Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Isshuukan Friends.


Alternative Titles

English: One Week Friends
Japanese: 一週間フレンズ。

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2014 to Jun 23, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.631 (scored by 101,372 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #468
Members: 209,486
Favorites: 1,046

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 29, 2014
Kyuutoryuu (All reviews)
Friendzone: The Anime

The plot of Isshuukan Friends consists of a young boy (Hase) who is in love with a beautiful yet estranged girl (Fujimiya). The girl suffers from a condition in which parts of her memories are erased on a weekly basis, on each Monday. This makes it so that Hase, in order to befriend her, is required to introduce himself to her constantly just to keep up their friendship. It also makes for one of the most frustrating anime to watch; it contains one of the biggest "love that never was".

Isshuukan Friends is structured in a way that every single episode, more or less, read more
Jun 22, 2014
jawnmewn (All reviews)
While there are some people who prefer solitude and independence, most people are social by nature, and they desire friends to laugh and struggle with in both the good times and the bad. Good company is invaluable, and thus it is important to distinguish who your true friends are. Genuine friendship should not rely on a relationship that is give and take, but rather a relationship based on mutual respect, trust in one another, and unconditional support. A good friendship takes time to mature and develop into an unbreakable bond, and oftentimes requires that friendship to undergo trials and tribulations. One Week Friends explores this read more
Jun 22, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
“Please be friends with me” – Hase. (every single week)

A show about making friends that can be said in 5 simple words. You might think that could turn into a century old trope but Isshuukan Friends (One Week Friends) does something different. It revolutionizes that very simple idea of making friends to bring about a show that is so much more. Based off the manga of the same name written by Matcha Hazuki, making friends is more than just reaching out and extending your hand.

Taken for granted, Isshuukan Friends has a very simple premise. It’s about making friends. The title itself is also easy read more
Oct 10, 2014
Lydiia (All reviews)
A heart-warming and satisfying story centering around true friendship and the subjectivity of memories and all the meanwhile it doesn't get too stifling in the process of the story: Isshuukan Friends. Such a marvelous story that people should give a watch.

Story: Isshuukan Friends is about a girl named Fuijimiya Kaori who has post traumatic stress disorder, and her memories reset every Monday. One day, she meets a boy named Hase Yuuki who wants to be her friend, and the story starts from there. As Fuijmiya continuously forgets who Hase is, Hase tries to keep their friendship alive, or start their friendship anew, again and again read more
Jun 24, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Friendship: it’s a concept that has been done to DEATH not only by anime, but also by virtually every other form of entertainment known to man. When you think of cliché themes that TV shows and movies have senselessly bashed into our skulls repeatedly to the point that it becomes sickening, it doesn’t take long to think of “friendship”. However, One Week Friends (“Isshuukan Friends”) is proof that an over-done concept can still be very enjoyable and extremely effective when presented in a fresh and outside-the-box manner. At the risk of sounding much more like a girl than a guy, this anime read more
Jun 25, 2014
Avmugi (All reviews)
I am unwilling to repeat what others have already said so read if you want a different opinion on this anime.
"Everyone hates a Monday, right, it marks the first day of a long week ahead but what'd happen if you feel like you have to start all over every Monday?" A special feature to slice of life is that while some ignore the genre, a certain section enjoys it whole heartedly, the only strong points of slice of life anime are the characters from it, each one with a different personality coming from different backgrounds, It's like getting to meet and discover new people.

There's read more
Jun 24, 2014
MadnessOwnage (All reviews)
Story:
The show is perceived as a innocent slice of life anime. It serves it's purpose with that. The show was told in a nice fashion. It achieves a good momentum in which the story is told. The story was simple to understand for the most part and there wasn't really much complexity. There was never really a dull moment in the show where I got bored of watching it. As soon as a problem ended there was always something new in the way. For a "slice of life" anime, it really kept me wanting more. The plot of the show was unique itself, read more
Jul 8, 2014
4Tifier (All reviews)
"One Week Friends" is one of those rare animes that you don't enjoy because of the overly-dramatic moments or complex plot; it's an anime you thoroughly enjoy through it's simple story and loveable characters. It's a work of art that deserves more praise than it's getting right now. Let me tell you why.

The anime evolves around two friends; Hase-kun, a shy teenage boy with very few friends, and Fujimiya-san, a lonely girl who used to have many friends. When Hase-kun one day dares himself to talk to Fujimiya-san, she completely tries to push him away. It isn't until numerous attempts when Hase-kun gets closer to read more
Jun 24, 2014
CStrife91 (All reviews)
I have watched a fair amount of anime in the last couple months and my most enjoyed genre is slice of life/romance. I barely come around to writing reviews but I made the exception with Isshuukan Friends. ( I.F for future shortening). I remember looking at this anime on the anichart website. The description gave good premise of what was going to be and the hook for this fish (being me obviously :P) was that the main girl Kaori forgets her friends every Monday.

Once it aired I was watching it contently and awaited each week for a new episode to air. The characters were read more
Aug 15, 2014
Avs (All reviews)
This is not a romantic comedy or a romance. Instead, you get a groundhog day adaption on young relationships in high school with a small amount of generic slice of life. We can sum up this anime as heartwarming but uneventful. This anime is adapted from a manga (partial 4 koma) by the same name and covers 4 of 6 volumes. Also, the manga is better than the adaption as much of the interesting dialogue that gives characters personality is absent in the anime.

Watch this if you like sickeningly yet bland sweet slice of life that moves at a snail's pace and enjoy fictional relationships. read more
Jun 22, 2014
wumbmasta (All reviews)
In the world of anime we tend to expect the unexpected. Explosions? A fantastical world? Monsters? Super powers? Super kawaii moe characters? BOOBS!?!?!?!? In the world of anime, all of those seem to be normal and expected in a show. However, once and a while a show comes out that is “unusual” and includes NONE, that’s right, NONE of the aforementioned things. In anime, the usual is unusual, and what makes it even more unusual (confused yet?) is when it is as excellent and beautiful as Isshuukan Friends.

Story - 7.8:
Read the summary that MAL displays above and you will completely, 100% understand what the plot read more
Jun 28, 2014
Jayex (All reviews)
Isn't it simply frustrating to overcome all your fears, work really hard, only to be sent back to square one? Isn't it absolutely irking when you try to remember something but no matter how hard you think, you can't remember?

Romance is supposed to be simple...right? Is it, then, complex? Meet, be happy, fight, makeup, be even more in love?

In Isshuukan Friends by Hazuki Maccha, no easy ending lays in sight for the main couple as the two polar opposites struggle with not only their own character and problems, but with reality as well.

- - - - - - - - - - - - read more
Nov 12, 2018
papsoshea (All reviews)
Anime which feature real, complex relationships where teenagers talk with one another in meaningful ways are rare—anime in which boys and girls are treated as equally complex and emotionally vulnerable even more so. I think series like Isshuukan Friends (One Week Friends) make the world a better place by respecting their audience and showing us genuinely good but flawed characters who care for each other and want to find someone to share their lives with. Series like that will always be a rarity in the current climate of the anime industry, but they do have an audience—and it’s reassuring to know that there are still read more
Sep 22, 2018
Vinickw (All reviews)
One Week Friends, a manga that I passed a week reading, I enjoyed the manga so much, then I went to watch the anime, and why Brain's Base? The manga was so good!
I'll explain all for you, starting in the story, the story is very good, in the manga, but in the anime isn't so good, because in the anime it needed to be shorter, then they’ve taken off some important parts, like these:

[SPOILER]

In the manga they went to an excursion, and in the excursion Kiryuu and Yamagishi apologised, and in the anime it have never happened; and in the manga had a festival, read more
Aug 7, 2014
JennieKim (All reviews)
Amongst other anime, this anime only rely s on 1 heroine and that's what makes it special. The plot of the story is quite unique and fragile because the MC is trying to build a strong relationship with the heroine, however the plot is unique in this stage as the heroine always loses her memory of her friends.

What really caught my attention was the unique plot behind the content, its not some regular romantic comedy series it has a strong and confined plot to it. It brough me to tears as the MC learns that all his hard work goes to waste as the read more
Nov 22, 2014
Dangime (All reviews)
One Week Friends is a cute, slice of life story that pulls at your heartstrings. Yes, this series does center around the repetitive, selective amnesia plot device. I know it's been done before. You know it's been done before. That said, it's worth getting past just that into the story itself. Plot devices are recycled constantly, and One Week Friends did a good job of making me care about the characters and their feelings very quickly. You initial response might be to recoil because of an overused plot device, but you'd be missing out if you let that alone make you avoid this series. It's read more
Jan 5, 2018
Aphyxia (All reviews)
A good plot which lasted for a few episodes and was then ruined by a complete wimp and unintelligent main character. The series started out good but with every episode fell lower and lower.

The forced teenage drama devalued this series hugely. I hesitate to even call it teenage drama since it was seemingly just pulled out of nowhere and didn't really make any sense at all. At the start I didn't really have anything to complain about but as mentioned, the further on in the series, the more problems arose.

A very weak 6, given only because I liked a certain side character and the idea read more
Jan 12, 2015
Owlythesova (All reviews)
Let me be totally honest with you. There's no real love story in Isshuukan Friends. You can easily describe all the feelings and interactions between main characters as 'love', but they actually put themselves in a 'friend-zone forever' situation. I keep wondering myself, if it's all because of memory loses, or because Hase was just a wet-rag.

The story is really mediocre, but that's doesn't make it bad. I can really describe it only with the words 'long-wided' and 'caramelized'. It can be boring at times, but is always warm and heart-melting.

The artstyle it what cought my eyesight at the firstplace, and it really lived up read more
Jun 19, 2015
Bolt1984 (All reviews)
"You eat your octupus weiners feet first."
-Kaori Fujimiya, Episode 8

50 First Dates, the anime! This show began with much promise, and was interesting to watch, but just seemed to fall apart towards the end. It got to the point where I was hoping there would be an unfortunate ending. (the resolution provided was very unsatisfying)

One of my biggest complaints is about the two main characters, Hase and Kaori (I don't remember people's full names because more often than not, they're not memorable). They both start off as decent-enough characters, but they become annoying with time.
75% of the time Hase is talked to, he will respond read more
Feb 15, 2015
Hemeth (All reviews)
(My english is HORRIBLE, so I'm really sorry if reading my review will give you a cancer. Really.)

Maybe as so much people, I watched Isshuukan Friends because everybody said that's a really really REALLY good anime. But... NONONONONONONONONONONONONONO, no, please, NO.

I wasted my time and I hope you'll not make the same mistake.

The chara-design is HORRIBLE (all in this anime is horrible, in fact) and I think I don't need to explain why : the faces are the same and not really developed (any details), the mouth is small, the nose... Jesus, but just : where's the nose? e-e

About the story itself, I don't know read more