Tokyo ESP

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 東京ESP
English: Tokyo ESP
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 12, 2014 to Sep 27, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Xebec
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SupernaturalSupernatural
Theme: Super PowerSuper Power
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.561 (scored by 6576565,765 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #58142
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1134
Members: 158,196
Favorites: 174

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 12, 2014
AFilthyWeeb (All reviews)
IN A WORLD, WHERE PENGUINS CAN TAKE FLIGHT..
AND GLOWING FLYING FISH CAN GRANT PEOPLE SUPERHUMAN ABILITIES..
COMES A YOUNG GIRL..
WITH THE ABILITY TO WALK THROUGH SOLID OBJECTS..
SHE WILL EMBARK ON A QUEST TO SAVE TOKYO..
FROM TWO-FACE AND HIS TEAM OF ESPERS..
..UNTIL..
She realizes her ability is useless against them and is beaten to submission against everyone she fights with.

I finished Ga-Rei: Zero a few days ago (enjoyed the shit out of it) and heard that Kagura and Yomi are on this Anime i thought to myself "wow really?, does this mean this is a side story or someones point of view to the GRZ story" but read more
Sep 26, 2014
Stryder (All reviews)
Tokyo ESP. A show about people with a variety of superpowers duking it out against each other. How can you go wrong with that?

Story: 3/10

Frankly, the story of ESP is a jumbled mess. The first episode sets the stage well. It introduces the world and the conflict between factions, and leaves the story open to development. Super powered beings called Espers have rebelled and taken Tokyo hostage. People are panicking. Everything is going wrong. And then the protagonist appears to save the day. The first episode left me keen for more. I was exited to see where the plot would go.

And then, it pulled a read more
Feb 3, 2015
mercury1980 (All reviews)
In a world full of crime, there is an anime that has potential to became awesome using superpowers, however, it turned out to be a mess. That anime is Tokyo ESP. Tokyo ESP is produced by Xebec.

STORY (4):

The story follows Rinka Urushiba, a normal high school student who is a bit poor and her father is the only one who raise her. Rinka has to work as a waitress after school to raise money for rent and food. One day, she sees a penguin and some glowing fish swimming through the sky. Rinka came into contact with the fish and she develops ESP powers. ESP read more
Oct 8, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Tokyo ESP is just about exactly what it sounds like. Tokyo is the location of the setting while ESP stands for extra-sensory perception. Add two more letters to that and you get ‘esper’, the term used to designate individuals who possesses powers beyond human capability. The premise is essentially about a girl named Rinka Urushiba who develops special abilities of her own after one faithful day that changes her life forever. It’s nothing new to see really as generic would be the first word that comes to mind if I was to describe this setup. To enjoy Tokyo ESP, you’ll have to see the show read more
Sep 29, 2014
Nasty001 (All reviews)
When I watch this thing, there are a couple of things that remind me of:

1. Batman
2. X Men
3. From Paris with love (the 2010 action movie)
4. 300
5. Big Boss
6. Taking of Pelham 123 (2009 action movie)
7. Dan Inosanto ( the Kali guy whom Bruce Lee fought in "Game of Death")
8. Jumper (A 2009 Sci-fi movie)
9 DC Comics heroes
10. Samurai Flamenco

So, I just gonna go direct to the point by stating my ratings for this anime.

Story, art and characters: Poor 3.

It maybe a spin off of "Gai Ren Zero," it may have a plot and it may have a story, but it ain't original, the read more
Sep 18, 2014
bobobobobiy (All reviews)
I'll keep this short and sweet.

Characters absolutely sucked ass. The story was predictable and cliche. The soundtrack was okay. The art suffered immensely during action scenes (not to mention the weird lip shadows).

Cliche, cliche, cliche. Nothing much to it. May be a good anime for beginners that haven't seen enough cliches yet, but to someone who actually watches a shatton of stuff, this anime was complete booty.
Nov 24, 2014
henkuku (All reviews)
Do you love heroes? Do you believe in miracles? Well I hope you do because you're going to be hearing a lot of that if you're planning to watch this series.

[STORY: 7/10]
The storyline is actually a very simple and traditional template of "Good v.s. Evil" and that's pretty much it. I'm giving extra credit for the fact that they have a pretty decent back-story to back up all the latter's actions. A good back-story never fails to hit a soft spot in me. So apart from that, there are moments of fighting (somewhat... at least they tried) which may or may not intrigue you. read more
Nov 27, 2015
Ksuga (All reviews)
...And all of a sudden errryone had superpowers. Tokyo ESP is an anime in which many people get superpowers because they are on drugs. I say this because a select few persons can see fishes swimming around in air (obviously they are under influence of drugs). The first thing I would think if I saw a flying penguin or fluorescent fishes in the air is ask myself if I am sane. Not these characters, they just believe and inmediately accept what they see. Anyway, jokes aside, these fishes seem to give people superpowers by going in a person. All you have to do is wish read more
Nov 4, 2014
RyokiJurushi (All reviews)
So, small disclaimer before I start my review. For this anime, you most likely will have to shut of any kind of logic you might reconsider, you wont find any of it here. If you decided to give it a shot, then listen closely to its story as it will likely kick you of to the reaction of ,,Wait,What?'' when you miss a small detail. Now to to the real review..

Tokyo ESP had also been one of the newest Animes of the last season. It is the Story of a Highschool Girl called Rinka Urushiba. Now the first thing you'll see is that the atmosphere read more
Sep 27, 2014
raisingfalcon (All reviews)
This anime was such a let down. From the first 4 episode one would think that its going places just to later find out its going straight down a cliff. The story at first seemed cool on how they stole a building and what not to create a new city from the rubles. But when they go to the past to explain everything then it just turns to crap.

Characters:
First of all you hardly feel attached to any of them. The characters are just motivated by a crap love story that goes no where. How did asuma and white girl chick get love ties anyway? It read more
Sep 27, 2014
radionoise (All reviews)
Tokyo Esp from the first episode was set up to be nothing more than a mediocre take on X-Men.

Story: 3
The plot is extremely cliché and straight-forward: there are a group of humans with special abilities who take advantage of their power to take over the world, and there is the protagonists, who also happen to have special abilities who are going to use their abilities who take down the bad guys.
The first episode shows the peak of the show to try and grasp the viewers to see what's to come, but with this it meant that the show became very predictable to the viewer, and read more
Sep 27, 2014
Ahridan (All reviews)
Tokyo ESP came with a lot of hype and potential among this seasons line up, unfortunately it failed to deliver

Story: 3

The potential was there, the manga provided a strong story, but in this case, the anime was a complete mess. It fell short in all aspects of suspense, action, romance, etc. There were many plot holes and inconsistencies through T ESP that made in nearly unbearable. Much was left unexplained and you justfelt unsatisfied with the play off many scenes

Art: 5

For the most part the art was ok, references, clean, good lighting, but as the anime progressed this seemed to become stale. The fight scenes read more
Oct 5, 2014
smolbeanaria (All reviews)
"Tokyo ESP" is an anime that downgrades espers, turning them into whiny teenagers who feel the need to gripe about their unfortunate past.


This anime first captured my heart at the word 'ESP.' Unfortunately, I was to have many not-so-heart-capturing moments throughout watching the series.

"Tokyo ESP" is a sci-fi staring Rinka, an extremely poor high school girl who lives with just her father in modern Tokyo. One day, on the way home from school, she chases a "flying penguin" to the top of New Tokyo Tower—only to have "fish swimming in the air" suddenly appear before her. One of the fish goes through Rinka and gives read more
Apr 16, 2015
RitaDnz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh god this anime seems so bad. I've read all the 53 manga chapters available as of now , and let me tell from what I saw on the first episode there seemed to several new characters that never showed up on manga. Also based on what I read on others's reviews I'm even more disapointed, Azuma and the main villan were called generic as well other characters. wow that's so no true, in the manga they're all very interestin,g each has their backstory and dept they grow as the story procedes. You should definetely read the manga and skip the anime you won't regret read more
Aug 12, 2015
pedrosp14 (All reviews)
Well to begin with I don't dislike this anime like most of the reviews, on the contrary I find that it can be quite fun to watch. It is not perfect for a lot of reasons as : rushed story, characters that don't have a really good depth into them, between other things. Below I will list the grades I gave to each topic...

-Story (8):

The story could have been really interesting, but it was rushed and had some plot holes that weren't explained, nothing that a second season couldn't have dealt with. The plot is about a girl named Rinka that all the sudden finds read more
Sep 15, 2014
KazeNilrem (All reviews)
Preliminary
I will keep this brief and to the point. Unfortunately I only managed to make it to episode four so bear that in mind while reading my review. The most glaring issue I had with this anime is the pacing. From the get-go, the series attempts to depict the story as with other stories; having an event that occurs in the future end it getting shown in the first episode.

Now, this is a tool often used in stories which I am fine with if it is done properly. This anime did it in an appalling manner to where I was nearly turned-off from the first read more
Mar 22, 2016
tsuki_shiro (All reviews)
What if you are an esper? Well, some people would like doing some cool stuff or try to become a hero or “joining the dark side”. Tokyo ESP is about a teenage girl who become an esper and later on become stronger in order to protect people and becoming a hero. When I heard the manga will be animated, I am so freaking happy since I’m a fan of its manga. But, the anime adaption seems fast pace adaptation, and doesn’t follow up its original story although the chronology of time is same, so you would want to read the manga (absolutely, do it!!) from read more
Oct 9, 2014
xgunawan (All reviews)
To be honest, I don't know how I should explain this series. Tokyo ESP is one of action series which I took because of the action genre only. As the series first made, my expectation is it would become a little good because of the promising almost-ending scene in the first episode. But, as the series went, my expectation came down and almost drowned into the deep of the sea with the ending.

Tokyo ESP is a series which told us a normal high school girl and got a special ability. The girls then become a hero who tried to save the town from another special read more
Oct 24, 2014
Tony-x (All reviews)
this story has a nice flow, progresses rapidly and is effectively a series of events that lead you to draw your own conclusions regarding the deeper motivations of the characters. this is a simple, enjoyable show.
the show starts at the "beginning of the ending" with episodes 1 and 11 occurring in the same time-frame which creates a sense of anticipation leading to the inevitable, reminiscent of the western superhero genre.
just as when watching a movie like "ironman" or (conversely a non- superhero movie) "rocky", it is not a story of whether the protagonist will win or lose but the efforts that lead them to that read more
Feb 7, 2015
lehur (All reviews)
Too bad, Tokyo ESP Anime version, has started from Rinka encounter Professor on Battle at Diet (Japan Parliament Building), I think Tokyo ESP has good story quality, Doing anime that started or follow story on its Manga. It can be beneficial to the viewer.
If you ask Why, the more I think about it...
First Assumptions is the Director seems to want this Anime have a main story or protagonist on Ren Jōmyaku (ESP 2) but why there are new character like someone who use rider and gun (They aren't ESP right?) If so it's just like Plot drift.
Second Assumptions is the story having Reverse chronology and read more