Psycho-Pass Movie
Psycho-Pass: The Movie
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Psycho-Pass: The Movie
Synonyms: Psychopath Movie
Japanese: 劇場版 サイコパス

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2015
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, MilitaryMilitary, PolicePolice, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Duration: 1 hr. 53 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 8682986,829 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #8872
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #633
Members: 176,183
Favorites: 473

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 10, 2015
TCTriangle (All reviews)
While Psycho-Pass: The Movie is a continuation of the story from Psycho-Pass Seasons 1 and 2, it changes a lot of the things from the show: the setting is different, and while Kogami is brought back again, many of the characters are new. These changes may be fine for some fans, but disappointing for many others. What results is still a great standalone movie, but may alienate many fans because it doesn't entirely "feel" like Psycho-Pass.


Art: 10/10
Undoubtedly the high point of the movie. The painstakingly-animated cityscapes and landscapes simply made my jaw drop. And the fight scenes - oh my god, the fight scenes. I read more
Jul 31, 2015
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
This review contains minor spoilers, but really now, if you've watched the previous seasons you already know the plot to this one.

Psycho-Pass was one of those shows that was good on premise, but in execution was handled quite poorly, with the subtlety and writing of an angsty teen who thinks it's cool to see guts and explosions and who thinks it's good writing when a character randomly references old works of literature. Still, it was a fun and enjoyable show with some funny moments (Brains, Hyper-Oats, Spooky-Boogie etc). Psycho-Pass 2 on the other hand felt like an unnecessary cash-in that didn't bring anything new read more
Jul 27, 2015
femto999 (All reviews)
I like Psycho-pass. It's an interesting franchise that doesn't have any kind of moe and doesn't involve high school teenagers with supernatural powers. It's a really good thriller-mystery show with some really deep characters and good philosophical themes. I really enjoyed the first season and I loved the second one (though I was probably the only one). Yet I didn't like this movie as much as the predecessors. At first let's start with the story. The thing that i liked about this film was the fact that it expanded the already interesting world of Psycho pass. The biggest part of the movie doesn't take place read more
Jun 27, 2015
ChioneDyrken (All reviews)
[SPOILER FREE]

The movie is enjoyable in reliving the strengths of our favourite characters and shows their capabilities in adapting based on Sibyl system continuous progression for evolution. The story allows the viewer to get a glimpse of the characters' improvements and strengths that speak volumes of their years of experience.

However, the storyline played an unfamiliar tune.

Psycho-Pass season 1 and 2 focused on individuals that brought forward an opposition against the system. By exploring a world where we are introduced to the different types of people accepted or denied by the society, we are treated with a myriad of perspectives and social psychological warfare. It was read more
Jul 29, 2015
Kokko (All reviews)
"All the rules in the world were made by someone no smarter than you. So make your own."

-Jaden Smith


Darwin taught us "Survival of the Fittest". In Gen Urobuchi's fantastical creation only the strongest survive, and those who cannot adapt are thrown in a ditch. This movie is intellectually stimulating like no other, with references to smart writers like Marcel Proust. This is the first time I've heard someone mention Proust in an anime.
This time the villain does not carry around 1984 like Makishima Shougo, which I've heard is a very good book. Nay, this time the theme is post-colonialism, which is clearly evidenced by a read more
Jul 26, 2015
smackells (All reviews)
Off the bat this is a simple review for people who are fans of the series. This is a return to form for the psycho-pass franchise. It has great visuals, sound and a solid plot. If you enjoyed the first season this is for you. If you hated season 2 then you can forget about it. After watching the movie, in my mind, season two no longer exists.

Overall I loved this movie and can't wait to add it top my collection beside season 1 (season 2 doesn't exist).
Jul 30, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Gen Urobuchi is sort of like the Production I.G. of visual novel writers: better than the pack in that he has a lot more on his mind than padding things out with lame, unfunny, and dull setup before quickly rushing into a story that’s not worth it half the time, but still nothing to get too excited about because being different doesn’t necessarily translate to being good. The guy doesn’t seem to understand that just because you take out the lame and the unfunny doesn’t change the fact that your dialogue and idea-throwing can still qualify as dull setup, you dullard. Not that the directors read more
Nov 17, 2015
Trainer-Theta (All reviews)
Just to clarify: I am a huge fan of Psycho Pass. That is, the original series, written by Gen Urobuchi. Season 2 was a bit of a letdown but overall still enjoyable. But this? No. No excuses. This was just plain bad. Minor spoilers. Tl;dr at the bottom:

Story:
This was just a huge cluster of cheesy sci-fi-esque "plot twists" which you find out at the end of the film mean absolutely nothing. The so called "plot twists" themselves were about as predictable as a sunrise. The film starts out promising with an interesting hook of a terrorist plot in Tokyo which you soon find out involves read more
Oct 28, 2015
PersonaSimon (All reviews)
Personally, I try to avoid movies based on pre-existing series. Usually they come off as fanservice and do not further the main series in any way. And when said movie has tied into the main series, it is often very rushed and poorly structured(I’m looking at you Gundam 00). Sadly, the Psycho Pass movie is no exception. .

First off, this is a stand alone side story. It says that it’s a sequel to Psycho Pass 2, but that is pretty much a lie. The is basically zero connection the second season and most of the movie takes place outside of Japan. None of the characters read more
Jul 31, 2015
Major_K (All reviews)
Psycho-Pass returns after what many considered a dismal 2nd season, myself included. With the creators of S1 working on this movie, I had high expectations. Reality can be harsh sometimes.

The buzz surrounding the movie was the return of Kougami Shinya. As Psycho-Pass fans say, Psycho-Pass isn't Psycho-Pass without Kougami. As much as I fan-girled over seeing him back in action, he just didn't have the finesse of season 1. My assumption is that Makishima added that extra bit of 'umph' to his character. Kougami had a goal and clear motives in S1 but in the movie he seemed like a lost puppy. Although his read more
Jul 27, 2015
caturface (All reviews)
Just finished Psycho Pass: The Movie and without taking any time to collect my thoughts just decided to begin writing my opinion. To start off, no this isn't nearly as good as season 1, but it is still much better than season 2 (though really that's like saying a High school track star is better at the 400 meter dash than the top special Olympics competitor, so not exactly a fair comparison). The story line was quite intriguing to say the least and had a nice, but not entirely unexpected plot twist that any fan of the series should see coming a mile away. The read more
Jul 31, 2015
Lemonfren (All reviews)
I just want to write short review about this movie.

The story begin with more complexity about sybil system. it start to expanding, so the background is another branch of sybil system. it give new great sensation and more sense. because at these floating island, there some intern war and some new killer machine type appeared. you can see some great action from the war. the story is more than good, but it make me remember psycho pass 2 because there sort of sybil system for the reason of war.

for the art, i don't have any complain because the art is good even for the details read more
Aug 16, 2015
Holokai (All reviews)
Summary: I'm a huge fan of Psycho-Pass as a franchise, and believe that it embodies what it means to be a great anime. So it comes as no surprise that I not only watched this movie, but also enjoyed it quite a bit. However, I also strongly believe that Psycho-Pass' strength lies in not its beautiful art nor its amazing soundtracks (both of which are fantastic), but rather on its philosophical explorations and thoughtful plot/character development. As a result, even though I did greatly enjoy this movie, as a fan and honest critic I have to give it a less-than-stellar rating. Now in more depth:

- read more
Jul 29, 2015
khunter (All reviews)
Psycho pass the movie, as just a frame of reference, was better than the entire second season of Psycho pass. The movie flowed well, had a good plot & furthermore, and actually more importantly, is a good segway to lead into a season 3 of Psycho pass, which, if done like this movie, can probably rival the first season.

Story:

I will skip any synopsis as MAL already did that.

PSycho pass the movie does a pretty decent job of keeping a good flow. The plot is original as it can be & the action scenes, which are frequent, are brilliantly done and amazing. Regardless of read more
Jul 27, 2015
HibariRyudo (All reviews)
When I heard about the Psycho Pass movie was out I was so excited. But now that I watched it, I have a different opinion. The story was very good but not great. I loved the recurring themes of free will and human nature. That humans are not meant to be ruled in a way that interferes with their free will and that each person should fulfill their desires. The corruption of government was very good too and can be compared to real life. The artwork was quite good and it was a lot better than the artwork from season two. Probably because it was read more
Aug 26, 2015
HelghastKillzone (All reviews)
After an agonizing eight months after its debut in Japanese theaters, the Blu-Rays and subs for Psycho-Pass: The Movie are finally released and I can move pass that abomination of that second season. I'm very happy to say that the movie has met my expectations and is a fantastic addition to the franchise.

Picking up after six months of the conclusion of the Psycho-Pass 2, a group of foreigners invade Japan with the intentions of committing an terrorist attack against the Sybil System. From that point on, Akane is sent off to a war-ravaged country, where the Sybil system is trialed, in order to find Kougami, read more
Jul 21, 2019
SupremeLord (All reviews)
So yeah, Psycho-Pass 2 wasn’t exactly the biggest of hits. But not all hope was lost, oh no. Around the same time the second season was announced, a movie got announced as well and Urobuchi and Production IG would be involved as well. Also, to shut all the Kougami fanboys up for him not appearing in Season 2 (Even though he had no freaking reason to appear and his few cameos were already more than enough) he would indeed reappear in this movie and play a major role. So how did this movie, simply named Psycho-Pass Movie (Seriously? That’s the best they could’ve come up read more
Aug 11, 2018
AnimuMessiah (All reviews)
Nice eye candy, but NOT as good as the original series! Not even close.

I know that movies can never be quite as deep as shows due to the time constraints, but the Psycho-Pass movie was a big step down from the original series and I'm still trying to determine whether it damaged the series as a whole in my eyes.

**spoiler zone**

Let's start with the most important aspect -- story. There were two things that I really enjoyed here. One was the initial few minutes of the story, with foreign terrorists attacking Sybil-controlled Japan which I thought was just really cool. The second main thing was read more
Sep 25, 2015
WildNeptune (All reviews)
Note: This review contains spoilers from the first two seasons.

The Psycho-Pass movie takes place a couple of years after the ending of the second season. Once again it follows Akane as she takes her incorruptible hue and immovable morality outside of Japan to hunt S1 favorite Kougami in SEAUn (South East Asian Union).

After Akane stops a well organized terrorist group in Japan, she learns of Kougami's connection to them and goes off by herself (with the blessing of the Sibyl System) to SEAUn to investigate. The continent itself acts a representation of two things, one, what life is like in countries outside of Japan read more
Aug 12, 2015
nanyatimz (All reviews)
Aaa, Psycho-Pass... Once a great doesn't mean it can get a legacy.

After a whole week of pondering whether to see Psycho-Pass movie, I finally gave in the urge and actually enjoyed the first half of it. While it may have been driven by my bias since I like the prospect of the original protagonist returning in the spotlight, soon, in the latter half, it was crushed by an anticlimactic conclusion.

Given Psycho-Pass already embracing their fallen grace, from the great season one to the poorly-written sequel, I was foolish to think that the movie would serve as a holy gargle to wash out the bad taste read more