Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ranma ½


Alternative Titles

English: Ranma ½
Synonyms: Ranma 1/2, Ranma ½ Nettou Hen
Japanese: らんま1/2

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 161
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 15, 1989 to Sep 25, 1992
Premiered: Spring 1989
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.861 (scored by 53,619 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7622
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #560
Members: 117,739
Favorites: 2,459

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 28, 2008
brass2themax (All reviews)
Well, I finished this series a short while ago, so now it's time to put in a review for it. If you don't know what Ranma 1/2 is about, check out the synopsis above before reading.

Story: 7 (Good)

Ranma 1/2 does have somewhat of an ongoing story, although there is no major objective in the series other than Ranma's constant failed attempts to return his body to normal. Even though Ranma can return to 'boy-type' Ranma by taking a warm bath (cold water returns him to 'girl-type' Ranma, aka Ranko Tendo for some purposes), he still desires to once again become 'all man' by ridding himself read more
Dec 15, 2014
phs_togusa (All reviews)
Preliminary
During my sophomore year of high school, I was getting back into anime after a short hiatus and one particular series that I actually picked up because I heard of it from Robot Chicken was Ranma 1/2, and before you ask: yes, Robot Chicken really did a sketch inspired by Ranma 1/2 and it's hilarious. What really drew me to this particular series outside of the obvious was the fact that it was done by Rumiko Takahashi: the same person who made InuYasha. Back then, I had this completely asinine idea in my head that if the person who made my favourite series worked on read more
Nov 9, 2006
running_lemon (All reviews)
A comedy/romance based on the manga by Rumiko Takahashi, Ranma 1/2 revolves around the arranged marriage of Ranma Saotome, a boy who has been trained by his father in martial arts since childhood and Akane Tendo, an average girl who is also a martial artist, living with her father and two sisters. Although their relationship starts off rocky at first, over time they begin to grow close to each other, but not without complications brought about by many of the other characters.

Story: The premise of Ranma 1/2, that makes it unique to other comedy/romance anime, are the many Jusenkyo springs which, if fallen into cause read more
Jun 18, 2010
Tasolth (All reviews)
Ranma 1/2 is something that is difficult to pin a single description on. At times there are lots of action scenes, explosions, and various attacks flying around. At other times it is side splitting humor due to an awkward time and place for Ranma to transform, or situations he gets roped into, and still other times where Akane's explosive temper or jealousy takes us by surprise. Scattered here and there are some genuinely sweet and tender moments as well.

(8) Ranma 1/2 is episodic. It has no overarching plot other than to perhaps reverse the curse placed on Ranma and several others we meet along the read more
Nov 3, 2008
Rumiclub (All reviews)
A person needs good taste and a sense of humor to enjoy Ranma ½.
If you possess these attributes then Ranma ½ should appeal to you.
Don't expect it to be like Akira or Death Note because this is a true comedy.
If you enjoy Monty Python then Ranma ½ will entertain you.
If you aren't amused by it then you have no sense of humor.

Story:

The episodic format often prevents a long story arc from developing
but most of the story arcs that occur throughout the series develope
the overall plot with the character learning new techniques
although some of the story arcs bring the story back to square one.
The main form read more
Jun 17, 2008
elc1247 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overall: It was painful to remember about this anime, Ranma is sort of your typical pointless anime, no good story, no real point to the entire story, and defiantly not funny enough to be considered a good comedy series... it deserves to be lumped up in the pile of "boredom-inducing-fillertasitc" anime, along with Naruto, Inuyasha, and others...

Story: they laid out the story in the first episode, ranma is engaged to akane because of odd circumstances, and they didnt advance whatsoever till the very end, actually, it didnt have a story at all pretty much, just random junk happening, if you like a massive pile of read more
Apr 20, 2015
Fragglepuss (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ranma 1/2

Review By: John Fragglepuss Evans

Ranma ½ is a classic 1980s anime, from the animation style to the soundtrack. Genma has a unique tune that plays every time he becomes a panda, and so do other characters. This is a fun and light-hearted anime, where you will laugh at times and shake your head at other times. There are many repeated jokes throughout the series, some of which get worn out after a while, where others stay fresh and get a new spin on them at times. The story does not progress at a decent rate, feeling like a stand still at times, due to read more
Aug 5, 2015
SaiD90 (All reviews)
Let me start off right away by saying; no, I haven't read the manga. Although I had heard about Ranma 1/2 before, it was only since very recently that I came in contact with it. And it just so happens that I prefer watching anime than reading manga.

Besides, everybody keeps saying that the manga is superior, so why would you need me to confirm it for you? And if it is true, than I must truly adore the manga should I ever read it. Though the manga may be better, I will remain ignorant of that for this review.

Story - 7/10

This is the deciding factor read more
May 9, 2015
Machomoyo (All reviews)
Story:
The best point of the story of Ranma 1/2 is that is very original, bringing us a totally new concept about the cursed springs of jusenkyo and how a guy
wants to get its masculinity back.
It have such variety on its themes: Sometimes is a romance, sometimes is a harem, sometimes is a hilarious comedy and most of the time is a martial art
shonen with weird fighting styles (Like the tea ceremony martial arts and the cheerleaders martial arts)
Mostly, the series dont focuses on the principal plot and take different ways like showing the characters, the relations between them and how they read more
Oct 17, 2014
TSmasher (All reviews)
Ranma 1/2 is a classic anime/manga written by Rumiko Takahashi. This anime/manga is possibly the anime/manga that has started the popular comedy action mangas that are made today and for good reason.

Progression (3): Ranma 1/2 is an action comedy manga/anime so it does not really need much progression. Often, what will happen in an episode/chapter will be events that happen in random intervals in Ranma's life that are hilarious.

Story (5): This manga/anime story is not that great, however it is very unique. The reasons why I say it is not that great is because it is repetitive and no progression to the story happens at read more
Nov 14, 2010
Rezindez (All reviews)
I first heard of Ranma ½ maybe a full year ago on a “Top Ten Funniest Anime” list. It sat comfortably in the number two spot, right before Full Metal Panic: Fammofu. After watching the latter, I was still curious about the former, so I gave Ranma a shot as well. The first time I saw the episode number on my favorite anime website, I honestly felt intimidated. This anime is REALLY LONG. If you aren't prepared, back out while it's still possible. Because of a vow- To always finish every anime I start, no matter how long, stupid, or bad it is- I had read more
Jun 18, 2016
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
I've heard from enough folks over Ranma 1/2 being one of Rumiko Takahashi's most famous works and finally worked up the nerve to see what all the fuss was about getting all 161 episodes to the series (or 18 + 143 if you know they are two separate TV anime). Suffice to say, I don't really get what all the hype to the series is about since it has a good deal of issues I took notice of throughout its rather long run.

As the entirety of Ranma 1/2 is actually two TV titles, both carry with them different storytelling approaches and levels of quality to read more
Sep 7, 2016
Ryntaia (All reviews)
Ranma 1/2 is one of those classics, and needless to say, every classic has its backstory. Ranma began as a manga, written and drawn by Rumiko Takahashi, that ballooned into a wild success and became one of her most recognizable properties aside Inuyasha and Urusai Yatsura. Obviously the direction to go was an anime--which was cancelled after one season in Japan due to poor ratings.

Wait, huh?

I imagine there to be some confusion here. The show is listed having 100+ episodes, right? Ranma has multiple seasons. Well, you see, its a bit of a false claim. Season 1 of Ranma 1/2 as we know it read more
Jun 23, 2016
LeonDuhChino (All reviews)
Ranma 1/2 is a show that incorporates a very disliked and rare genre in anime known as gender-bender. While some would see that as an immediate turnoff since most anime incorporating this genre tend to butcher it, I would say that Ranma is one of the few that used it correctly. The characters in this show give an outstanding performance and that's what makes them so memorable. Even when one has favorites(Shampoo), the rest don't fall that far behind. The story is much like a cut and paste i want this here and that there kind of deal and surprisingly, that's read more
Aug 30, 2015
Kanaji88 (All reviews)
Ranma 1/2 can clearly be described as a Romance/Action/Comedy anime. If your don't like any of these genres then this is not for you because each other these genres are featured heavily.
That's not to say every episode will have romance, nor every episode will have action and so on. But its hard to find an episode that does not have at least one of these genres.
But of course are story about a boy that turn into a girl and back will always have great comedic appeal, any situation that could possibly go down in this condition, has.

I LOVED this anime, i watched it after read more
Feb 16, 2013
Shaja (All reviews)
Ranma is probably the anime that got me completely hooked on all anime. It was not the first i had ever seen but it was in the first 10 at least. When i saw the very first episode of this show i immediately sat down and watched the entire series from beginning to end over the span of a month. This is truly my all time favorite anime and this is my review of it.

The story of Ranma is not a very deep or complex one, it doesn't even have a conclusion. Ranma is majorly episodic and has very few two part episodes. Ranma read more
Jan 25, 2014
Miracleangel (All reviews)
This was my first anime I watched. That's why I wanted to watch more anime because of Ranma 1/2. This story was super funny and I LOVED the characters. It's like you get attached to them because there were many episodes... and I seriously did not want to go to sleep. I know nothing is perfect but I had to rate ranma a 10 0verall. There were 2 or 3 filler episodes I didn't care for but I still encourage all of you to watch it.
Aug 23, 2011
LotusTsubasa (All reviews)
Oh, where to start..?

Well, I give credit for at least trying to make a good anime; however, this was far from it. I don't mean to offend any lovers of Ranma 1/2, but the story was very poor. The plot, however, was imaginative, and it was enjoyable for a little while. The episodes kept drawing me back again and again, even though sometimes I'd yell out to myself "That was the worst episode EVER!"

The creator tried too hard to make Ranma 1/2 funny, so it fails dramatically later in the series. The events begin to be extremely predictable, and although sometimes the humor made me read more
Jul 29, 2014
Ranma1-2 (All reviews)
My favorite anime, I love anything in it 10/10 doesn't matter at what is it(well it is matter if it is in Ranma½ or not).
I don't think that it's actually hatable or dislikable or anything except lovable or something that actually can't be hated or something that can be only the favorite.
I saw everything (which is about 73.5 hours total seeing all the series OVA's and Movies except live action) not second of waste even though I watched it about 6 times. There's no any second wasted on it.
If anyone sees my review and "Dropped It" then try it one more time.
Anyone that has it read more
Apr 1, 2013
angelsreview (All reviews)
(A little warning... this is a style of Review that I am trying out. I have three characters that are apart of my storyline that goes with my reviews. I am trying to integrate them into my reviews as well so please excuse the small conversation in it. This one is a trial version of where the male character Kurai suddenly turns into a girl as a April Fools joke by Angel.)

So wow, um… as you read from the description or just by knowing this pretty well known anime, this is a gender bender harem. As such, the show has numerous amounts of fan service, read more