Space☆Dandy


Space Dandy

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Space Dandy
Japanese: スペース☆ダンディ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 5, 2014 to Mar 27, 2014
Premiered: Winter 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Original
Genres: Sci-FiSci-Fi, SpaceSpace, ComedyComedy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.881 (scored by 107688107,688 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #6862
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #520
Members: 255,075
Favorites: 4,140
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 30, 2014
Veronin (All reviews)
For all the uninspired rubbish that each season seems to be permeated by, Space Dandy represents a glimmer of hope. It may not have a great story or well-developed characters, and while the excessive fanservice can feel a bit immature, it is one of very few anime that dare to be different from the usual harem or action series. It also happens to be a whole load of fun... provided you don't mind seeing T&A every sixty seconds.

Space Dandy is perhaps most recognisable for being Shinichiro Watanabe's most recent project. There is a noticeable Cowboy Bebop influence here, but at the same time it read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
You don’t understand how badly I want to like Space Dandy. The fantastic visuals, Dandy as a character, some of the great ideas that go into the episodes…there’s so much going on that could make for great entertainment…

But instead, Space Dandy has one good episode and is mired by tons of flat humor, a whole load of boring to bad episodes, and overusing Boobies as a humor device.

Pros
1.) Great Animation and Soundtrack- Seriously, Space Dandy looks sexy as hell. From the retro character designs to the whacky aliens to the trippy worlds, Space Dandy is a great acid trip. Many episodes have a unique read more
Mar 27, 2014
theshinyone (All reviews)
Space Dandy has been described as a sort of testing ground for directors - a large number of different directors, most of whom are accomplished, have been called in to create their own episodes utilizing the flexible setting of the show, resulting in Space Dandy being the most creative show I have seen at its peaks. Unfourtunately, in every experiment there is bound to be a few failures, and this is undoubtedly not a very consistent series.

Being a very experimental anime, each episode (this is an episodic anime in case you weren't clear) is unique and quirky, but each and every one of them have read more
Feb 23, 2014
TRSyntax (All reviews)
Preliminary
so if you liked cowboy bebop and outlaw star and where thinking here is another good space bounty hunter / outlaw series. you are sooo mistaken. i at least expected this to be somewhat funny but the humor in this morning crap stench is not even mediocre when compared to all the other sorts of turd humor i've ever seen in mangas / animes.

story:
the story is pathetic. there is no goal in the series at all as of now. there is one simple plot about a gorilla thats trying to catch up with dandy in each episode for reasons i don't know. and that seems read more
Mar 30, 2014
DirtyDan (All reviews)
I remember when I reached the end of the 3rd episode of Space Dandy. I was fairly pleased with the show. It was the kind of enjoyable humor that you can sit back, watch and turn your brain off for a half hour as you watch the antics of Space Dandy and his brave space crew...in space.

Once I watched the 4th episode "Sometime you can't live with dying, baby" that I knew I was in for something different. A majority of the episode was about the crew after they became zombies and the story was progressed via narration. While it wasn't the same goofy humor read more
Mar 21, 2020
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
Space Dandy is a dandy in space.

He is a galaxy-wide alien hunter.

On a journey of adventure to new worlds, he searches for unknown extraterrestrials.

This anime is the spectacular tales of these alien hunters.

Space Dandy is one of those weird anime out there where you'd get confused from watching it but still find it fun nevertheless. Space Dandy doesn't have a story. Every episode is a different tale of the alien hunters. They do not connect. They don't make sense. And of course, it's confusing. But do they really matter so long as it's fun?

Honestly I don't know what to write for read more
Mar 28, 2014
raritydash (All reviews)
Cowboy Bebop was a very important series for me as an anime fan. When it first appeared on American television with the birth of Cartoon Network's Adult Swim programming block I quickly fell in love. I had enjoyed a number of anime prior to that, but it really did prove to me how evocative and thoroughly entertaining the medium could be. I'd generally credit it with being the singular show that lead me to wanting to seek out other anime on my own in hopes of finding shows just as good or better than it--something I've only successfully done a handful of times even now. read more
Mar 29, 2014
Str_ta (All reviews)
(With minimal spoilers!)

I had the fun of watching Space Dandy, it was something definitely worthwhile to watch in many ways. It was to say the least... distinct. It felt very fresh to watch something so diverse and… silly. I guess(?), that would be the best way to describe the tone of this show. It doesn’t really to take itself too seriously, while at the same time I still looked forward to seeing this show every Saturday night. I feel- I know you will enjoy this show for the same reasons I did.

Story – 8
The story of space dandy is not in any way complex or read more
Mar 30, 2014
vigorousjammer (All reviews)
Space Dandy was a show I was very excited for, from the very first preview I saw. Being headed by director Shinichiro Watanabe, who I've been a fan of for a long time, I naturally came into it with high expectations. The show didn't meet those expectations, for a few reasons, yet... the entire thing still manages to be very enjoyable, and even beautiful at times.

I watched the 5.1 English Dub, and it sounded great. I liked the choice of sound effects, and the audio mix ended up being very nicely done. The soundtrack has some great songs in it, all of which fit the read more
Aug 25, 2016
bmoore07 (All reviews)
Have you ever done something special in your life? Perhaps it was something small and trivial like spinning a basketball on your fingertip or getting a Helpful vote for a review on this site. Maybe it was something that you will forever remember, like winning a video game tournament or having sex for the first time. Whatever the case, if you had done something special, did you try to re-create the magic, to reach those dizzying heights once more? Most people ho manage to do something extraordinary attempt doing it again and they either fail or end up settling for a vague imitation of what read more
Aug 3, 2014
neotokyoera (All reviews)
First off, I wanna say I love Shinichiro Watanabe's work. Space Dandy is just another work of art. Space Dandy doesn't really have a direction (well so far even though it been 18 episodes). But honestly I don't think anybody really cares where its going. It's just a fun anime to watch. I like to watch it because of the art direction in each episode. No two episodes are the same and I really enjoy that. You honestly can never expect what adventures Dandy, Meow, and QT are going to run into next. The music is great like in almost all Shinichiro Watanabe animes. But read more
Mar 30, 2014
HelghastKillzone (All reviews)
The Space Dandy anime is an anime with Dandy in space.

Coming from Shinichiro Watanabe, the director of Cowboy Bebop and Samurai Champloo, and animated by Studio Bones, Space Dandy is easily one of the most high profile show to air in the Winter 2014 season. It takes in space and follows three alien hunters on the spaceship, the Aloha Oe, as they get caught up in various antics.

Setting itself apart from most shows, which have an overarching plot, Space Dandy takes a different approach to its narrative. Watanabe sets up the core foundations of the three main characters and lets the read more
May 22, 2015
TheSlyDaxter (All reviews)
For me at least, it’s rather hard to find a anime comedy that isn't a romantic comedy or full of referential humor I likely won’t get. So seeing stuff like Space Dandy is truly a breath of fresh air, even if it's more in the vein of a western cartoon (though this show is much better than some of the stuff you’ll see in Adult Swim).

Story and Characters (6/10):

Space Dandy is a rather odd one to review. Being a bit similar to western cartoons in that there is no continuity whatsoever, this can lead to some comedy gold though at the same time lead to read more
Jul 4, 2014
Bear1211 (All reviews)
Stylistically sound and surprisingly fresh, "Space Dandy" is by no means a masterpiece, but then again I don't think it tried to be. Watanabe, Shinichiro is a man with a solid vision for his works, and you can tell. From "Cowboy Bebop" to "Samurai Champloo" Watanabe has forged a very recognizable rhythm that each of his tales match too. Whether it be jazz or Hip Hop, Watanabe has an unmatched "swagger" no matter what direction he takes. So if I were to try to describe what path "Space Dandy" took, well, lets just say it was groovy. Oh baby was it groovy.

Story: 7/10

This read more
Oct 16, 2020
thestarsailor (All reviews)
I have long Google Docs that have these bullet point lists of media that seem interesting to me and I want to mark down and come back to it later. A backlog of stuff to consume really, and they're broken down by media from movies to books to TV shows which include an anime section. The TV shows doc is one of the shortest and I have quite a bit of anime on there, but it does not have a crazy amount that would take a decade of dedicated effort to get through.

And yet, on a relatively short list in a relatively short section, Space read more
Mar 4, 2016
Tettsui (All reviews)
If you're looking for an anime similar to Cowboy Bebop, look elsewhere or you'll be sorely disappointed. Space Dandy is an anime not meant to be taken seriously. You shouldn't expect much of it when it comes to a plot, because there really isn't much of one outside the general idea of an alien hunter named Dandy.

What you can expect from this anime is amazing art, thanks to many different directors, likable characters, plenty of (somewhat immature) humor, and great music to tie it all together. Every episode offers something new and exciting to keep you entertained and interested throughout the entire season.
Apr 13, 2019
Assthete (All reviews)
Mixed feelings. I deeply enjoyed the sakuga sequences, Meow's character, and various scenes and designs scattered throughout. However, for a fun pastime Dandy can come across as lukewarm depending on how tolerant of wasted potential you are. Not saying it doesn't take its concepts somewhere, but more like the canvas is so big it begs for things to transcend what one would expect. While the show does have its fair share of surprising twists, it mostly plays out like a Watanabe series, filled with predictable jokes and perfunctory resolutions. Its carefree nature excuses most of its underthinking, but just the thought that it could be read more
Jan 12, 2015
TheAzureSky (All reviews)
An outrageously fun, hilarious sci-fi with a lovable crew and their bizarre space adventures.

★★★★

(This review covers both seasons.)

Space Dandy was the most fun anime I’ve seen in a long, long time. It’s been a while since I’ve been so motivated to marathon a show. I finished the 26 episodes in 3 days. It’s hilarious, always leaving me with a smile. The characters are very charming and loveable. The plots are absurd and over-the-top, but even through the silliness it manages to settle down sometimes to make you feel at peace, even melancholy and lonely.

I’ve said before, but entertainment—no matter what form—whether it’s anime or read more
Jun 27, 2019
Merk420 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Whats cooler then a space bounty? well everything in this anime. The anime was really slow, there was'nt any appalling characters I mean theres Dandy jacket I thought was cool but even that was basic. The music and the visuals are amazing, music was very smooth and the visuals were very colorful and bright. You might really like this anime if you like tiddy or booty since theres a decent amount of that in here. One of the only episodes I enjoyed was the one with zombies in it (wont go in to detail cause spoilers) other then that they were bad. this anime is read more
Sep 14, 2014
Agil-san (All reviews)
Have you ever sat down outside and looked up at the stars and wondered just how far the universe really goes? You see theories of black holes and other various space related things that seem nearly impossible. What are the limits of space?

Space Dandy is an anime that does an extremely good job of showing you exactly what the universe is capable of, or could be capable of. Each episode is separate from each other as in they don't tie together to bring a full complete story, yet as surprising as this is I call Space Dandy a Masterpiece.

Each episode is filled with various things, read more