Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Harmonie


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Wakate Animator Ikusei Project, 2014 Young Animator Training Project, Anime Mirai 2014
Japanese: アルモニ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 1, 2014
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Rikka
Source: Original
Duration: 25 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.371 (scored by 22,140 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #22422
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2072
Members: 41,890
Favorites: 122

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 13, 2014
Kundalini (All reviews)
What is ordinary?
Is it routine, is it fitting in? Is it being morally, ethically right? Is it not to cause others trouble?

Makina Juri has made herself into the "usualness" of high school. We all want to change. We all want others to accept us. We need others in our lives to breed a comfort zone and not stand out categorised by others. So... you compromise. On yourself. You split yourself into two, or more if need be. One for yourself, one to display to others. It's nice to act... sometimes.

Honjou Akio's days are routine. Come to class and discuss what happened in previous night's episode. read more
Apr 12, 2014
arrazolavguille (All reviews)
Harmonie is an anime made ​​by the "mirai project" animated by Studio Rikka

is a 25-minute short film which show that each head is a world and among the 34 students in a class there are all kinds.

The anime is a metaphor, Makina Juri the female lead shows that being different can make misunderstood by friends , parents, people in general, its called "dream" is something that torments him so decides to change and leave everything behind , and also in part the dream shows what will become , something like a robot waiting for someone finds it, while the male lead Honjou Akio always live read more
Jun 3, 2014
resinweber (All reviews)
Harmonie is a fantastic metaphor for the duality between individualism and collective conscious. Each of the students are remarkable individuals, who share an interest in one way or another. I don't find it a coincidence that Akio's friends start the short film by talking about their shared interest in anime before their individual qualities are portrayed. Akio has an ear for music and an interest in art.

Now what's more important is the message conveyed about stifling individual creativity. Juri, the female lead, is constantly embarrassed for the ridicule she has undergone for her dreams and her musical compositions. For a read more
Nov 23, 2014
Jarrbearr (All reviews)
Individuality is something every person has, but can be judged harshly.
When growing up, people are classified by groups and "norms" which are typical things everyone does, but when people step out of it they get frowned upon and ridiculed. This OVA shows a realistic point of view of how something like that can affect a person and make them into a puppet of the norm and be someone they don't wish to be.

This 25 short minute film packs all emotion, story and theme in a way I have never seen before. It shows that everyone has their own personality and is unique to their self. read more
May 10, 2014
Satire (All reviews)
There's a silly idea that people get in their heads that being different, or producing something outside of the norm, is considered 'weird' and consequently met with flak. What's so bad about being different? Being a dreamer? Being creative? Being yourself? There should be nothing wrong with these values, but yet there seems to be. People are quick to judge and uphold prejudices against those who inspire the unfamiliar. People dislike change. People dislike different. People dislike a lot of things, but that shouldn't mean one should stop pursuing their dreams in order to conform to the majority.

Despite being a mere twenty-five minute movie, Harmonie read more
Aug 29, 2014
Dr_Spade (All reviews)
According to the dictionary, ‘Harmonie’ is a German word that, in the context of the history of music, designates an ensemble of wind instruments employed by an aristocratic patron, particularly during the Classical era of the 18th century. The Harmonie would be employed for outdoor or recreational music.
Interestingly, there is a dual play of meanings in this title. The word 'Harmony' means 'the combination of musical notes sounded at the same time to produce chords with a pleasing effect'. 'Harmonies' is the plural of 'harmony’. This meaning fits perfectly with the events in the movie too.

Everyday we put up various facades in public, either read more
Sep 20, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Harmonie is a short 2014 film from Studio Rikka. You may know them as the studio what done Eve no Jikan. It also has the same creator/director, Yoshiura Yasuhiro. I don't know what to expect from it, but I did quite like Eve no Jikan. So, having the same studio and creative force as that isn't a bad sign.

Story:

We open with a young man talking about the concept that we all live in our own little worlds and can never truly enter someone else's. He posits that his world must be close to that of his two friends, hence why they get along really read more
May 5, 2014
Momoirooooo (All reviews)
Never before have I felt so 'in-touch' or so understanding of characters in Anime. I could really relate to some of what occurred. I could really understand and relate to what the characters were thinking.

Story, 7/10 - Harmonie's story isn't exactly a large scale phenomenon. I didn't expect it to be. I mean, it is a movie, right? And a short one at that. While I definitely didn't get anything huge, I definitely got more than I expected. The plot was good; a small build up between two students and the events that happen between them. That's what this is. It never gets past the read more
Apr 14, 2014
Rokiebottom (All reviews)
Harmonie, as indeed as it sounds, beautiful yet puzzling this anime allows me to enter deep inside the imaginary world in their story. Leaving its trace to become unforgettable experience.

Ok, basically this Anime is quite short for a movie, about 25 minutes without OP & ED. Regarding the short duration it doesn't affect the quality story at all. On the contrary it wouldn't be better even if it had longer duration, The story is just perfectly wrapped in 25 minute long duration.

Story 8/10
Some of you maybe don't understand what's exactly going on about the story, peculiar, enigmatic, and little psychological as a short movie read more
Dec 26, 2017
NealTenshio (All reviews)
Review (December 2017) on Harmonie

A 9 or a 10... It's a decision I have to make.
But Neal, why those two? Nine and Ten? A 10 is a masterpiece. Does this short film even deserve such a score? No one's going to have the same perception as that!
Whatever the case may be, I have finally decided to give my answer, one that I feel is an objectively subjective analysis, meaning that this is appropriate in my own system of principles.

Even with that being said, I am not going to talk about Story, Art/Animation, Sound, Character, and Enjoyment. Those things are simple to perceive. I could go read more
Nov 25, 2018
Jocus_ (All reviews)
(A Non-spoiler review and what should you expect before diving in.)

I can totally understand if people won't like this short anime. It has open plot filled with unanswered questions and a umpteen possibilities for both the MCs future.

So before jumping into this take a step back from the usual anime and relate this anime with your own life experiences. Reminiscence the time you were in a similar position yourself. We all have done it -- Create a facade in front others so that they can just accept us and slowly pull up the curtain if you click with someone. This short anime is a read more
Apr 12, 2014
yakizuke (All reviews)
The friends that are closest to you are those you can relate to the most. You share the same interests, passions, and goals. In fact, these similarities in personality between you and your friends might have been the very reason you had met them in the first place.

The film Harmonie emphasizes this theme. The protagonists Honjou and Makina are seemingly ordinary high school students who can psychologically connect through the interest they share, that being music. The progression of the film shows Honjou slowly understanding the personality of Makina and at times catching a glimpse of Makina's past through music in a somewhat supernatural read more
Mar 5, 2016
Clouvas (All reviews)
One again, Yasuhiro Yoshiura demonstrates his knack for capturing the more subtle features of interpersonal interaction. Like Time of Eve, Harmonie is an insightful analysis of the more complex and intriguing processes that occur just under the surface, and this layering is shown on a multitude of scales. A sweeping glance at a classroom full of students, freely interacting with each other, will pick up focus on smaller groups and their inner "worlds", if you will. The initial reactions between two characters, worlds apart from each other socially, belie the inner richness of personality they each hold. Yoshiura really shines when he takes animation and read more
Jun 26, 2016
JackieCoco (All reviews)
People with wild imagination can relate to this anime. Just like the synopsis tells, everyone has their own little world inside their minds. It's not very acceptable to talk about them in the public, it makes most people uncomfortable.

It might be just that some people don't have this "skill" or maybe it's not as vibrant and strong. These people might have a hard time understanding people who have a really strong "world" (imagination.). Most strong worlded people learn to "tone it down" and they don't talk about their worlds out in the public. They might even end up feeling guilty if they get lost read more
May 15, 2017
ImRingo (All reviews)
***This is a spoiler free review***

For a one shot episode, Harmonie packs quite the punch in both tone, animation, and overall acoustic qualities.

Story: 8/10

I cannot talk about much of the plot without ruining the whole episode but what I can say is that they studio really crammed a lot of story into twenty minutes. The overall purpose of the plot might not come easily to everyone watching the show but it does hit pretty deep once you really think about it. I kind of wished that we could see what happens after the episode was done.

Animation: 10/10

Astounding, fluid, beautiful, crisp, bright, dark, ext. This anime read more
Sep 13, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
It's an impossibility to fully understand someone, from their past, present and their current way of thinking, but one little connection is at least enough in order for that one person to open up to you...

Harmonie looks at what happens when this little connection opens

Harmonie is a 25 minute "movie" produced by Studio Rikka who previously worked and co-produced with Purple Cow Studio Japan on Sakasama no Patema and was presented in Anime Mirai of 2014.

For such a simple premise, Harmonie managed to execute it's premise in such such small timeframe of 25 minutes, the story focuses on Akio Honjou voiced by Yoshitsugu Matsuoka who read more
Feb 27, 2017
OHELLO (All reviews)
Hello, this gonna be my first ever review! so please bear.
if I were to lay my thoughts after seeing the film in one sentence, it would be "................................."nothing. why is that? cause I was literally speechless after the ending!

the film shows on how people find something simple yet confusing or enlightening. basically how we make sense of what we define as reality. the way we convince ourselves in something to feel settled, liberated, or wanting more to our initial circumstance so we could open alternative paths.
the way we yearn for someone to understand ours. the way we relieve by extracting or putting read more