Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sabage-bu!


Alternative Titles

English: Sabagebu! -Survival Game Club!-
Synonyms: Survival Game Club!
Japanese: さばげぶっ!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2014 to Sep 21, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Pierrot Plus
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.451 (scored by 31,626 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #17852
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #892
Members: 80,675
Favorites: 377

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 22, 2014
Flawfinder (All reviews)
I never had any expectations for Sabagebu. It was never given any attention when I made that "season previews are worthless" post sometime before the summer season aired. I just saw that it was one of those "girls using weaponry" anime, remembered how I didn't give C3-bu much of a chance when it aired a year ago, noticed that it was the first thing to air in the season (even though it was due to being a pre-air), and gave it a shot. Was kind of surprised at how fast-paced and violent the premiere was, so I watched the second episode. And then the third. read more
Sep 21, 2014
SkyNoHoshi (All reviews)
'I know what the title says, but don't go expecting real survival games!'

Do you enjoy an anime where girls battle out with guns? Well, there have been a lot of anime that fit that category such as C3 and Strike Witches. I know I've seen a few, and this anime is one.

There's nothing much to say about Sabagebu honestly. It revolves a hig-school club called the 'Survival Games Club' and we look into the crazy shenanigans these high-schoolers are put up into. Momoka, the character focus of the group, transferred to this high school and is forced into the club by its president, Miou. From read more
Sep 24, 2014
Harry_Ord (All reviews)
Plain and simple. That's the name of the game with this show. Sabagebu is a solid comedy that had surprisingly great potential early on, and then somewhat dips a bit below later. It never gets bad nor does it ever become amazing, but it does suffer from a few problems here and there. I was hoping for something akin to a successor to Yuru Yuri (I believe the director of both shows might be the same person, but I am not sure) and it was not quite that. Of course I cannot fault it for it not being something that it was not setting out read more
Oct 20, 2014
Jarrbearr (All reviews)
Welcome to the Survival Game Club! A place where we imagine battles with fake guns and take comedy to the extreme!

The anime was something I was unsure to watch, with it's bright palette it didn't seem to suit the military genre and I didn't know what to expect. After watching the entire series I can safely say it's something that I enjoyed from the start to finish. The anime was hidden due to the strong Summer line-up such as SAO 2, Glasslip and Barakamon. It didn't get as much justice as it should have in my opinion.

With the anime following the comedy route, you read more
Oct 11, 2014
bloodgods (All reviews)
I'll keep this review pretty blunt, since there's no point of trying deeply analyze a comedy such as this one. Sabagebu! is a lighthearted story about a group of girls who belong to the Survival Game Club. As you may know, there have been several other shows that have played around with this plot (for example, C3), but I'll tell you why Sabagebu! did it the right way.

First of all, this anime is pretty episodic. The pattern I've noticed is that the episodes typically consist of two or three short story arcs that each last for part of the episode. Sometimes the stories are read more
Oct 4, 2014
Guesswhoxx (All reviews)
Short review, because you don't need to read a bible to make an opinion about something and it saves time too!

How do you feel about episodical plotless anime? You love it? You hate it? Because your enjoyment depends on it.

First 5 episodes are great!

We got interesting, funny situations. Sadistic, masochistic characters with little bit of schizophrenia. Who doesn't love that, right? Humor is great in this show, so surprising and unexpected. And it mix up some serious themes in between jokes like bullying, stealing, rejection. You can even learn some stuff from this anime with a help of narrator who involves viewer read more
Oct 21, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Here’s a trivia question: what do you get when you take a bunch of cute girls, give them some guns, and put them all in a club? At first glance, you’re probably thinking Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C³-bu, a series that aired in Summer 2013. And of course, you’re not wrong either. Both series are about cute girls attending an all-girls school with the new girl transferring in from another school. However, there is an incentive about Sabagebu that invites more attention. No, it’s not just about the girls or ‘cute girls doing cute things’ gag. It’s more of the ‘girls kicking ass while having fun read more
Mar 18, 2015
CafeAnime (All reviews)
Overall Thoughts: B-

Sabagebu! is an extremely funny Shoujo comedy that accomplishes it's primary goal: to make you laugh and it doesn't try to do much else. There aren't any "deep" themes or complex messages that the crew of Sabagebu! are trying to make you consider. While it may not be doing anything outstanding enough to be remembered decades in the future, Sabagebu! is still an excellent experience for anyone who simply wants to relax and have a few laughs. It doesn't bombard the viewer with melodrama or degrade its characters through fanservice, but instead focuses on being as funny as possible. And that's good enough read more
Feb 6, 2017
neokent (All reviews)
Right off the bat, I'll say it: this anime is hilarious. This is "cute girls doing cute girl stuff" SoL anime done right. Well, not exactly right, but definitely better than most of those generic ones out there.

Most of the other anime embodying this trope are definitely decent but can sometimes get boring and cringe-y because of all the generic cliches and friendship skits and all that generic shit. It can get funny at times but most of the time they just fall flat.

But then I found Sabagebu. A school SoL of cute girls together in a club, yes. But not just any club, a read more
Nov 14, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Guns + moe girls = Comedic Gun Totting Goodness~!

The cute girls with guns have been a niche kind of subgenres of the "cute girls doing cute things" with varying degrees of success, it also has to make the act of firing a "gun" play off to the moe aesthetics which are almost diametric opposites, so does Sabagebu! break from this mold of "cute girls with guns" or does it do the typical cliche stuff this kind of genre throws at us like Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C3-bu?...well time to find out.

Sabagebu! is a gag comedy anime adaptation of the manga of the same name and to read more
Jul 15, 2015
ThePandaSupreme (All reviews)
This anime is about cute girls not doing cute things and it is hilarious!


Story- The story of Sabagebu was simplistic and didn't really have any progression past the first couple of episodes. The progression doesn't take away from the show what so ever having girls just do stupid gun battles and what not is the best thing i think i have seen. The best part is that they are just using BB guns for there battles but there imaginations make it look like a actual scene from terminator. The ending did come back to the statement that President said at the start of the read more
Sep 21, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

When you think of high school, or college for that matter, what comes to mind is education, parties, and extra curricular activities. But for the girls of the Survival Game Club, it's less about these things and more about just having fun, with a gun or two thrown in for good measure.

STORY

Somewhat generically, the story begins with our new transfer student, Momoka, enrolling in a new high school. Upon entering, she discovers the "Survival Game Club", a group of girls dedicated to fake-gun battles.

Much in the same vein as Nichijou, Sabagebu! takes the approach of smaller mini-episodes to read more
Aug 31, 2015
elementkg (All reviews)
Oh Sabagebu!
Where to begin with this series?

This series is nothing, but a burst out laughter waiting in each corner. It's also a masochist wet dream too and a gun fanatic paradise. But with all the craziness mixed in this series stands out above others in being pretty unique.

Story: 3

Well, this series doesn't really have an actual story, unless you consider 3 different random shorts per episodes as a story, then go for it. The score is low due to not having a story, not cause it was bad. Each episode has the similarity of an American cartoon, focus more on episodic episodes rather than read more
Jul 17, 2016
Funkie69 (All reviews)
Like Plastic Nee-san, Check.
Like Punchline, Check.
Like Deadpool style fourth wall breaks, Check.
Like insanity and stereotypes, Check.

This anime is a formulaic school club story on antidepressants. I didn't know what to think when I started this. it flew under the radar and bombed my funny bone.
The send ups of Japanese cultural stereotypes is amazing.

I'm reminded of an educational show with their factoids about armed sports and outdoorsmanship, but it never takes away from the entertainment value of the show, and often enhance the read more
Sep 9, 2015
_Arcadius_ (All reviews)
Sabagebu!

Wooooooooo! Sabagebu! or Survival Game Club is absolutely fantastic. Pure comedy gold I tell ya. A great cast of characters with a plot about absolutely nothing! Slice of life with super cuties and guns! BB guns that act like real guns because of the power of imagination, how cool is that!!!!!!!!!!!

Following the super cuties Momoka Sonokawa, Miou Ootori, Maya Kyoudou, Urara Kasugano and Kayo Goutokuji. All of them are extra cute and pretty, the inclusion of guns works surprisingly well in Sabagebu. Favorite is definitely Momoka with Urara and their reactions to one another, the masochist and sadist angle is so funny!

A read more