Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

R.O.D: Read or Die


Alternative Titles

English: R.O.D - Read or Die
Synonyms: ROD OVA, Read or Die OVA
Japanese: R.O.D リード・オア・ダイ

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 3
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 23, 2001 to Feb 6, 2002
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Light novel
Duration: 33 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 27,762 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1798
Members: 51,377
Favorites: 305

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 15, 2009
Ranivus (All reviews)
Yomiko Readman will probably be the cutest bookworm you will ever see. Obsessed with the philosiphy "reading first, hygine second" The viewers will be fully immersed in the life of cute but unkempt Yomiko. In this world, books are the prized posession of the world. Books are so precious, there is a world organized task force designed in protecting these books from 'the bad guys. You'll be imersed in crazy steampunk/fantacy/etc vs magic conflicts and edge of your seat madness through the eyes of Ms. Readman.

The story itself is very farfetched and out of this world, but its a story that everyone should experience at read more
Sep 13, 2008
TrenchKamen (All reviews)
I have been meaning to watch this show for ages. Now that I've seen it, I'm wondering what the hell exactly took me so long to get around to this. It's a fusion of some of my favorite elements--steampunk, books, history, music, and espionage. Yomiko is an absolutely adorable character, and her personality is well-established the moment you get a look at her house. The characterization for the rest of the cast is excellent as well. The artwork is lush and gorgeous, and the action sequences flow beautifully and intuitively. As a bibliophile and history buff myself, the inclusion of various random intellectual figures as read more
Dec 14, 2018
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
The Read or Die series is one of those series that I wanted to check out because it gave me the James bond vibe when I saw the trailer. After that, I decided to blind buy the series which I went on Cex website to see if the OVA and the TV series of Read or Die are available in a local Cex store in London. Lucky for me it was available in my local Cex which also had a lot of bizarre anime in it. After that, I decided to pop in my local Cex store and picked up the whole series of Read read more
May 30, 2013
HybridMedia (All reviews)
I have been looking into this series for some time now because to me, it seem like a fresh idea that’s waiting to be made into an anime OVA (and yes, I know it’s based on their light novels and manga, too.) with it having these super-secret spy/James Bond-type tone as it shows throughout the whole course. This could be one of those anime that has the cool factor going for it, much like Shinichiro Watanabe’s anime (you should know what he directed by now.), but hopefully it’s not just the cool factor that keeps it entertaining. How well I know? Well, let the review read more
Nov 5, 2015
Luquillo (All reviews)
Yomiko Readman is an innocent looking girl who has an obsession with collecting and reading books. Her entire check goes into her hobby. After coming into a book, she's soon under attack by a man with a strange ability. She learns that the particular book she just purchased is necessary for an organization's plan. Readman also works for the British Library Special Operations Division under the alias Agent Paper, and her mission is to learn why this outfit is after the book. -summary

For reasons I do understand, R.O.D. is recognized as a popular anime title, and it was so well received that it spawned read more
Jan 12, 2011
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Ever since Cowboy Bebop there have been countless anime that rely on the "rule of cool" to win over audiences, favoring spectacle over plot. However, few anime do this better than R.O.D OVA. It is a stylish, exhilarating, and action-packed super powered romp with some of the most creative fights in an anime. Of course, the plot is pretty ludicrous, but this does little to diminish the shows enjoyability.

Yomiko Readman is a substitute teacher and devoted bookworm, who spends most of her income on books. She also is an agent for the British Library special operations, with the physics defying ability to manipulate paper (which read more
Aug 3, 2011
ktulu007 (All reviews)
The story isn't too complex. An organisation dedicated to protecting rare books sends operatives to America in order to investigate an attack on the Library of Congress and the destruction of the Whitehouse. They quickly learn that the attack was carried out by super powered clones of historical figures who are trying to get a rare book owned by one of the organisation's operatives, Yomiko Readman.It is every bit as awesome as it sounds. The story is very imaginative and it has lots of twists and turns that keep things interesting. Kurata Hideyuki took full advantage of the limited length by making every single event read more
Jun 13, 2011
kajia (All reviews)
"Read or Die" might sound like some bizarre comedy show about over zealous parents trying to encourage their children to read more books instead of playing games/watch anime all day long, but in actual fact it's nothing like that. It's more like an anime version of X-Men (update: well, back when I originally wrote this review, this seemed like a good comparison, but now that there ACTUALLY IS an anime version of X-Men, this comparison is making me look like an ignorant n00b... but it amuses me to leave it in anyway :p). It's one of those shows that, category by category wise, seems to read more
Dec 31, 2016
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
Read or Die, motherfucker. Despite the title this ultimatum has nothing to do with the show. Though main character Tomiko Readman redefines the term "bookworm" with her life obsession of reading, putting even hygiene second to her constant hobby. But reading can't pay the bills - but it can at least meet the check halfway. Tomiko has the supernatural power to control any paper and make it nifty tools or sharp weapons. And with this ability Tomiko works for the British Library Special Operations Division with code name "The Paper". Unfortunately for Tomiko, her eyed book is a rare item under the pursuit of the read more
Jan 26, 2017
Hedgie (All reviews)
R.O.D is a three episode OVA which is received two TV series, one coming out in the sometime in the near future? Hoping 2017. Yomiko Readman is the biggest bookworm to date, and secret agent name 'Papermaster' that works for British Library secret agency.

The series starts off Yomiko purchasing multiple books leaving her pennies less. After not being able to purchase a certain book, Yomiko ask for it on a loan. The title of the book is “Immortal Beloved” after leaving the bookstore, out of the blue the city is bombarded with by a swarm of bees. Eventually they are dispersed only have read more
Oct 23, 2008
Aphiel1 (All reviews)
Of the animes created in the new millennium (after the year 2000) I have to say that R.O.D without a doubt is one of the most original and creative stories I have ever had the pleasure of gracing both my screen and eyes. I'd go as far to say that it should be considered one of the master pieces of our time (okay not that far but it's pretty good).
Story- Possibly the most unique storyline I have ever encountered combining the worlds of magic, history, politics, adventure and secret organizations (okay when you say it like that it doesn't sound that unique but once you read more
Sep 9, 2009
waterfalls (All reviews)
Read Or Die is a short, well made, unserious anime, with lots of action using supernatural powers. It's worth watching. Anime watching librarians might especially like it. Animation is sort of "older-style" but well done. Characterization is done fairly well, but with the number of characters and short length of the OVA, they can only be given so much depth.

This is something to consider the next time you want to watch an action anime, that isn't too serious, with unique action using supernatural powers and a somewhat "jazzy" style. However, I would not suggest watching it if you really hate engrish, as there's quite a read more
Jul 10, 2011
sugarmittens (All reviews)
Upon first discovering this anime, I found it very intriguing. A bookworm girl who can manipulate paper into weapons and such, and villains conjuring up historic figures to take over the world. It sounded absurd, but that's why I was so interested.

Unfortunately, absurdity doesn't equal quality. The show, consisting of only three episodes, throws you in to the middle of a very absurd plot, where some "Ijin"s are trying to take over the world. Why? Well, I won't spoil it, but the reason is probably one of the dumbest reasons.

I think the main flaw of this short OVA is the lack of character development, read more
Sep 28, 2008
integra31 (All reviews)
R.O.D (Read or Die) OVA is something that should not be taken for granted! This OVA is actually adapted from a manga and then rendered into a movie in the early 2001 by the Studio Deen. I would love to compare this anime movie to any one of highly-acclaimed James Bond flicks. It has all the necessary elements; action, suspense, drama, intrigue and not forgetting, far-fetched idea to conquer the world. Even though the movie is only an hour and a half, it is packed with interesting characters with unique fighting powers and definitely a fresh concept. Hence, hands down, R.O.D OVA is sure to read more
Jan 18, 2010
Tomah (All reviews)
Read or Die is, literally, a nice anime. It has all the elements necessary for an anime to be considered good, but it's artistic value is not that high to be considered memorable or a masterpiece. And that's exactly why it's such an enjoyable show: instead of trying to be legendary or gather a huge number of fans, it embraces it's simplicity and just tries to be a good action anime.

==============================================

Story: 7

Read or Die is about an agent trying to stop some bad guys from killing everybody. It doesn't get any deeper than that, really. What makes the story interesting is the originality. For read more
Aug 11, 2008
DitzyRice (All reviews)
This is the greatest anime ever created I love it!!!
I watch over and over and never get tired of it!
I love Yomiko Readman!
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
A three episode OVA, Read or Die is a lot like Golden Boy in that it starts off promising but falls apart the further along you get. The initial ideas, the main character, and the first ten minutes of the first episode intrigue enough to generate interest in the viewer. The problem is the next hour and twenty minutes of content.

Yomiko Readman is a character I instantly fell in love with. She’s a ditzy book-loving girl who spends every penny she has on her massive collection of literature. Whilst on a spree she winds up purchasing a novel that has been sought out by a read more
Dec 23, 2009
ilyssacrescent (All reviews)
This OVA tells of what happened before the death of Mr Gentleman when Yomiko Readman ("The Paper") and Drake were still faithful agents of the British Imperial Library. It is during this time that The Paper met Nancy Makuhari.

If you have watched ROD the Tv in full and enjoyed it, this OVA would be a recommendable watch to better your understanding of the I-jins and the past of the characters, especially that of Nancy Makuhari. Even if you haven't watched ROD the TV, this OVA would still be a good standalone anime to watch.

While the art and characters in ROD did not awe me, the read more
Mar 1, 2013
Inflikt (All reviews)
I'll start with the point: this OVA is great fun, plain and simple. It's uptempo, doesn't take itself seriously, and is the definition of pleasant surprise.

The story is mediocre, the characters are nothing special but very well fleshed out, the art and sound are good - not extraordinary on their own, but they fit the general mood very well. There is no deep moral, no cerebral overtone, nothing to make you say this deserves a deep look. The sheer absurdity of some of the plot would fit better with all-out comedy. The action is not anything so astounding that you'd talk about it to all read more