Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Love Stage!!


Alternative Titles

English: Love Stage!!
Japanese: LOVE STAGE!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 10, 2014 to Sep 11, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:05 (JST)
Producers: Kadokawa Shoten
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.651 (scored by 58,967 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #700
Members: 105,996
Favorites: 1,189

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 10, 2014
Tobimadara12 (All reviews)
I am a straight male.

This show is pretty good.

I initially wrote off this show after seeing the now slightly famous intro scene, but soon, a joke amongst friends turned into a marathon of the six episodes that were out at the time. Every week after that, I looked forward to Wednesdays, where I'd get to see the next episode of Love Stage. At this point, after completing the series, the true question is this:

Why did I enjoy the show to the extent that I did?

I mean, it is quite normal for one to enjoy a show that is that is directed towards a different target read more
Nov 22, 2014
HeyYouPikachu (All reviews)
This is now one of my favourite animes, this is my first review so bare with me, I've never felt like writing one til i watched this anime. As a fan of yaoi/shounen ai this was a breath of fresh air as it's so hard to find decent animes in this genre because there are little to choose from and they're lacking in every department.

This is a -absolute must- watch for fans of the yaoi and shounen-ai, but also i would highly recommend it for those new to it and want to check it out, it would make a good starter into these genres read more
Mar 9, 2015
whiteteeth (All reviews)
As with any genre, yaoi/shounenai is often criticized by people who doesn't like it. Actually shounen ai (and shoujo ai too) is mostly the same as ANY romantic comedy anime out there, the only difference is that the main couple features homoromantic characters, which tends to scare off straight viewers.

The thing with "Love Stage!!", what makes it so special, it's that for some reason it seems to have broken that genre barrier, and a big part of their viewers are straight male people who don't usually watch shounenai/yaoi shows.

The premise of the story is very simple: Ryouma, a famous actor, fell read more
Sep 10, 2014
SizzlingTear2 (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SOME SPOILERS, READ AT YOUR OWN RISK

Love stage is a Shounen-ai anime. Most of the male population really won't enjoy this but it's mostly for girls. The anime is really good and was enjoyable with Comedy, Romance, Drama etc...

Story -8

Story's pretty good. Izumi wants to become a manga artist. His family is in show biz and so they want him to enter the show biz world. Note that he is only in college. He is often mistaken for a girl because of his cute looks and such. Ryouma, our main male character number 2, mistook him for a girl when they had read more
Jun 6, 2016
TanakaRiza (All reviews)
Preliminary
I first heard of this show by accidentally coming across its opening somewhere on the internet. From what I saw, it looked like this show was going to be about a healthy, consensual, small-age-gap relationship, which is a relationship I still have yet to see in yaoi. I find it a lot more in yuri, but hardly in yaoi. The two boys were holding hands, looking into each others eyes and had smiles on their faces. They both looked happy rather than one looking sexually pleased while the other wishes he was somewhere else. I really wanted to see if Japan can actually make a read more
Sep 20, 2016
pleochroic (All reviews)
I never quite know whether I should try to rate BL anime within its own genre or not, but since MAL makes no genre distinctions when showing top anime, it seems fairer to rate it as I rate all other anime. But I will point out where it stands within its own genre.

I am gay and used to read a lot of BL. Tip to North American audiences: in these reviews most people use confusing terminology, so here's a quickie refresher. BL (Boys Love) is what the Japanese call boy-on-boy manga and anime mostly written by women and mostly directed at women. read more
Feb 15, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Love Stage started as a romantic comedy manga by Eiki Eiki and Zaou Taishi. In 2014 our old friends at J.C. Staff, behind such titles as Yami no Matsuei, Hachimitsu to Clover, Shakugan no Shana, Toradora and a bunch of other anime I've reviewed, started releasing an anime adaptation. Is it a romance that's worth your time? Let's examine it and find out. As it was Valentine's yesterday and this seems like a good week for some romance.

Story:

Sena Izumi comes from a show business family. His mother is an actress. His father is in theatre and his elder brother is the lead singer of a read more
May 12, 2015
Pastabeanchuu (All reviews)
Love Stage!! is a pretty good surprise in the BL genre. It's not incredible but gives us a fair love story and enjoyable characters.

Story: 6
The setting is common and overused in both shounen ai and shoujo manga, but it's not too long and unfolds well. Once you get into it, it can be pretty heart warming and has its inspirational moments. It's a relief that there are no dub/non-con in this story (and it is pretty sad that I have to mension this in my BL reviews).

Art: 6
Pretty good for a BL anime, and still very pink.

Sound: 6
The opening song, read more
Jul 29, 2017
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
The teenage years are often referred to as the best years of your life, but they can come with their own set of challenges... It’s the time of life where you’re still finding out who you are, who you want to be, and what’s important to you. Even as late as the crucial age of 18, it can be difficult to find your place in the world, especially if you’re struggling to find the place where you belong. This is even worse for Sena Izumi, because in addition to his more normal adolescent woes, he’s the youngest member of an entire family read more
Jul 12, 2015
MizukiHaruno (All reviews)
this is the first yaoi anime I have ever watched and I want to admit it was very good. I thought that this anime would be uninteresting and the plot would be very bad but actually it was not. You may not be a yaoi fan but if you love romance animes you would enjoy this too.
The story is about a major otaku Izumi Sena who just entered college and wants to become a mangaka like his idol Saotome (the writer of Lalalulu).
ten years ago when he was 8 his parents were making appearance in a advertisement "Happy Wedding". this was the read more
Feb 11, 2017
memechelle (All reviews)
Preliminary
Is no one going to mention how ONE OF THE MAIN CHARACTERS NEARLY RAPES THE OTHER???
That ruined the whole anime for me. The characters are acting like it's not a big deal! It's infuriating!!! I will not ship a man who nearly raped another one WITH the victim. That's just fucked up.
Sure, at first the older brother was mad, but he saw that the rapist was seemingly depressed the next day, and THAT got rid of his anger. BULLSHIT. How dare they normalize rape instead of condemning it? There's no warning that it's going to happen, either. It just RANDOMLY happens. I can't even read more
Apr 8, 2015
MagicPotato98 (All reviews)
I thoroughly enjoyed this anime even though I'm usually not usually into this genre.

TO keep it brief, the reason why I liked it is because it is so funny, there are moments when you are rooting for the supporting characters as well as the main, and the characters are generally well developed in just the mere 10 episodes.

Because I am not usually into this genre, I found it a little bit uncomfortable in the intimate scenes, but if you substitute Izumi for a girl, it would be totally fine. However making him a guy makes it all the more hilarious. But yes, I would read more
Aug 21, 2015
Rahzek (All reviews)
I like to think of myself as being open minded, but this show just has some effect on me, I just watch it and get all hot and bothered, sweat trails down my armpits all the way down to my underwear since that's all I'm wearing while I watch this show and I just get drenched.

Now I'm not saying this show will make you go gay, but it's one of the best romantic comedies ever made even without the yaoi aspect in place, there's a few scenes some closed minded kids might think is close to rape -but as we say in the west, "if read more
Jul 22, 2015
5sos (All reviews)
I have seen many a yaoi genre anime. In fact, maybe around 30-35% of anime I have seen falls in the yaoi category. But, I have to say that Love Stage!! has been my absolute favorite.
Most yaoi or yuri go ahead and jump into the relationship aspect and everything that comes along to being in a relationship. However, nothing "touchy touchy" came along till the very end. The creators made sure to throw plenty of character development in which I looooooove. So if you enjoy an actual story and character development, but also want something that has a relationship aspect to it, this yaoi anime read more
Jan 24, 2016
Weeboo_Forever (All reviews)
Preliminary
story: 9/10
its about a guy who meets a guy that is dressed up as a girl. then the guy falls in love with the guy that is dressed up. when the guy realises that the girl was a guy all along he still loves him as much as he always had. The main story is following the girly guy discovering if he wants to be gay or not.

Art: 10/10
Beautiful!

Sound: 10/10
Nol complaints and great voice acting

Character: 10/10
All the characters have amazing personalities and amazing character progressions especially the two male leads

Enjoyment: 9/10
Absolute guilty pleasure. It was so funny and the tension between the male leads read more
Nov 28, 2015
kon (All reviews)
So recently I finished a re-watch of this show a few weeks back and only now I'm reflecting it. So what can I say about the show? I really, really liked it.

From the yaoi anime I've seen (JunJou Romantica) there seems to be a format with yaoi that goes on. There's the obvious seme and uke, the fact that the uke may not like the seme or the other way around, and there's a LOT of pinning down.

Love Stage fulfills these criteria, yes, but I feel that has a charm that surpasses JunJou Romantica at least. The humor definitely springs from the main character read more
Oct 22, 2015
reinakun (All reviews)
Overall: 6.5, rounded up to 7.

It's hard to rate an anime when there's very little basis for comparison (the genre being extremely limited) but I’ll do my best. Love Stage is, while definitely a cut above the majority of the genre, still not what I’d consider a remarkable anime. The characters are one-dimensional, their motives are dubious at best, and they show little to no growth throughout, all of which is a typical and recurring issue in yaoi/shounen-ai series.

I think the most disappointing aspect of the series is that it had a lot of potential – potential which was never realized because of read more
Sep 16, 2014
AhmedAmin (All reviews)
If you are looking for a sweet, light-hearted love story, then regardless of your gender go for it, it will surely put a smile on your face. But if you are looking for some love story full of all types of emotion and struggles people go through when in a relationship then definitely Love Stage isn't for you.

Story: The story is full of sweet and funny moments, there is hardly any scene that can make you sad or feel pity for the characters. Everything worked out well for the lead characters well, and I found this approach quite unrealistic. In a relationship, struggle becomes part read more
Aug 10, 2015
KittensRule98 (All reviews)
This is the first yaoi type anime I watched and so I really enjoyed it.
The beginning shows you a little bit about Izumi and when he was younger. It's exciting and a little funny.
But since this is a first for me, I can't really say if it's one of the best out there. It's probably not very original in the anime world but it is a pretty interesting story.
May 3, 2015
shadowfireflame (All reviews)
In this hysterical boys’ love anime, college student Izumi is the youngest member of the Sena show-biz family—the only member who is not interested in being in entertainment: awkward, with paralyzing stage fright. As a child, due to a casting emergency, Izumi ended up in a wedding commercial with his family and a little boy named Ryouma (Izumi played a girl and Ryouma played a boy), and now they’re reuniting for a 10th-year anniversary.

Like most anime in the BL genre, there is a disappointing undercurrent of homophobia—but unlike most, this anime has that at the beginning and then Ryouma accepts that he’s in love with read more