Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mikakunin de Shinkoukei


Alternative Titles

English: Engaged to the Unidentified
Japanese: 未確認で進行形

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2014 to Mar 27, 2014
Premiered: Winter 2014
Broadcast: Thursdays at 02:13 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.561 (scored by 84,745 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #14292
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #391
Members: 170,934
Favorites: 713

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 11, 2014
Azalonozul (All reviews)

"Dust in her eye? I'm gonna kill it!" - Hakuya Mitsumine.

Over the last few years, Rom-coms have become stale; the violent tsundere, a harem, the childhood friend, unrequited love, all of the shows seem to have these itsy-bitsy things. As such, the comedy becomes stale, they become increasingly dull to watch and you automatically know what is going to come next.

But not with Mikakunin de Shinkoukei.
I repeat, you will not be able to predict what will be coming next in this little anime.

Mikakunin de shinkoukei is REALLY unpredictable. It drops the bomb on huge things like it's no big deal and makes a big deal read more
Mar 27, 2014
badgerkins (All reviews)
Engaged to the Unidentified generated very little hype coming into its season, being an adaptation of a relatively unheard of manga. So how exactly did it catch my attention when one glance of the line-up for the season had other shows I could of better invest my time with? Was it the cover image of three adorable looking girls in seifuku which called to me? Possibly... Actually, that was most definitely the case. C'mon, let's be honest; what other reason could there be and please don't tell me the synopsis had you brimming with optimism. I'm willing to give anything a chance as long as read more
Apr 29, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
It seems that ‘16’ is a magic number for most girls, as in a special moment where something must happen that makes their Birthday to be unforgettable. Most times anyways, it’s just any normal day for people. But in this show, that’s not exactly the case when Kobeni Yonomori finds out that she is to be engaged with her arranged fiance Hakuya Mitsumine. As a little bonus, Hakuya also brings his younger sister Mashiro to spice up the family.

The concept no doubt comes firsthand as being cliché. We have the golden trio of the show that plays on the norms of the normal, popular, read more
Mar 27, 2014
SkyNoHoshi (All reviews)
This is, perhaps, the first slice of life anime series to finish in this winter season. And Dogakobo had, yet again, brought out another good anime for us to watch.

When I watched the first episode of Mikakunin de Shinkoukei, I thought that it would have a great story and I felt that it would be the best romcom anime for the season. But unfortunately, I wasn’t finding that expectation I wanted. Here’s why.

The story revolved around the Yonomori sisters, Kobeni and Benio, and the Mitsumine siblings, Hakuya and Mashiro. Akane, who is the Yonomori sisters’ mom, announced that Kobeni was somewhat engaged to Hakuya by read more
Apr 12, 2014
hoeze (All reviews)
So we have a slife of life romance about dogs and people or is it... i wouldnt know BECAUSE THEY NEVER ACTUALLY TURN INTO DOGS. Now ima get this out of the way really fast, this does not affect the score in any way but ill just say this. If you have an anime where your main characters are not human but take the form of humans THEN SHOW US WHAT THEY REALLY ARE it just satisfies the need to know i mean i still dont know if there dogs, not dogs, half dogs, wheredog. This title translates to, engaged to the unidenitified and good read more
Dec 25, 2014
_Otaku_31 (All reviews)
I have watched 47 anime shows (completed) and I never really bothered to write reviews. However, Mikakunin de Shinkoukei lit a spark in me. Inspired me to write about it, I suppose.

~Story~ (9/10)

Nowadays the typical idea for manga is that the characters suddenly meet. I got used to that and honestly, that was what I was expecting. However, in this case it is different. 16 year olds Hakuya and Kobeni find themselves caught in an arranged marriage. It was set up by Kobeni's deceased grandfather. As some shows do: Hakuya moves in with Kobeni. He has read more
Feb 4, 2015
xMentec (All reviews)
*This review will contain minor spoilers*

Mikakunin de Shinkoukei is one of many romantic comedy, slice of life anime that doesn't bring anything new to the table, but still manages to be a highly enjoyable series and a fun watch.

Story - 8/10
The story isn't really about how both characters meet and start to love eachother, but instead is how Kobeni deals with this new situation suddenly brought up to her since she never knew Hakuya and has no feelings for him. At the start, Kobeni is really embarrassed doesn't want anybody to find out about the engagement , but as the episodes go by, she starts read more
Oct 8, 2014
Mnemofysh (All reviews)
Ugh, romantic comedies. They are usually a mix of romance, slice of life and, of course, comedy. I’m not a particular fan of any of theses genres, as Romeo x Juliet, Yuyushiki, and a number of other anime have successfully proven to me. If I dislike all these genres, why on Earth would I like something that is a combination of all three? The pleasant surprise of Chu-2 gave me hope for rom-coms, however, and I’m pleased to say that Mikakunin de Shinkoukei held up my expectations.

MdS is about a girl called Kobeni, who on her sixteenth birthday is suddenly told that she is engaged read more
Oct 26, 2015
swifty15 (All reviews)
This anime was cute, yet frustrating. The main characters that are engaged never actually get any alone time to talk to each other and when they do, Kobeni just mumbles and doesn't actually talk about anything.

The story was very vague and didn't have any strong points and was disappointing. The ending was a let down in my opinion.

The art was very good, Kobeni is one of the cutest girls in anime, and each character is very well animated, and the settings are done decently. The characters are the strongest point in the art department.

The sound was pretty cute. They had little piano parts here and read more
Dec 5, 2014
Verethragna_XIII (All reviews)
hmm, since this is my first time to create a review of an anime, it might as well be an anime that I enjoyed!

"Papapara♪ papa♪ oh-oh♪ papapara♪ pa♪ yeah-yeah♪!"

"Mikakunin de Shinkoukei" or in English " Engaged to the Unidentified" at first glance this might be another romantic comedy about a girl who just turned 16 years old and suddenly she was informed that she had a fiance that will be living with her but I'm gonna tell you in advance, DO NOT JUDGE AN ANIME BY ITS SYNOPSIS or the first 4 episode (it’s one of my golden rule). You will be surprised at read more
Apr 14, 2014
FireKiller87 (All reviews)
Mikakunin de Shinkoukei is a slice of life romantic comedy that only recently aired, didn't receive much attention and is adapted from a lesser-known manga.
However, under all the obscurity lies quite the gem of a show. While it doesn't fit everyone's tastes, especially if you are averse to SoL or romantic comedy, Mikakunin certainly delivers on what it aspires to be. It doesn't try to change up the traditional formula or anything fancy, but what it does attempt is executed charmingly.

The story follows the daily life and escapades of Kobeni Yonomori and her family. Many of the scenes are your typical high school slice read more
Feb 7, 2017
KillerNokto (All reviews)
A good romantic comedy.
That's a anime to make you happy. The story is simple, don't worry about the side history of the Mitsumine, just the narrative at the point of Kobeni and how she deals with a "future husband".
The "romance" is slow, we see how daily actions works and is cool to see how Kobeni is a really lovely girl and picture of "perfect wife", at the same time that she unintentionally accepts this fact.
The "comedy" is the great point of the anime, to go with the cute relationship we have a really comedy, I laugh high with Benio - cof cof *Benio-sama -, Mashiro read more
Apr 20, 2015
monkeyMan9 (All reviews)
The show centers around our main character, Kobeni Yonomori, a 16 year old at the start of the series when she finds out that she has been engaged to a boy from the mountains. Thus later that day the boy, who looks considerably older than Kobeni, and his sister, who looks more like an 8 year old drop by. Kobeni's mother, who for the rest of the series is less than a supporting character, tells her that her grandfather , long dead now, engaged them when she was very little. What follows in the next few episodes is how, Kobeni handles this news, and how read more
Mar 27, 2014
PyraXadon (All reviews)
HAPPY BIRTHDAY, KOBENI! Every girl dreams of their sweet 16th. (I'm only assuming here.) And so, what better way to celebrate your entry into womanhood...by giving you a brand new, totally unexpected and uncalled for, fiance and sister-in-law as a present! Today, the anime is Mikakunin de Shinkoukei, or, Engaged to the Unidentified in english translation. Let's begin.

Story (7.31/10): The story is essentially what I had in my intro. Our main protagonist Kobeni, who has reached the age of 16, has now received a fiance by the name of Hakuya, and a sister in law by the name read more
Oct 19, 2015
Squidlets (All reviews)
The story is dumb, half the characters are unbearable, and the scenarios presented throughout the show are mind-numbingly stupid.

7/10 because I'm a f***ing idiot

In all seriousness though, this show managed to keep me smiling through most of the run time despite its shortcomings in general entertainment competency. The presentation is very "cutesy" which made it hard for me to hate the show as much as I should. The opening and ending songs and animations were also very warm and fun to watch.

The problems with the story can be forgiven if you just want to turn your brain off, however, the characters cannot and are the read more
Mar 31, 2014
Growler (All reviews)
When something hits you in the face there is nothing you can do except wipe your face and keep going. The same trick applies to facts, you cannot change them once they have occured, you can only accept them and move forward.

Mikakunin de Shinkoukei follows the story of Kobeni a normal girl with fairly good grades from the point where she is told out of the blue that she is engaged to some guy she does not know named Hakuya. She is worried at first about her future, yet slowly she begins accepting her situation as well as her new guests through a series of read more
Nov 11, 2015
OniiChanKonoBaka (All reviews)
Story, Character, Enjoyment and Art: 10/10

The Characters did their well properly, they did not prolong the happenings and it is very direct to the point, it is not one of those animes where they prolong the story until the viewer becomes bored that he/she wants to drop the series. The Character and their settings provides the viewers a proper interpretation throughout the story.

The sequence of the story provides the viewers an emotional interpretation (in terms of romance) wherein the viewer can connect more through the story.

Sound: 9/9
The sound is good, but there are some parts where it easily gets cut off.

10 + 10 + 10 read more
Mar 21, 2016
Jintama (All reviews)
*NO SPOILERS OTHER THAN A SHORT SUMMARY THAT HAS NO SPOILERS
*MY OWN OPINION
Mikakunin de Shinkoukei was an unexpectedly fun watch. The story follows a young girl who has just turned 16 and found out that she had been engaged to a strange boy of sorts, who shows up in her house out of no where. Along with him he has a loli sister who is to watch over him as he and his sister are not to familiar with the city.

Story: 7/10
This story was quite interesting. It would just be fair if it had followed the same story line as most anime romance comedies but read more
May 22, 2014
appido (All reviews)
I stumbled upon this show the other day and marathoned through it in a couple hours, something I usually don't do unless I really like the show. Mikakunin de Shinkoukei is pretty much your typical rom com but it's fairly well done. It's not mentioned in the genre tags but there are supernatural elements which gives this rom com a little more flare.

Story:

While the plot is sort of generic and has been done a million times before, this series handled it differently than other shows which made it a bit more interesting. Basically, a girl turns 16 and a mysterious guy shows up on read more
Mar 3, 2016
Shole (All reviews)
Well it's an enjoyable rom-com to watch but then again I have the one character that I hate a lot, Benio. That girl is just beyond creepy and annoying, but lets put that aside.

The anime is entertaining and almost never let's you rest, you know like some anime scenes show you the landscape or such to create a right scene. This one is just action all the time, you have no time to rest before another clumsy thing or romantic thing happens.

I will keep this as short as possible as I do not enjoy spoiling things nor telling people what they should like read more