Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahou Sensou


Alternative Titles

English: Magical Warfare
Synonyms: Mahosen
Japanese: 魔法戦争

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2014 to Mar 28, 2014
Premiered: Winter 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Light novel
Genres: Action, Fantasy, Magic
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.181 (scored by 61,734 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #66382
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #568
Members: 127,860
Favorites: 230

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 28, 2014
kindergraph (All reviews)
A cool thing about the internet is that it has allowed everyone to become a content creator. While access to mass media and print publication was once closed off to all but society’s most privileged, we now live in an age where anyone with an Internet connection has access to an audience of literally millions. This seems like a weird way to open a review for a show that was broadcast on four different Japanese TV channels, licensed by Sentai Filmworks for a North American Blu-Ray release, based on an ongoing series of light novels with 8 volumes in print as of this writing as read more
Apr 11, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching Mahou Sensou (Magical Warfare) is like finding out you just got arrested for something you didn’t even do and get put for jail for it. Confusion is the first word that will come to mind but then comes the anger phase and regret. The term ‘regret’ isn’t for feeling sorry for yourself but rather as how could a show with a tolerable premise can sink to a defiled piece of work. Not that expectations were high coming into this show but Mahou Sensou is an excuse of a damnation.

Mahou Sensou translates to Magical Warfare. As the name implies, the series adapts magical themes read more
Jul 15, 2014
Kynov (All reviews)
The phrase of "Dont judge book by its covers" is really true. When we all seeing the short explanation by this anime, we're gonna imagining something great, magnificent, epic battles and stunning art. But in the end it was all just an illusion. Illusion that been made by this anime, summary we're being deceived.

Mahou Sensou or Magical Warfare is anime that technically is about action and magic like the genre has said and thats it. If we're talking about plot, it hasnt. Well, at the first you would introduce that the world has two side world, first it was human world and the other one read more
Dec 16, 2014
macklez (All reviews)
The magical warfare. Where to begin? Its an epic tale of conflict with shounen ideals and stride. Its an enthralling tale that captivates the hearts of casual watchers like myself. And did it? No.

- Story -
When it comes to having a plot, the anime nails it for having a premise. But is there an actual plot? Not particularly. The first half of the anime is devoted to introducing the protagonists and hinting that Takkeshi might just be a super powerful magician by the end. The second half kept me on the edge of my seat because, well, it was so rushed that even read more
Apr 13, 2014
Smoku (All reviews)
I have been summoned here by my very own rage. Sheer amount of anger at this single series has led me to write a review.
I chose to watch this show randomly as it started getting released at the winter 2013/2014 anime season and, God my witness, I chose wrong. I really did chose wrong.


The story revokes around random looking and acting characters in a somehow magical world. Nothing is really explained properly, nothing really adds up. No sense AT ALL. The story is not the slightest enjoyable for the viewer to see, it's full of random time skips, lack of explanations and a plethora of read more
Jul 19, 2014
FandorSoul (All reviews)
Before this show came out I was fairly excited for it, despite the premise being nothing I haven’t seen before. But as it was airing, I realized what an absolute train wreck it turned out to be. There are very few good points to this anime; each second is wracked with cringe worthy cliché moments. The characters are absolutely awful, and the plot is so bad I was struggling to stay awake throughout the entire thing.

Story: 3
The story seems cool at first, magic high school, awesome weapons and fights, etc, but the way it was executed can only be described as terrible. The plot is read more
Aug 5, 2014
dark_cookie (All reviews)
Okay..where do I start. This is an anime done by Madhouse, so my expectations were quite high, since I've seen most of their other works, but oh God was I dissapointed.

Story: 3 (poor)
First of all I think that this is my major problem with the anime. For starters the whole magical stuff is quite chiche, but that is not my real problem here. The real issue is that the plotline is really quite predictable and it lacks development.
Overall the story is predictable and full of cliches used all over the place.

Art: 5 (mediocre)
The art for the anime is quite good, as expected of Madhouse, read more
Mar 28, 2014
lilac677 (All reviews)
When I first saw the synopsis for this series, I was extremely excited for it. Unfortunately, my expectations for this series was not met and it left me thinking that this series was a pure waste of my time.

For one thing, the pacing, in my opinion, is just terrible. The series will have an episode with a battle, then an episode with an explanation. All the explaining is extremely annoying. Sure, I like knowing what is going on, but usually the explanations have nothing to do with whatever event is occurring at the moment, and it will still leave me several unanswered questions as to read more
Jun 11, 2014
chidoristream506 (All reviews)
Mahou Sensou was overall the complete definition of a disaster. Starting the anime, I was completely hooked and found it very interesting but the last half is what destroyed it. Parts of the anime skipped from one area to another and plot developement was sacrificed in the process. The characters, to me, werent bad and were fairly well thought out though some were unoriginal the main characters seemed decent. The characters and the storyline the plot attempted at were ultimately the strongest assets of the show. Lastly, the final episodes were utterly haywire. A new scene is produced the is not at all explained read more
Apr 10, 2014
BlackLynx95 (All reviews)
Just finished Magical Warfare (Mahou Sensou) and now I'm here to warn you all of the complete waste of time it was to watch. Out of all of the anime that I watch I hardly ever find one that I just didn't like. Well.. I guess there is a first time for everything.

Story: At the start you think you're going into an anime with great concepts and characters that will leave your jaws on the floor and cosplays to be made. WRONG!! The story's pacing seemed as though it was on a good track the first 3 episodes but the more you watched read more
Mar 27, 2014
ShionxChan (All reviews)
As I said in my Strike The Blood review, I do not write many reviews for anime so bare with me as I write something for this one. Honestly, I don't see why this anime is getting so many bad reviews its not as bad as people are making it out to be but of course that is my opinion alone. Now onto the review: I found this setting sort of unique from most animes and for the fact this anime wasn't a harem was a major plus, let alone there wasn't much fan service. It kept serious, and stuck with the plot which I read more
Aug 5, 2014
Fantasys (All reviews)
Writing this review because I watched this piece of crap anime while it was airing but was to dam lazy to make a review. This was one of the worst animes I have watched it was just as bad as watching Kanokon. I literally felt slower than the characters in the series. Watching this anime made me feel like I was killing brain cells luckily I survived.

First off I give the story a 3
It has some potential to be good but it was executed pretty badly and rushed.
I didn't like the reason why there was a war because of 1 person I thought that read more
Mar 1, 2015
Dai_Kina (All reviews)
Well ,I'll be totally honest about this anime ,it's one of the biggest deception I had in my otaku life.Why? Is it the story? The characters? The art? No, no and no.Actually all of those point are good ,really.

I know it's bad to spoil in review ,so if you really want to see that anime don't read me.But if you're hesitant please read me because I have to warn you about one thing.

Story : Okay ,I'll admit it ,the story is a cliche.The plot sound different but you'll find all the elements for making a classical shonen.Magic war ,a stupid MC which a big heart read more
Sep 16, 2014
llama612 (All reviews)
I watched this anime after seeing a couple scenes in a youtube clip. It looked interesting so I watched it. Here are some of the pros of the show

1. It had some interesting characters.

2. The magic in it is cool and there were so pretty decent fight scenes.

3. Near the end of the show the story got pretty interesting.

Now here are the cons.

1. The interesting characters aren't the main characters. The side characters in this show are more interesting and awesome than the main characters. The main characters are pretty dull and boring, and only one of them becomes semi interesting near read more
Mar 28, 2014
Zerviscos (All reviews)
I don't even know where to begin...or maybe I do?

"Don't judge a book by it's cover.", comes into play here. You'd think the girl in the front cover, and title would get you all hype about "what wonders lies within this amazing looking light novel."? Or the fact that the PV/Trailer video about the anime was downright attractive. Well let's start with how I first knew the series.

I first knew about Mahō Sensō(Magical Warfare) back in around 2012 IIRC. I was looking for Visual Novels and/or Mangas similar to Shakugan No Shana, because it was been a while since I read a series that involves read more
Nov 25, 2014
Wh8ever (All reviews)
I've already written up a review on this anime. You can check it out on my blog, to get a full review on it *it does contain spoilers*.

But to keep it short. This anime starts off pretty well. A solid start, nothing wrong with that right?. But under closer inspection, this anime flaws are pretty evident. And it harms it a lot.

Characters:

Takeshi is your most generic male character. Nothing outstanding about him. You can forget about Ida, that guy supposed to be one of the lead characters and he is off screen and forgotten about for the most part. Not only read more
Mar 7, 2014
jbeat (All reviews)
Writing this review to try to save as much people from watching this piece of garbage!! I'll try to keep it short.

Main adjectives to describe this anime: SHALLOW, MEDIOCRE, LAME, WEAK, CONFUSING.

The story basically has no strong foundation to hold it. It has this main plot/premise but has major problems executing it to its potential. When you read synopsis (wont write it since it's in the main page already), sounds interesting enough. But as you watch the episodes, the pacing is way to off (some episodes are slow and some, too fast) and lacks a straightforward direction. The ending was extremely rush that read more
Sep 16, 2014
napoli_fiore (All reviews)
Mahou Sensou or Magical Wars really does have a good premise. For those who are interested in fantastical settings with some sort of ongoing war, (obviously just from the title), then this a good show to sit through.

Or so I thought.

Yes, I enjoy fantastical settings and I didn't put much expectation into this series while I was beginning to watch it. I was just looking for a show to watch before the fall anime season begins.

Anyhow, to be fair, this is adapted from an ongoing light novel series, which would explain the choppy storytelling. There are a few gems with this types of light read more
Jul 26, 2014
invalidcharacter (All reviews)
This show is such a train wreck it's not worth a full review. Here's a shortened version for your convenience (and mine):

Story: 0/10

How can someone rate 0 on a story? Well, it's simple: the whole show is a buildup for season two, and explains about fuckall. A few minor characters get some background exposure, but even that is poorly executed and overall uninteresting. The end is an absolute mess. The character development is so absent it often times feels like characters are going backwards in development, getting tricked several times in a row by the same lies and tactics.

It's worth 0 simply because it is read more
Apr 2, 2014
masterofthebaits (All reviews)
Mahou Sensou (Magic Warfare) Is one of those animes that has a lot of potential but also poorly executed. The plot and idea isn't bad but when you put a bunch of generic characters with less then nothing in character development. its a recipe for disaster If it had 24 episode it might have been better, but who knows.

Story: I think the idea and plot is good, magic academy training students to fight evil, brother rivalries, and untold secrets. However they rushed everything within 12 episodes. Which caused it to end up not being really good because it brought in more plot read more