboats, Diomedea quickly grabbed the premise of Kantai Collection and set sail toward read more
Mar 26, 2015
ryanxwonbin (All reviews)
When the anime for Kantai Collection was announced and a trailer was released, a milestone was placed for a million fans already set in place. While most were happy and excited for the adaption of the most popular casual game in Japan, people who were already familiar with anime and the tropes associated with the media were worried. This was because the production company was a relatively unknown studio, the art was vastly different from the pixiv artists that make the original character pictures, the ever infamous CGI was going to be used, and with all things that attempt to cater to too many people, read more
Mar 26, 2015
Lancehot (All reviews)
TL;DR: At face value, it's a cute girls doing cute things show that combines Japanese otaku's two favourite fetishes: high school girls & military hardware. However, as the series progresses, it seems that Kancolle is not only meant as harmless fetish porn, but is in fact an attempt to deal with Japan's demons over their defeat in World War Two by having cute girls dress up as boats & literally blowing those demons up. For all its ham-fisted handling of the subject matter, it's good for a laugh, albeit in a “if you can't laugh, what can you do?” kind of way.

Anyone who follows international read more
Apr 2, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

In an anime like KanColle, with all of its ships, all of its "moe," and all of its torpedoes, there actually exists something that the audience can relate to. And that is the idea of support. Everyone needs help, from the student looking to get tutored for the next exam to the adult wanting to learn how to use the computer. We almost can't get through our daily lives without someone, in some form, providing some kind of aid in our direction. And receiving such support can often times be both a rewarding and eye-opening experience.

STORY

KanColle read more
Mar 26, 2015
AbsarNaeem (All reviews)
Kantai Collection or KanColle is an anime adaptation of a hit web browser game. I haven't played the game or seen it. But what I did see before this anime came were pictures, lots and lots of pictures of girls with guns. Not just any guns, torpedoes, missiles, cannons and what not. And of course, I was intrigued as to whether this game would ever become an anime. When the anime was announced, I put it at the top of my list since I wanted to see what awesome action we would get.
The series started off good, it didn't give as much action as I read more
Apr 1, 2015
Wizongod (All reviews)
Don't take my score rating at face value. Kancolle (the anime) is a mesh of conflicts which makes it difficult to rate, also because of its target audience.

The anime, before it aired, was announced to be crafted to exhibit a slice-of-life/battle ratio of 70%/30%, and that is where the problem lies. The anime basically hands you a platter of samples from the Kancolle universe but doesn't quite put in the effort to ensure that each sample is well crafted and fully developed.

Let us start with the slice-of-life part first. Here's a warning to those who don't play the game: You won't get much of it read more
Apr 3, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
What’s the best way to describe Kantai Collection? A series based on a browser game with cute fleet girls doing badass things? Or perhaps a series about military warfare with a taste of delicious curry? Regardless of how Kantai Collection should be, the series should be viewed forefront about fleet girls. In essence, Kantai Collection crafts its premise based on a set of characters in a fictional world with historical references. But unfortunately, this show runs like an engine with crude oil and it’s not very impressive to say the least.

It’s not always easy to adapt an anime based off a game. There are read more
Mar 26, 2015
SkyNoHoshi (All reviews)
Kantai freaking Collection. How does it feel trying to find your best ship in the anime? How does it feel to be sucked in a world with moe anthropomorphic boat characters doing boat stuff? Well, I hope you managed to enjoy yourself watching the anime. However, there have been mixed opinions about this anime throughout and after its airing. Although many, whether they played the game or not, have actually enjoyed the anime, others are disappointed over the story’s direction. Indeed, there are a number of flaws in the story which I feel that need to be addressed.

Fubuki is the protagonist of the anime who read more
Mar 18, 2015
luigi-dude (All reviews)
Preliminary
Even taking into consideration the genre and source material this anime utilizes, this show in particular has been (upon reflection) one of the most over-hyped, predictable and bland products I've ever watched. Paper-thin plot, cardboard cut-out characters, and dialogue that made me cringe with embarrassment at what I was listening to. The game at least has the possibility of death which brings a weird quasi-darkness to it considering your cute "waifu" can end up at the bottom of the sea. Besides 2 supporting girls sinking so far, we've had nothing but predictable battles with hilariously bad CG effects, and SoL in-betweens with moe forced on read more
Mar 25, 2015
gayanime (All reviews)


The show is supposed to be an adaptation of the popular online game and the show is presented through Fubuki, a pretty normal destroyer. You then meet all the other girls ( they are all great but its hard to keep track of all their names). The show is really cute and falls under the genre "cute girls doing cute things". There is a lot of yuri subtext ( I was surprised, though its not unusual since all the characters are girls besides the admiral). The show is pretty enjoyable.

May 2, 2015
Reimillya (All reviews)
Hi, this will be my second review. Includes light spoilers, may or may not be properly done.

Kantai Collection is obviously, about the game of ship girls or fleet girls, whatever. It's enjoyable.

Aight, soooo let's start.

========
Story: 6/10
The story here is pretty much similar to some anime series out there. Things happen where MC was weak and then they get experience from the things they do blablabla. There's also the 'sudden problems that appear' trope I just made up for this review. The anime also contains some cheesy dramatic stuff on some parts which made me, uh, cringe a little. I wonder how I got past read more
Apr 9, 2015
ap1001 (All reviews)
Hooray! Kantai is finally over, and damn it is getting a second season! So here is a bird to Diomedea and DMM, for continuing to cash cow this work. Anyway a review on the show, Kantai is a cashgrab, made by money hungry fags for its fan base. It is not a anime you would watch unless you are a fan (or a moe zombie, in which case a bird to you too).

Flame bait aside, time to get serious. There are two results when one adapt a game into an anime, one is when you create a watchable show by actually adapting, the other is read more
Nov 7, 2018
starfarts (All reviews)
KanColle has an even dumber concept than Strike Witches. As if pantsless lolis with boot propellers wasn't stupid enough, here we have Fleet Girls™ which are basically qt 3.14s with assorted ship apparatuses that magically summon from the ethos (or variously must be equipped) and transform the grills into some vague reference to WW2 Japanese ships while they maintain their qt-ness.

And yet it works. It works really well.

Each ship (or grill) has a distinct personality. Some, like the Yamato, are hilariously tied to the IRL circumstances of their namesakes, but others are just...silly. We have lesbian ship sisters, the boisterous Kongo quartet, wizened fleet read more
Mar 25, 2015
Estorm (All reviews)
I really wanted to like this show. I really did. Being the fan of Kancolle I am,
I just cannot hate it completely, but this show was a disappointment.
It is a huge potential wasted, thus a frustration to those familiar with he game and fandom.

-What potential?
Kancolle is a browser game that came out in 2013. It gained popularity far beyond the expected level, so much that the servers can't handle the demand and new players are allowed into the game via a lottery system, japanese and non-japanese alike.

What made the game this popular, was the doujin market around it.
The game had a vast amount of characters,interesting read more