Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann


Alternative Titles

English: Gurren Lagann
Synonyms: Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann, Making Break-Through Gurren Lagann, Heavenly Breakthrough Gurren Lagann, TTGL
Japanese: 天元突破グレンラガン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 27
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 1, 2007 to Sep 30, 2007
Premiered: Spring 2007
Broadcast: Sundays at 08:30 (JST)
Studios: Gainax
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.771 (scored by 353,707 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #21
Members: 603,677
Favorites: 41,321

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 27, 2012
FrancAguiar (All reviews)
There was a time.
When men were men. They were screaming like crazy speeches, faced the impossible, and said things that made no sense, but that even so we did say "EPIC".
There was a time.
A time of captains Harlock, a master time Asia, a time of Domons.
Logic was not important. The strategy was not important. If you believe in the impossible, impossible would be nothing in front of you.

The time is gone
A wave of animes that have to be "realistic", "philosophical", "adults" around us. Are good? Are. Meet your purpose? Meet.
However, however ... I miss something.
Characters idiots who laugh in the face of death, and not read more
Oct 3, 2007
Washi (All reviews)
Only on the rarest of occasions does an anime come along that truly grabs me and elevates itself above mere entertainment and into the realms of gripping television. Gurren Lagann did this with frightening ease, not with complexity or depth of its storyline, nor with its technical excellence, or innovation, but with its boldness, energy, sense of humour, and heart. Some people may be put off with the degree of silliness the show never ceases to deliver, or at least be deterred from becoming deeply invested in the plot or its characters, but being the sucker for just this kind of shameless splendour and over-the-top read more
Sep 6, 2013
IAmSovereign (All reviews)
The show that turns boys into men.

Gurren Lagann was breathtaking. An endlessly thrilling ride from the most humble beginnings to the most fantastic of ends. Absolutely inspiring and a must-watch. There are so many memorable moments in this series, and lines and ideas that it imprints into your very soul.

I will admit this is one of the first anime I had ever watched, except Miyazaki films. And its ridiculousness shocked me as a newcomer. Even so, I was enraptured, drawn by the infectious energy and the constant adrenaline rush from this show.

Because it was unique. It was so very unique.

Tengen Toppa, while read more
Sep 1, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
Perhaps no other show I have viewed have I gone into with higher expectations and hype than with Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann. Practically everyone I know has told me about how awesome it is, how its epic ending is the best thing since the invention of the internal combustion engine. Looking back I suppose that made it inevitable for me to be let down and disappointed.

A message to the rabid fanboys probably is in order. If you are incapable of accepting anyone’s opinion that differs from your own then you might as well stop reading this right now. What follows is read more
Jun 19, 2008
slpless (All reviews)
Gainax is easily one of the most well known anime studio, especially with titles like, Neon Genesis Evangelion, KareKano, and Wings of Honneamise. However, as of late many fans claim that the quality of Gainax has dropped down significantly and that their golden age is over, well that was until Gurren Lagann. Without a doubt Gurren Lagann took both Japanese and western fandom by storm. This coupled with the fact that there was very little hype before hand thus, making the extreme popularity even more impressive. For me what was more impressive was the fact that people that normally don’t like read more
Apr 12, 2009
Mikiyo (All reviews)
"The story of a man who fights to forge his own destiny."

Pretty much we can resume those words onto this story. To be honest i would have never thought that i would enjoy a show where you can find excesive and overadrenaline fights. Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann called my atention just because of the very commotion of being such a overrated anime, or people calling it trash. Turned out that i was wrong to think that this anime would be a waste.

From unexpected shouts of wars to supergalactic fights that our imagination never would manage to have, we have Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann, a plot read more
Oct 30, 2014
JediMindTricks (All reviews)
Your review is the review that will pierce the public opinion!

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann is an over the top, in your face show that is fast paced, fun, and almost nonsensical at times. The opinion on this show is split right down the middle. Many people love it to death, while others go as far as to say that it is a non-functioning piece of garbage. My rating may seem too harsh to those aforementioned diehard fans, but there is reasoning behind it. This is mainly because I found the first "half" to be uniquely crazy and exciting. However, I felt that the final eleven read more
Jul 4, 2008
theeggman85 (All reviews)
I just finished watching TTGL about a few days ago, and let me tell you all, this anime isn't rated #1 for nothing.

Now because there are already reviews that I couldn't hope to outwrite already posted on this page, let's assume that I agree with all of the positive ones. What I hope to do is give an image of what to expect by addressing some of the negative comments about the anime.

First off, some people say "This anime is way too cliche, it doesnt work for me cause theres nothing new". This is completely understandable, because usually the cliche can breach the lines of read more
Jun 5, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
I was basically forced into watching TTGL by my brother, and I'm ever so grateful because I, like many others, had not experienced true epicness until I saw this series.

STORY - The story for Gurren Lagann seems very modest at first glance. That's very misleading though, as it eventually becomes quite grand and all-encompassing. Simon and Kamina just wanted to break out of the underground and see what was on the surface, but they got so much more than that... It's amazing to me just how far the story goes between episode 1 and episode 27 (is it 27 episodes because it was just way read more
Sep 19, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
"Who the hell do you think I am?!"

A now famous quote that is Kamina's battle cry, Simon's battle cry, and arguably the show's battle cry. Gurren Lagann is a show that screams this in every way, shattering all limitations placed upon the constraints of its world. In doing so, it becomes what is arguably the most epic anime on the map today, in every sense of the word.

Gurren Lagann is an epic story, because the narrative actually is the layout of classic epic poetry. A vast limitless setting to journey across, passionate speeches, and heroes that embody the hopes and dreams of entire civilizations. It read more
Mar 8, 2008
UserZero (All reviews)
First of all, I'd like to point out that I do not normally watch anime about mecha. That being said, I found Gurren Lagann to be a fresh look at the genre, and one that was quite entertaining as well. Unfortunately, I do think the show has been slightly overrated (being ranked #1 on this site at the time of writing) and for this reason my expectations upon starting Gurren Lagann were somewhat higher than they should have been. I'd have probably enjoyed the show more if I'd gone in with my usual attitude toward anime of this genre and been pleasantly surprised rather than read more
Jan 11, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann is a fast paced, no-holds-barred Shounen, Sci-fi, Mecha, Adventure anime that takes many of the elements that worked well, to form something that is bursting with entertainment. ^_^

The story revolves around humanity’s struggle against enemies known as the “beastmen” who use mecha to annihilate all the humans on the surface. The story is really simple, with no need for complications as it follows several people (including Simon, Kamina, Yoko, etc.) who stand up and fight. As the story goes, the people get stronger and their numbers grow larger and even after some major turning-points it never loses its focus. Nonetheless the read more
Dec 8, 2015
purplepinapples (All reviews)
SPOILER WARNING
This review will contain spoilers.

Since the narrative and all in all the goals of the story differ so much before and after Episode 16, I'll be analyzing the 2 'parts' separately and then together.

Animation (applies to show as a whole) - I enjoyed the animation quite a bit. The changing styles to a more gritty pencil style at points, character designs were all unique, the fights were all well animated.

Sound (applies to the show as a whole) - The OP, ED's and OST were all good, especially the OP. Voice acting in both the Subbed and Dubbed were good as well.

Episodes 1-15

To be perfectly read more
Sep 16, 2008
holdenn (All reviews)
When I hear about a company making a mecha anime, there are only two things that spring to mind: either they are brilliant, or they are goddamn blind and living under a rock. Thankfully for fans of anime worldwide, the boys and gals at Gainax are neither blind, nor living under a rock. The simple fact is that Gainax has proven one universal truth: no matter how saturated the genre may appear at any given time, there is always room for improvement. All you need is a robot with two heads, arguably the most elusive quality in a mecha.

In many ways, TTGL represents the true read more
Sep 30, 2007
yjfatal (All reviews)
Every once in a while a series comes along that, for lack of a better word, owns the competition. Ladies and gentlemen that series is Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann, do not let the lengthy name intimidate you or the seemingly cartoonish style put you off because this show is worth it and you'd sorely regret not experiencing this gem of a series. In a world where the majority considers mediocre shows such as Naruto to be masterpieces, we often overlook shows that so sorely deserve our attention and they end up just passing us by. I'm writing this review in hopes it will divert read more
Aug 25, 2009
naraku361 (All reviews)
I didn't like Gurren Lagann. Really, there was nothing special about this show. At all. Seriously, it wasn't that good.

Now, my main peeve with Gurren Lagann is it's inability to decide what it wants to be. It stuffs as many genres as it can, rather sloppily, into a tiny package with little-to-no substance. So, in my quest to figure out the appeal, I found myself questioning various fans, who, as a whole, appear to have the same difficulty as the show.
"So, what's the appeal? I found it to be, among, the least enjoyable shows I've seen. What made such a stupid show so popular?" I read more
Oct 12, 2008
jgodby1 (All reviews)
When reading some of the reviews for Gurren Lagann, I realized very quickly that a lot of people are transposing their enjoyment of the series onto their opinion of its story and characterization quality.

This is a mistake.

While Gurren Lagann is a fun, entertaining anime with many over-the-top, wow-factor moments, it doesn't do anything that hasn't been done before in one form or another. The overall message of believing in oneself and that "Ganbarre yo!" atmosphere is a major factor in the enjoyment of the show. The opening theme is great, the animation, apart from one episode near the beginning of the series, is mostly spot-on, read more
Feb 25, 2011
trzr23 (All reviews)

The thing about having high expectations is that you do your best to enjoy the show even before you press play. And once you’ve finished watching, you either feel satisfied that this series truly lived up to the hype and something you too would recommend to others or, more than often, you wind up sitting down, watching the credits roll and wondering why you were looking forward to this wishy-washy stuff in the first place.

In 2007, Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann pierced its drill not just into the heavens, but also into the hearts of millions of fans across the globe. It is probably one read more
Dec 10, 2009
KaminaKai (All reviews)
“Pierce the heavens, Gurren Lagann!”

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann is one of the most watched, most rated, most talked about anime series on MAL. Have you ever considered whether you should give this show a try? Just why do people keep calling it “epicness”? If you are curious enough to look up this show but is undecided (or unsure) if it will turn out being a complete waste of time for you, then look no further! You have found the missing piece to your puzzle.

Imagine. Life in underground caves where the sky is blocked off by thick layers of dirt, where no trees can ever grow, read more
Jan 8, 2010
META_BODY (All reviews)
Born deep in the dirt, surrounded and made captive by earth above and below, where can a person go from there? There are three options: you do nothing and lay there until you die, you dig lower and strive to find yourself in the filth and darkness and loneliness, or you cast it all aside and reach for the sky you know exists. Certainly, the latter is the most difficult path to choose and it's not likely to just fall into your lap—but let's say it does just that, in the form of a device that will empower your very desire to explode read more