Yama no Susume: Second Season


Encouragement of Climb Season 2

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Encouragement of Climb Season 2
Synonyms: Yama no Susume 2nd Season, Encouragement of Climb 2nd Season
Japanese: ヤマノススメ セカンドシーズン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2014 to Dec 24, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: 8bit
Source: Manga
Genres: AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 13 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.551 (scored by 1040810,408 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #14292
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3221
Members: 25,406
Favorites: 120
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 25, 2014
SkyNoHoshi (All reviews)
"(Mountain-climbing) may have been hard, but it was a lot of fun. I want to experience more of these feelings. Lots more."

I was eager to watch the second season after seeing the first season which consist of three-minute episodes. It was great that in this second season the episodes are longer, which leaves for more story and definitely development in the characters. If you'd watched it already, you should know that Aoi at first didn't like mountain climbing. But with the help of Hinata, and along with two more girls, Kaede and Kokona, she got to learn more about it and she had a lot read more
Jul 18, 2015
roxaskyoya (All reviews)
This review is just going to be how Yama no Susume Second Season is to me.

I started out watching Yama no Susume out of curiosity (well that actually applies to most of us huh) only knowing that it's about mountain climbing. In little time Yama no Susume captured my eyes and heart to the show showing the beauty of mountain climbing but not without the challenges and suffering (and moe).
As where I'm from has no mountains so before I watched the show I had no real idea and interest in mountains not to say climbing it but this show just does it so well read more
Aug 2, 2015
Ryuujou (All reviews)
Honestly, I happened to come by this anime purely by chance. An anime about girls climbing mountains? As soon as I read the summary, I gave it a try. What the summary anticipated was a journey, and a long one at that.

The four main characters go through many hardships and turns, and it made me want to cheer them on. Aspects of their experiences are often relatable in some way, too, like being unsure if you're able to do something, or simply an argument with your closest friend.

With art comparable to the easygoing nature scenes of Non Non Biyori's, Yama no Susume manages to read more
Mar 29, 2018
jal90 (All reviews)
This second season of Yama no Susume continues the story of Aoi and Hinata from the first one as they, along with their two friends, keep developing their interest on mountain climbing while reaffirming their friendship. This is overall a cute and positive show with endearing personalities and an inviting mood. And yet, it has to be one of the most perplexing experiences I've had watching anime, and for many reasons.

I admit it, I didn't like the first season. With a premise that should have hit all the right notes in my personal tastes, I found the delivery dull and lazy, filled with the most read more
Dec 1, 2015
GiancarloLS (All reviews)
Now, I shall begin my review that probably has nothing metaphorical to do with cars. No car brands and car models whatsoever.

Yama no Susume (Encouragement of Climb) began its season 1 as a 3-minute-per-episode moeblob, the “anime shorts” as some calls it. After watching the whole season 1 in an hour less, I thought that that was the end. And no farther stretching of stories will be made, unless the producers and staff will be making fillers. Perhaps another slice-of-life on high school grounds rather than mountains?

Instead, the writer(s) of season 2 went around (or researched) their Land of the Rising Sun to find mountains read more
Feb 1, 2017
Jersie (All reviews)
Hello everyone, since you're reading this, you wanna hear my opinion and review of this, so let's just get right into it!

The Story,

It's so simple, there really isn't a story, and that's one great thing about it, THERE ISN'T A STORY, just one main goal, and some girls having a lot of fun mountain climbing, it is simple, it is good, that is all.

The Art,

I actually watched Yama no Susume on a dvd I bought from the Philippines when I visited there, (not a good idea) and it was basically crap quality for me, but from what I could tell from the read more
Aug 23, 2017
AnimeObasan (All reviews)
This review is from someone who tackled Mt. Fuji all the way to the summit :)

I watched the first season (each episode is 3 minutes long, the second season episodes are 12 minutes a piece) and was impressed by the art, but that was about all. The characters are all typical fare and easily forgettable. The sound is completely average. The story has a strange pace. But the artwork is great.

This anime is a very realistic look at the climb, to the point that you can tell much of it was taken straight from photos. That was exciting for me, because it read more
Mar 5, 2016
Bernstein (All reviews)
The second season of Yama no Susume has all the cuteness and the good scenery of the short first season, but in its 13-minutes-long episodes it adds a richer and more complex storytelling and a bigger development of the protagonists and their relationships, so that it maintains the moe elements while giving more space to plot and characters.

Exactly as in the original season it's possible that you are worried about the length of the episodes, but again you shouldn't: if the pace is somewhat slower than in the three minutes previously allowed (as one could reasonably expect), this also permits some more interesting dynamics among read more
Feb 6, 2018
attempt1 (All reviews)
Yama no Susume is a fun lighthearted slice of life. Yama no Susume is about four girls and their adventures climbing mountains, and just having fun.

After watching the first season which introduced Aoi, a girl who was initially very shy and was scared of climbing, until her very loud and energetic friend Hinata convinced her to start climbing. I was interested to see what they would do next along with their friends Kokona and Kaede in this season.

The character interactions between the four girls were fantastic. It was so much fun just watching them in their day to day life, whether they were shopping, read more
Oct 5, 2018
earl_of_sandvich (All reviews)
"It looks terrifying at first, but it's not so bad if you take it a step at a time."

The show continues the "mountain climbing for noobs" theme of season 1, this time showing what obstacles and challenges new climbers might face through Aoi's experiences. Because not every climb goes according to plan (and can even go terribly wrong), it's important to see Aoi become discouraged and yet take up the walking stick again.

The episodes in season 2 are still shorts, but this time around they're 15 minutes rather than 3 to 5 minutes-- one season 2 episode has the story content of roughly 3 or read more