Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

True Tears


Alternative Titles

English: True Tears
Japanese: true tears

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2008 to Mar 30, 2008
Premiered: Winter 2008
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:00 (JST)
Producers: Bandai Visual, Lantis
Studios: P.A. Works
Source: Original
Genres: Drama, Romance, School
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.461 (scored by 75,850 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #18272
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #634
Members: 152,415
Favorites: 851

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 15, 2009
KaminaKai (All reviews)
“Because I gave my tears away.”

That was the line that first introduced me to True Tears. Now I would like to use this same line to introduce you all to this realistic romance series. The True Tears legacy began with very disappointing visual novel sales that ranked it as 41 among the 50 newly released visual novels at the time. Shortly after the visual novel came a live action film of True Tears that resembles closely to the game. So now you must thinking the anime is naturally just another adaptation to the visual novel as well right? Wrong!

The anime version of True Tears shares read more
Oct 10, 2008
ethann (All reviews)
True tears is a story that focuses on the life of a high school student and his interactions with the three heroines of the story. The story focuses on the romance and drama in the lives of the characters.

I think that the storyline was one of the best i have seen for a 13 episode anime. It was just the right length for such a story. The anime incorporates a lot of realism and really brings out the drama of a love triangle. The story looks at love from a path less ventured on and is different from your typical love story. Some may call read more
Feb 17, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
True Tears is a fairly typical Slice of Life, Romance, Comedy, Drama based on an unusual theme of tears (amongst other things). From the beginning the story is pretty ordinary, for this type of anime, as it has a male protagonist (Shinichirou) and it introduces him, his surroundings and the heroines involved in the story (Noe, Hiromi & Aiko). However it is really difficult to tell what the story is entirely about or where it is headed, until things reach a certain point. That is when some major developments arise but it’s a shame that the series is almost half over by that point.

Here we read more
Mar 30, 2008
slpless (All reviews)
True Tears was an anime adaptation of visual novel of the same name. Although, I’m hesitant in calling it an adaptation as True Tears the anime has nothing in common with the game. The story, characters, setting, and even the themes employed are different from the game version, with the exception of the name. I was initially excited a few years ago when I heard about it, but when I heard how poorly the game was received I had extremely low expectations. Thankfully, the anime was also extremely different in terms of quality.

The story itself is extremely read more
Sep 6, 2010
Benatron (All reviews)
The first line of the show is your very typical drama-like statement, "The you inside me is always crying". Little did you know is that the Shinichiro was talking about the viewer and how much you wanted to cry after watching this show. You're not crying because your sad, and definitely not because you're happy, but because your body is so full with rage that tears have to be removed to make room for more rage.

Spoilers galore in here.

Let's go over the plot, oh goody, I wonder what kind of plot they have in store. Nakagami Shinichiro lives with his mother, his father, and his read more
Dec 6, 2013
xbobx (All reviews)
"-What are tears?
-Let's see, when you're sad...
-Not when... what are tears?
-Well, to keep your eyeballs clean and moist the tear glands secrete..."

True Tears was P.A. Works' debut anime as a solo independent company. It wasn't based on a manga, light novel, visual novel, anything, it was a original production. Because of this, the studio was considered careless by a considerate percentage of the critics, however, this helped increasing the series' audience at its premier, it was an audacious move after all. With the show progressing and popularity constantly increasing, it prof itself a well played market strategy.
Then, someone might say "What is it worth read more
Feb 18, 2011
Bushou (All reviews)
Complete and utter disappointment is what made me write this review, therefore making the show probably sound worse than it actually is, or is it?

If you're thinking about watching True Tears, then let me give you a warning not to expect too much of it, for that was my mistake right from the start.

The series began, for my taste, extremely promising and I couldn't wait for the second episode, but alas it was late and myself tired, so the only way to proceed was to sleep and watch the rest of the show the next day in one go. Little I new in my read more
Mar 30, 2008
Bondius (All reviews)
There goes another short but awesome romance anime. True Tears. It's a simple, yet outstanding combination of romance, drama, comedy and slice of life.

Story
The story is simple at first. One guy, three girls, seems like your average gotta-catch-'em-all harem, but this one is different from the majority. It starts lighthearted, explaining the relationship between our male lead, Shin, and the three girls in his life, Hiromi, Noe and Ai. What starts as a random encounter turns to be the ignition key for a beautiful story. No Deus-Ex-Machina, no things that seem out of this world, just a simple story about love, sadness and the read more
Feb 15, 2008
Nominal23 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Written with 6 episodes watched.

Story: At first, True Tears appears to be your typical guy meets girl(s), guy must pick a girl storyline, but as you continue to watch the series, several apparent underlying themes reveal themselves. Although it is somewhat similar to most romance animes, I particularly like how True Tears has all "contenders", if you will, continuously active through the series; instead of concentrating on 1 girl then moving on to the next through a series of different story arcs.

Art: The artwork presented in True Tears is simply breathtaking. Each scene is drawn with great detail, while the characters themselves are quite read more
Mar 30, 2008
bakajin (All reviews)
Trash. Utter trash.

I had high hopes for the show when I began watching it. Decent story and well told. Nothing original, just done right. The characters were great, especially Noe and Miyokichi, and with Shinichirou being pretty solid for a harem lead with Hiromi not being too bad of a lead chick with terminal Yamato Nadesico syndrome, everything seemed to be set for an enjoyable ride.

And then episode nine hit. Neither episode nine nor episode ten were bad, per se, but they were extremely bland. Episode nine concluded all conflict in the show up till that point. Suddenly read more
Jun 29, 2013
CVArk (All reviews)
Well wasn't this a doozy!

True Tears is the story of a young man with a talent for drawing who wants to publish a book, but the main plotline is his burning desire for his de facto "sister," Yuasa Hiromi. I'm exhausted and disappointed so this won't be much more than a brief overview.

I came to this from Whisper of the Heart, as I'd heard this series also involved an artistically-inclined character who's inspired to create something that truly comes from the heart. And yes, I can say Shinichiro does exactly that, but it didn't quite strike a chord with me as WotH did. Anyway, True read more
May 17, 2015
Obamanizer (All reviews)
i feel like i just ate a piece of fresh hot dog shit after watching this. no fucking joke... the hell with all you people who will say this is what a love story is.

This show once again takes a absolutely sweet girl, who suffered a painful loss, and has no friends. Makes her fall in love with a guy and then shits all over her just for the sake of F-U..... She does nothing wrong, Loves the guy and gets betrayed for reasons worthy of justifiable murder.

Man = Main character
G1 = Sweet innocent girl
G2 = useless pure evil bitch you are read more
Apr 25, 2013
nobleneurotic (All reviews)
True Tears is an anime that centers on Shin’ichiro Nakagami, the male lead of the story. He is friends with Hiromi Yuasa since they were children. When Hiromi’s parents died, she was taken in by the Nakagami Family. With that, Shin-chan (what Shin’ichiro’s mother call him) struggles and at the same time develops even stronger feelings for Hiromi.

He meets Isurugi Noe in an unfateful encounter. Shin’ichiro begins to get closer to Noe, and develops affection for her.

Story: (6/10)
“The you inside me is always crying. I wanted to wipe away your tears. But I never got to know the feeling of wiping the tears away from read more
Dec 12, 2012
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
We all come into a new anime with our pre-conceived notions. In the case of romance anime, we all assume we can predict what will happen. Several girls vying for the affection of a clueless protagonist and a lot of unecessary drama occurs. "Oh, a girl who can't shed tears needs to fall in love with a guy, so she can finally cry." I thought the premise was interesting, but I thought that True Tears would devolve into something we've seen time and time again. With each passing episode, my assumptions were proven false. True Tears delivered a much more mature albeit melodramatic look read more
Oct 22, 2010
manami-chan669 (All reviews)
“The you within me is always crying. I have always wanted to wipe away your tears, but I cannot imagine the tenderness of wiping the tears from your face.” – Shinichiro Nakagami

I’ve actually just watched True Tears for the third time, (I have the DVDs) and my opinion on the series has varied with each viewing. The first time I saw it, I thought it was breathtaking and heartwarming. The second time, cheesy and forced. After watching it a third time, I realize that although this series is definitely not for everyone, it displays a very interesting mixture of dream and reality that you don’t read more
Nov 20, 2017
DrYumYum (All reviews)
Alright this is for all my MAL viewers who see the reviews of this show and think "Wow, this anime is rated pretty high. I'll check it out." Please don't. Just save yourself from a joke of an anime. This is the single trashiest anime I have ever watched and with good reason. What does this anime do well? The story? Absolute crap. The art? The 3D animation is funky and the art is whatever. The characters? Hell no. The only thing I somewhat enjoyed from this anime was the OP and eventual OSTs that popped up here and there throughout the series. I HATED read more
May 23, 2013
MurphyTV (All reviews)
Pros
+Solid Story
+Really nice art style
+Some twists you might not see coming
+Good character development
+Some really gripping moments
+Does a good job of hiding how it was going to turn out, until the end

Cons
-A bit slow moving at times
-Ending wasn't the greatest
-Nothing new in terms of content
-Didn't keep my full attention the whole way though

My opinion
Ahhh true tears, was certainly a strange one to watch at first. The character Isurugi, Noe was really interesting and to be honest the only reason i kept watching the show, she was really one of the only things that made this read more
Aug 10, 2008
ADAWG (All reviews)
___________________________________________ Review the 3rd

Chihuahua Review(short&sweet): A dramatic, HIGH quality romance with an unexpected ending(maybe just me) that keeps on making me think of "what if's".

------------------------------>In Depth Review:<------------------------
STORY: This romance is based around the main guy, Shinichiro witih the usual three girls fighting for his love. Wrong, one of them obviously has no chance. The the other two duke it out till the very end, which some say was not the prefered finish. However the rest of the story was pretty well done with an ordinary basis flourishing with great execution and "flying" and tears as the main theme here. In my opinion this is read more
Sep 3, 2017
Heavens_Kairyu (All reviews)
The main problem with True tears is that nothing really happens at all. Most of the drama either comes from literally retarded decisions that the characters take, or plot devices (the main guy's mum).

The story starts with an internal monologue that doesn't really mean anything and is not something anyone would think, which already sets the tone for the rest of the show. We see who main guy likes, main guy also meets new girl (Noe) and they talk about flying and a chicken who no one cares about so the whole scene is boring.

read more
Sep 6, 2008
Smithy (All reviews)
“True Tears” managed to grab from the first episode on due to its more serious themes and the different situations the characters find themselves in, which are not as shallow or simple as they sometimes can be. Especially the Nakagami family situation, and those some of the other characters are in lean closer to more plausible life situations and help make those characters less two dimensional. Not all is black and white, but more grey.
This continues throughout the series for several of the plots and characters involved, especially Hiromi and Aiko are slightly more complex and realistic characters.

Being more of a romance/harem series or read more