Seikoku no Dragonar


Dragonar Academy

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Dragonar Academy
Synonyms: Seikoku no Ryuukishi
Japanese: 星刻の竜騎士

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2014 to Jun 21, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: C-Station
Source: Light novel
Genres: ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, EcchiEcchi
Theme: SchoolSchool
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.471 (scored by 9156091,560 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #62352
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #944
Members: 186,239
Favorites: 226

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 20, 2014
ShadowBlazer3000 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Over the last couple of years we've seen a steady stream of light novels being adapted to anime series and now we get yet another with this series, produced by C-Station a former offshoot of Bee Train Production Inc. and the overall result is a marginal failure.

Anime is full of time honored clichés that never seem to die and Dragonar Academy is so packed full of them it shows just how void this show is of any creativity or imagination. Giant bouncing breasts on all women characters, naked magic girls showing up from nowhere and mood swinging tsundere characters are ripe and abound in this read more
Jul 17, 2014
BeatDaioh (All reviews)
After watching the first episode, I thought that this had a lot of potential to be a good series but unfortuantly it lost it's potential as the episodes went by.

Story:
At first the story interested me, it felt quite unique in a way and parts of the story reminded me of Soul Eater at times ( for some reason ) but after a few episodes in; it seemed to abandon its interesting plot and instead turn it into more of a regular harem/ecchi anime. I actually do enjoy harems to a degree but when you have an actual story first and then abandon it read more
Aug 3, 2015
BioChuck (All reviews)
Story
The story was since episode 1 really interesting, i liked the idea that Ash Blake the MC could ride any Dragon he wanted because of what happened to him in his childhood by saving a girl that he doesn't remember in the present, you will predict since the begining who she is, well he is about to die by a girl he saved again and that's when his dragon Eco appears and not just a dragon a humanoid dragon. I would have rated higher but they left little questions that were important for the viewer to understand more the story.

Art & Sound
Both were very good read more
Feb 28, 2015
Lyevino95 (All reviews)
So, this is my first official review, and I hope to write many more after this one.

Story: 6

The story is a generic harem/fantasy story, filled with "Plot" and some battles. I liked the story and its concept, though halfway through the show, it became a bit too predictable. Though I really enjoyed certain parts, I also found myself wanting to fast forward others.

Art & Sound: 7

I grouped these two together because I felt like they complimented each other in this anime. The art was pretty good and consistent throughout the show, which is important. No particular sound stood out for me, but I did feel read more
Jan 25, 2015
nanyatimz (All reviews)
Seikoku no Dragonar... If there's something like a huge basketball ring in front of you, larger than the usual and there's a normal basketball ball in your front. You can't definitely miss from close range, can you? That's how I can picture a perfect analogy to the premise of Seikoku no Dragonar. But in this case, we are left wondering how Seikoku no Dragonar missed a blatant open chance for winning its potential.

***************************************************************************
Story...

I gave it a 6, honestly. Sometimes, even the most generic story can achieve better heights if given a thoroughly direction. But yet again, ruing their chances is this particular series. The story read more
Jun 28, 2014
Yamigami (All reviews)
This is one of those animes that had great potential, but falls short thanks to a combination of clichés, poorly developed characters, uninteresting story, excessive fanservice, etc.

Its a shame, but the most enjoyable part of this serie would have to be the very begining of the ending song, aside from that, I didnt really got to enjoy anything else. I even feel I was too generous with my rating.

I would only recommend this anime if you are very bored and want a lot of random fanservice (tentacles included), because I doubt you will watch it for either the characters or story, but that is up read more
Dec 14, 2014
SaigoNoAkuma (All reviews)
All I have to say is... wow. Simply, wow.

The show had much potential, but halfway through the series, the directors realized that not everything from the LN could fit within a 12 episode series.

Too bad.

Initially, the story was great. A male lead with a hidden power, a cute heroine, a equally as cute "main chick" for the lead... and all set within the school setting. It had great potential. Unfortunately, with the introduction of flat characters and a story filled with plot holes, the quintessential (to me at least) anime quickly fell apart.

I swear man, the ending did not leave me read more
Nov 17, 2014
darkkugan (All reviews)
In an amazing world filled with magic, we are introduced to the world of the great Dragons. Dragons as far as the eye can see, and tsundre lollis, wait i thought this was Seikoku no Dragonar and not Toradora?

Hello ladies and gentlemen, this is a brief review of what to expect from another mediocre anime that doesn't know what it wants to be.

Let's start with an overview:

We are following our main male protagonist, a young sixteen year old boy Ash Blake. Ash Blake is your typical young male with a problem, he is the only one in his school who has yet read more
Aug 19, 2014
mystry08 (All reviews)
Story: The plot is almost a copy of the light novel series, so adaptation-wise, they followed the script. However this story seems better told in words than animation, given its almost cliche cut-and-paste nature. It's the standard "magic knight saves princess" story with an ecchi direction. Possibly enjoyable for those looking for this kind of genre but unimpressive.

Art: The art style was somewhat simple with the shading almost exclusively reserved for blushes and cleavage. It was easy on the eyes but lackluster.

Sound: 12 episode harem fantasy doesn't have dramatic soundtrack, so the main focus is OP/ED. I found Sakakibara Yui's OP read more
Jun 25, 2014
partali (All reviews)
Seikoku no Dragonar truly is one of the worst things I have watched. It is an awful series and I would not recommend it to anyone. Despite having potential the creators disappointed me gravely. I watched the entire series thinking at the end of each episode that it cannot get any worse. I was mistaken.

Story : 3

As I said before the series had potential primarily due to the general story idea. Regrettably the end result was horrible. The story, in several cases, made absolutely no sense. Dozens of plot holes and the poorly written backgrounds for the main and supporting characters made a bad read more
Jun 23, 2014
Doubleagent (All reviews)
Seikoku no Dragonar is an average anime with an average plot, average characters and one of 'those' endings. I don't mind ecchi shows in general but the premise was interesting so I was hoping that this one would maintain a better balance between having a plot and finding excuses to show everyone's boobs.

Positives
- The OST is quite nice.
- The opening is quite nice.
- Eco is cute.
- Character interactions are quite funny most of the time.

Negatives
- As the show went on the art choice for how characters hair and eyes interact really got on my nerves.
- 100% needless inclusion of tentacle enemies and dedicating lots of read more
Oct 31, 2016
Mikame- (All reviews)
Dragons? I'm ready!
It starts off with introducing characters, you learn that poor Ash doesn't have a dragon, but has a different sort of ability, and people make fun of him for it.

By the end of episode 1, Ash gets his... dragon?
If dragons had long pink hair and took the form of young girls, sure.
Eco is adorable, but she's a bit bossy. The little girl brat type. She's a little hard to like at first, she starts to grow on you.

Some of the Ecchi feels misplaced. Like it's just for the sake of it, which yes, a lot of it is, but there's also read more
Jun 22, 2014
DatDamnPR (All reviews)
Beautiful girls and dragons. With a ton of fanservice.

Seikoku no Dragonar is definitely your typical harem. The entire series based around the hero, who has multiple girls fall in love with him. The difference is, this series throws dragons into the mix.

Brief summary: Learning to ride and tame dragons comes easy to most students at Ansarivan Dragonar Academy except for first-year student Ash Blake. Ash is the laughing stock at school because, despite his unfashionably large star-shaped brand that marks him as a future dragon master, he has nothing to show for it. His dragon has never appeared. One fateful day, Ash's dragon awakes read more
Jun 21, 2014
vince1996 (All reviews)
Seikoku no Dragnoar a typical generic harem but with dragons and power ranger armour.
Actual Score: 6.8

Story: 7
The story is highly predictable in a sense of its harem nature as it follows MC helps girl, girl falls in love and gets added to the harem which is basically what happens during most of the show. Yes there are dragons are very cool and one of the best aspects of the show but if what you want is a serious story your not going to find but it is a fun ride though and is not boring.

Art: 6
The art is fairly normal its not crap but its read more
Jun 7, 2014
Anlanther (All reviews)
Seikoku no Dragonar is set in an alternative universe were people can be chosen to bare a pal, or dragon, during a certain age. Its genres are ecchi and harem, and so you can't really expect much from it. While people may complain about its overuse of large breasts just to use as fan service and eye candy for the audience, this is expected for typical harem and so is easily understandable in this review.

Story: 6
As mentioned before, this is a stereotypical harem laced with lots of ecchi scenes. It's got everything in it to qualify it as a harem and so most scenes placed read more
Jun 18, 2015
VexxumTrickz (All reviews)
This is my first ever review so bear with me, this may look sloppy


Generally i liked this anime even though many didnt and i would say that much of it belongs to the ending that most people dont agree with, one of those people being myself. Though i am not saying that you wont.

Story: 7


The story is pretty interesting though it has alot of Familiar of Zero feel to it, i liked the story as it was an interesting take on the situation


Sound: 4

The opening and ending music were very disappointing to me, i didnt enjoy either and i would mainly skip them which is read more
Jun 25, 2014
Duuuuuuuuh (All reviews)
I won't be reviewing the story now, but rather critizing the anime itself, so try not to pay attention to the ratings as that wasn't anything I spent any time on.

At first when I spotted this anime and saw it's low score I was really hesitant to whether or not I should watch it, but I decided I'd give it a try as I'm desperate with finding new 'watchable' animes.

The anime started out decently and I was quite early ready to score it a "9" but which gradually dropped to "8" and now at the end of the story I'm at "7" asking myself if read more
Jul 19, 2014
trustnoone (All reviews)
Seikoku no Dragonar is an interesting anime, and probably one of the few I find quite enjoyable about dragons. As most people would suspect, the comedy ecchi harem action genre isn't exactly new, and this anime makes no exceptions in that. It doesn't deviate too much to typical cliche and it doesn't do anything super special either. The story is what you expect from this type of genre, and the character development is about average. I feel the story is probably where it falls a little short as it isn't spectacular or even anything that you would find surprising.

In saying that though I personally loved read more
Feb 9, 2019
Sching-Ling-Bing (All reviews)
Don't go into this anime expecting a great story and nice characters/(developement) because there isn't.

This is your standart harem/magic/school anime in a fantasy world. (If you have some anime of the sort I haven't watched yet feel free to pm me ;))
The characters don't really have anything special going for them but that doesn't mean this show is bad. It's not the greatest, sure, but it's not necessarily bad. It's just your typical show with a more or less predicatable storyline.
There is our main dude. And as the show progresses more and more girls seem to fall in love with him, pretty standart.
The art for read more
Feb 26, 2020
rs232 (All reviews)
There was *some* potential for this series, but I think it's been overstated in other reviews. The main characters start off being interesting, and the setting is somewhat generic but passable.

However, after watching the show it quickly becomes obvious that any potential is buried deep underneath a pile of fan service, generic anime tropes, and overall terrible writing. Idk about the source material, but the show managed to annoy me every few minutes; there is basically no explanation or self-consistency for the magic, things just get resolved randomly, and the plot drags on aimlessly at times.

Story: 4

The characters are forgettable. After re-watching the first few read more