Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Lovely★Complex


Alternative Titles

English: Lovely Complex
Synonyms: Love★Com, Love Com
Japanese: ラブ★コン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2007 to Sep 29, 2007
Premiered: Spring 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Discotek Media
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Genres: Comedy, Romance, Shoujo
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 181,456 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #256
Members: 352,107
Favorites: 7,589

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 31, 2007
lowell (All reviews)
I really, really, really loved LoveCom.

It was cute, insightful, hilarious and endearing. It was my most anticipated episode every week. I always wanted more. I want more now even though I know it's over!

The story is about the tallest girl and the shortest boy in class and their search for love in high school. It turns out they're both kooky, funny and energetic. They're also perfect for each other... too bad they don't see that. The story isn't complicated or new, but it was told so well that it crawled into right into that soft spot in my heart.

The read more
Jul 25, 2007
YoshikoHatake (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first glance you think this is one of those normal school romance, boy meets girl, girl meets boy, type anime. Well it\'s not.

It\'s a completely different take on the usual theory. A girl who towers over her crush, a boy who may be short and sees eye to eye with most other girls, still gets fans.

As Risa realizes her love for him, ever so slowly, she finally admits to it, but not only is Otani short, but he is very dense, too dense.

So now, Risa tries all she can to get him to be her boyfriend.

The story is very unique, with many twists read more
Apr 17, 2010
360ken (All reviews)
I'm actually quite surprised to think that this will be the first negative review of Lovely Complex on MAL. Every single review I read gives this show a 7 or higher, which I think is outrageous. I really have a lot of bad things to say about this show but I'll warn you if it gets too spoiler-laden. Here starts the review.

STORY- 2 (Dreadful)
Lovely Complex is about two high school kids, Risa and Otani. They are a comedy duo because whever they're together they fight, argue, make fun of each other, and cause a scene, which makes bystanders laugh. Risa is taller than read more
Apr 21, 2009
kiriska (All reviews)
Girl meets boy and girl likes boy. But girl is also half a foot taller than boy and thus, epic drama ensues!

S T O R Y - I don't read/watch a lot of shoujo, but from the start, I figured it was a pretty basic plot and as a result, probably a pretty generic story. I was right -- it's a lot of what you would typically expect from shoujo: lots of silly romantic drama, lots of hilarious shenanigans, and the your handful of cute, fluffy moments scattered throughout that always feel like an shot of diabetic sweetness straight to your black, black heart. And read more
Oct 14, 2007
DragonsWhip (All reviews)
You love love? Then you're going to love this anime!

The story itselves seems very standard at first glance, but it isn't. Risa, the main character, is an girl who is taller than the average girl. She wants an boy that's longer than her, but then something happens. She and Otani, a very short boy from her class, are often being laughed at, because they look and act like an popular comedy duo. Although the fact they're being laughed at and are bickering all the time, their friendships start to grow and Risa even starts to like Otani. From here on the story has a lot read more
Dec 12, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
Lovely Complex is a Shoujo, Slice of Life, Romantic, Comedy about an odd couple; tall girl Risa Koizumi and short guy Atsushi Ootani. It is near impossible to sit through this series straight-faced, as it is full of drama and lots of laughs. XD

Video Alternative ^_^

The story proved to be both entertaining and heart-warming at the same time. One thing I personally didn’t like about the story and other may have a problem with, was the time-scale. Throughout series, everything seemed to move so fast that it was even skipping from season to season in a single episode. But that is also a great thing read more
Nov 29, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
5 WORDS OR LESS REVIEW: Definitely not typical shoujo anime

If you looked for the meaning of "Romantic Comedy" in the dictionary (or maybe even Wikipedia), you'd probably see "Lovely Complex" written in its definition. Okay, maybe not, but somebody should put it there!

As much as I love shoujo manga and anime, I do get tired of it sometimes because most shoujo follow the same formula. Such is not the case for Lovely Complex. I think Lovely Complex is the true embodiment of the romantic comedy genre. A love match between a tall girl and a short guy is like the perfect recipe for a romantic read more
Dec 8, 2008
LoonyB (All reviews)
A romance-comedy with a Kansai twist.

I was a bit late getting onto the Lovely Complex or LoveCom bandwagon but once on board I was there till the end! LoveCom had me laughing, crying while my heart trided to leap out of my chest. It was well balanced in light and heavy scenarios, high in good anime-nutritions, a must-see for the anime-fan diet! One I devoured in two days! (All 24 eps).

Story:
Every manga-ka tries to find their niche market. What do the romance-comedy fans want next? Dramatic pasts with dead characters? Forbidden loves? Deaths? Mahou-shoujo?
There are millions of romance-comedy manga and anime out there that are read more
Jul 19, 2008
yakitate9 (All reviews)
Lovely Complex is truly a great series. Every episode, regardless of what is happening, is enjoyable and leaves you wanting to watch the next one.

The storyline isn't anything crazy or off the wall, but it is executed to near perfection and contains a lot of really good plot turns and twists. Complimenting the story, and enhancing it, is a lot of very funny comedy. A good story makes you want more, and in that regard, this does exactly that.

The artwork and animation is good, although at times it can be inconsistent. But what is most important is that the scenes that are made read more
May 27, 2015
Obamanizer (All reviews)
This show is not enjoyable. The density of the main male character gets old seriously fast, and then turns to anger.

The story progresses at a snails pace, the characters as a whole dont have much value to each other and no depth. The art is bad but thats to be expected of something so old and the sound is forgettable.

but seriously, the biggest turn off of this entire show was the density of the main male character, it was seriously denser than Thors hammer which is made of the core of a star...
May 19, 2015
TokyoSanchez (All reviews)
Can't wait for the hate for this one.

At the start of watching Lovely Complex, I was certain that I was going to love this show, being a fan of shoujo romance. I can't say that I dislike it, but rather I was heavily dissapointed by it.

Throughout the first half, I really enjoyed what it brought to the table. The start was a little rough, but it was a nice twist to an unoriginal genre (I say this way too much with romance anime, but so be it). Otani and Risa are a pairing that are so much fun to watch. The back and forth read more
Jul 27, 2015
kytaen (All reviews)
Lovely★Complex is centered around our main character and tallest girl in her class, Koizumi Risa, and the shortest boy in the class, Otani Atsushi. The anime explores their relationship, from classmates to friends to maybe even lovers.

The premise of the anime is fantastic. Both our deuteragonists have a case of height complexes (hence the name) and struggle to overcome this. In the beginning, there is a mutual dislike for each other, as Risa and Otani are laughed at because of their reputation as the class' "comedy duo". As time progresses, however, Koizumi begins to like Otani, as a friend (and later, a crush), and accepts read more
Jun 4, 2011
Zanarkandian (All reviews)
True chemistry is something hard to find. Is it acceptable to dwell on things like..height difference and being comedy partners to ignore it?

I watched this show after a person with similar taste suggested it. The first impression I got was that it was going to be..a romance/comedy show, with the oxymoron of having the roles reversed, height-wise. Risa, our female lead, is really tall for a girl. This is often exaggerated, with her really slim members, to make her look like a giantess from time to time. Our guy, Otani, is good looking, a basketball star, but..he's really short for a guy. Can these two read more
Apr 18, 2009
Hyduk87 (All reviews)
I initially reviewed this piece after watching it only once, but since then, I have seen the series three times and decided to give this a complete and thorough review. I personally enjoy a systematic review that rates each category and explains why, but this first chunk is going to be just my thoughts on the anime as a whole. If you want to see my ratings for each category and why, continue reading at the bottom to see it (or if you'd just rather see scores for each category, then skip to the bottom after the lines of asterisks).


****************************************************************


There are read more
Jun 10, 2013
Caleb_Marvell (All reviews)
"You idiot! Big or small, as long as you have a ☆☆☆☆ you're a man, right?!"

My initial thoughts when starting this series? "What am I getting myself into..." Those words were what ran through my head when I watched the first episode. It was ranked pretty high by the MAL Community, and I decided to give it a try. After the first episode, I couldn't help but press the next episode button... I mean, who wouldn't, right? Anyways, as I started watching the series, I hadn't noticed until around episode 17 that I had just spent 8 hours laughing my head off every episode. Strange, read more
Feb 11, 2015
YorouzoyaHouse (All reviews)
Looking at the "Romance" under genre must make you think something like "...ah! Lemme guess. Another highschool RomCom". But I will be there saying "Yes. But no."
You see Lovely Complex IS a highschool RomCom but it is quite different from your usual usual RomCom. I will explain why as I go on.

The setting is the usual -- Highschool, one boy, one girl, they fall in love. But you will see the difference right away from episode one as the characters are introduced to you. See, unlike a normal love story where the guy is always taller than the girl, here, the roles are reversed. The read more
Aug 3, 2014
flyingdolphin (All reviews)
Koizumi Risa. ‘Nuff said.

While she really is all the reason a person should need to go watch this show, I’ll explain what more makes this one of the most enjoyable romantic comedies I’ve seen.

When I sat down to watch (more like marathon) Lovely Complex, I really wasn’t expecting anything special; the beginning of the show even had me a tad worried as I could see it easily going in a clichéd direction. Thankfully, I was wrong (well, for the most part).

After witnessing the explosive chemistry between Koizumi and Ootani, before there was even a flicker of romance between the two, any suspicion of them read more
Feb 16, 2015
Garpachi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Every once in a while, you receive a recommendation from an anime you really enjoyed, and in the end wind up disappointed in the result. For those like me, this is one of those times.

Lovely★Complex is an anime that, by all means, I expected to enjoy. To start out, we're shown the main two characters of the story, Risa and Ootani. The two are seen as a comedy duo y their classmates and teacher, as the tall Risa and short Ootani commonly quarrel for all to see. Throughout the series, romance develops, but an unexpected outcome occurs.

Unfortunately, for Lovely★Complex, this development is not read more
Feb 25, 2016
PuruRuru (All reviews)
Lovely complex is mainly a romantic drama that takes itself quite seriously. The setting is that of a high school in which the main characters have to deal with typical adolescent issues mostly related to love: understanding and accepting their feelings and others', dealing with peer pressure, expressing their emotions, and becoming committed to their relationships. The comedic element is a second-class citizen, a natural byproduct of high schoolers not knowing how to express their feelings and how to react in more delicate situations.

The seriousness is pervasive from the first moment thanks to the character designs - high schoolers DO look like actual high schoolers: read more
Apr 8, 2015
RepThe21st (All reviews)
Disclaimer: Spoilers. Lots and lots of spoilers.

Lovely Complex Review:

The story centers around Atsushi Otani and Koizumi Risa, two classmates and good friends who are renowned around the school as 'All-Hanshin Kyojin" (or something like that) due to their constant arguing and bantering, and their circle of friends. Risa is tall for her age, while Otani is rather short for his. The show follows their last two years of high school, and ends with their foray into the world beyond it.

The animation is well, nothing to write home about. It's not bad and I've definitely seen a lot worse, but it's not up to the quality read more