Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Arashi no Yoru ni


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: In the Night of the Storm, On A Stormy Night, Stormy Night
Japanese: あらしのよるに

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 10, 2005
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Group TAC
Source: Book
Duration: 1 hr. 47 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.811 (scored by 7,609 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3375
Members: 16,056
Favorites: 175

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 9, 2011
Klabautermann (All reviews)
Oh hey look! A great movie that's not coming from that well known handful of producers who know what they're doing!

Truly, for something that is clearly a children's film, it is quite capable of drawing a heartthrob from basically anyone watching it. While not exactly action oriented, you'd be surprised at the scenes the movie dares to throw at its young viewers.

Well-done mix of a traditional and CGI animation.

Another strong point would be its characters, since we can find a surprisingly sad backstory or two. The relationship between Mei and Gabu is amazing for the reason it has good firm grounds to turn into the read more
Feb 29, 2016
Hex (All reviews)
One Stormy Night, or One Shounen Ai, as I like to call it, is a very well done romance anime. Now before you throw your shoe at the monitor, hear me out on this one. I'm not joking nor am I an ignorant buffoon. One Stormy night may preach about friendship externally but the romantic undertones are too strong to ignore. I know you may not want to genderize or sexualize animals. Hell, it would be weird if you wanted to.. but for the sake of this review being accurate and in accordance with my true opinions, we must. On a side note the television read more
Mar 21, 2008
Phill-z (All reviews)
Arashi no Yuru Ni. Please do not watch this unless you realize straight away that this is a Japanese Disney movie. The art, the message, the entire feel of this "anime" is that of a Disney cartoon, but in a good way.

Story: the moral of this story is "don't judge a book by it's cover" or something to that effect. Learning how to get along, no matter who you are is deeply conveyed in this. It's nicely done. The goat and wolf meet each other at night, they can't see each other but they end up having a really nice read more
Dec 29, 2008
ladyxzeus (All reviews)
A cute and lovely story conveyed by gorgeous art. One can't ask for a better thing to watch on a Sunday afternoon.

This is a children's movie, surrounded by an aura of good feelings and easy humour. But everyone needs good feelings and easy humour once in a while! The story is simple, as well as the objective: a wolf and a sheep are friends and, no matter the differences, they will fight for their friendship till the end.

This story is pampered by beautiful art. One of the better I have ever seen. In a digital-traditional mix sometimes you're not sure what is watercolour and what read more
Dec 25, 2018
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
I suppose if I were to compare Stormy Night to a movie, it would be Disney's The Fox and the Hound. Both films focus on two animals who become close friends with one another despite both supposed to be natural enemies to one another and the pathos to both involving the animals in question coming to grips with the roles that both their societies have aligned to them, Stormy Night's case being Mei the goat being prey for the predator, Gabu the wolf.

For a two-hour movie, Stormy Night has enough time to delve into both Mei and Gabu's characters, as well as explore their developments. read more
Dec 2, 2009
Pessoa (All reviews)
Arashi no Yoru ni is a tale of friendship between a goat and a wolf. The anime won Japan Academy Award in 2005. Although it appears like a kids’ stuff, it touches mature themes and faces the fundamental flaw in the main heroes’ friendship, namely, the fact that one is predator and the other prey.

The plot is simple and straightforward. In a stormy night Gobu (wolf) and Mei (goat) find shelter in a barn. They cannot see or smell each other. They pass time in talking and become friends. They decide to meet another time, and soon find out the unfortunate truth. Yet they decide read more
Dec 26, 2012
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Arashi no Yoru ni was originally a children's story written by Kimura Yuichi. It won several rewards and was turned into a series of books, an anime film and a TV series. Let's take a look at the film from Group TAC. You might wonder why I'm looking at a kid's movie. Well, I don't review this type of anime often since most of my requests are geared towards adults or older teenagers and I just feel like doing it for a change of pace. Besides, I needed something short to review before Monster.

The story is pretty basic. What, you wanted more from a kid's read more
Feb 10, 2010
Dittman (All reviews)
The story begins with a group of wolves attacking a small goat named Mei, fortunately the goats mother was able to save her child... and in the process bite off one of the wolves ears. But in the end she was unable to save herself.

The story continues on Mei now older being caught in stormy weather and forced to take shelter in an old barn... but he is not alone when he finds out there is another figure also taking shelter in the barn. Unable to see each others face they talk to each other to pass the time. Finding out they read more
Jul 31, 2012
Deiddara (All reviews)
Is friendship between a wolf and a goat accepted?

It was a stormy night, when Mei hidden in a small warehouse, and met Gabu, the wolf. They were planning a "date" for the next day with each other, and then they realised who, or what is the other animal.They became very close friends even they family didn't accepted their relationship. Weeks later, they ran away together, believing that there's a place where they can be true friends, just the two of them, together, forever.

This movie was the most heart-touching anime I have ever seen, all about friendship, perfidy, love, sorrow and insistence.
Nov 9, 2012
Akuma-chi (All reviews)
As pretty much everything on this page says, the story is pretty much a story of friendship between a sheep and a wolf. Before you decide to leave this anime without any intention to watch it, consider this... (aka my opinion):

Note: This is probably for people who like VERY long reviews.

Story: 8/10

To be honest, having watched it, I find it a somewhat odd but clever movie. As an older person watching it, I find myself thinking of the philosophical implications of the relationship sometimes yet if I was a child, this would simply be a cute cartoon about the trials and tribulations of star-crossed... friends, read more