Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou


Alternative Titles

English: The Kawai Complex Guide to Manors and Hostel Behavior
Japanese: 僕らはみんな河合荘

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2014 to Jun 20, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: TBS
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.851 (scored by 106,123 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #320
Members: 197,464
Favorites: 1,410

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 2, 2014
Decoys (All reviews)
It's difficult to produce a shoujo romance that doesn't feel rushed, especially within that 12 episode time crunch. With shoujo romances I like to see a nice a steady progression between the two soon to be flowering pairings. That's that's exactly what I got with Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou - it's a shoujo that's not rushed. However it ends at the climax - and without a second season to wrap everything up, the first season is quite pointless.

The story follows a high-schooler named Kazunari Usa as he moves into a boarding house complex, illustrating the unique blossoming relationship he has with fellow roommate, Ritsu Kawai. read more
Jun 19, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
If you’ve attended school before, chances are that you’ve gone to a library once whether it’s for studying, research, reading a good book, or just hanging out with a friend. Not unless like you’re Kazunari Usa of course, who happens to wander into the school library not by a chance to dig into a good book but rather seeing a cute girl deep in her thoughts. Seemingly set by destiny and fate, we later learn that Usa also (again by chance) happens to share the same dormitory of this girl. Her name is Ritsu Kawai and here is the enchanting story between these two characters read more
Sep 25, 2014
Ilse (All reviews)
Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou is a good light romantic and little comedy themed anime. The story is very unoriginal, stereotypical and blatant. Nonetheless it's a good romance anime that people can enjoy watching, get a good giggle out of, and feel happy about. Of course, I love almost all romance anime, so if you don't like romance anime, then this anime probably isn't going to be that appealing to you.

Anyways, the plot is very simple. It's about a high school freshman, Kazunari Usa who movies into a boarding house and it turns out that the love of his life, Ritsu Kawai is living there too. read more
Feb 12, 2015
Rustedsteel (All reviews)
Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou is probably one of the top comedy animes of 2014. its a good romantic comedy, slice of life anime that will keep you wanting more at the end of every episode.

the story begins with Kazunari Usa, a high school 1st year who ends up living in a boarding house due to his parents working overseas. he finds out that the girl of his dreams Kawai Ritsu, also lives in the same complex, but just when he think things are looking up,he soon realizes that his other roommates are anything but normal.

The animation for Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou is rather average, nothing read more
Jul 28, 2014
UsualGuy (All reviews)
Mediocrity at best. While it could've been a promising anime, in reality its another anime that doesn't know what it really wants to show and if does something, its usually bad executed.

The story is nothing special, or why would i give it a 5? You know when there are so many ways to make an interesting plot, anime such as this only put it simple from the very first episode and theres no further developing.

The Art. Well, i don't see anything awe inspiring, moving on.

The Sound is forgettable and as mediocre as this anime in general. Can't remember a single track.

Characters. Now this read more
Jun 26, 2014
animesthabomb (All reviews)
'Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou' (aka: 'The Kawai Complex Guide to Manors and Hostel Behavior') is a rather unoriginal anime... in presence at least. Unoriginality though, does not automatically equal 'plain', 'unappealing', or 'bland'. It could very easily, but this show manages to take many things that you're probably familiar with (or maybe even tired of) in the anime-world and present them in a fun, simple way.

Story - 8/10

As MAL's synopsis covers the show's general plot-line well, I won't reiterate it here. You've seen this kind of setup all over the anime-community. Boy strikes out to 'live alone' and encounters some kind of problem, usually read more
Jun 1, 2014
Miyukiiixxx (All reviews)
Preliminary
In my opinion, I think Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou is one of the best anime of the season. It's cute, and funny romance series.

Story 7: The main plot of the story is a normal highshool boy goes off to live on his own at the "Kawai Complex" where it is filled with bunch of, I suppose, "unique" people. He has a huge crush on one of the residents there, who is his senpai that LOVES to read books. Although I'm not a big fan of the female character being older, I guess this is a exception.

Art 9: I think the read more
Jun 27, 2014
Neizaru (All reviews)
***My robot friend in the robot highschool***

It appears that the clever people at the anime industry have finally found the holy grail of directing, a formula that guarantees positive reception regardless of the condition of the industry or the viewers - namely take the latest trends and do an exact reverse. For lack of better terms let's name this new brand of psychological engineering as "anti-trend".


***Two day old coyote. Better than three day old coyote***

It's really dead simple as that. Observe recent cliches and flip them upside down:
Cute love interest inexplicably infatuated with a boring protagonist? Turn her into a boyish cold fish completly uniterested read more
Mar 2, 2015
UltraDoom (All reviews)
This show was a first for me, it was the first time I read the entire manga before watching the anime. As a result, I enjoyed it far more than I would have otherwise. I now recommend always searching out a well-translated mange before watching an anime whenever possible as it adds a lot of depth to the anime. Its not like it is here in the West where the movie or show versions are adaptations and highly altered. So far, I have found that anime really strives to bring the manga to life and tell the story as richly and accurately as possible, with read more
Jun 19, 2014
thedryness (All reviews)
this is gonna be short and sweet, because, well, to be honest nothing about this anime really warrants in-depth review. its pretty simple and straightforward slice of life about some eccentric characters living in a complex together, mostly focused around our MC who just moved in and quickly develops a crush on a shy bookworm who also lives there.

Story - 6
the story never really feels like it takes off, or perhaps even intended to. while we do slowly see our two romantic leads warm up to each other over the course of the series, the plot never gets very deep and there is little actual read more
Feb 15, 2015
MugenDreamu (All reviews)
I always love to watch this kind of show, comedy combined with romance is one of my favorite genre, and Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou has found it self a place deep inside me.

A stand alone episodes is always familiar as for these kind of genre, almost no core story but even so it still attractive. As we now, if it's full comedy anime then it'll never far from unique "crazy" personalities from each character, and this show are "loaded" of that point. With all those variant "unique" personalities, you won't be bored even for just a second. Pervert behavior and echi content are still in read more
Jul 27, 2014
QuietDiscourse (All reviews)
Kazunari Usa is a Japanese high school freshman who finds himself living the dream: his parents are out on work assignment, leaving him to enjoy independent life at a boarding house where he cohabitates with his cute bookworm senpai. Unfortunately for Usa, the other tenants at the Kawai Complex prove to be anything but normal. The title "Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou" ("We Are All From Kawai Complex") is a play on words with the double meaning "We Are All Pitiful," and the residents of the Kawai Complex all exemplify this in different ways. This anime chronicles Usa's misadventures amongst this new group of vexing personalities.

Kawaisou read more
Jun 22, 2014
DangoSage (All reviews)
Every now and then when I go out of my way to look for a new romance anime to watch, I can't seem to help but to come across the whole anime "3 in one 1" genre package where romance comes bundle up with comedy and slice of life/school life like it's one of those 3 in 1 instant coffee packets. I mean it's not like I have anything against the two other genres but sometimes I just want to watch something purely romance just like how sometimes I just enjoy drinking coffee without sugar and creamer. But I digress, this genre bundle seems to read more
May 30, 2015
officiallyzaid (All reviews)
Okay, this is my first review >< so please excuse me if it isn't good, btw I will only do reviews on animes that I enjoy. I just finished Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou, it was splendid. I loved how the characters progressed like how at the beginning Kawai barley even talked to Usa but as time went on they slowly began to talk more and the love story took air. This anime had a lot of funny moments, which made this a great experience. I specially enjoyed how Kawai got jealous, when Usa's former middle school classmate appeared. For me Shirosaki was one of the read more
Jun 28, 2014
baconrollz (All reviews)
When I first saw this, I thought that it would be another Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo (shudders). Thank god it wasn't. I would place Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou in the top 5 anime of 2014.

Story [7/10]

Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou is a typical romantic comedy. Most of it is set in a boarding house. You have the main character, Usa, a seemingly normal male, surrounded by "weirdos". Shiro the masochist, Mayumi the woman with crappy taste in men, Sayaka the bitch (lul jk i love her), and the main character's love interest, Ritsu. All in all, it seems to be a rather overused setup. Yet, read more
Jun 21, 2014
tommy73 (All reviews)
'Kawai Complex' is like a blend of romcom, adult jokes, anime seinen elements and wackiness. The main character Usa moves into a boarding house, whom coincidentally meets the girl of his love, Ritsu. Unfortunately the rest of the residents consist of a creepy masochist, a bodacious drunk woman and a backstabbing troublesome girl who puts a mask of cheerfulness to lead men on.

Depending on your preferences, you may either like or hate the characters. But the primary focus is based on the relationship of Usa and Kana Hanaz- I mean, Ritsu; a shy, introvert girl who has a love for books and nothing else. Usa read more
Dec 3, 2016
AnimeListFreak (All reviews)
“I just wanna spend my days in peace.” A quote said by the main protagonist, Kazunari Usa.

Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou; or rather, The Kawai Complex Guide to Manors and Hostel Behavior, is one of the greatest romance animes I have ever seen. Although it isn’t simply a masterpiece, it is still a great anime, and today, I’m gonna explain why.

So Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou’s story starts off with a boy named Kazunari Usa, who didn’t really like middle school, so he wants to have peace and quiet with a wonderful girlfriend, till his wish becomes impossible to fulfill once he enters his new home. Although read more
Jun 21, 2014
vince1996 (All reviews)
Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou a anime about a random group of people living together while exploring romance.

Story: 7
The story is easily the weakest part of the show but not in a bad way just compared to other parts, as it is well done for a slice of life comedy romance with a SLOW developing romance which could have been fully developed if it was longer like 25 episodes instead of 12 and aside rom the romance the show is just made up of funny moments and cute scenes.

Art: 9
The art of Bokura was very nicely done as it had good detail in aspects both in read more
Sep 29, 2014
Killbilly98 (All reviews)
Its capturing the viewer with its special story. Of course the story progress slowly but the reason why is that it gives you time to think of how it will maybe progress and the characters are very unique to the story. The art is amazing and beautiful. Even the voice actors are a perfect match for the character. It may become slightly less interesting in the middle of the story but it gets more amusing afterwards. If you already have watched it before you are going to want to watch it again.
Feb 16, 2017
Sadi-st_Tanmoy (All reviews)
This will be a review of the original series and the special episode together. If you plan to watch this anime, then make sure to watch the special episode "Hajimete", otherwise the story won't be complete.

Bokura Wa Minna Kawaisou in a sentence is a mood refreshing anime. If you are exhausted after watching an intense anime, then this anime will do the job. It has comdey, romance, spice of life. But nothing is intense. It is a charm in its own.

Story - 8/10
-
The story is about the everyday life of the five residents at Kawaisou Complex. Everyday they are fighting, arguing, joking, making fun. The read more