Hayate no Gotoku!


Hayate the Combat Butler

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Hayate no Gotoku!
Japanese: ハヤテのごとく!
English: Hayate the Combat Butler
German: Hayate the Combat Butler!
Spanish: Hayate the Combat Butler!
French: Hayate the Combat Butler!
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 52
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 1, 2007 to Mar 30, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: SynergySP
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance
Themes: HaremHarem, ParodyParody
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.541 (scored by 8327583,275 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #15062
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #891
Members: 208,083
Favorites: 1,537

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 14, 2008
OtakuFreak (All reviews)
Here is an anime that's not like many others. Hayate the Combat Butler is a colaberation of all kinds of Anime thrown into one, in order to make fun of it of course. What I mean is that Hayate is one of those Animes that make fun of Anime in general. I first herd of this series when it came out as a manga and so I got the manga and read a few books. Now even more intrigued, I began my search of the animated version. To my surprise there it was and began to watch it with my good friend from campus, Edge. read more
Oct 23, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
Hayate no Gotoku (Hayate the Combat Butler) is a hilarious romantic comedy that is chuck-full of parodies and censorship. It follows the story of a very ordinary boy Hayate, who’s always been a noble person and forced to work most of his life. One day his parents left him with a huge dept to pay, to some very kind people (the Yakuza). Now that he’s lost all hope, Hayate attempts to kidnap a rich girl, Nagi but he ends up saving her from the “very kind people”. She returns the favour by allowing him to work as her butler, thus their adventure begins.

That’s basically the read more
Jul 29, 2009
Credulous (All reviews)
52 episodes? Yes.

Don't get me wrong now. There were some entertaining scenes and sometimes even episodes in Hayate the Combat Butler! It's just that, you know, there aren't enough. I can also say with a certainty I rarely feel regarding any anime that this was too long, way too long, for its own good. There are reasons of course. First of all; this anime is episodic, 52 episodes of episodic plots is too much. It will never be good, in any anime. I don't really have anything against episodic animes, but this genre, or these genres are perhaps not suitable as a base for a read more
Apr 26, 2008
Smithy (All reviews)
“Hayate No Gotoku!” was an enjoyable romantic comedy, with most of the emphasis on comedy, rife with hilarious situations, absurd humor, filled with references to other anime and culture elements. Most episodes were a great laugh and I enjoyed following the series, even though most of it is based on tried and proved humor and events.
I do like the fact that the series did not take itself too seriously and often not only made fun of other anime and manga, but also made fun of itself and its own absurdities as well, which showed in elements such as characters interacting with the narrator or seemingly read more
May 9, 2010
Wolfnagi (All reviews)
Hayate no Gotoku! This is just pretty much an anime not worthy of your time if you doesn't want to waste your time becoming fanatics to a few characters in this show.
Anyway,this show is a pure romance comedy which have attracted many people with its characters and comedy. It have its own kind of comedy unlike anything else including the non-existent fourth wall thanks to the fact that every characters destroy it almost every episodes.

Story: This show actually doesn't have a true storyline.Most of the episodes are fillers and some of them actually bend with the manga but that's the funny part of it.
The central read more
Aug 31, 2009
theaustincritic (All reviews)
Having recently gone from having an interest in animes to an obsession , I can safely say that this is the funniest product to ever come out of Japan. Hayate the Combat Butler, is the story of unlucky teenager Hayate Ayasaki,who after being sold to the Yakuza(Mafia) and inheriting a debt of 156,804,000 Yen, decides to kidnap a girl named Nagi Sanzenin. Unfortunately, the idiot(Hayate), botches up the plan, and due to poor empathy, makes Nagi believe that Hayate is in love with her. After saving her from another kidnapping plot, Hayate then becomes Nagi’s butler, where he must use all means necessary to protect read more
Mar 23, 2012
StrangePassage (All reviews)
I'm writing this review in order to help balance out the disproportionate number of positive reviews. I'm not doing it out of spite; having seen all of both the first and second seasons, I can definitely say that I was disappointed with how this series turned out. So, let this be fair warning so others do not make this mistake: Hayate no Gotoku is NOT a story-driven anime. While I began watching with some knowledge of this, the total absence of any plot whatsoever and any character development at all (I will say the second season provides a lot more development though) were incredibly frustrating read more
Jun 1, 2008
klemon_qhap (All reviews)
For all of those thinking of watching Hayate the Combat Butler let me just say that the comedy in this show focuses mainly on making parodies based on a variety of animes and mangas. So if this is the first time watching anime I would suggest that this would not be a very suitable anime to start on.

Story:
The main plot of Hayate is not very strong, but it does set up a good environment for a comedy to take place. Basically Hayate takes on the role of Nagi Sanzenin's butler in order to pay off the debts left behind from his parents. There is not read more
Jul 19, 2008
Jackimus (All reviews)
Hayate no Gotoku was by far the funniest anime i have ever seen! From episode 1 to episode 52 the wasnt a single moment where I wasn't either chuckling or laughing my head off.
Ayasaki Hayate is a normal kid, except, he is over 100 million Yen in debt. The story begins with him being sold to the mafia by his own debt ridden parents to ease their money problems. Hours upon hours of comedy ensues.
The story is like a bamboo tree - sure it goes direct and gets to the end but there are many twigs read more
Jul 29, 2011
Dc4Vp (All reviews)
What can we say about hayate no gotoku? Well, the first thing I can say with a large amount of confidence is that overall it's a pretty good anime, the comedy is usually pretty funny, and the action is fast-paced enough to keep it exciting, but not overbearing. By the same token, it's not great, it's comedy is not drop-dead hilarious, the action doesn't bring you to the edge of your seat, and it does not bring anything really ground-breaking to the anime industry. This anime does a great job of establishing a sense of normalcy, and does a great job with read more
Apr 26, 2013
0takuSharkGuy (All reviews)
For many years I had been recommended this show by a variety of friends and it looked very promising. A lot of comedy, some romance, and Queen Tsundere, Rie Kugimiya . Kugimiya also voiced other popular characters such as Louise in Zero no Tsukaima , Taiga in Toradora , and Shana in Shakugan no Shana (among with a variety of others). I personally have seen all of those except Shana and I'm a huge fan of her voice so this show was an easy pick with her playing the young, rich, spoiled, shut-in otaku tsundere Nagi.

But moving past characters let's actually talk about the show.

The read more
Sep 8, 2011
Pera (All reviews)
Anime is known to be weird and crazy. And this is one of those anime's, it's where nothing makes sense and where many different genres are thrown in one package. There is rarely any doll moment in this anime, and it keeps you entertained all through if it is romance-comedy or fighting big machine's and saving the girl.

All the characters are as solid as they come, you can't help but love everyone of the character's, who always find up some crazy schemes to torture Hayate or some other poor person. Or some other girl that misunderstands what Hayate says and sooner Hayate get's beaten up read more
Aug 25, 2012
Deathtoy25 (All reviews)
“A butler is one who serves. A butler is one who dedicates himself. A butler is the formal guardian who supports the days of their master.”Now whats so special about this quote? Well in Hayate no Gotoko (Hayate the Combat Butler) it forms the basis of the anime making it your perfect comedy anime filled with action, romance, laughs, gags, and of course...some fan service(but the fan service if very little). I can tell you that this is a comedy unlike any other. It is full of references to other anime and Japanese culture. If you are familiar to Japanese culture or enjoy watching anime read more
Feb 8, 2010
chingstah (All reviews)
so i watch this anime recently and it's cool yuo can enjoy while watching it.this anime includes : romance,harem(kinda),action(exaggeration),comedy

so the story goes on like this:
Hayate Ayasaki is an unlucky teenager who worked since childhood to make ends meet due to his parents' irresponsible behavior. One day he finds out that his parents were planning to sell his organs to the Yakuza to make money, leaving behind a massive gambling debt on his shoulders. While running away from the debt collectors, he ends up meeting Nagi Sanzen'in, a young girl who is the sole heir of the wealthy Sanzen'in estate, and due to a misunderstanding, Nagi read more
Jun 23, 2009
Kiru_im_Ufo (All reviews)
Story: (6)
After the prologue (read the Synopsis) you'll get a "slice of life, (love)-comedy , parody"-anime. There are so many references to other anime/manga in this show that you honestly could never understand each of them. Aside of that it tells about events spanning over more than a whole year, though there isn't really a big storyline holding everything together. Only characters will develop and change a bit.
At this point I should also mention that females easily outnumber males. This show could easily be seen as a harem... and well, it kinda is. (There are enough Girls, who seem to really like Hayate, the protagonist, read more
Nov 11, 2009
Saintly (All reviews)
I was a little apprehensive when I started a 52 episode-long anime, being mainly accustomed to watching 24 episodes and less. However, I'm glad I decided to delve into the world of Hayate, Nagi, Maria, and others.

The story is summarized very well in the details section, so if you want to find out specifics, check out that tab.
The story was very good. Its success can be attributed to the always present, comedy aspect of the series. Some might think anime comedy is a little "meh," but this definitely is an exception. I'm sure if you've watched the majority of the popular anime shows read more
Sep 28, 2009
Gleam_Queen (All reviews)
Hayate isn't too lucky.
He comes from a poor family who, despite bad finance, enjoy spending.
Hayate's parents leave him with their debts and dissapear.

Hayate rescues a little girl named Nagi, who happens to be rich.
As a repayment, Nagi pays off Hayate's debts, as a repayment to Nagi, Hayate becomes her butler.


This story started off flawless (first ep).
Good, easy to follow storyline.

However...

Looking forward to seeing a series full of adventures....

Oh no...

The series turns hareem, and a number of token bipolar anime girls show up (the female lead is one also).
No real character development.

Dispite it's flaws, it's a decent series that's worth the watch if you're into mild read more
Mar 14, 2009
mauricioso34 (All reviews)
This is one of the most funniest anime I have ever seen. One day when I was looking for anime, I didnt find one that I liked untill I found this. I watched the first episode and I just fell inlove with it. I could not even stop watching it untill it got late. So the People who like comedy, love, and wired this is the one for you and I hope that they make it into a very long series because I will be watching all the episodes they make.
Oct 7, 2009
Leyvon (All reviews)
Hayate the Combat Butler! is a very diffrent and fun anime, ive always disliked comedy and parody animes but this one changed my heart.
i Dont know how but for some reason i cant stop watch it or stop laughing. There are funny moments in almost every scene and they often dont disapoint you.((i maybe got bad humor)).

All i can say is if ur a guy that isnt much for comedy and parody anime then i think you should give this show a try becaus who knows it might change ur view and open up alot more anime shows for you.

Feb 8, 2014
Simonian (All reviews)
Ever since that fateful summer of 2008 when I got into regular anime watching, I've never stumbled upon something so confusing and nonsensical, yet entertaining as 'Hayate no Gotoku!'. This show features a male lead with the strength, agility and endurance that could make superman cower in fear. A white tiger that tries to violate said male lead on numerous occasions. A cast containing more tsunderes than I care to remember and comedy that constantly breaks the fourth wall and makes you check your download folder to see if you're watching the right anime. To top it off, this show parodies a whole truckload of read more