Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Akuma no Riddle


Alternative Titles

English: Riddle Story of Devil
Synonyms: Akuma no Riddle
Japanese: 悪魔のリドル

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2014 to Jun 20, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Diomedea
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.751 (scored by 86,636 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #46632
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #512
Members: 181,239
Favorites: 897

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 21, 2014
papsoshea (All reviews)
With an interesting premise that is dark and alluring, this show looked very promising. The thing with some anime adaptations is that it’s hard to pull off while the source material is still on-going. Studios and Staff that take on this type of project are now tasked with a challenging job of getting the execution right. Akuma no Riddle is sadly held back from the poor execution on many of the aspects, ideas and story elements it presented that prevents the show from being great.

Adapted from Yun Kouga's manga, Akuma no Riddle follows the path of Tokaku Azuma, a seasoned assassin who transfers to a read more
Aug 3, 2015
Ezekiel_01 (All reviews)
Anime Review No.8
Akuma no Riddle an anime about 12 girl assassins enrolled in a prestigious private high school where they are gathered there for one reason and that is to kill the daughter of a very powerful and influential clan in japan. The plot is already not promising for it’s kind of one sided. Oh come on? 1 vs 12 and they are assassins for crying out loud! But the story have a twist one of the assassins named Tokaku Azuma decided to protect her for unknown reason giving the targeted girl named “ Haru Ichinose” a chance to survive. This anime is something you read more
Aug 2, 2014
Ordnungspflicht (All reviews)
Upon the understanding that a film, book or television show will feature assassins as its fundamental aspect, it’s likely that the immediate set of expectations we receive from this falls along the imagery of thrill, excitement and aesthetics. Akuma no Riddle is very much a show that exhibits these types of expectations. It sets the stage for a high-school battle royale well enough by introducing 12 female assassins, each with their own desires, and one target, a girl striving to survive the oncoming ordeal. The assassins and target must all participate in Myoujou Academy’s elusive Black Class, where they’ll assume the guise of high-school students, read more
Mar 8, 2015
CecaniahCorabele (All reviews)
The concept of the survival game and battle royal is very mainstream today and is favored also by many people, a lot of anime that uses this concept with the objective of achieving huge profits that make anime these days feels more commercial. One of those anime is Riddle Story of Devil or commonly called Akuma no Riddle, a show that comes from Diomedea studio (known for the anime Squid Girl). The story is illustrated in Myojou Academy, a boarding school for women. The school has a special class named Black Class, containing 12 assassin who has a mission to kill 'the target' which read more
Jul 28, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
The term ‘devil’ can transit a variety of reactions towards an audience. Here we have a show named Akuma no Riddle (translated as Riddle Story of Devil). And incidentally, we have an angel-like character with and energetic personality named Haru Ichinose who gets herself into a mess that threatens her very existence. Luckily, she’s not alone because Haru’s got a protector. Her name is Tokaku Azuma and she is not a pushover, not in the art of assassin anyways.

To call Akuma no Riddle a memorable art piece though could be both an understatement and overstatement. For starters, we have a diverse and colorful cast of read more
May 9, 2014
Subxaero (All reviews)
Preliminary
Just finished watching the 6th Episode.Though it started so well(first 2 episodes)it really failed to deliver a solid story and explanation of whats really going on

Pros: Graphics( I consider graphics slightly above average close to good,and thats mainly of the decent fights i have seen, beyond that it isnt anything speciall) -Soundtracks(I like em very much and they are very close to the specific enviroment this anime tries to deliiver)

Cons:where i should start.. Well Haru is one of the most annoying anime charaters i've ever faced,her life is threaten daily and she faces her possible assasins with an annoying smile and a way of read more
Jun 20, 2014
Jonesy974 (All reviews)
Ok, so this is my first review and I'll be as honest and thorough as possible for an readers.

Ok so basically Akuma no Riddle is about a girl named Haru who has to survive a classroom full of assassins. That's really the gist of it. That being said, let me move on to my scores and why I rated them as such.

Story: 4/10
The story was very much lacking in this show, and I say that with utter disappointment. This was a show that when it first started, had the set up to be an awesomely written masterpiece full of character development and read more
Jun 21, 2014
Xynatox (All reviews)
Akuma no Riddle was an interesting anime. But not in a good way. Potential seems to be the name of the game now-a-days, and if you have it you must be good, right? This was an example of that being completely, and truly, false.

Story - 6/10
If you're here, you've probably heard this anime referred to as the "DanganRonpa with Yuri". As of finishing the series, I can assure you, that this was partially true. This, like DanganRonpa, had a lot of potential and a very interesting plot going in. This also shares DanganRonpa's somewhat bad traits by having everything culminate into next to nothing. read more
Jun 15, 2014
Dannremix (All reviews)
Please note that this review may contain minor spoilers. You have been warned.

*Updated 20/06/2014

"The world is filled with (___)." -Kaiba

This anime has been called several names including "'Danganronpa but less shitty." Were they right? Well... maybe. Both certainly have their pro's and con's and even though they are similar in terms of topic, I don't feel the need to compare them.

Today I will be reviewing the highly anticipated yuri hyped anime known as Akuma no Riddle.



Story - 6/10
Akuma no Riddle (AnR for short) is set in a high school (because apparently nothing interesting ever happens outside of one) in which 12 assassins read more
Jun 22, 2014
DatDamnPR (All reviews)
One of the more anticipated series of the Spring season, this series definitely did not live up to those expectations. That being said, the series is very good. I mean, the entire series is based on teenage girl assassins, with very little side story. What's not to like? Throw a little yuri into it and it becomes a fairly interesting series.

A brief summary: The story is set at Myoujou Academy, a private girls' boarding school. The 10th year's Kurogumi (Black) class has 12 assassins with their sights on one target, Haru Ichinose. Tokaku Azuma is a recent transfer student who is also targeting Ichinose, read more
Jun 23, 2014
keiina (All reviews)
Akuma no Riddle:
Highlights:
-action sequences are nicely animated
-opening/ending themes are find but depends on personal taste
-the yuri is there, sometimes
-don't think too much while watching it

Having only 12 episodes and way too many characters for it to handle, I have doubts on how Akuma no Riddle will do in terms of the development of its casts as well as its story and as it turns out, my intuition did not fail me. The characters indeed lack depth and development for viewers to sympathize with their hardships and trials, this include the two main characters Tokaku and Haru. The story didn't progress read more
Sep 6, 2018
captjoe213 (All reviews)
(updated 9/19/18 to match format with other reviews, slight content revision)

Hi! Welcome to another Robert's Too Late Reviews! As always, the synopsis is your friend, and there could be SPOILERS but I do try my very best to avoid/minimize them. Working the dubbed version. If you've seen some of my reviews, I can be a little forgiving, but alas, Akuma no Riddle doesn't leave much room for positive elements. There are surely more wasteful anime out there, but there are MANY more that towers over this in quality, so there are better uses of your time. Will this make the RTLR wall of fame? You read more
Dec 28, 2014
Big_Trevor (All reviews)
Akuma no Riddle is a generic, edgy show that features edgy girls doing edgy things for edgy reasons. It is a bad series that I can not honestly recommend to anyone. For starters, the pacing was poor, with some sections proceeding at breakneck speeds, while others dragged. This is not one of the most glaring flaws, but is still present. The main flaw in this series stems from the poor writing. Characters develop seemingly randomly, motivations are shaky at best, and the resolutions at the end of each arc were unsatisfying at best. The poor writing means that the dialogue between characters is not just read more
Nov 30, 2018
MedicalMint (All reviews)
Akuma no Riddle: The Intriguing Battle Royale with Squandered Potential
Akuma no Riddle was an interesting take on the battle royale genre, that ultimately failed in delivering its promising concept. I won't go through the story as the synopsis is written down, but I will address some mild spoilers so keep that in mind if you want to go in 100% blind.
Story: 6/10
Unfortunately, the strongest aspect of this show was its plot. Most battle royale anime put a group of competitors against each other, with the last man standing as the winner. However, this show takes the concept and flips it on its head, by having read more
May 14, 2017
Yoppi (All reviews)
A class full of assassins. Twelve assassins, all tempted with a reward for being granted anything, versus one student. One assassin has a reversal; a change of mind, to protect the student. Night after night, Tokaku Azuma fends off the schemes, traps, and ambushes of these assassins in order to keep Haru from being killed. (The premise is copy-pasted from my review on the manga; it has not changed between mediums.)

And does this anime portray this story well? Like the manga - to which I have also given a poor score to - it does not.

Unfortunately, the anime has not "enhanced" the value of the read more
Jan 3, 2015
BlastHell (All reviews)
(Spoiler Free)

In short, Akuma no Riddle is about a special class in Myōjō Academy where 12 assassins are tasked with taking down the remaining classmate in the class they are grouped in.

Story: 7
I feel that the assassin theme is not new to anime culture, nor is it outdated in any way. I feel that adding this concept into a seemingly on the surface, slice of life anime makes it fresh, though, in reality this series is far from a slice of life. Seeing attractive young ladies showing their grit and fighting for their lives, is not something I've seen in many anime series, hence it read more
Mar 4, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Akuma no Riddle is an ongoing manga written by Koga Yun and illustrated by Minakata Sunao. Last year it was adapted into a twelve episode anime series by Diomedéa, the same studio behind Ika Musume and some series I've never seen and know basically nothing about. This is my second exposure to their work. Let's see how they do.

Story:

Azuma Tokaku is an assassin in training. She gets selected for a rather strange mission at Myoujou Academy, a girls' school. She and twelve other girls will make up the school's Black Class and all of them except one, Ichinose Haru, are assassins. The assassin to slay read more
Jun 23, 2014
JacklynRyner (All reviews)
Ah, another anime with a battle royale-esque plot just came out, but the question is, was it any good? Well, yes and no.

Since I'm a huge fan of battle royale, I feel inclined to watch anything that has any resemblance to it's basic plot (Future Diary, DanganRonpa, Btooom!, etc) and Akuma no Riddle did not fail me in the slightest.

Story (6) -
Akuma no Riddle is set in a class full of 12 assassins that have the main goal of killing Haru Ichinose in exchange for a wish to be granted. However, one of the assassins, Tokaku Azuma, decides to help protect Haru against the others.

It's read more
Jun 20, 2014
Gorbovskiy (All reviews)
Just curious, how longer will they be smashing the hopes of poor viewers in the end of the series? Why should they make every second one into something sticky, made of a concentrated purple goo? Yep, Akume no Riddle, it’s about your creators.
Characters fap-fap-fap. I couldn’t get a grip of the m=names, expect for Haru (Haru wo mamoru, I’ll be saying this while doing illogical things). The main heroine is fit to become an ideal soldier, why don’t they have more of her. And the others! Stamp in on stamp here, raw materials barely make a single line. Even in Danganronpa they had it kinda read more
Jun 20, 2014
premonitioner (All reviews)
Akuma no Riddle has a fairly decent premise and the art is nice, but it loses itself in tropes, a rushed story and a deus ex ending.

The story follows Tokaku and Haruka, one an assassin and the other the target of a class full of assassins. The characters themselves are very one dimensional, and because the anime was so short, we barely get any character development before the characters are booted out of the plot and quickly forgotten about. I've seen it compared to the Dangan Ronpa anime in this respect, but I feel that the Dangan Ronpa anime was a little more enjoyable. read more