Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Wolf's Rain


Alternative Titles

English: Wolf's Rain
Synonyms: Wolf Rain
Japanese: ウルフズレイン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2003 to Jul 29, 2003
Premiered: Winter 2003
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 02:10 (JST)
Studios: Bones
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.881 (scored by 99,366 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7482
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #418
Members: 236,558
Favorites: 5,255

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 24, 2009
JesuOtaku_ (All reviews)
On the technical side of things, Wolf’s Rain’s animation is gorgeous. You can almost always count on Studio Bones to put out good work, but Wolf’s Rain has a particularly proficient pedigree. Fantastical backgrounds are detailed, varied and engrossing, character designs are distinct and very attractive, and the fights and chases are breathtaking.

The music was composed by Yoko Kanno, which means I might not have to say anymore, but I will. All her work is magnificent, but this may be some of her best. Insert songs and orchestration are beautiful as standalone but absolutely MAKE the emotional moments too. It’s a wonderful soundtrack to read more
Jul 8, 2008
Gin-iro (All reviews)
The new millennium has brought us many new anime titles. Most of which seem to involve a sad story, a sad main character, and an overall sad feel. Wolf's Rain may indeed fall into that category, but there are unique differences that make this series more complex than that.

Take first, the main character Kiba. He has a goal and he'll do anything to reach it. But he has two distinct sides to his character. One is his proud, rash, and arrogant self that attacks anything that stands in his way. And the other is a quiet, mysterious, and observing type that is expressed when meeting read more
Sep 25, 2013
Stryder (All reviews)
Wolf's Rain was, to say the least, and interesting, but not overly involving anime. Although I liked the concept, setting, sound and art direction, I could not find myself getting attatched to the characters or involved in the plot.

When I look back at it, I honestly believe that the characters just followed common stereotypes, and really didn't evolve throughout the plot. The supporting characters were able to garner a little interest from me, but the lead was dull and drab, and the only dialogue I can remember from him is "we have to get to paradise". A lead character is supposed to get a viewer read more
Jun 13, 2009
alex264 (All reviews)
Earth's decay has long provided anime with many disquieted plots over the past 30 years, but few have been more genuine than Keiko Nobumoto's "Wolf's Rain". Facing the long and dreary tundra before him, the mysterious canine protagonist, Kiba (meaning "Fang" in Japanese) reluctantly moves forward, being called to something he can only describe as paradise. The world has fallen in on itself, as humans have tarnished the earth and almost wiped out the wolf race. Kiba, along with a handful of his remaining kind have learned to blend to their environment, one day hoping to find salvation in the form of a read more
Oct 17, 2013
5camp (All reviews)
::Note:: This review includes the OVA. Those final 4 episodes were supposed to be included with the original TV airing run but had to be delayed because of a SARS outbreak in Japan at the time so they aired a few recaps. Note that this review ignores these recaps because it's fucking 2013 and if you watch recap episodes then it's your own bloody fault

Aaanyway

It used to be the case that if you wanted to start a fight in an anime clubroom, all you had to do was stand up and proclaim “Wolf’s Rain is pretentious” and watch the chaos unfold. Fandom has since moved read more
Nov 22, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
Wolf's Rain is a Shounen, Action, Adventure anime with something different about it. It is based on a post apocalyptic Earth that is slowly dying out, yet the main focus is on a pack of Wolves on their journey to paradise.

The show has a very promising start as it kicks off with plenty fast paced action in the first couple episodes and it's not even an issue that a lot of things are unexplained, like why the wolves are able to disguise as humans. Of course a lot is slowing explained throughout the series at a steady pace. Following the initial excitement of the series, read more
Aug 28, 2010
chilon (All reviews)
This anime revels in dreariness and repetition.

The contrived and cliched storyline is fed in drabs and threatens to turn into something good without ever realising this threat. After getting halfway through the show, it spends at least 3 episodes just repeating old material. Then when you get near the end, like a second punch in the face when you're down it has another 5 whole episodes of material repeated from previous episodes. And WHAT material! Repetitions of nothing much happening at all. Now I love movies and series where not much happen and where the enjoyment comes from the portrayal rather than a traditional climax read more
Nov 4, 2007
Yandere (All reviews)
When I first heard the name Wolf's Rain, I was like, hm, I wonder if it has wolves and when I found it that not only did it have wolves, but the main characters ARE WOLVES, I was so overjoyed, so I had to start watching it.

First thing, I hate to say it and be superficial, but I will - I love Kiba. When I first saw him, he moved my soul and my heart, he was so beautiful in both human form and wolf form, I loved him. I watched in English the first time and I even loved his voice, since Johnny is read more
May 9, 2010
IppoSRB (All reviews)
When you want to put a mark and your own opinion regarding show like this, you first need to think about every detail. Because in this anime, nothing is so obvious. There is always some hidden meaning.
This is the story about friendship, strong bonds between characters, that are yet to be formed, the tasks and dangers that they need to get through together. The love, the honor, the pride.
This is not the story about wolves. This is the story about humans. About US. We take everything for granted now. And in our lives, there will be the moment when those things we took for read more
Dec 3, 2013
redmoon_wolf (All reviews)
This is the show that turned me on to anime. This show means so much to me, and has seriously impacted my life and it took me several days after finishing the series to process all the symbolism. That's the thing about Wolf's Rain, it has an incredible amount of depth, metaphors, and symbolism.

STORY: Set in a distant future, the world is falling apart. Most humans don't seem to notice anything that's going on outside of the cities they live in. Just slowly working themselves into the ground, it appears. The end of the world is near. The plot of Wolf's Rain is amazing, and read more
Jul 25, 2010
Phoenix_xtreme (All reviews)
Preliminary
Superb animation ..
Beautiful music..
Interesting characters..

But unfortunately a plot which just couldn't capture my imagination.. or interest ..

The concept could have been done so much better.
Cuz it starts out well .. building up the basic plot elements.. but then eventually just ends up getting lost and confused..
The whole story with the nobles and all just ruined the series to the point of boredom for me..

Has its moments. Like, you really feel for the characters .. their pain and anguish..
So, in terms of characters and how flesh and bone they feel, you gotta give credit to the animators and voice-over artistes who brought the wolves read more
Apr 19, 2013
dublincore (All reviews)
*Note that for the purposes of this review and the rating I'm ignoring the existence of the 4 back-to-back recap episodes (15-18) and factoring in the four OVA episodes that bring the series to an actual conclusion. Also, expect some spoilers!*

I have a lot of problems with Wolf's Rain. More problems with it than any other anime on my top ten list. Yet it's also on my top ten list. How did this happen? Let's find out! :-D

Wolf's Rain is about four wolves, which in this post-apocalyptic future/past/alternate universe aren't your standard pack of wolves. They demonstrate great resistance to physical injury and possess remarkable read more
Oct 19, 2017
MurderofCrows13 (All reviews)
I'm actually surprised I got through this whole anime. I knew I hated it halfway through, but I also wanted to finish it to see if it would get any better somehow, or, at the very least, to be able to say I finished it.

Story - 2
I think the story starts off decently well. Initially, I liked the darker tone it seemed to be going for, and I was curious about the supernatural elements, as well as the overall setting the story takes place in. The anime proceeds, past the beginning episodes, to have episodes focused on side characters and random towns that have read more
Feb 19, 2015
brynolf (All reviews)
Well, this certainly was interesting. A pre-apocalyptic world with both gothpunk, fantasy and sci-fi elements. Could have been a total mess, but the mashup actually works. Much thanks to the great graphic design that makes the dying ashes of the world really believeable. The strong cast makes for a great pallet to paint up the core structure of the setting and the music brings the mood to even higher levels.

Sadly, while the world itself is a masterpiece, the story that takes place in it, is not. It is a tale of the Journey variety, and an unusually boring one at that. The cast moves read more
Jun 22, 2015
Seyfert (All reviews)
It does do everything it intended (*spoilers* throughout - this is more of an analysis of the aftermath)... it uses grey colours, but it's about a dystopia... it's about bleakness... there's ice caps all over, it's the end of the world. It's a kill-or-be-killed world... if there were any cheerful characters it would seem odd (this makes it more poignant, I think). I'd say that makes it an appropriate vehicle for both the visuals and characterizations.

For anyone who thinks Kiba's expressions are bland, or binary... what would one expect, if he was the sole survivor of his clan? The only white wolf... should he be read more
Jun 21, 2010
FOLC0N (All reviews)
Wolf rain; if you like carousels this is the anime for you. These wolfs will run on a 2d slant across amazing backs drops they will past mounts, grassy fields, snowy mountains, woods, volcanic mountains, oceans, city’s, deserts, rocks, snow, trees, forests, roads, LAZER BEAMS, spaceships, shops, relics, labourites, streets and many other locations.
Wolf rain is a lot like that sentence too long and only one eight interesting. I enjoyed wolf rain enough to watch all of it but I would not recommend this anime.
Dec 7, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
Have you ever watched a show that played with your heart so much that you actually cried when watching it? This is what happen to me when I watched Wolf’s Rain. Now before I get pegged for saying that it’s the best show ever, that is not the case. While I love most of the concepts and ideas, followed by music and characters, the show does have one or two downfalls that keep me from saying it’s the best. The story is very slow and almost always seems to go one step forward and two steps back in many different places, leaving you feeling like read more
Jul 2, 2011
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Before I begin I should say that this review will cover the 26 episode series and the four episode OVA. So just be aware of that fact. The reason I don't review them separately is because they only tell a complete story together.

Wolf's Rain has a fairly simple premise. Four wolves who can disguise themselves as humans in an apocalyptic future search for the flower maiden so that they can reach Paradise. It seems simple enough, but the story has a lot of layers. Throughout most of the series there are three or our sub-plots running at the same time and it isn't until the read more
Sep 10, 2016
daha (All reviews)
Preliminary
It starts out fairly good. Then enters Kiba, someone who eventually will make you want to punch the screen. He's extremely selfish, never says anything memorable, expects to be followed, and he's always aggressive and moody. It makes no sense that anyone in the universe would want to be around someone like that, but he manages to find numerous of fellow wolfs who are willing to give up their lives to follow him.

Because there are subplots with other characters on different missions, I was really hoping those moments would outbalance the annoying sight of Kiba. They didn't. Episode 19 got me closer than ever read more
Nov 24, 2014
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
It’s the distant future, and the Earth has been caught in an endless winter. Humanity has pressed on, as it is known to do, by building enclosed communities where they can keep the weather at just where they need it to be in order to eek out what little living they can, brazenly defying the worsening condition of the world around them. Theirs is a world on the brink of apocalypse, and according to an old legend, it’s heralds will not be humans themselves... But wolves. But didn’t wolves go extinct 200 years ago?

Well, no, they didn’t. They acquired the read more