Gokukoku no Brynhildr


Brynhildr in the Darkness

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Brynhildr in the Darkness
Synonyms: Gokukoku no Brynhildr
Japanese: 極黒のブリュンヒルデ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2014 to Jun 29, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:00 (JST)
Producers: VAP
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Arms
Source: Manga
Genres: DramaDrama, MysteryMystery, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.941 (scored by 135913135,913 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #38372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #479
Members: 272,385
Favorites: 1,048
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 29, 2014
TheNeko (All reviews)
When I started watching this show I couldn´t help noticing how much similarities between this series and, the hugely popular, Elfen Lied existed. Both were a story about girls that were trapped in an investigation facility, that ended up escaping and then they find a really nice guy who ended up helping them, because, you know, he is THAT nice.
I really wasn´t much of a fan of Elfen Lied but I gave this show an opportunity anyway, and for the first couple of episodes it wasn´t that much of a disappointment. Of course, while I was watching the first episodes, which I thought were pretty read more
Jun 29, 2014
AnimeZ0id (All reviews)
**UPDATE** Damn this anime is getting bad reviews xD I get that it's similar to Elfen Lied (that's one of my favs) But you should never heavily compare the two even if it is by the same person who wrote it.

This isn't Elfen Lied. This is a completely different anime. Jeezz people.

Harem & Sci-fi; weird combination, right? But this anime makes it work. I'm usually not a huge harem fan, but this one is a win in my book. Probably because it's not heavily focused on it. I didn't actually expect to like this anime so much. Whether it was the summary or just read more
Jul 17, 2014
Guy1eg54 (All reviews)
I thought overall this was a pretty good series and deserves a decent rating. Not a perfect one but a decent one. I think it suffers most from failing to meet peoples expectations than it does from the product itself. Yes it was rushed but that doesn't make it terrible.

First off this isn't Elfen Lied. Yes it's by the same author and has various similarities but it's not meant to be a duplicate and doesn't necessarily appeal to the same crowd. This isn't even really a horror/gore series, Inuyasha had more gore and it isn't considered a gore series. Brynhildr is primarily a dark drama read more
Jun 9, 2014
EndlessGr8 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let me start off by saying this:
I do not like to talk down about anime. I an usually incredibly unbiased and I have an appreciation for every anime released... to some extent.
I don't like to be negative and I don't like to write reviews that could sound hurtful to some people. But with Brynhildr, there is a problem. The problem is that I cannot understand why there are little-to-no contrasting opinions on this anime yet. Everything I've seen/read so far has been generally positive and praising the anime. I don't get it... isn't that unnatural? It's not that great...is it?

No, it's not. There must be read more
Sep 27, 2014
Ilse (All reviews)
From the writers of the famous anime, Elfen Lied, they present you "Gokukoku no Brynhildr", in my opinion, a failure of an anime for the ages. Have you ever seen an anime that tries to encompass romance, ecchi, psychological, horror, magic action, schi-fi, drama, mystery, and fantasy all in one and fails miserably? Well, look no further, Gokukoku no Brynhildr is certainly one of those anime. One of Gokukoku's many problems was that it couldn't decide which direction they wanted to go with the anime: was it going to be a mystery with love? Or an anime filled with psychological traumas/problems? Or an anime filled read more
Jul 1, 2014
Demi_V (All reviews)
Second chances are not to be wasted, and this is no exception to the anime industry. VAP, Inc. and Arms Corporation took another shot at bringing one of Lynn Okamoto’s works to the big screen and blew its potential once again. Gokukoku no Brynhildr introduces an intriguing mystery and new concept of witches that have a promising start but resulted in something unforgivable with ridiculous plot devices. Because of the eerie OP and attractive plot, it is easy to expect a well-done mystery with proper supernatural aspects. Instead, there are incompetent characters, sorry excuses for villains, and poor pacing that leads to plotholes and a read more
Jun 30, 2014
McRib (All reviews)
“Just shut up and show me your armpits”

Having that as an important and plot relevant quote during the first episode of a show should be more than enough to tell you what you're going to be dealing with for the next 13 episodes. Gokukoku no Brynhildr does not disappoint in that regard. You are treated to a full season worth of ridiculous shenanigans, colorful characters, and downright nonsensical plot devices. Watching this show with your brain turned off is highly suggested since trying to comprehend everything in a logical fashion may turn you into a pile of goo. People who come into this show expecting read more
Jun 1, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVEIW**

Gokukoku no Brynhildr, or "Bryhildr in the Darkness", is a Spring 2014 anime brought to us by Lynn Okamoto, the writer of Elfen Lied (which I'll be making a lot of comparisons to), but anyone who has seen Elfen Lied probably would have been able to guess that pretty easily. Why? Because while both of these shows have some great ideas, they are both equally inept when it comes to the concept of tone. They both think that they can show an upbeat fanservice scene centered around jiggling boobs and a brutal/disturbing bloodbath within 2 minutes of each other and act as if read more
Jul 14, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Ah, the age old question: do aliens exist?

It’s a topic that has been debated for centuries. But for Ryouta Murakami, he’s not looking for aliens to be famous or for science. Rather, he’s looking for aliens because of a childhood past, one that changed his life forever. Gokukoku No Brynhildr (Brynhildr in the Darkness) tells the story of a world involving witches, beings with supernatural abilities that could change everything forever.

From the author of the notorious Elfen Lied, Lynn Okamoto puts his ideas to the test once again in this sci-fi and experimental series. The general premise involves the young boy Ryouta who meets read more
Feb 27, 2015
torrapamii (All reviews)
First of all, I've never seen Elfen Lied so I will not mention that in the review at all. I will review based on just Gokukoku no Brynhildr.

Story: 8/10

To me, the story was very unique. I haven't seen something this new in ages, because most of the anime I've been watching (or re-watching) have been really repetitive. The story wasn't dragging out that much, though there would be happy scenes, then sad/serious scenes repeating in that order (mostly). The anime was very mysterious. I wanted to find out why that happened, or this happened. There is also harem and romance in this anime and read more
Jun 29, 2014
Seffir (All reviews)
Gokukoku no Brynhildr or Brynhildr in the darkness is the anime adaptation of a manga created by the same mangaka who did the famous Elfen Lied. The show talks about an "ordinary boy" who comes in contact with girls called witches. Witches have some kind of power, every witch has it's own. So basically this guy meets a witch that looks like his lost childhood friend tries to help her and gets a harem.

Storry: The story is basically just like elfen lied only the girls have different powers, there is not much originality and much things are not clearly explained. The guy who read more
Jul 8, 2014
Jammin_Rabbit (All reviews)
Gokukoku no Brynhildr is a very cleverly disguised harem in the skin of a bleeding magician.

The show is a clear example of a unique set of characters with great potential placed at the mercy of a poorly written plot and forced to move with it. This is evident in multiple parts of the anime whenever a plot point is introduced only to be glossed over. While this isn’t entirely noticeable at first glance, it becomes a reoccurring phenomenon that leaves the audience wondering “why?”

One of the weakest points of the show is the lack of impact the supporting cast (Kogorou, Chisato, Nanami, etc) has read more
Jun 29, 2014
JustMayonnaise (All reviews)
One of the less appealing animes which was adapted poorly from a manga. This is from the point of view of a person who was previously reading the manga before the anime was announced.
THIS REVIEW WILL BE STRICTLY BASED OFF OF THE ANIME!

Story: The plot is not very well defined and is easily misinterpreted, I was lost multiple times watching this anime and it constantly felt like there were missing gaps as I watched the anime. The plot is an static plot of basically 1 antagonist who have many underlings who will do their bidding pressuring the existence of the main protagonist. Don't get read more
Aug 21, 2014
Social_Elitist (All reviews)
Brynhildr of THE DARKNESSS Review:

SYNOPSIS:
A top secret military base who are super evil, experiments on females to make Super Aliens to do a bunch of random errands. One of the girls trying to escape some how ends up in our generic protagonists astronomy club, then he hunts more of them. Soon enough, poof! Harem happens- obvious fact. Now whose ready for SHOCK FACTOR!

REVIEW:
Lets start of with what most people flip there Kenichi's about... the gore factor... AKA- SHOCK FACTOR:
At least in Elfen Lied they show fully uncensored gore and nudity, it was special back then because the gore mixed with the portrayal of nudity read more
Jun 27, 2014
GriffithIsRight (All reviews)
Preliminary
tl;dr: Garbage story, so bad its like how you can't help but watch a trainwreck. Only reason to watch this show is if you like harem anime since the characters are awfully designed, but still very interesting and entertaining to watch.

This show's story is one of the worst things I've ever seen. So many plotholes, illogical decisions, and unreasonable situations even if there's people with superpowers involved. Most of the series is spent on fanservice rather than the plot so at this point, I might as well rate it as a harem and just ignore the story they seem to pretty much ignore for a read more
Nov 5, 2014
Joschi (All reviews)
God, this anime, THIS ANIME.

To put it bluntly, it doesn't know what it wants to be.

It tries to deliver a serious and interesting story while, and I have yet to understand why the people behind this did this, having your occassional fan service/sexual inuendo thrown in between scenes that are supposed to tell you that shit's serious and lives are on the line.

That's just unappropriate, it just doesn't fit, I can't get emotional attached to girls telling the main character that they're gonna die when they're all wearing bikinis and one's even constantly brabbling about how she wants to fuck the mc, just like... read more
Jul 6, 2014
hamammm (All reviews)
Before I continue this review, I'd like to point out the fact that I have, indeed, read the manga up to the point at which the story in the anime ended, and I will try my best not to compare the two, though it is near impossible, considering how much better it could have been with a true-to-the-manga following, instead of the anime original ending we have at hand.

First, let me go into some brief background. Gokukoku no Brynhildr, better known as Kiwaguro no Brynhildr, which is the name of the manga series that served as the source material the anime was based on, was read more
May 15, 2014
Republic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Huge disappointment, possibly the biggest of the year.

I'd previously written a more positive review of this one as I was about 6 episodes in. Even then I'd seen troubling signs that it could turn out terrible, but I thought it could fix itself before the problems grew to become excruciating. It took a 100% dive.

The first episode leads off nicely, and the second one stirs up even more suspense and seems to get some character progression going.
From here it seems to really lose all direction.
There are some nice elements setting up for alot of possibilities but it's like the writer didn't know read more
Aug 20, 2014
Detective (All reviews)
"Elfen Lied comparison complaint, grumble grumble, fanservice, grumble grumble, I'd pardon this if it was cool like Shingeki no Kyojin but it's not, grumble, I'm so much smarter than the Sci-Fi genre."

Gokukoku no Brynhildr is exactly what you expected it was; An action-based thriller prematurely adapted from a manga by the same person who wrote Elfen Lied. So why are you so upset? The characters are static and flat, plot threads that should have been wrapped up quickly continue onto the last few episodes, and the art seems almost barbaric when comparing it to more visually stunning shows that aired simultaneously. It has the trope read more
Sep 6, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Gokukoku was written by Lynn Okamoto, the same mangaka that wrote Elfen Lied and was animated by Studio Arms, which also produced Elfen Lied. Is Gokukoku no Brynhildr The second coming of Elfen Lied? In a word...no. If you loved Elfen Lied, you will hate Gokukoku. If you thought Elfen Lied was terrible, you will think this is worse. If you were impartial towards Elfen Lied, you will hate Gokukoku. This series fucking sucks!

Story: 3/10

The story begins with our young protagonist Murakami and his childhood friend Neko out watching the stars. Neko is an unusual little girl that believes in aliens and wishes to prove read more