Kyousou Giga (TV)


Kyousougiga

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Kyousogiga (TV)
Japanese: 京騒戯画
English: Kyousougiga
German: Kyousougiga
Spanish: Kyousougiga
French: Kyousougiga
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 10, 2013 to Dec 19, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Discotek Media
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, FantasyFantasy, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.741 (scored by 4894048,940 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #10172
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1125
Members: 171,090
Favorites: 1,856

External Links


Streaming Platforms

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 2, 2014
Stellio (All reviews)
A journey into Kyousou Giga is an experience like no other. It is perhaps, out of all things, most analogous to wandering in a circus, stumbling upon the Hall of Mirrors, and coming back having witnessed a sensational light show. In other words, Kyousou Giga is a show that stands out for its use of exuberant visuals; it displays a charm that is unique and impressive.

However, looks can often be deceiving, and thankfully, this is not the case for Kyousou Giga. Admittedly, the beginning seems bizarre; lots of random, unrelated events occur spontaneously. Nonetheless, a darker narrative, which Kyousou Giga skillfully weaves with read more
Dec 20, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
A dream is like an imagination. Sometimes they feel so real but other times they fade away like illusions where you’ll never be able to reach it again. But dreams sometimes can be larger than life and when we wake up, we may feel surprised. Kyousou Giga is one of those series that surprised me quite a bit despite feeling like living in a dream. It has a sense of uniqueness and style that will lure you in as if you’re in a dream world but everything feels so real.

Kyousou Giga is an animated series that is an expanded adaptation based on the ONA of read more
Dec 20, 2013
xplosive59 (All reviews)
Every once in a while, there is a show that reminds you why you love the medium in the first place. May it be through the narrative completely enthralling you, the story resonating with personal events or just because it strikes a chord and makes you emotionally invested in what is going to happen. Kyousougiga is that show, and to me it is something that you can only really find in this medium.

One of the first things to notice about Kyousougiga is that this is not the first Kyousougiga anime. The original was released in 2011 and was a 1 episode long ONA produced by read more
Jul 14, 2014
pakoko (All reviews)
Kyousougiga is like a book you randomly stumble upon that you end up reading until you finish it in one-go. Amidst the wide array of classics, bestsellers, and other popular books, Kyousougiga as a book would stand out quietly, waiting to be discovered. And for those who do eventually discover it, Kyousougiga rewards them with a refreshingly original and beautifully heartwarming story.

One peaceful night, a tomboyish girl named Koto accidentally crashes down into the “mirror capital” named Kyoto while chasing a magical black rabbit. In this weird city that models itself after the old medieval Kyoto, Koto discovers her three long-lost siblings that have read more
Jun 4, 2015
Pylae (All reviews)
Beautiful artwork, disappointing plot development.

Watch only if you don't mind unexplained motivations and emotional scenes that carry very little weight (due to unexplained or weak motivations).

It could be just me and my preference for certain types of plots, but I thought this held a lot of potential and was disappointed as a result. Reserving the reveals for the end left it feeling like a confused, mish-mash attempt at an ending with loopholes to make it work. It simply wasn't believable, even given the myth-like feel that it has.

There's beautiful artwork and an interesting plot line surrounding a very strange family (to say the least). The read more
Jun 1, 2020
KayR707 (All reviews)
God. I really wanted to like this anime, I really did, but I just couldn't.

The interesting, colorful art, cute character designs, and comparisons to some of my favorite anime was what led me to watch this. Sadly, I can't say the greatest things about this anime. The first episode is just one huge info dump then the next episode stuff just starts happening and they present the story, which intrigued me at first, in the least enjoyable way possible. It was just hard to follow.

Here's what watching this anime feels like. There's this book with an amazing, intriguing story, but someone spilled their water all read more
Apr 18, 2015
eririri (All reviews)
Trotting down a dimly lit stairway lost in worries, walking hurriedly along a corridor seemingly without end, you come across a painting - a feast of colours and of animals frolicking, the flickering of faint candlelight casting on it a breath of life. Such a contrast it is to the pale grey walls, such bewildering emotions it instils, so incongruous with the world it’s in; such is Kyousougiga. Set in the Mirror Capital of Kyoto, an amalgam city of old and new, a world where the boundary between man and god is blurred, is a story of a family coming into terms with each read more
Dec 23, 2014
Cosmicblaze454 (All reviews)
Kyousougiga is a family show, not the Simpsons type or something like that. Although it mirrors a lot from Summer’s Uchouten Kazoku. Kyousougiga is definitely its own thing. A show that is universal in meaning.

I always thought that Kyousougiga is Uchouten Kazoku in Ikuhara style.. Its a little weird but heartwarming show. Kyousougiga is a all about a broken family. Children and parents want to go back to each other.

While Kyousougiga is a show that has a fantastic worldbuilding I don’t really think Kyousougiga is interested in that. It is interested in this certain family we are talking about. Its characters also have this read more
Feb 16, 2022
mishh_ (All reviews)
“Life, what is it but a dream?” - Lewis Caroll.

Kyousogiga is like that one random YouTube video that you get recommended out of the blue, yet you watch it out of spite and end up having the most wonderful time. It’s a story about family, love, home, loneliness, and life itself. And yes, these messages and themes are a dime a dozen in all of media, anime especially. But in every saturated medium, there will always be that one show that sticks out, one that genuinely is filled with passion, one that tries something different with itself, that is Kyousogiga. It might be a read more
Feb 26, 2020
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
Kyousou Giga. The most bizarre family complex anime of all time. Started as one of the most confusing anime ever, but then ended up as an anime that's so simple. Kyousou Giga is like when you forget something that you're not supposed to forget, so you feel like shit, but then you remember it when it's already too late. But since it's not that important, you feel relieved and shit at the same time for forgetting something so simple.

Story : 10/10

How many plot twists do you want in this show?
Producer : yes
How many confusions do you want to add into the read more
Feb 14, 2015
Vinnocence (All reviews)
I'll just say this first thing.
This is the second time I have watched the anime, and I am not one to do repeats of things. Let's get right to it then.

You need to appreciate that not everything can ever be explained to you, or simply, just won't. There is nothing wrong with trying to find answers, but things either just can't be explained, or more in this anime case won't be explained. You also just sometimes need to let go and... Listen...

However, to the credit of the anime, the things that are not explained in enough detail are the, let's say side parts of the read more
Dec 21, 2013
PhantomCodex (All reviews)
"Unpredictable" is the best way to describe this anime, which is a strange quality to found nowadays in almost all media, and for that I'm appreciative. The way everything goes and how the characters respond to their surroundings, in their own looney way, makes it all a little more confusing at the beginning but not less enjoyable.

The anime is based on a 2011 & 2012 ONA of the same name, but it is not really necessary to watch them first to understand the story, since the anime itself replays some of the scenes on the ONA and makes them make sense afterwards. Still, I recommend read more
Oct 20, 2014
czxcjx (All reviews)
The analysis on the theme of family and the gushing over animation has been done to death. Neither do I want to touch on the religious influences since even though its based on a whole load of Buddhist myth and spiritual symbols it isn't really a religious show. Anyway reviews based around discussion on themes, character, animation or analysis of plot cohesion are boring and miss out on a lot of other areas that are important in the formation of a work. Animation, the multi-medium, subsists well in a harmony of all spheres, which means no sphere can be neglected to form a cohesive work.

Let's read more
Jan 14, 2015
skysonglark (All reviews)
At first glance, Kyousogiga looks like a version of Alice and Wonderland or Alice Through the Looking Glass, but it abandons that premise fairly early on. The part of the show that stood out for me was the characters. Kyousogiga is the story of an unusual family and the bonds that tie them together, hold them up and sometimes pull them down. The main focus is on young Koto and Myoue, both of whom are characters with a lot of depth. The secondary characters are also very well thought out and do a lot to create the show's world.
Which brings me to setting. Looking Glass read more
Oct 3, 2019
mouthpiece (All reviews)
Dammit anime industry, why are you sabotaging yourself like that?

Kyousougiga could have been a show ranking alongside highly acclaimed titles such as Tatami Galaxy, or Furi Kuri. It had the themes, the budget, the set-up, and the liveliness to achieve greatness.
… And messed it all up.

First things first; the 2013 version is a remake of the older one from the previous year. No reason to watch that one, other than scratching your head with Toei doing 3 versions of the EXACT same thing so close to each other (since there is an even older single episode set in the same universe).

Upon watching THIS version, be read more
Dec 24, 2013
Metsuryu (All reviews)
This anime is really odd. There is definitely nothing out there that could maybe even be considered similar - and that's why I loved it. (Note: this review is only based off of this series, I have not watched any of the other ONAs)

Story - 9/10
This anime throws you into a world and takes no time to explain anything. This could go horribly, horribly wrong - or it could leave you intrigued and wanting more. For the first couple of episodes I had only speculations as to what was going on - yet, I still enjoyed it more than anything else I was read more
Jan 23, 2015
Quan_ (All reviews)
[Adapted From Original Blog Post]

Popularity is a really strange thing, no matter what entertainment medium you ask. In movies, we've always got horrible things like Transformers that make about a billion dollars during opening weekend. In gaming, the watered down, tiresome endless stream of sequels to the same repetitive modern war FPS's. And of course, in anime. It's weird how, let's be fair, crap like Sword Art Online, Date A Live or Elfen Lied can be talked about so constantly. Or how Bakemonogatari, an anime you'd think half the population of planet Earth would just turn and run at first sight of it, is probably read more
Jan 23, 2015
Beghty (All reviews)
If you have ever taken a mythology course or simply read some stories about ancient creationist myths, then you are familiar with accepting the way things happen with no real deep explanation as to why. We accept great happenings as being okay because usually they involve gods or very simply the notion of them is so charming or ridiculous that we let it slide for the enjoyment of the story.

Kyousougiga most resembles what seems like its' own creation myth. This is a story involving gods, and multiple planes of existence, jumping across dimensions read more
Jul 26, 2016
BasementOtaku (All reviews)
Kyousougiga (6/10): There is my rating, if you want to know more about my rating system check the description down below. Time to dive into my potentially spoiler filled review.

This show initially drew me in with its unique designs but I stayed for the very unique world. The main issue is that even after finishing the show and watching the recap episode 10.5 I am still a little lost. The show tries to wrap it all up with “don’t worry the child of a god who is also kind of a god made everything so any oddities or inconsistencies you notice are not a read more
Jan 25, 2020
YuiHirasawa- (All reviews)
OBVIOUS SPOILERS BELOW

I’ve been trying to vary things up with my reviews recently – moving away from the general discussion of music, character plot in a formulaic fashion. Thankfully, all these elements of Kyousou Giga has been discussed to death in these reviews, so I’m going to diverge and talk a bit about what I do and don’t like in this show – any of those more detailed elements are otherwise easily found. I should also clarify that this is largely a criticism. Kyousou Giga is quite positively reviewed, and the majority of the popular reviews here fail to identify some of its major weaknesses read more