Ranma ½

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Ranma ½
Synonyms: Ranma 1/2, Ranma ½ Nettou Hen
Japanese: らんま1/2

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 161
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 15, 1989 to Sep 25, 1992
Premiered: Spring 1989
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: VIZ Media
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, ComedyComedy, Martial ArtsMartial Arts, FantasyFantasy, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.761 (scored by 8773487,734 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #9122
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #806
Members: 209,115
Favorites: 3,312

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 28, 2008
brass2themax (All reviews)
Well, I finished this series a short while ago, so now it's time to put in a review for it. If you don't know what Ranma 1/2 is about, check out the synopsis above before reading.

Story: 7 (Good)

Ranma 1/2 does have somewhat of an ongoing story, although there is no major objective in the series other than Ranma's constant failed attempts to return his body to normal. Even though Ranma can return to 'boy-type' Ranma by taking a warm bath (cold water returns him to 'girl-type' Ranma, aka Ranko Tendo for some purposes), he still desires to once again become 'all man' by ridding himself read more
Nov 9, 2006
running_lemon (All reviews)
A comedy/romance based on the manga by Rumiko Takahashi, Ranma 1/2 revolves around the arranged marriage of Ranma Saotome, a boy who has been trained by his father in martial arts since childhood and Akane Tendo, an average girl who is also a martial artist, living with her father and two sisters. Although their relationship starts off rocky at first, over time they begin to grow close to each other, but not without complications brought about by many of the other characters.

Story: The premise of Ranma 1/2, that makes it unique to other comedy/romance anime, are the many Jusenkyo springs which, if fallen into cause read more
Nov 3, 2008
Rumiclub (All reviews)
A person needs good taste and a sense of humor to enjoy Ranma ½.
If you possess these attributes then Ranma ½ should appeal to you.
Don't expect it to be like Akira or Death Note because this is a true comedy.
If you enjoy Monty Python then Ranma ½ will entertain you.
If you aren't amused by it then you have no sense of humor.

Story:

The episodic format often prevents a long story arc from developing
but most of the story arcs that occur throughout the series develope
the overall plot with the character learning new techniques
although some of the story arcs bring the story back to square one.
The main form read more
Jun 18, 2010
Tasolth (All reviews)
Ranma 1/2 is something that is difficult to pin a single description on. At times there are lots of action scenes, explosions, and various attacks flying around. At other times it is side splitting humor due to an awkward time and place for Ranma to transform, or situations he gets roped into, and still other times where Akane's explosive temper or jealousy takes us by surprise. Scattered here and there are some genuinely sweet and tender moments as well.

(8) Ranma 1/2 is episodic. It has no overarching plot other than to perhaps reverse the curse placed on Ranma and several others we meet along the read more
Jun 17, 2008
elc1247 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overall: It was painful to remember about this anime, Ranma is sort of your typical pointless anime, no good story, no real point to the entire story, and defiantly not funny enough to be considered a good comedy series... it deserves to be lumped up in the pile of "boredom-inducing-fillertasitc" anime, along with Naruto, Inuyasha, and others...

Story: they laid out the story in the first episode, ranma is engaged to akane because of odd circumstances, and they didnt advance whatsoever till the very end, actually, it didnt have a story at all pretty much, just random junk happening, if you like a massive pile of read more
Apr 20, 2015
Fragglepuss (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ranma 1/2

Review By: John Fragglepuss Evans

Ranma ½ is a classic 1980s anime, from the animation style to the soundtrack. Genma has a unique tune that plays every time he becomes a panda, and so do other characters. This is a fun and light-hearted anime, where you will laugh at times and shake your head at other times. There are many repeated jokes throughout the series, some of which get worn out after a while, where others stay fresh and get a new spin on them at times. The story does not progress at a decent rate, feeling like a stand still at times, due to read more
Aug 23, 2011
LotusTsubasa (All reviews)
Oh, where to start..?

Well, I give credit for at least trying to make a good anime; however, this was far from it. I don't mean to offend any lovers of Ranma 1/2, but the story was very poor. The plot, however, was imaginative, and it was enjoyable for a little while. The episodes kept drawing me back again and again, even though sometimes I'd yell out to myself "That was the worst episode EVER!"

The creator tried too hard to make Ranma 1/2 funny, so it fails dramatically later in the series. The events begin to be extremely predictable, and although sometimes the humor made me read more
Nov 14, 2010
Rezindez (All reviews)
I first heard of Ranma ½ maybe a full year ago on a “Top Ten Funniest Anime” list. It sat comfortably in the number two spot, right before Full Metal Panic: Fammofu. After watching the latter, I was still curious about the former, so I gave Ranma a shot as well. The first time I saw the episode number on my favorite anime website, I honestly felt intimidated. This anime is REALLY LONG. If you aren't prepared, back out while it's still possible. Because of a vow- To always finish every anime I start, no matter how long, stupid, or bad it is- I had read more
Sep 7, 2019
VengefulAura (All reviews)
I went into Ranma 1/2 randomly one day as soon as I read what it was about, I just had to give it a shot. I'm so happy that I sat through and watched all 161 episodes (going to work on OVA's next). This series took me from December 1st of 2018 - September 7th of 2019 to finish. To say this show is good is an understatement. This show blends comedy so well with it's wide array of characters, that it truly sucks you into the experience, but not without some flaws.

Story: (6) The story is straight forward. A boy named Ranma falls into read more
Oct 17, 2014
TSmasher (All reviews)
Ranma 1/2 is a classic anime/manga written by Rumiko Takahashi. This anime/manga is possibly the anime/manga that has started the popular comedy action mangas that are made today and for good reason.

Progression (3): Ranma 1/2 is an action comedy manga/anime so it does not really need much progression. Often, what will happen in an episode/chapter will be events that happen in random intervals in Ranma's life that are hilarious.

Story (5): This manga/anime story is not that great, however it is very unique. The reasons why I say it is not that great is because it is repetitive and no progression to the story happens at read more
Aug 5, 2015
SaiD90 (All reviews)
Let me start off right away by saying; no, I haven't read the manga. Although I had heard about Ranma 1/2 before, it was only since very recently that I came in contact with it. And it just so happens that I prefer watching anime than reading manga.

Besides, everybody keeps saying that the manga is superior, so why would you need me to confirm it for you? And if it is true, than I must truly adore the manga should I ever read it. Though the manga may be better, I will remain ignorant of that for this review.

Story - 7/10

This is the deciding factor read more
May 9, 2015
Machomoyo (All reviews)
Story:
The best point of the story of Ranma 1/2 is that is very original, bringing us a totally new concept about the cursed springs of jusenkyo and how a guy
wants to get its masculinity back.
It have such variety on its themes: Sometimes is a romance, sometimes is a harem, sometimes is a hilarious comedy and most of the time is a martial art
shonen with weird fighting styles (Like the tea ceremony martial arts and the cheerleaders martial arts)
Mostly, the series dont focuses on the principal plot and take different ways like showing the characters, the relations between them and how they read more
Feb 16, 2013
Shaja (All reviews)
Ranma is probably the anime that got me completely hooked on all anime. It was not the first i had ever seen but it was in the first 10 at least. When i saw the very first episode of this show i immediately sat down and watched the entire series from beginning to end over the span of a month. This is truly my all time favorite anime and this is my review of it.

The story of Ranma is not a very deep or complex one, it doesn't even have a conclusion. Ranma is majorly episodic and has very few two part episodes. Ranma read more
Jan 25, 2014
myracleangel (All reviews)
This was my first anime I watched. That's why I wanted to watch more anime because of Ranma 1/2. This story was super funny and I LOVED the characters. It's like you get attached to them because there were many episodes... and I seriously did not want to go to sleep. I know nothing is perfect but I had to rate ranma a 10 0verall. There were 2 or 3 filler episodes I didn't care for but I still encourage all of you to watch it.
Mar 4, 2021
1u5 (All reviews)
Overview :

Seen as the original innovator that would come to influence the modern harem genre, Ranma 1/2 is a very simple and non-episodic slice-of-life comedy that has an overarching theme of ‘martial arts’.

To address the elephant in the room, this anime has many cliches and tropes that have become the norm in modern anime, however it is something that is easily forgivable considering the time of its initial airing.



Plot / Characters :

In each episode our protagonist Ranma Saotome usually gets involved in a situation involving martial arts battles or involving a way to reverse his curse that makes him a genderbent read more
Oct 4, 2008
Gioeva (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ranma 1/2 is one of those typical old school animes, you don't watch it expecting awesome graphics or great sound effects; you basically watch it for two reasons. Reason 1, cause you want to and enjoy it or Reason 2, you want to, to fill up your anime list.

Story: the whole series is split into little stories, though they don't contribute greatly to the overall picture, they do provide some kind of comic relief at times. It might be good in one point, having missed one or two episodes here and there doesn't really hinder your enjoyment and your understanding of read more
Apr 1, 2013
angelsreview (All reviews)
(A little warning... this is a style of Review that I am trying out. I have three characters that are apart of my storyline that goes with my reviews. I am trying to integrate them into my reviews as well so please excuse the small conversation in it. This one is a trial version of where the male character Kurai suddenly turns into a girl as a April Fools joke by Angel.)

So wow, um… as you read from the description or just by knowing this pretty well known anime, this is a gender bender harem. As such, the show has numerous amounts of fan service, read more
Nov 25, 2020
SNEAUXDAY (All reviews)
Preliminary
Where to begin.

Growing up i loved inuyasha, and credit it as one of the shows that got me started on anime. i decided to try out ranma as it was written by the same author, and i was MASSIVELY dissapointed. in fact, it made me like inuyasha less.

ill keep this short and sweet.

The art is fine- for its time they did a good job and some of the scenes were animated very well and the art overall is decent. DECENT, not amazing. im going to ignore the constant 360p nip slips that occur throughout the series, because fan service has existed in so many read more
Oct 23, 2020
Neimaj (All reviews)
Pssssssstt. Hey you! Yeah, you! Riddle me this. What is currently the top-rated anime on MAL at this moment? If you said, Ranma ½, you’re right!!! Go outside and tell the world how much you love this anime! Ranma ½. This huge disgusting behemoth of a series. I was joking earlier, by the way. This anime can be good when it wants to be. However, when you make an anime with one hundred sixty-one episodes, you’re going to run into a lot of bad apples. A LOT of bad apples. Episodes are either good or bad. Well, it’s a little more complex than that. read more
Jul 29, 2014
Ranma1-2 (All reviews)
My favorite anime, I love anything in it 10/10 doesn't matter at what is it(well it is matter if it is in Ranma½ or not).
I don't think that it's actually hatable or dislikable or anything except lovable or something that actually can't be hated or something that can be only the favorite.
I saw everything (which is about 73.5 hours total seeing all the series OVA's and Movies except live action) not second of waste even though I watched it about 6 times. There's no any second wasted on it.
If anyone sees my review and "Dropped It" then try it one more time.
Anyone that has it read more